Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer

Clinically proven to even out skin tone and prevent dark spots from forming.
Average Customer Rating:
4.206 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
8
60 of 73(82%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: BikenL
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Delivers as promised...again!
 Date: October 20, 2010
Tags: moisturizing and clearing blemishes
"As mentioned in my review of Never a Dull Moment, I am African American with milk chocolate brown skin and have struggled with barely there, but still there acne blemishes. In three weeks, the combination of this moisturizer with the Never a Dull Moment cleanser have made remarkable progress towards erasing my blemishes. Nicely done, Origins. Definitely recommend these products for brown skin. Reasonably priced, great quality and delivers on the promise. Also, the moisturizer maintains moisture in the skin all day long without an oily or greasy feeling. Give it a moment to penetrate and you will be amazed...even in the humid, hot weather of South Carolina this moisturizer rocks."
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Texas50
Location: Austin
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Brighter by Nature moisturizer
 Date: March 31, 2011
"I am 53 y.o. and African American. I have lived with hyperpigmention on my chin and neck area most of my adult life. I've tried many products, with no success. I picked up a sample of this product and have been using it for 3 weeks. I have absolutely begun to notice my skin tone is beginning to even out. I love the fact that I don't have to use a separate sunscreen. I have really oily skin, but I have no issues with the product being too oily. I anticipate in another month, I will feel confident enough to wear only a light facial powder, instead of a liquid make-up to even out my skin tone.
Thank you origins.
"
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: nationalvelvet
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
not too light, not too heavy...perfectly hydrating
 Date: November 14, 2011
Tags: Moisturizing, skin tone improvement
"i live in the midwest and this moisturizer does the trick in all varieties of weather. i have noticed i no longer need primer under my foundation because my skin tone is more even and radiant. some days i don't even bother with makeup. i have also used the perfect world moisturizer and absolutely prefer this...it smells better and doesn't leave any residue. an absolute bathroom staple!"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: JackieK
Location: Orlando, FL
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Even better than I hoped!
 Date: December 27, 2010
Tags: Moisturizing, any skin type, brightening
"This moisturizer is great! I have sensitive/oily/acne-prone skin and this product does not make my face look greasy, irritate my skin, or clog my pores! I have also seen a dramatic improvement in my acne scars, most of them are hardly noticeable any more, and I don't have to use nearly as much concealer! (I do use this along with the Brighter By Nature Serum) The price is actually quite reasonable, due to the fact that a little bit of the product goes a long way. I have used this product for about 2 months now, and I probably have enough left to last me another 4 months."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: SaraBeara
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Insane!
 Date: March 8, 2012
Tags: acne scars, sun damage
"This stuff is a dream in a jar! I went through teenage mutant acne as a teen and had been left with stubborn scars. And I'm also a native southern Californian so naturally I have some sun damage. Same old story, tried everything and your mothers cat to even my skin tone, came across this and woowza! Within two weeks I noticed my scars and brown spots lighten up and fade! A little goes a long way, just a dime size amount was perfect and left my skin baby soft."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: ThaiB
Location: Johnstown, Colorado
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good for skin
 Date: May 25, 2013
Tags: great moisturizing, great sun protection, binds well w/powder foundation, skiing
"I used this for the first time back in February in combination with the Mega Bright Skin Tone Correcting Serum and by mid March, I could see the nice result progressing slowly and nicely the fact that this lotion really helps reducing my pores and perfect for the morning on the mountain for skiing. It doesn't dry out my face; it keeps my face moisten the whole time on the mountain. My facial skin texture definitely has improved tremendously since I've used it. I love the SPF-35 that actually works, unlike the other big brand names that SPF don't do much. I have a lot of old acne scars on my face and my skin tends to break out easily, but this product is very friendly with my sensitive skin. I also use it on my neck and chest. I took a trip to Thailand and brought it with me, and it worked great there even though I first thought that the texture might have been a little too thick for the hot & high-humid weather like in Thailand, but I didn't feel any heavy lotion on my face at all. It really helped protecting my skin from a nasty sunlight and as I mentioned before--HELPED REDUCE MY PORES. I'm on the second jar now-Love it!!! It also smells great :-)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Sunnygirl32
Location: New York
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product!
