Origins Ratings and Reviews

Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector

Corrects, perfects, protects.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
5
33 of 45(73%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: OriginalSkin
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smarty Plants is WAY ahead of the competition!
 Date: July 31, 2013
Tags: Combination Skin, Oily Skin, radiance, light coverage
"This product is a true game-changer. For people that had issues with VitaZing turning orange, this is perfect. I'm fairer and wear the Light-Medium, which, like VitaZing, will tint to match my skin tone; this is so much more advanced than VitaZing, or anything really! It isn't greasy feeling, even on my combination-oily skin, it protects with antioxidants and a moderate SPF, and it just feels nice on my skin. It provides light coverage--essentially a "veil of radiance" without looking chalky or powdery. Plus, its unique technology intuitively protects the skin from environmental damage and pollution so I can face the day without worrying that I'll burn or get sun damage. I love it!"
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Shawnie7
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
So effortless
 Date: December 7, 2013
Tags: natural looking coverage
"I love this product! My whole life I've hated to wear liquid foundation. It just felt aweful on my face. I tried every one on the market. Then when mineral make-up was all the craze I bought into it and really liked it. But I'm now over forty and mineral make-up just gets caught in the fine lines and makes me look old. So when the tinted mosturizers came along I gave them a try. Some I liked, some not so much. But when Origins first came out with this product it sounded like the perfect fit for me. It feels light on my face, almost like nothing at all. It covers up all the imperfections and evens out my skin tone. Note, if you like to look like you are wearing make-up this might not be right for you. It gives a natural look and I just love it!"
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: longtimeuser7
Location: philadelphia, pa
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Skin corrector really a sunscreen
 Date: November 14, 2013
Tags: sunscreen
"I was very excited to hear about this product, unfortunately I don't feel the description on the site did a good job of describing what it is. When I got it I realized it is a sunscreen. The direction/packaging states that this is its only use. No information about how to use with other porducts, like moisturizer or base or powder. It is basically a tinted sunscreen. Not sure how to use that daily to correct my complexion?"
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: jastjohn
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Not perfect, but strong product
 Date: September 15, 2013
"I found the consistency of the CC corrector lighter and less "orange" than the VitaZing product, but I do like that the VitaZing makes me look like I had some sun--that particular shade works with my skin tone. However, VitaZing is a bit too heavy for me and makes me oily. With my skin issues of hyperpigmentation/sun damage and acne scars, coverage for the CC cream is not heavy enough (nor was it likely intended to be) to hide my imperfections. However, as an anti-aging tinted moisturizer, it's great--it goes on with a light, smooth feel and spreads evenly. On warm/humid days I still get quite oily with it on, but I've noticed on the cooler days it's pretty perfect under my BareMinerals foundation. My skin feels smoother, and looks less dehydrated. It's very light for a product with sunscreen. After three weeks, no acne breakouts other than normal ones. I like it better than any CC/BB cream I've bought in the drugstore, and I will use it up, but I may end up looking for an anti-age CC cream with a bit more coverage in case I don't want to fuss with more makeup for the summer months--but they are far away. I'm quite happy with my purchase! I can always count on Origins for quality products."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: cuneja67
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? No
Irritating to skin
 Date: April 14, 2014
"I have an extreme sensitivity to sunscreens, but I used Out Smart Daily SPF 25 naturally protective sunscreen for years without a problem. I had high hopes for Smarty Plants CC SPF 20, especially since it has the added bonus of tint. Although the tint did not blend well with my complexion, Smarty Plants seemed to perform adequately as a sunscreen for a few months during the winter. Now that the weather is warmer and I do more activities outdoors in the sun, I have experienced a terrible reaction to Smarty Plants. It's given me a red, itchy rash on my face. I'm so disappointed and I miss Out Smart."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Mamafranc
Location: Long Island ,Ny
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best CC cream
 Date: September 6, 2013
"I have tried other brands of CC. Creams but they all seemed heavy and think , this one is ultra light and gives me just right amt of color ...makes my skin look flawless"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: MommyEsq
Recommend to a friend? No
Not for me
 Date: July 16, 2014
"I didn't like this product. Too orange for my complexion."
Review 8 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: Zingaro
Location: Annapolis, MD
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Good base color
 Date: June 30, 2014
"The first time I used it I put too much on. I didn't realize it would darken up, although the sales person said it doesn't. She suggested I use a foundation brush, and once I did that it looked so much better and I use less of it. I do have to remember to check the blending once I'm all finished since it darkens up. I, too, thought the Light/Medium was too dark, but I think it's ok as long as I don't put too much on. I use a loose powder to set it, so I don't have the "sliding off" experience some others have mentioned."
