Origins Ratings and Reviews

Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector

Corrects, perfects, protects.
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
6
39 of 52(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smarty Plants is WAY ahead of the competition!
 Date: July 31, 2013
Tags: Combination Skin, Oily Skin, radiance, light coverage
"This product is a true game-changer. For people that had issues with VitaZing turning orange, this is perfect. I'm fairer and wear the Light-Medium, which, like VitaZing, will tint to match my skin tone; this is so much more advanced than VitaZing, or anything really! It isn't greasy feeling, even on my combination-oily skin, it protects with antioxidants and a moderate SPF, and it just feels nice on my skin. It provides light coverage--essentially a "veil of radiance" without looking chalky or powdery. Plus, its unique technology intuitively protects the skin from environmental damage and pollution so I can face the day without worrying that I'll burn or get sun damage. I love it!"
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
So effortless
 Date: December 7, 2013
Tags: natural looking coverage
"I love this product! My whole life I've hated to wear liquid foundation. It just felt aweful on my face. I tried every one on the market. Then when mineral make-up was all the craze I bought into it and really liked it. But I'm now over forty and mineral make-up just gets caught in the fine lines and makes me look old. So when the tinted mosturizers came along I gave them a try. Some I liked, some not so much. But when Origins first came out with this product it sounded like the perfect fit for me. It feels light on my face, almost like nothing at all. It covers up all the imperfections and evens out my skin tone. Note, if you like to look like you are wearing make-up this might not be right for you. It gives a natural look and I just love it!"
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: philadelphia, pa
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Skin corrector really a sunscreen
 Date: November 14, 2013
Tags: sunscreen
"I was very excited to hear about this product, unfortunately I don't feel the description on the site did a good job of describing what it is. When I got it I realized it is a sunscreen. The direction/packaging states that this is its only use. No information about how to use with other porducts, like moisturizer or base or powder. It is basically a tinted sunscreen. Not sure how to use that daily to correct my complexion?"
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Not perfect, but strong product
 Date: September 15, 2013
"I found the consistency of the CC corrector lighter and less "orange" than the VitaZing product, but I do like that the VitaZing makes me look like I had some sun--that particular shade works with my skin tone. However, VitaZing is a bit too heavy for me and makes me oily. With my skin issues of hyperpigmentation/sun damage and acne scars, coverage for the CC cream is not heavy enough (nor was it likely intended to be) to hide my imperfections. However, as an anti-aging tinted moisturizer, it's great--it goes on with a light, smooth feel and spreads evenly. On warm/humid days I still get quite oily with it on, but I've noticed on the cooler days it's pretty perfect under my BareMinerals foundation. My skin feels smoother, and looks less dehydrated. It's very light for a product with sunscreen. After three weeks, no acne breakouts other than normal ones. I like it better than any CC/BB cream I've bought in the drugstore, and I will use it up, but I may end up looking for an anti-age CC cream with a bit more coverage in case I don't want to fuss with more makeup for the summer months--but they are far away. I'm quite happy with my purchase! I can always count on Origins for quality products."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this CC cream
 Date: September 4, 2014
"I switched from vitazing to this CC cream. Love it. Vitazing gave me a orange tone. This one is great. I am north indian and have light-med skin. I got the light med shade for this cream and it was perfect on me. I also have combination oily skin and hate heavy creams as they make me break out and make my face very greasy by the end of the day. This one doesn't do that. Really great product! I use this in the day and at night I use the mimosa moisturizer as my night cream. Also use the united state toner before applying moisturizer. Love my products! My skin looks better in a week already :)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Long Island ,Ny
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best CC cream
 Date: September 6, 2013
"I have tried other brands of CC. Creams but they all seemed heavy and think , this one is ultra light and gives me just right amt of color ...makes my skin look flawless"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: two rivers wi
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Morning routine changer
 Date: September 9, 2014
Tags: all skins
"I like this better than vitazing and I thought that was pretty good. What sold me on this product over vitazing is that is slightly more coverage, it doesn't turn orange and I do not get as much t zone shine. It has really helped me simplify my morning routine."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? No
Irritating to skin
 Date: April 14, 2014
"I have an extreme sensitivity to sunscreens, but I used Out Smart Daily SPF 25 naturally protective sunscreen for years without a problem. I had high hopes for Smarty Plants CC SPF 20, especially since it has the added bonus of tint. Although the tint did not blend well with my complexion, Smarty Plants seemed to perform adequately as a sunscreen for a few months during the winter. Now that the weather is warmer and I do more activities outdoors in the sun, I have experienced a terrible reaction to Smarty Plants. It's given me a red, itchy rash on my face. I'm so disappointed and I miss Out Smart."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this!
 Date: November 4, 2014
"I am 43, and have really never worn make-up except for special occasions. But getting older, I am trying products that help my skin and cover some imperfections. This product is wonderful! Smooths out my complexion, which is fair and freckly. Gives a lovely matte finish, and protects from sun damage! I get so many compliments when I wear it."
