Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil

This lightweight, high-tech, hybrid cleansing formula removes dirt, makeup and pollutants with high efficiency. Skin breathes freely. And the energizing aroma of Grapefruit, Orange and Lime renew your spirits. Best for all skin types
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(278 Reviews) 262
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (278 reviews)
5 stars
231
4 stars
36
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
269 of 278(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: crh31
Location: Overland Park, KS
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
HOLY AMAZINGNESS!
 Date: November 17, 2011
"This stuff....is marvelous. I have had problems with acne for as long as I can remember..I've tried sooo many different products to try to get it under control, and some things would work fairly decent but there was nothing I was wowed with.
I am wowed with this! At first I was a little skeptical about putting oil on my already oily acne prone sensitive skin, but I'm glad I tried it! I rub it all over my face before I get into the shower(it doesn't burn the eyes, but I would recommend using something else if you want to remove ALL of your eye makeup..I use baby shampoo which works great) and then add a little water so it turns into a milky liquid, then rinse it off. My skin is SO soft after I use it! And just a day after using it, I could tell a difference in my skin..it ACTUALLY started clearing up!! OMGGGG!! It also seems to help with redness. I've been using it for a few weeks now, and if it continues to work as well as it has these first few weeks, I will never go back to a normal cleanser! I am now working my way through all of Origins products, and every one that I've tried has not let me down.
**tip: BUY the pump at the Origins store for this! It's super cheap and it makes getting the product out of the bottle super quick and with no mess."
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Cosmic844
Location: Chicago
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
 Date: August 21, 2014
Tags: All Skin Types
"I just turned 70 and have been using this for at least 3 years. My skin looks better than when I was 65."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: mrsOrtega
Location: San Diego, CA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic for my Combo Skin!!
 Date: January 21, 2011
Tags: Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin
"Just the thought of oil can be scary for those of us girls who have combo/oily skin...brings up an inner warning signal to steer clear. But I had it all wrong!! Oil isn't bad for our skin...(well there are some..like baby oil or mineral oil) there are actually oils that are good for our skin and can even mimic the natural moisture found in our skin, and thankfully after much research I stumbled upon this cleansing oil and it is FANTASTIC!
FYI to my fellow combo/oily chicks, over-washing or washing with cleansers that strip our skin actually makes us more oily because our skin is overcompensating!! How I did not figure this out earlier is beyond me but I am happy to say I've finally found my saving grace.
Basically I pump a little of the oil onto my fingertips and dot onto my face. I massage it all over with light pressure then rinse with lukewarm water. The smell is fresh and citrusy, very nice! After cleansing I'm left with smooth clean skin that never feels tight or dry. And makeup comes off super easy, even my darkest kohl liner and mascara...I LOVE it(just be careful not to get in your eye, it can sting a little)! Dare I say I don't even have to use a toner afterward!!
After just a week of using this my skin was much smoother, clearer, and it glowed(and not the icky oily glow). Now 3 months later I've only nearly used half of the same bottle and my skin is the best it's ever been, and not one stitch of sensitivity or any adverse reactions, I'm ecstatic!! Thanks Origins :)
**Be sure to ask for the pump, it makes it easy to dispense and much more sanitary"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: coffeesnob
Location: D.C. Metro Area
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing! * Bye Bye Blackheads
 Date: September 22, 2014
Tags: clogged pores/blackheads
"I've tried everything and this is so good to my super sensitive, combination skin. I also get clogged pores in my T Zone area. I take a few squirts of this and rub it into dry skin in the shower then massage it in further with a bit of water on my hands.
Amazing.
Hopefully it won't be discontinued as the bottle is lasting me forever and they might think we don't like it because we aren't purchasing it much.
PS - I use Modern Friction once or twice a week for a good scrub also."
Review 5 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 4EverYoung
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
So Glad I Found This!!!!
 Date: September 13, 2014
"I've been reading about the Oil Cleansing Method (OCM) for awhile now and the great benefits it has for ALL skin types. Clean Energy blew me away!!! My pores looked cleaner and my redness practically disappeared after only a couple of uses. Oil is actually a great cleanser for everyone because oil mixes with oil. It clings to the dirt and takes it away without stripping the skin of the natural oils. My only regret is that I didn't try this earlier. The smell is amazing. The downside to finding this is what do I do with all the other awesome Origins cleansers that I own. :)"
Review 6 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: owiehowie
Location: Iowa
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Simply GREAT
 Date: August 19, 2014
Tags: acne, Oily Skin, normal skin, balancing
"I was getting tired of using typical face washes for my small acne problem. I would get 2-3 zits a week and I have a really oily t-zone. I was skeptical about using an oil-based face wash because for so long, doctors would tell you to avoid it. I've now been using this face wash for two weeks and my skin is so smooth, zit-free, and also less oily. I've noticed that it actually helps with acne scars as well! I use it in the morning when I wake up and when I go to bed. This face wash is something I would definitely recommend to anyone. It leaves your face feeling clean and tight just like any other face wash but it is so much better for your skin!"