Review 9 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: CaliDee
Location: Northern California
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
 Date: June 23, 2014
"I use the CC cream over my regular moisturizer and it gives my skin a radiant glow. It does not make me greasy. I am happy that is product has some sunscreen in it to help protect my skin. I use the Brighter By Nature powder over this for a flawless look."
Review 10 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: OldGold
Location: Louisville, KY
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice color & scent, plus sunscreen
 Date: June 15, 2014
"I like this CC cream better than any other I've tried. It smells great, and it gives me as much color as I need to even out my self-tanned look. The medium to deep shade is pretty intense for fair skin, but I blend it with the light to medium to get the shade I want."
Review 11 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Glama
Location: St. Louis Mo
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
not happy
 Date: June 6, 2014
"Just received my Smarty Plants and upon reading the ingredients I see it contains Oxybenzone. I have read alot of info lately about this ingredient and they all say to stay away from it. Even a friend of mine her preschool for her children told them when sending in sunscreen please make sure it does not contain this. Not sure what to do with this product. Very disappointed in Origins."
Review 12 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: Kimberlina01
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Mixed feelings
 Date: October 12, 2013
"In all fairness to The product I do not ever wear concealer so it freaks me put to feel it on my face. If this product is not meant to be felt at all, then it failed. So, I don't know if it's me, or the product.
I bought this to kill 3 birds, sun protection, moisturizer and dim some sun spot damage. Frankly I am not sure what it does. I feel like it comes off on my hands throughout the day and I have to wipe it off my phone screen.
I bought the darker shade because I have tan olive skin and all the other fair skin reviewers said the light was perfect for them. When I first put the product on my face it seemed too orangey but it does tone down in a few minutes.... Or maybe I get used to it. Sometimes I dilute it with my other Origins moisturizer, but then what's the point. I've even thought of buying the light shade and mixing the 2... But then there are still my other issues. Do I want to buy more?
I really want to like this product. I am a true Origins fan. I keep using it but I am not truly happy."
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: BeautyLover
Location: Califorina
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
 Date: April 18, 2014
Tags: tan skin tones
"The feel of it was nice, and I love the idea. I really wanted to like this product because I love Origins so much but just like their Perfect World BB the colors don't match me, and make me a little orange. I am the color Sand in their stay tuned foundation (which I love) but it would like something for everyday that has an SPF.
Hopefully they come out with more colors"
Review 14 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: NorthernSkin
Location: North Dakota
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Sunscreen
 Date: April 8, 2014
Tags: sunscreen
"I was excited to try this product because I really enjoyed the Vitazing moisturizer. This product is much heaver than Vitazing and smells intensely like sunscreen. I will keep it and use it when I plan to be out on the water or when I plan to be outside for any length of time. I will not use it for my everyday moisturizer because I work inside all day and do not enjoy smelling like a bottle of sunscreen while at the office."
Review 15 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: newbieorigin
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent.
 Date: April 11, 2014
"Its a great lightweight coverage which is why I mainly chose to try this product. Only issue I had with it was that I have very dry skin, and this made it worse. So I wouldn't recommend anyone to moderate to very dry skin using this. At least not daily basis as I did. It took my skin about 2 weeks to recover its softness and moisture."
Review 16 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: OriginsLuvrnKy
Location: Kentucky
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love CC cream
 Date: March 14, 2014
Tags: redness/ sensitive, Combination Skin
"I absolutely love this product!! Great coverage, not heavy nor oily. It works very well with the All and Nothing powder. I have red, sensitive skin and when I use these two products together my skin is perfect and looks flawless. I would certainly recommend trying this if you haven't already."
Review 17 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: BrittanyAnn
Location: Montana
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful
 Date: March 16, 2014
"I am really enjoying this product. It is making my skin more even. I've had several compliments about my skin since I have started using it. Highly recommended! Plus it has sunscreen!"
Review 18 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: PatriciaT
Location: greenwich, CT
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
 Date: March 4, 2014
"Makes my skin smooth, hides my dark spots, gives me a light tan and it's a great foundation for applying blush afterwards."
Review 19 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Lakevale
Location: Redmond, WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome
 Date: February 12, 2014
Tags: correcting
"Where has this been all my life? :-). This manages to correct imperfections and even out skin tone while feeling and looking absolutely natural. And according to the marketing it is supposed to be really healthy for your skin. I also like that it has sunscreen. Big thumbs up!"
Review 20 for Smarty Plants™ CC SPF 20 Skin complexion corrector
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: singoutpam
Location: Lincoln, NE
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Product!
 Date: February 10, 2014
Tags: light coverage, protecting skin
"Everything about this CC cream is lovely - color, texture, fragrance. It provides a smooth base for my make-up while protecting my skin from damaging UV rays. This is a product I'm sure I'll buy again and again."
1 2 3 next>>