Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup

Average Customer Rating:
4.451 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
5 stars
80
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
4
100 of 111(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Dixiedo07
Location: CA
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best stuff ever!
 Date: February 23, 2011
"Awesome makeup! , For over 10 years I was stuck on one brand of makeup because of it's coverage, but I needed something else due to my very very oily skin and I am acne prone (the painful cystic type), but couldn't find anything with coverage as good as the other brand. Use Brighter by Nature with Quick, Hide! Concealer and it is awesome coverage. It feels light in comparison to the other makeup I was using, I have yet to breakout from it, and I only had to touch up once or twice throughout a whole day when I used to go through more than 2 oil blotting sheets a day with the other makeup. If you are doubtful, trust me, you will like this! I thought nothing could pull me away from my other makeup, but Origins has! Plus the SPF 30 is a huge plus and it really is skin tone correcting, it evened out the spots from past blemishes and gave me a bright, clean and smooth look."
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Ragdoll
Location: TN
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome makeup!
 Date: February 27, 2011
Tags: evening out skin tone and great coverage
"This is the best makeup I have ever used! I am 47 years old, and have tried lots of brands over the years, and this beats them all! I've tried all kinds of liquids, powders, and creams. This feels light on my skin; not dry or oily; and the coverage is great. I apply it with a foundation brush. I have fair sensitive skin, and I used to use tons of concealer, but this even covers my dark circles. Amazing! My skin looks flawless, and the makeup lasts all day. I bought it in two colors; one for winter (light cool) and one for summer (light/medium neutral.) I am thrilled with both! The colors look dark in the case, but once on my skin, they blend perfectly. It does not settle into fine lines or end up shiny. Best ever! Try it, you won't be sorry! Thanks, Origins!"
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Thirties
Location: Mission, Texas
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great coverage
 Date: March 20, 2011
Tags: concealing and correcting imperfections
"The best powder I have ever used, though Im having trouble finding my shade. I don't like to look pale or too bronzed. I have been using Origins for so many years and this makeup powder is the best this line has ever had. I was previously using Youthtopia liquid foundation and tossed it out for good. My only concern is Origins should have more colors to choose from with more yellow under tones not too light or not to orange and dark."
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Starflower
Location: Denver, CO
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best powder makeup so far!
 Date: April 12, 2011
Tags: natural look, portability/travel, evening skintone
"I went to the Origins counter at a store in my local mall for a facial at an event they were having recently. I really intended to only try some new skincare products, but the sales associate did my makeup as well and this was the one product I could not leave the store without buying!. I had pretty much given up on powder foundations (and believe me - I have tried many!) - I'm in my 40's, have pretty dry skin, and most of them just settled in the lines and made me look worse. But this stuff is great - looks just flawless, but still very natural, lasts all day long, has sunscreen, is travel-friendly, fast and easy to apply... everything I ever wanted in a foundation! Admittedly, other than the dryness and some fine lines, my skin is pretty good, I don't have a whole lot to cover most of the time, but I think the coverage of this product is pretty buildable.
One trick I have found with any powder foundation is to always apply with a brush (right now I use a big fluffy bronzer brush), not the spongey thing in the package. If you need more coverage, build it up using a couple lighter layers - otherwise it may look too cakey.
"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Tonia
Location: Wisconsin
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
 Date: January 30, 2011
Tags: Oily Skin
"This is a SUPER product, more "powdery" than "creamy." I have oily skin and it keeps me matte better than anything else I've tried. It goes on really quickly versus liquid foundation also. And you can apply it to shiny spots during the day, so it acts as both a foundation and powder in one. I also love the smart packaging, a mirrored magnetic compact with product on top, sponge in a separate compartment underneath and a satisfying click when you shut it.
If you want some illuminating you can apply Halo Effect (which is great anyway). Normal skin types will need to use a moisturizer underneath or it might look too dry and powdery.
Overall, fabulous product. A keeper."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Briella
Location: Malibu, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Do you want brighter & even skin? Try this!
