Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil

This lightweight, high-tech, hybrid cleansing formula removes dirt, makeup and pollutants with high efficiency. Skin breathes freely. And the energizing aroma of Grapefruit, Orange and Lime renew your spirits. Best for all skin types
Average Customer Rating:
4.768 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(285 Reviews) 269
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (285 reviews)
5 stars
238
4 stars
36
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
276 of 285(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Overland Park, KS
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
HOLY AMAZINGNESS!
 Date: November 17, 2011
" This stuff....is marvelous. I have had problems with acne for as long as I can remember..I've tried sooo many different products to try to get it under control, and some things would work fairly decent but there was nothing I was wowed with.
I am wowed with this! At first I was a little skeptical about putting oil on my already oily acne prone sensitive skin, but I'm glad I tried it! I rub it all over my face before I get into the shower(it doesn't burn the eyes, but I would recommend using something else if you want to remove ALL of your eye makeup..I use baby shampoo which works great) and then add a little water so it turns into a milky liquid, then rinse it off. My skin is SO soft after I use it! And just a day after using it, I could tell a difference in my skin..it ACTUALLY started clearing up!! OMGGGG!! It also seems to help with redness. I've been using it for a few weeks now, and if it continues to work as well as it has these first few weeks, I will never go back to a normal cleanser! I am now working my way through all of Origins products, and every one that I've tried has not let me down.
**tip: BUY the pump at the Origins store for this! It's super cheap and it makes getting the product out of the bottle super quick and with no mess. "
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: D.C. Metro Area
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing! * Bye Bye Blackheads
 Date: September 22, 2014
Tags: clogged pores/blackheads
" I've tried everything and this is so good to my super sensitive, combination skin. I also get clogged pores in my T Zone area. I take a few squirts of this and rub it into dry skin in the shower then massage it in further with a bit of water on my hands.
Amazing.
Hopefully it won't be discontinued as the bottle is lasting me forever and they might think we don't like it because we aren't purchasing it much.
PS - I use Modern Friction once or twice a week for a good scrub also. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
So Glad I Found This!!!!
 Date: September 13, 2014
" I've been reading about the Oil Cleansing Method (OCM) for awhile now and the great benefits it has for ALL skin types. Clean Energy blew me away!!! My pores looked cleaner and my redness practically disappeared after only a couple of uses. Oil is actually a great cleanser for everyone because oil mixes with oil. It clings to the dirt and takes it away without stripping the skin of the natural oils. My only regret is that I didn't try this earlier. The smell is amazing. The downside to finding this is what do I do with all the other awesome Origins cleansers that I own. :) "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: arizona
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
deep cleanse with no irritation or residue
 Date: October 19, 2014
Tags: makeup removal, cleansing, hydration/nourishment
" I have sensitive, dry, slightly acne-prone skin and I love this cleanser. It's so easy because I don't need anything except my sink - just pump a bit onto my hands, rub into the skin, and rinse. An extra pump will remove the most stubborn eye makeup without any irritation. Before rinsing, sometimes I'll add some water to my hands and massage the oil further, which turns it into a milky cleanser that really removes every last bit of makeup, including anything you may have missed the first time around.
I love that it removes makeup and gives a deep clean without leaving a greasy residue or leaving the skin completely parched, which has been my experience with other cleansers (both drugstore and high-end). This oil cleanser leaves you skin so clean and completely hydrated. Removing makeup is no longer a task but a joy thanks to this product.
I even bought bottles for my mom and sister, both of who now refuse to use anything else. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Chicago
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
 Date: August 21, 2014
Tags: All Skin Types
" I just turned 70 and have been using this for at least 3 years. My skin looks better than when I was 65. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: San Diego, CA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic for my Combo Skin!!
 Date: January 21, 2011
Tags: Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin
" Just the thought of oil can be scary for those of us girls who have combo/oily skin...brings up an inner warning signal to steer clear. But I had it all wrong!! Oil isn't bad for our skin...(well there are some..like baby oil or mineral oil) there are actually oils that are good for our skin and can even mimic the natural moisture found in our skin, and thankfully after much research I stumbled upon this cleansing oil and it is FANTASTIC!
