Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow

Long-wearing cream eye shadow.
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
6
63 of 80(79%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: USA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
NO CREASE, SUPER LONG WEARING
 Date: February 3, 2013
Tags: staying power!!, no creases!!, easy to use!!
"I never write reviews, but feel like I must on this. This is by far the best eye shadow product I've ever found. I'm 50. I work long 12 hour shifts. I got this in storm surge. I have darker blonde hair with red tones and lighter skin. I put this eye shadow on with a blending brush. It goes on perfectly and blends well. It never budges my entire shift. To test this, when I got off work I went to the bathroom to look at how my eye makeup fared. It literally looked like I had just put it on. I had used an eye liner (which typically also smudges or "goes away" as well) and that was also in perfect shape. i couldn't believe it. I have those deeper set eyes with a crease and have had troubles in the past with eye shadows clumping in lines there. Not this! It looks so good. I came back to try another color, and thought I'd write a review in case someone else is contemplating trying it. Don't hesitate...it's the best!!!!! Get an application brush with the shorter, firmer bristles (not super soft) and it works just great!!"
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: 
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
A Step Backward
 Date: October 16, 2012
"I loved Underwear for Lids and I am sure this product is just as great as looking good and lasting all day. However, the thing that made me keep going back for more Underwear for Lids was the ease of application. I did not have to stick my fingers in it and get gunk under my nails (which I keep short, so I can't imagine the frustration of users with long nails). I also did not have to worry about the fact that is was unhygienic to use my fingers to apply eye makeup. Please bring back the old applicator! Please! I am going to run out of the huge supply I purchased when I found out about this product change!"
31 of 33 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best!
 Date: April 2, 2013
"I love this eyeshadow. It glides on easily with your fingertip and blends with the other colors great. It does stay on all day and sometimes all night if I'm too lazy to wash my face before bed. My favorite colors are sugar peach, coffee buzz and bamboost. I have dark brown eyes and dark brown hair. I have pale skin so these colors work for me. I have tried the storm surge-too gray, perkle-looks like my eyes are bruised, go go espresso is way too dark for me. GingerZing is great for the evening since it has more gold shimmer to it. I used to not wear any eyeshadow except for Origins underwear for lids so I wanted something easy to apply. This is the best I have ever found."
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Tucson, AZ
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Very disappointed once again
 Date: December 3, 2012
"I have been using the Underwear for Lids for years. I CANNOT use any other eyeshadow as it makes my eyelids look creppy. Origins discontinued the "Underwear" once before and now they've done it again. It is the ONLY thing I can use as a cover up for my dark circles AND as a primer for my Origins eyeliner. Now, I have to call some company that supplies discontinued products to get my Origins product. Why would you discontinue a product that is obviously loved by many customers. I, for one, would love it if you would bring that product back. Thanks."
22 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: San Diego, Ca
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Underwear for Lids was the BEST
 Date: December 9, 2012
"I have used Underwear for Lids for YEARS. I have encouraged about 10 other people to start using Origins as their go to product line, including Underwear for Lids becuz of its wearability, simplicity, long-wearing qualities. We are ALL very disappointed we can no longer buy a very favorite, lovely, go-to product."
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Bring back UNDERWEAR FOR LIDS
 Date: March 19, 2014
"These are ok. But the colors are too shimmery and the product is too dry. I dearly miss the colors, packaging, and formula of Underwear for Lids - the best eye shadow base/weep of cream shadow ever. WHY do you keep changing your makeup? Can't you see people aren't pleased??"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Kokom oIN
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? No
 Date: March 6, 2013
"I bought the Perkle & it goes on very smooth & even, then bought the Khaki & it does not go on smooth or even...so I probably won't try other colors. I miss the stick colors that I think were called underwear for eyes!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Washington DC
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
De-Puffing, Long-Lasting
 Date: April 24, 2013
Tags: puffy lids, watery eyes
"I love,love love this eyeshadow. I am a product junkie and I also happen to have very watery sensitive eyes from allergies, so I am always on the lookout for good waterproof makeup and for de-puffing magic (Origins happens to be fabulous at that second bit).
This shadow definitely depuffs- for me, even better than the matching eye creme, maybe because my sensitive eyes like it better. In fact, I use the GingerZing as a de-puffing blusher on puffy facial sinus/cheek areas.
It also stays on through lots of eye watering and dabbing at them with tissues. You don't need powder shadow but can use it. I used GingerZing when my hair was red, and vanilla when it was blonde. I'm getting ready to go light pink (!) so I'm going to try #03 next."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? No
VERY Upset
 Date: November 27, 2012
"I have been an underwear for lids user for years. I am sure that this is a nice product, but I don't want a cream eyeshadow. VERY upset that Origins felt the need to discontinue underwear for lids to introduce this product."