 Date: January 30, 2011
Tags: combination, oily/dry
"This foundation is amazing. I tried it at the Manhattan Beach store and I just fell in love with it! It really brighten my skin, improve the clarity and texture, and even out my skin tone. My face looks flawless! The girl who helped me (Princess) said I can use a powder foundation brush for a medium coverage for best result, but she also said I can use the sponge that comes with it for a full coverage. I'm pleased with both of the result. Brush or sponge that is. It's also long wearing and I didn't have to keep re-applying. In addition, it's oil-free. I have no excess shine and it just gives my face a healthy- looking glow. I definitely recommend this product!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Doctorkelli
Location: Kansas City, MO
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Want to Hide Some Imperfections?
 Date: September 5, 2012
Tags: All Skin Types, skin perfecting
"I'm 52 years old. People always tell me, "You're SO lucky to have such perfect skin!" Ha! If they only knew what my skin looks like without a little help. Granted, my skin is smooth, but it is dry, splotchy and full of those lovely lines of aging. I don't mind getting older; there are definitely some perks. But I have no intention of giving up and looking matronly. Brighter By Nature is my secret weapon. I had a clerk at the Origins store say that this product was better for younger skin...LIES (I am a bit dramatic). This product, when applied lightly and dabbed with a makeup sponge to remove excess, creates a smooth, perfect base for your other cosmetics. I have VERY DRY skin and this DOES NOT dry my skin. Since I have been using this product, I have WAY fewer break-outs, my face NEVER gets sun burned and I have "perfect skin.""
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: originsforever
Location: Central Jersey/Jersey Shore
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Suff!!!
 Date: June 3, 2011
Tags: oily/combination skin, acne prone, large pores
"I normally do not wear make-up, especially foundation. However, my skin is oily, HAD large pores, breaks out, and I sometimes spend quite a bit of time outside which necessitates sunblock. I used an all natural mineral powder for two or three years, but it was too dry as it required a "good" moisturizer which I cannot use with my oily skin. The colors were not right either. I had been hoping Origins would come out with a mineral powder foundation for oily skin. So, when they did, I tried it although I still had quite a bit of the other powder left. I am African American, 40+, and I have been using the deep warm for about 7 months now. I do not like to look "made-up" and I am no fuss, so I use a kabuki brush to apply it. I LOVE it!! My break outs occur less and less, the dark spots they leave are disappearing, and my skin looks radiant! The college kids think I am around 30 years old. Thank you Origins for a great foundation, I can't go a day without it!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: deebee166
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30Skin Tone Correcting Mak
 Date: May 20, 2014
"I have been using this product for almost 2 years now and I am hooked, I dont like anything too cakey this is perfect."
Review 10 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: JMuco
Location: Glenwood Springs, CO
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Disappointing compared to Silk Screen
 Date: April 23, 2014
"I've been a loyal Silk Screen user for years, but was excited to see the Brighter by Nature makeup arrive as it is SPF 30. When I got it, I loved that it had a separate compartment for the pad below the makeup, but was disappointed to find that the first time I took it on a trip the makeup immediately broke into pieces. It is very fragile.
In addition, it cakes on my face in all the wrong places and in every line and crinkle. By the end of the day, I have no remaining makeup on as I have rubbed it off during the course of the day trying to even it out.
Back to my beloved Silk Screen for me. I just wish it was still SPF 15, please add this back!"
Review 11 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: alexgeorgia
Location: altanta georgia
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
the best powder
 Date: April 29, 2014
"i just got this powder a few days ago, and i have no idea how i have gone without it for so long.. it has just the right amout of coverage, adds some color and really brightens my complexion!!"
Review 12 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Rosette
Location: Florida
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
 Date: April 25, 2014
"I only wear pressed powder foundations. I wanted one that had SPF30 and this one does. It feels smooth on your skin and has good coverage. There are warm colors which match my yellowish skin tone. I am very happy with this foundation."