FYI to my fellow combo/oily chicks, over-washing or washing with cleansers that strip our skin actually makes us more oily because our skin is overcompensating!! How I did not figure this out earlier is beyond me but I am happy to say I've finally found my saving grace.
Basically I pump a little of the oil onto my fingertips and dot onto my face. I massage it all over with light pressure then rinse with lukewarm water. The smell is fresh and citrusy, very nice! After cleansing I'm left with smooth clean skin that never feels tight or dry. And makeup comes off super easy, even my darkest kohl liner and mascara...I LOVE it(just be careful not to get in your eye, it can sting a little)! Dare I say I don't even have to use a toner afterward!!
After just a week of using this my skin was much smoother, clearer, and it glowed(and not the icky oily glow). Now 3 months later I've only nearly used half of the same bottle and my skin is the best it's ever been, and not one stitch of sensitivity or any adverse reactions, I'm ecstatic!! Thanks Origins :)
**Be sure to ask for the pump, it makes it easy to dispense and much more sanitary "
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Removes every spot of makeup on your face!
 Date: December 1, 2014
Tags: makeup removal, water-resistant sunscreen, everyday usage, Oily Skin, Sensitive Skin
" I have repurchased this baby FOUR times already. If anyone goes through my purchase history from this site, they will see that I repurchase this same product every year. It removes my water-resistant sunscreen and my makeup (including waterproof eyeliner and mascara). I love the smell of it and the price is very well worth it. I could understand if some people will be put off by its initial price tag but this cleanser lasts me for at least eight months! And I usually buy this whenever Origins has a "$10 off + free shipping", so I end up paying around $25 for one bottle. That's not too bad for its effectiveness and its performance! Give this a try! "
Review 8 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Gentle cleansing oil
 Date: November 25, 2014
" My new best way of removing make up at the end of a long day...smells incredible and leaves your skin soft....Awesome!! "
Review 9 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Unlikey new favorite!
 Date: December 11, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types, clogged pores, makeup remover
" So glad to have taken the leap and tried this product! While combating oil with oil makes sense in chemistry class, I had to admit I wasn't sure how it would translate to my often congested pores.
It really does it all--from nourishing my dry patches, to banishing the slick spots! Makeup is dissolved in one easy step. On top of its effectiveness, it's quite a luxurious experience in itself. The wide-mouth bottle was a bit difficult to handle at first, in terms of portion-control, but it is easy to get used to--very retro and unique.
This is a great gift for all ages and skin types--especially for those who wouldn't usually buy it for themselves. Thanks, Origins! "
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely fabulous...works well on skin of color!
 Date: March 23, 2011
" I was using Pure Cream as my main cleanser, but decided to give Clean Energy a try after seeing the rave reviews for it from people with dry skin. As an African-American woman with dry, sometimes sensitive skin that is prone to seborrheic dermatitis flare ups, good skin care products that work well for me are very hard to come by. Clean Energy has been fantastic---it provides a perfect amount of moisture to my skin and leaves it feeling supple with a nice, healthy looking, non-greasy glow and improved skin tone. I am so happy---I would definitely recommend this product! "
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: SD
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smells good and should be cleaning well.
 Date: November 7, 2014
Tags: remove make up
" Gentle, no blocking, easy to emulsify. "
Review 12 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Recommend to a friend? Yes
good !
 Date: November 3, 2014
Tags: clean
" I have used it for 2 years. It is really good product. "
Review 13 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Wellesley, MA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful and Gentle Makeup Remover
 Date: August 8, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types, Combination Skin
" I use this product primarily at night to remove my makeup and whatever else the day has thrown my way. It is the best but also the gentlest makeup remover I've ever used! I wear waterproof eyeliner and water resistant mascara on a daily basis, and this is the only cleanser that doubles as a makeup remover to dissolve these products both completely and GENTLY. Other makeup removers, even other oil based ones, usually need a cotton ball or tissue and I end up pulling at my eyelids and eyelashes - but with this you smooth the oil over everything (no water at first - just the oil) and it rubs away with no harsh scrubbing feeling. One full pump (and I do highly recommend getting the pump for $1) is usually sufficient, smooth all over and rub a little over makeup (you can see it dissolve off onto your fingers), and then wash with warm water. I follow up with Night-a-Mins lotion, and my skin feels delicious as I drift off to sleep. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Northern California
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!!