 Date: October 20, 2010
Tags: brightening and evening skin tone
"My skin was very dull, so I thought I'd give this a try. I am glad I did! after only two weeks of use, I have already had a noticeable difference in my skin-it looks so much brighter and
healthier now. Also, I do have combination skin, and it works great and it does not bother my sensitive skin. I also LOVE that it has SPF35- I am outdoors a lot and always busy, so it is like two steps in one!
"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: troym
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
A Most Excellent Moisturizer
 Date: November 9, 2010
Tags: brightening
"I've been using BBN for about two weeks now and I LOVE it. When my skin is misbehaving, it's oily and flaky. It can also be somewhat dull (guess that's what being fortywonderful gets you:) With this product, I've noticed my skin seems more luminous. I also like it because it feels emollient enough in colder weather, but doesn't make me oily - a winning combo. Thanks, Origins!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Cinder8lla
Location: NEW YORK
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Works wonderfully
 Date: February 1, 2012
"I love this product. I have olive skin with yellow undertones and my skin is very uneven as far as the color. I also have more dry skin than oily. Some areas of my face are darker than others, especially on my cheeks. I also developed a lot of light brown freckles and little red spots on my face due to age and sun exposure. I've used this product for six months now and have noticed that my skin looks more even colored. My freckles have gotten lighter and my skin as is much brighter now. The moisturizer gives my skin a very light coat so I have also added a different face moisturizer to my regiment on top of using this product . Overall, the product does work and I would recommend this to anyone suffering from skin discoloration, uneven skin color, and blemishes. However, if you are looking to hydrate your skin, this product does not give enough hydration."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Laurenliann
Location: Sebring, FL
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Unbelievable!
 Date: December 27, 2011
"I've been using this product for a few months now. And I kid you not, my skin tone is really evening out! I was very skeptical at first, beginning in my late 20's I started noticing changes in my skin- dryness, unevenness , horrible dry patches, a couple brown spots on my cheeks and redness. Out of desperation I've tried every expensive cream out on the market, to no avail. My beautiful 58 year old (looks like she's 35) mother told me about Origins, so the past 2 or 3 years I've been using all their products and they've made quite a difference. But THIS one, this is the mother of them all! My dark spots on my cheeks have faded to almost nothing, and of course the moisture levels to my skin have been restored. This is definitely a keeper!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: luckyduck
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Combines the best of both worlds
 Date: January 14, 2011
"This cream does smell like a sunscreen, so don't expect it to smell like a regular moisturizer without SPF. It offers a higher amount of SPF compared to other brands offering a similiar product and performs better as a moisturizer and is less greasy compared to regular sunscreen. This product also does not ball up and peel like other facial sunscreens I've tried, especially when combining the product with serums. The fact that it claims to brighten skin is just an added bonus, for me I can't see a noticable difference in the brightness of my skin. I use several products that promote skin brightening so it's not possible to narrow down results to just this one product. If your primary goal is to find a sunscreen for your face, then this product will probably meet your needs."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: vdubbs
Location: Roscoe, IL
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
This stuff REALLY works!
 Date: October 21, 2011
Tags: evening out skin tone and brightening
"I can't say enough good things about Origins products, and this one is no exception. Before this product, my skin tone was horribly uneven and I had a ton of red marks leftover from acne. After a month of using this my skin looks AWESOME. Almost all of my red marks have faded and my skin looks so much more even and bright - I get so many compliments now! I have extremely sensitive combination skin that breaks out easily, but this moisturizer goes on light and moisturizes ALL day long without making me look oily half way through the day. It's a bit pricey, but totally worth it!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: nagrom
Location: Seoul, Korea
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't let the price tag scare you
 Date: April 23, 2012
"I was hesitant to buy this because of the price tag, but I bit the bullet and I am SO glad I did. This goes on smooth and smells delicious. The product is great because it lasts a long time. You only need a tiny amount to do the trick so I only need to refill about once a year!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: KrazyKat
Location: Kansas City, MO
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
SPF is too heavy under makeup
 Date: March 2, 2011
"First off I want to say that I'm a huge fan of Orgins! When I saw this new moisturizer, which complements the peel and serum that I love so much, I was anxious to try it. Unfortunately, the SPF is just too heavy on my skin. It never really felt like it was rubbed in, I looked oily, and the smell of sunscreen is very overpowering!
