Origins Ratings and Reviews

Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush

Lightweight, long-wearing color for cheeks.
Average Customer Rating:
2.614 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 star
15
17 of 44(39%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: los ángeles
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
subtle but does the job
 Date: August 29, 2014
Tags: anytime
"I almost dismissed this color when I saw it in the store. But once on it wakes up my face and gives a nice glow. I am a fair brunette with an olive undertone. In fact both this and the pink petal are nice colors. None of the Origins blush colors are theatrical or highly pigmented so I feel most colors would work well for many people. However I would have had a hard time buying online for the first time because the colors bear little resemblance to how the blush looks in person. I suggest, if possible, to check out this line in the store before trying. I love the fact this is a plant based and organic product. Origins is a trip down memory lane for me. I used them in college when they first came out (maybe because of cool and rustic packaging?) now I am back years later seeking out a cosmetic line that is both beautiful and organic."
Review 2 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Frustrated
 Date: November 7, 2014
"Origins used to make a different kind of blush that included a shimmer instead of plain color and an application brush in the packaging. That line was discontinued a long time ago, and replaced with the current non-shimmer stuff. Even more upsetting was Origins' decision to offer this rather dull blush as the only alternative for a bronzing stick named Sunny Disposition and/or a shimmery illuminator called Halo Effect, both of which used to receive raving reviews; the combination of those two was hands-down my favorite "look" ever achieved.
I used to be a devoted Origins customer. Now, even though a few of my favorites are still around, I get so frustrated by all the discontinued products that I keep leaving without buying anything and use lesser-quality alternatives because I'm mad at Origins. VERY disappointed."
Review 3 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Buffalo, NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
INCREDIBLY Disappointed
 Date: January 9, 2014
"Origins, oh Origins. Enough is enough with your changes. As another customer reviewed, women who want constant changes in their make-up are at those little islands in the mall. With that said, not only did you discontinue 95% of the colors of this blush, you also took the brush away that came with it, AND the blush doesn't even last as long as the old formula. Epic fail on your part. I have been an Origins user since 1995, and I have been buying from other companies out there now because you guys keep changing your stuff up and discontinuing products that people LOVE. I would also like to add that if you're going to change up the colors, why not offer an option as to what color may suit best for the old color we used to use. Or maybe just NOT change the colors at ALL."
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Arizona
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
I like it
 Date: June 12, 2014
"I used the bronzer for a couple of years before deciding to go back to a regular blush. After using another brand (it was a free product), I wanted to go back to Origins. Once reading some of the reviews, I was a little apprehensive about checking out the new colors.
Turns out I didn't need to be nervous at all. I tried the different colors and settled on Sugar Cookie. The lack of a brush didn't bother me because I don't like using the little ones. I'm Asian and think the color is perfect. Only need a little to give me the right amount of color and I use a Kabuki brush.
It takes me awhile to finish a product, so when a color I like is no longer available, it is disappointing. Now I know I need to buy another before Origins decides to change the palette again."
Review 5 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: AZ
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Why? Change Something That Does Not Need Changing
 Date: September 5, 2013
"I have used "Dust Twinkle" for years and was so extremely disappointed when Origins no longer carried the blush, I went and ordered the "Dust Rose" (I believe that was the name, I threw it out) it was such a letdown. I tried to use it several times, but it was just not the same. I did not care for the color, or the case, nor that was it missing the sparkle.
I have been using Origin for over a decade and I can say this was the first time that I was this disappointed in one of their products.
Every time that I order from on-line Origins I always look to see if they have brought back the "Dust Twinkle" and once again I am disappointed. I have to say this is that this has caused me to look elsewhere for my cosmetics, all due to a blush.
"
Review 6 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: the south
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The More Things Change...
 Date: April 22, 2013
Tags: soft color
"As every other Origins product I've tried since I started using it in 1997, I really ***love*** this blush and would never consider trying any other brand again. I've bought a few others here and there only to be reminded of the high quality and pretty colors Origins offers.
I used Cinnamon Stick for years, but was feeling the need for a change. After all, colors go in and out of style even on blush. I am thrilled origins has some frresh new colors to offer!
Truly boggled by the complaining others are doing re: the changes. Really-- do you WANT t look the same year after year? Do you still have a 1990s hairstyle or shoes?! Try it. Change it. Mix it up. Come on gals! Get real!"
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
 Date: June 27, 2013
"I have been using Origins for over 13 years. I am so sad that you continue to discontinue some of my favorite products & colors. I no longer have a store near me & I now need to shop on line. The colors on your website are very discouraging & look nothing like what the product actually looks like so it makes it difficult to choose new makeup colors. Please consider bringing back bronzed metal!! If nothing else, please consider updating your website with more accurate pictures & better descriptions of the colors with suggestions for what looks best with skin tones to help us determine what color to chose when shopping on line from a new product line!! Please help!"