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Just okay
 Date: September 18, 2014
"I have been on an Origins kick recently buying all sorts of Origins products. My first dip into their make up line was this cream eye shadow in GingerZing. The best way I can describe this color is "flesh" with a little dab of metallic sheen. I was disappointed immediately when I saw the color, I was hoping for something brighter and/or more shimmery. Regardless, I decided to give it a try for a couple days. It does go on very easily with your finger and sets quickly. I have not found it to be a "long lasting" product and it does crease in my eyes. Because of the color, the price and the lack of all day wear, I will be returning it. I think there are better eye products out there."
Review 11 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed ... Missing Underwear for Lids
 Date: November 20, 2013
"Like others have commented -- PLEASE bring back Underwear for Lids!!! Beige Gaze & Gold Dust have been my only eye make up for years. I have sensitive eye lids and never ever had any issue/reaction.
While it wears well all day, the GinZing is okay, but I don't like having to use my finger to apply it and it doesn't have any "sparkle" like Lids. The coffee buzz is close to beige gaze, but there isn't anything close to gold dust in color or sheen."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Maryland
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
PLEASE bring back Underwear for Lids!!!!!!!!!!!
 Date: September 11, 2014
"I LOVED Underwear for Lids!!!! I do not love, or even like this product. As others have said, I do not like sticking my fingers in this tiny little pot. It gets underneath my short fingernails. When you get to the end of the pot, it's nearly impossible to use it until it's gone! So I feel like I am wasting a good portion of the product. Nor do I want to use a brush that has to be cleaned. I have used Beyond the Fringe and Pinch My Cheeks as well as Underwear for Lids for many, many years. PLEASE bring back Underwear for Lids!!!! PLEASE!!! If not, I may need to go elsewhere so I can buy all of my products in one place. I will not be buying this product ever again. And there is no other shadow offered as a good replacement."
Review 13 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Bring back the stick eye cream!
 Date: February 14, 2013
"I loved the stick eye cream, it was so easy to apply. This cream eye shadow lasts all day but it takes more time to apply than the stick version. Overall, disappointed."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Valley City, Ohio
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!!
 Date: August 29, 2014
Tags: everyday
"I love the color because you get a natural look, but smooth appearance ."
Review 15 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Tupelo , MS
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing!
 Date: July 30, 2014
"Love this product! It is the best! Easy to apply with the silky smoothness texture it goes on and stays on. It does not clump or build up in the creases of your eyelids.It stays smooth. Love it !!"
Review 16 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Colorado
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best New Origins Product!
 Date: October 23, 2012
Tags: natural look
"I too had used the previous stick product but this cream shadow beats that one hands down. Only shadow I have ever used that has not ended in the crease and you can still see at the end of the day still evenly over the eyelid. I don't wear much makeup but this is so very pretty and not overbearing and I find myself grabbing it when I'm just hanging out at my house. Great product. I'm going to pick up at least 2-3 more colors. I started by applying with my finger but now use a brush and it is very easy and works beautifully."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Illinois
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Needs Improving
 Date: December 14, 2012
"This was suggested as a replacement for Underwear for Lids, eyeshadow primer. It has great staying power, I like that. However, it is not as soft as Underwear for lids and having to use your fingers is not good! The consistency of the product needs to be softer. Please put this in a tube like Underwear, make it easier to apply, and the product would be great!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Cape Cod
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great eyeshadow
 Date: October 4, 2012
Tags: long lasting
"I was a little skeptical because I had never used a cream eyeshadow before but was very pleased with this product. I bought the khaki and sugar peach and there is just enough sparkle for a "senior". One drawback for me is that I wear hard contact lenses and need them to put on makeup. With the cream it puts a little more pressure on my eyelid than powder. I also would like to see a few more shades and a toned down blue."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Houston, TX
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL
 Date: September 4, 2012
"Not only is this eyeshadow easy to apply, the color (Sugar Peach) is wonderful. If I'm in a hurry, I simply wipe it over my eyelid; however, if I decide to add more color, I use it as primer and blend eyeshadow over it. I love, love, love this product. I'm planning on purchasing another one as an addition to my quick and easy makeup routine."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for GinZing™ Brightening cream eye shadow
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Calgary, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't live without it!
 Date: July 7, 2014
"I love this product, it is the perfect base to a natural eye shadow! i use it every day and can't live without it!"
1 2 3 4 next>>