I am a very fair completed person, so I rarely go out with makeup, and this moisturizer looked horrible under my makeup! It was a costly mistake.
I'll stick with my "Starting Over" moisturizer.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: WickedChelmsford
Location: Chelmsford MA
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
I WANT to love it...
 Date: March 25, 2013
"I originally loved this moisturizer. However, it often makes my dry skin very greasy. Maybe it is the SPF. I am very fair and have freckles, and have developed dark spots after pregnancies. What fun! This moisturizer really really gives my skin a healthy radiance and keeps my skin fair. It definitely lightened the dark spots. Hooray! I wanted to continue using it, but would need to blot my face a few times a day to keep the greasy feel away. I wish I could still use it. I always received compliments on my complexion when I used this daily. I used this for months. Also, like all Origins products, it lasts forever, so the price is well worth it. If I could figure out how not to have a greasy nose and forehead, I would use this forever. I used it for months and still have half of a jar. All my Origins products last 6 months or more! I love Origins!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Karolina
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: February 8, 2012
"I've used this for a bit more than 6 weeks now, and I can notice that my acne discolorations have lightened, for the older acne scars (treated with the product) are lighter than the ones more recently formed (not treated yet). With time, discolorations do improve. In the first three weeks I couldn't see any change and was about to toss this away as an "useless" product that's merely a sunscreen. I'm glad I kept on using it. Also, usually it's moisturizing enough if I stay indoors, but when I go outside to walk to class in the cold winter wind for about 20 minutes, my skin looks like it's peeling off. My skin would get so dry that powder makeup cannot stay on. I need to wear a thin moisturizer on top of this one, at the risk of getting acne, in order to not be dry if I stay outside for long in the cold winter. I think this works better for combination skin than dry skin. However, I would buy this again in the future because it's effective for discolourations and has SPF 35 sunscreen, which isn't true with my other moisturizers."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: ICURN
Location: Long Beach, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Didn't work for me
 Date: April 3, 2013
"I am almost done with the jar and I noticed my skin is the same as before I started using it and my dark spots are unchanged if not more."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: Bhall
Location: Nashville
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
It was ok...
 Date: June 20, 2012
"I think the product is EXTREMELY to thick and heavy especially for the summer time and for individuals who have normal to oily skin. I have noticed this summer that I have started developing pimples on my cheek area & on my forehead. I have never had acne but I think that due to this moisturizer being so thick mixed with sweating (from being or outside or working out) that my pores have just become clogged. I think that individuals that suffer with dry skin & for people who are dry in the winter that this product would be great, however I am not one of those people.
I am headed back to Orgins to start over. I also think that the Checks & Balances face wash was also a little drying for my skin causing an over production of oil which clogged my pores as well. I need gentler and lighter products! I haven't totally sworn off Orgins though...will try some other things first before I totally count them out!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Mads
Location: Bronx
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Too heavy and greasy. Left my skin shiny.
 Date: May 1, 2012
Tags: not for me
"Too oily and heavy for my combination skin. The oil seems to sit on my skin and makeup doesn't apply well over it. It's too shiny as well. It feels the same as the drugstore SPF I was using for only $12-$14 a bottle twice the size of this. I have to wear makeup to get rid of the shine this leaves. Like another reviewer mentioned, it just feels sticky and uncomfortable on my skin. The jar it's contained in is filled with the cream so if it works for you....you do get your money's worth. However, the cream fits loosely in the jar and is easy to spill. It should be in pump form like some other SPF creams. I purchased this to use with the peeling pads and the mega bright. I thought it would help to brighten my skin. I'm new to Origins and was hoping it would make a difference. So far, I can't say I'll be repurchasing any of these items. Too much $ lost already. I hope I'm wrong. If I am, I will re-review."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brighter By Nature™ SPF 35 Skin tone correcting moisturizer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Celinda
Location: SW Washington State
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Moisturizer
 Date: June 25, 2012
Tags: Moisturizing, sun protection
"Smell wonderful, feels even better, and my skin is looking better and better. It takes very little product, and smooths on easily. I am so glad I finally discovered Origins, thanks to Dr. Weil's healthcare website."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>