Review 7 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Tortugamarina
Location: Florida
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally, I've tried it!
 Date: August 21, 2014
"This oil cleanser removes eye makeup effortless, like a dream,I dont need to use much to clean my face just a couple of drops,the container is a little messy when trying to get some product, i had to put some product in a pump bottle and now works better; the smell is subtle and delicate, it leaves my skin soft, it is nice to wash my face in the morning but when I use it to remve my makeup I still apply a toner after thi to clean any traces of makeup left, I feel my skin more soft and hydrated, the product has a nice quality but I wish they wouldnt increased the price."
Review 8 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: GoBeautyBeast
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Unlikey new favorite!
 Date: December 11, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types, clogged pores, makeup remover
"So glad to have taken the leap and tried this product! While combating oil with oil makes sense in chemistry class, I had to admit I wasn't sure how it would translate to my often congested pores.
It really does it all--from nourishing my dry patches, to banishing the slick spots! Makeup is dissolved in one easy step. On top of its effectiveness, it's quite a luxurious experience in itself. The wide-mouth bottle was a bit difficult to handle at first, in terms of portion-control, but it is easy to get used to--very retro and unique.
This is a great gift for all ages and skin types--especially for those who wouldn't usually buy it for themselves. Thanks, Origins!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: conscioussw
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely fabulous...works well on skin of color!
 Date: March 23, 2011
"I was using Pure Cream as my main cleanser, but decided to give Clean Energy a try after seeing the rave reviews for it from people with dry skin. As an African-American woman with dry, sometimes sensitive skin that is prone to seborrheic dermatitis flare ups, good skin care products that work well for me are very hard to come by. Clean Energy has been fantastic---it provides a perfect amount of moisture to my skin and leaves it feeling supple with a nice, healthy looking, non-greasy glow and improved skin tone. I am so happy---I would definitely recommend this product!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: EKim
Location: Boston
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Must have product
 Date: March 30, 2014
"This is just an amazing product! I am so picky about the stuff I apply on my skin and this oil just a must have cleansing oil. I don't write reviews at all and I just want everybody know about this product - this is how much I like it."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Nisma1001
Location: Wellesley, MA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful and Gentle Makeup Remover
 Date: August 8, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types, Combination Skin
"I use this product primarily at night to remove my makeup and whatever else the day has thrown my way. It is the best but also the gentlest makeup remover I've ever used! I wear waterproof eyeliner and water resistant mascara on a daily basis, and this is the only cleanser that doubles as a makeup remover to dissolve these products both completely and GENTLY. Other makeup removers, even other oil based ones, usually need a cotton ball or tissue and I end up pulling at my eyelids and eyelashes - but with this you smooth the oil over everything (no water at first - just the oil) and it rubs away with no harsh scrubbing feeling. One full pump (and I do highly recommend getting the pump for $1) is usually sufficient, smooth all over and rub a little over makeup (you can see it dissolve off onto your fingers), and then wash with warm water. I follow up with Night-a-Mins lotion, and my skin feels delicious as I drift off to sleep."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Dbrad
Location: Texas
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
This stuff is fab!!!
 Date: July 21, 2014
Tags: cleansing moisturizing
"I was experiencing dry, lifeless skin. Thinking oh great , this is what I'm going to have to deal with in my more mature years, I started searching for help. Came across this cleanser on the Origins site, read the reviews, and decided to give it a try . A little skeptical because I do have a tendency to break out but decided it was worth a shot. Boy, am I glad I did. I LOVE this cleanser. I look forward to using it because it makes my skin feel so darn good- so soft and supple. My skin has not looked this good in years! I have had not one single breakout episode. Do not hesitate to try this product. You will not be disappointed!"
Review 13 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Asherz
Location: TN
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Honestly amazing
 Date: July 16, 2014
Tags: removing make-up, cleansing, hydration
"I have been using cleansing oils for about a year now. I would have NEVER thought to put oil on my face with having acne prone skin. However, my face dramatically cleared up and looks better overall now that I use cleansing oils. This cleansing oil is a wonderful value for what you get! Seriously. I love the way it feels on my skin. It never leaves a residue or any kind of film and completely rinses off. It removes all my make-up with ease. Definitely will re-purchase this!!!