Review 13 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: aprohorenko
Location: Bartlesville, OK
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
 Date: September 28, 2013
"I love this product!. I use it as a concealer and it definitely makes my skin look flawless! Its not heavy and it doesn't melt in the heat, at least not in the mid west."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: SunnySue
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Superior Product
 Date: June 10, 2011
"I am in my early 50's with t-zone oily skin that is acne prone. I also live in Florida in very high humidity. I love this product. I started using it in January.... it feels light on my skin, and offers flawless coverage and oil control. Many friends have commented that my skin looks great, and I haven't had ANY breakouts. This product makes my skin look dewey, and does not have a chalky appearance like some powder or mineral makeup. I apply in the morning and it stays on until the end of the workday. I find applying it with a brush for daytime keeps it feeling light...you can freshen it with the accompanying puff for more coverage at night. Highly recommended!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: missychrissy
Location: New Jersey
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing!!
 Date: August 26, 2011
Tags: coverage, protection
"This is by far the best foundation I've ever used. I purchased in Medium-Neutral and it matches my skin tone perfectly! The coverage is FANTASTIC and not heavy at all. I have very sensitive skin but it doesn't irritate it one bit. I also have sunspots (freckles) on my cheeks and this is the best 'natural' coverage I've ever seen; trust me, I've tried EVERYTHING from other powder foundations to concealer sticks. Highly recommend this product! Actually, I recommend the entire Brighter By Nature line!! I purchased everything and love them all equally."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Marissa986
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Makeup Ever!
 Date: March 24, 2014
"I hate to say this, but I keep trying to find alternatives to this powder because I go through so much, but I just love it.
First off, the color is sublime. I try on tons of other powders and they never look right on me. I also try on creams and liquids and they wash me out. This has the perfect color and almost a slight glow to it.
Second, it just plain treats your skin really well. If you look over the reviews you'll see that this has worked for women of all sorts of ages (I'm 27) and skin types. It really is great!"
Review 17 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: BBmax
Location: CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Origins Did It Again!
 Date: March 4, 2011
"I'm hesitant to buy makeup online, but I used the chat service and got help on what color to pick. I love it! The product is light and makes my skin glow. It works unbeliveably well. It really did wonders for my combination oily skin. Thanks!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: lynswim
Location: bakersville, nc
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for "older" skin, too!
 Date: February 14, 2011
"I am a 47+ with combination skin. This makeup is WONDERFUL - no shine after 9+hours, no dry flaky areas. Goes on smoothly with no caking.
Awesome makeup!!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: kittycat
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
TOO ORANGE!
 Date: July 13, 2013
"I used the Origins Silk Screen powder in the Cloud shade until it was discontinued to my big disappointment as none of the current Silk Screen shades are light enough for me. I ordered this product In the very light cool shade thinking that would be a description of a shade similar to Cloud. WRONG - it is not "very light" at all and it has such an orange tint. I'm done with Origins and their current sorry shade selections ."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 30 Skin Tone Correcting Makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Cilla20
Location: Houston, TX
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally found my makeup!!!
 Date: November 25, 2011
Tags: coverage skin tone
"Ok so I have literally tried EVERY type of makeup that would not break me out and I have finally found my makeup! I cant wear makeup with certain ingredients because I get cystic acne so I tried almost every mineral or acne makeup out there spending hundreds of dollars! I researched Origins and thought I'd give it a try and I absolutley LOVE it! I have very light skin, freckles, and acne scars. The Brighter By Nature covered it all! I do use the Quick, Hide concealer sometimes to cover my acne scars and love the coverage plus it does not break me out BIG PLUS! I was afraid of how fast I would go through the powder because I have oily skin but I use the Origins Zero Oil moisturizer under my makeup and I only apply my powder once and it last about 8 hours without a touch up :) I may sound silly giving so much praise to this makeup line but if you knew how much time and money I have spent on other makeup you would understand lol! Thanks Origins!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>