29 of 29 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
In the minority
 Date: December 20, 2013
"Clearly I am in the minority here, but I really like the new packaging of these blushes. I thought the old ones were just so bulky and such a waste of packaging. I prefer to use my own brushes and always just threw away the small ones that came with products, so again I felt the old blushes were pretty wasteful. I DO wish there was a larger color selection and do miss some of the old colors. However, I just got Rose Dust and really like it. It's a good basic color - not too warm, not too cool, not too bright - just right for my everyday routine. It does not last as long as some other brands blushes do on me, but it lasts through my work day, so overall its fine."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Idaho
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? No
Poor Quality
 Date: May 26, 2014
"I've been an Origins user for years and I'm so disappointed in the quality of this product. A strange film develops over the powder blush and my brush can't pick up the color at all. At first I thought maybe I needed to clean my blush brush, but even after the brush was clean I had to scrape the layer of film off the top to be able to get any blush on my brush. What a waste of product! It's too expensive to have to scrape some off every day. This never happened with the old version of this product. I'm seriously thinking about switching to another brand. I'm just sick about it, because I do NOT like change in my makeup and I hate experimenting with other brands."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Bartlesville, OK
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
***Tropical Pink***
 Date: January 16, 2013
"At first I was a bit skeptical buying blush online and not seeing the actual color in person. But after realizing that there is no origin store near me, I went ahead and bought the Tropical Pink color and am very happy with it! I have a light complexion with minimal breakout and even more now that I am pregnant. The color is not too pink that I look like a doll and its not too light that you cant even notice it, the color came out to tbe a perfect fit. I also like it, because usually when i use blush I break out terribly even but this one doesnt. Just as long as I wash my face with frothy face wash or dab the toner all over to get rid of the makeup, im fine!"
Review 11 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Springfield, MO
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Pinch Your Cheeks
 Date: December 23, 2012
"I was also disappointed that the "new" packaging did not come with a brush. I usually have my own brush in my makeup bag but it was also very convienent to grab the small brush inside of the compact. And has anyone else noticed how BRIGHT it is on your cheekswhen first applied? I used one swipe with my brush and when I put it on my cheeks I looked like a 3rd grader who had played around with her mom's makeup. However, with a little blending it did look very natural. It was just a shock when I first applied it! So I would recommend this product with caution that it takes a bit more blending than the old blush I used and loved."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
disappointed...
 Date: October 25, 2013
"I've been using Origins for years, & love most everything. Very disappointed in some recent changes. Eye shadow: no gold dust...very nice staple color I wear almost every day. No comparable color. No cinnamon stick blush, no sunny disposition bronzer. Also, powders/blushes/eye shadow no longer come with a brush...and the prices are elevated. Need some help with this. No longer an Origins store at my mall, and Macy's Origins staff are not versed on the products or there is no one at the counter and I end up getting someone from another makeup counter."
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: two rivers wi
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
disappointed
 Date: October 6, 2013
"I have used blush from Origins for many years, when I started purchasing them they were in round container with a twist off cap. The latest version is a disappointment. The color selection is too small. The texture is different from the old blush, I found the new formula not to go on as smooth as the old formula. Also they do not seem to have the same staying power as the old formula. I have purchased 4 colors and am not really happy with any of them. I have been loyal to Origins for so many years, I am not sure what to do next."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Reynoldsburg, OH
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Horrible
 Date: March 3, 2014
"This blush is extremely disappointing. The packaging has changed and the colors don't even come close to the online pictures. I have used Origins for quite awhile now, but will be switching to a different company since Origins is always discontinuing colors and to make things worse the products that are discontinued are not replaced with similar colors are products.
This blush cakes and overall very cheaply made. You would think for the price you pay the item would be much better quality.
Will not purchase again.
"
Review 15 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Colorado
Recommend to a friend? No
Once again disappointed....why change our favs????
 Date: April 22, 2013
"I was going to take advantage of an online offer today and place an order, but Origins has (once again) changed my favorite product....this time, NO Rose Twinkle! Must admit....enough is enough....time to start looking into the competition, even though I have used Origins for 20 years.
Here's an idea.....IF/When Origins must change a favorite product, color, etc.....why not have a suggestion in the product description with alternative/similar color or product if you are discontinuing something.....?"
29 of 29 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: April 15, 2013
"I share the same sentiments as some of the other reviewers.........disappointed that you've done away with the old blush colors and didn't replace them with any that are even remotely similar. I have been wearing Origins blush in Rose Twinkle and Bronze Metal for years and
loved, loved, loved them, but couldn't find anything even close to these colors in your new line, so sorry, but I defected and went to another brand to find similar shades. So, here's one unhappy customer that you've now lost.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Hilton NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? No
Where Oh Where has my Cinnamon Stick Gone?
 Date: March 21, 2014
"I am so upset with Origins. Imagine my dismay when I go to purchase my favorite color blush, that I have been using for years, and it has been discontinued. The new colors are horrible, and there are none even remotely similar to my favorite. They are cheaply made, with no brush included. I will no longer be purchasing from Origins, as they have forced me to look elsewhere. Please listen to your many loyal customers, bring back the old colors and formula, and the brush!!"
Review 18 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Chandler, Arizona
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? No
Product discontinuation
 Date: February 11, 2014
"I recently wanted to order some new blush only to find out that my favorite color was no longer available. I am so disappointed and would not consider ordering a substitute online because I don't trust the color chart. Why wouldn't there be a suggestion for a color replacement? The same thing happened a few years ago, when my favorite lipstick was discontinued---not only the color but the formula as well. Seems like Origins wants me too shop elsewhere!"
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Litte Rock
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed about discontinued color
 Date: April 10, 2013
"I have been using origins for over 15 years. They have discontinued the blush color I have worn for years (crimson and clover). None of the new colors are comparable. I think the quality is the same, just disappointed they did not replace the color with something similar (and disappointed it was discontinued). Please bring back crimson and clover. All of the make up I wear is Origins, I do not want to have to wear a different company's blush."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pinch Your Cheeks™ Powder Blush
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Dallas, TX
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Not The Same :-/
 Date: May 2, 2013
"I've been using Origins for over 10 years, I loved the Bronzed Metal and Rose Twinkle blushes, the new line just doesn't compare (I've tried a couple of the new colors and haven't liked any of them so far). I really miss the old colors, I don't like the new shades and I'm having a hard time finding something similar in another line... very disappointed, lost my business for this product for sure."
1 2 3 next>>