I have just recently stumbled upon Origins and after researching this company and their products, I will definitely be a life-long customer. I love that they have more natural products and do not test on animals!
"
Review 14 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Dany
Location: ohio
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
VERY CLEAN!
 Date: June 13, 2009
Tags: Sensitive Skin, All Skin Types
"I was very hesitant to try this product. The thought of putting oil on my face made me think I would only break out and have super oily skin. I have sensitive skin and this product is absolutely WONDERFUL! I use it as a nightly cleanser and the best part is that I dont need a second product to remove eye makeup because this removes my eye makeup as well. Just a couple of pumps is more than enough (make sure you purchase the pump-sold seperately-) and just rinse your face with warm water. Leaves skin feeling super clean but not dry and tight. I have been using this for about 3 weeks and my skin has never looked better! Try it! you wont regret it! The best thing about Origins is that if you buy something and it doesnt work, they will always exchange it for something else."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: MsFJ
Location: Southern CA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best cleanser
 Date: March 4, 2011
"I cannot believe how great this cleanser is. I am on my 3rd bottle and hoping that origins will never discontinue this product. The ingredients are unbelievable! Natural oils combined altogether and the scent is amazing! I feel like I'm in a spa whenever I use this product. It is definitely different from other origins cleansers because it does not lather. I used to use 'pure cream' due to my sensitive and dry skin but after I've tried clean energy, I was hooked. It works so well it even takes off waterproof mascara and heavy eyeshadows. But of course the amount of time and product to use is relative to how much make up you have on. I wear sheer powder make up with waterproof eyeshadow and liner, I use about 5 pumps worth (oh yeah it's better to use with pump, costs $1.00) and it cleans my face completely! My tip is to apply and massage before getting in the shower so that your face is still dry and the oil can do its job. If your face is too wet, you might need to add more of the product to cleanse thoroughly, that can be a waste. It feels weird at first because your face will feel very oily after application but magically rinses away with water and leaves no oily residue. If you have oily or normal skin, I dont think it will be a problem because they are all just natural oils that washes away after rinsing then your face will feel so fresh, clean and so healthy. The reason I think that it's the best cleanser is because if you check out the ingredients of the other origins cleansers some of them have the sodium laureth sulfate chemical which I've read is bad, but if you check out the clean energy's ingredients, they are all just different oils."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: CaiD
Location: CT
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Just got this but I love it already!
 Date: June 12, 2014
"Frist off, my 4 star rating is only because I have only used this a few days. I read about using oils to cleanse, and have been looking for more natural, gentle ways to cleanse my skin. I have combination skin that seems to get very congested, particularly in the forehead and jawline regions. I've used this for the past few days and my skin already looks more radiant! (even during that hormonal time of the month!)
It feels weird to smear oil on your face, it's actually funny! But this smells amazing and feels great on the skin. Massage, and add a little more warm water, working it into the skin even more. I use moisturizer after I wash my face out of habit and for extra moisture, but after using this cleanser my skin doesn't feel dried out as with other products I've used in the past.
I can already see the difference and I'm so excited I found this product!!"
Review 17 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Mommeeee
Location: Illinois
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The best cleanser EVER!
 Date: July 10, 2014
"My skin feels supple and looks amazing after using. My skin has stayed clear since using it as well. The best part is my skin is NEVER dry anymore!"
Review 18 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: josephine
Location: two rivers wi
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
great for any skin
 Date: September 29, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"I love this cleanser. I have oily, breakout prone skin. I use this in the evening to deep cleanse. You would think the last thing an oily skin type needs is more oil, but then I remembered from high school chemistry class that like dissolves like. My skin is getting really clear, less irritated and very soft. It really gives a deep down clean without stripping the skin."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: addictedtoorigins
Location: Austin TX
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Luscious Lemony Lather
 Date: April 21, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"Originally skeptical about washing oil-prone skin with oil. Actually keeps my face less oily, free from acne. Removes milia over time and frequently evacuates blackheads without trying. Smell is heavenly and luxurious feel of oil on skin helps me relax before bedtime."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clean Energy™ Gentle cleansing oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Blondie42713
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Surprise!!
 Date: January 3, 2013
"I was skeptical about using oil on my face given my tendency to hormonal breakouts. The first time I tried this product, I was SHOCKED! I could almost hear my skin yelling "thank you! Finally!!!" I went from a few large clusters of pimples along my jawline/chin/cheeks to literally NONE in less than a week...my skin has never felt so nourished and healthy! I use this product along with Make a Difference treatment lotion and Have a Nice Day cream....I will never use another brand after using Origins, I am hooked!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>