Review 10 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: St. Louis Mo
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
not happy
 Date: June 6, 2014
"Just received my Smarty Plants and upon reading the ingredients I see it contains Oxybenzone. I have read alot of info lately about this ingredient and they all say to stay away from it. Even a friend of mine her preschool for her children told them when sending in sunscreen please make sure it does not contain this. Not sure what to do with this product. Very disappointed in Origins."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: indiana
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Only problem I have ever had w/ Origin
 Date: October 5, 2014
"The product seems good but the Light is ridiculous light and The Darker is orangeish and very dark There is no Medium I can sometimes mix a dark had and lighten it up but its so dark I had to send both back I have never had to do that before. Bummed staying with Ginzing CC cream."
Review 12 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Mixed feelings
 Date: October 12, 2013
"In all fairness to The product I do not ever wear concealer so it freaks me put to feel it on my face. If this product is not meant to be felt at all, then it failed. So, I don't know if it's me, or the product.
I bought this to kill 3 birds, sun protection, moisturizer and dim some sun spot damage. Frankly I am not sure what it does. I feel like it comes off on my hands throughout the day and I have to wipe it off my phone screen.
I bought the darker shade because I have tan olive skin and all the other fair skin reviewers said the light was perfect for them. When I first put the product on my face it seemed too orangey but it does tone down in a few minutes.... Or maybe I get used to it. Sometimes I dilute it with my other Origins moisturizer, but then what's the point. I've even thought of buying the light shade and mixing the 2... But then there are still my other issues. Do I want to buy more?
I really want to like this product. I am a true Origins fan. I keep using it but I am not truly happy."
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: WNY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
sunscreen, light coverage, good for summer
 Date: September 16, 2014
"It's a nice tinted sunscreen product. As for skin complex correction part, I didn't find it (light/medium) working on me. It does provide some sort of coverage, but it's a CC cream after all -- not truly a foundation product. Since I purchased it the past summer, I used it a lot. Sometimes I used it as a sunscreen product before going to grocery stores, and sometimes I tried to use it as a foundation product under finishing powder. I am not sure if I will get another, and will see how it would work this fall and winter."
Review 14 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Lightweight Coverage
 Date: September 10, 2014
Tags: light coverage, sun protection, an all natural look
"I absolutely love this product. I prefer to wear minimal makeup most days, unless i have something special going on. This provides minimal coverage, moisture and sun protection and my skin looks even, with a soft glow to it. Do not buy this if you need extensive coverage- that requires coverup, not something like this. Also, I do use this after my normal moisturizer, I am not sure if this could replace a normal moisturizer, but I haven't tried. It has sunscreen, but it feels very lightweight and my skin doesn't feel clogged like most sunscreens."
Review 15 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: WI
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this New CC Cream!
 Date: January 29, 2014
Tags: anyone who want to protect their skin.
"I received a sample of the new CC cream in my Biirchbox. I was so excited because
I do use Origins products and have for years. I tried the sample and instantly loved it.
it goes on smooth and doesn't cake up. I have to have SPF for my hyperpigmentation.
I saved my sample to go in my travel bag and ordered a regular size. Thanks Origins for
yet another great product. The only thing I could request is even more SPF for protection!
Always use sunscreen on your face! Thanks - Hopeless in WI
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Los Angeles, California
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
 Date: July 22, 2014
Tags: moisture and cover up of skin color irregularities
"I have used Smarty Plants skin complexion corrector for about six months now, and have
found it to be the very best corrector and moisturizer for my very dry skin. I have age spots on my face and when I apply just a very small amount of this product the spots are significantly reduced, if not completely gone and my complexion looks smooth again. I can't even tell that I have a product on my face. It is that well matched to my fair skin.
Over the years I have used MANY different face creams, moisturizers, make-up and Origins Smarty Plants is the VERY BEST!! I Love how it changes the appearance of my face!! I do look younger. Thank you Origins!
"
Review 17 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Recommend to a friend? No
Not for me
 Date: July 16, 2014
"I didn't like this product. Too orange for my complexion."
Review 18 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Annapolis, MD
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Good base color
 Date: June 30, 2014
"The first time I used it I put too much on. I didn't realize it would darken up, although the sales person said it doesn't. She suggested I use a foundation brush, and once I did that it looked so much better and I use less of it. I do have to remember to check the blending once I'm all finished since it darkens up. I, too, thought the Light/Medium was too dark, but I think it's ok as long as I don't put too much on. I use a loose powder to set it, so I don't have the "sliding off" experience some others have mentioned."
Review 19 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Northern California
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
 Date: June 23, 2014
"I use the CC cream over my regular moisturizer and it gives my skin a radiant glow. It does not make me greasy. I am happy that is product has some sunscreen in it to help protect my skin. I use the Brighter By Nature powder over this for a flawless look."
Review 20 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Louisville, KY
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice color & scent, plus sunscreen
 Date: June 15, 2014
"I like this CC cream better than any other I've tried. It smells great, and it gives me as much color as I need to even out my self-tanned look. The medium to deep shade is pretty intense for fair skin, but I blend it with the light to medium to get the shade I want."
1 2 3 next>>