 Date: October 13, 2014
" This cleanser was recommended to me by the guy at the Origins store. I have never tried a cleansing oil. I mentioned my skin looked a bit dry and a tad bit dull. He recommended clean energy. I was not so sure but I got it anyways and I so glad I did. This is an awesome cleanser. It does not dry out or strip my skin or make my skin oily (which I thought would happen and I am glad that I was wrong). Clean energy is very gentle. My skin perked up since I started using clean energy. "
Review 15 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: ohio
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
VERY CLEAN!
 Date: June 13, 2009
Tags: Sensitive Skin, All Skin Types
" I was very hesitant to try this product. The thought of putting oil on my face made me think I would only break out and have super oily skin. I have sensitive skin and this product is absolutely WONDERFUL! I use it as a nightly cleanser and the best part is that I dont need a second product to remove eye makeup because this removes my eye makeup as well. Just a couple of pumps is more than enough (make sure you purchase the pump-sold seperately-) and just rinse your face with warm water. Leaves skin feeling super clean but not dry and tight. I have been using this for about 3 weeks and my skin has never looked better! Try it! you wont regret it! The best thing about Origins is that if you buy something and it doesnt work, they will always exchange it for something else. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Makeup remover
 Date: October 3, 2014
Tags: All Skin Types
" I really like this makeup remover. It makes it easy to get all my makeup off, it even loosens my eye make up so that it all comes off with my cleanser. It rinses cleanly without an oily feel left on my skin and then when I wash my face with my cleanser all traces of make up are gone. It smells great too! I really like this Origins product! "
Review 17 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Southern CA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best cleanser
 Date: March 4, 2011
" I cannot believe how great this cleanser is. I am on my 3rd bottle and hoping that origins will never discontinue this product. The ingredients are unbelievable! Natural oils combined altogether and the scent is amazing! I feel like I'm in a spa whenever I use this product. It is definitely different from other origins cleansers because it does not lather. I used to use 'pure cream' due to my sensitive and dry skin but after I've tried clean energy, I was hooked. It works so well it even takes off waterproof mascara and heavy eyeshadows. But of course the amount of time and product to use is relative to how much make up you have on. I wear sheer powder make up with waterproof eyeshadow and liner, I use about 5 pumps worth (oh yeah it's better to use with pump, costs $1.00) and it cleans my face completely! My tip is to apply and massage before getting in the shower so that your face is still dry and the oil can do its job. If your face is too wet, you might need to add more of the product to cleanse thoroughly, that can be a waste. It feels weird at first because your face will feel very oily after application but magically rinses away with water and leaves no oily residue. If you have oily or normal skin, I dont think it will be a problem because they are all just natural oils that washes away after rinsing then your face will feel so fresh, clean and so healthy. The reason I think that it's the best cleanser is because if you check out the ingredients of the other origins cleansers some of them have the sodium laureth sulfate chemical which I've read is bad, but if you check out the clean energy's ingredients, they are all just different oils. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: two rivers wi
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
great for any skin
 Date: September 29, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
" I love this cleanser. I have oily, breakout prone skin. I use this in the evening to deep cleanse. You would think the last thing an oily skin type needs is more oil, but then I remembered from high school chemistry class that like dissolves like. My skin is getting really clear, less irritated and very soft. It really gives a deep down clean without stripping the skin. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Austin TX
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Luscious Lemony Lather
 Date: April 21, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
" Originally skeptical about washing oil-prone skin with oil. Actually keeps my face less oily, free from acne. Removes milia over time and frequently evacuates blackheads without trying. Smell is heavenly and luxurious feel of oil on skin helps me relax before bedtime. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Boston
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Must have product
 Date: March 30, 2014
" This is just an amazing product! I am so picky about the stuff I apply on my skin and this oil just a must have cleansing oil. I don't write reviews at all and I just want everybody know about this product - this is how much I like it. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>