Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion

This creamy, body-rejuvenating buffing paste applied liberally on dry skin rapidly helps reduce visible evidence of sun exposure, ashiness, crepey skin and uneven patches.
Average Customer Rating:
4.673 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
50 of 52(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Beach
Location: Greenville, NC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: April 9, 2014
"I love the product. My skin was soo smooth and soft after using it. It is a little messy but it is worth it! I will definitely recommend this to my friends."
Review 2 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: SweetP27
Location: Hartford, CT
Skin Type: Sensitive
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Fairly Effective but Lacking in Functionality
 Date: November 27, 2012
Tags: exfoliating, skin smoothing
"I love Origins and use them exclusively for my skin care and cosmetics. I use the Modern Friction for my face but wanted to try this for my body, to soften and exfoliate some rough patches. The application process (as instructed on the label) is very tedious and makes a very disturbing mess. (Applying product to dry skin) The tube functions like any other but the scrub itself is so thick, that squeezing enough out to slather on bottle is not easily done. Additionally, you have to use so much of it in one use, that the container is empty after only a few uses. (I am a fairly petite person, barely 5'3" so should not need so much for one application) The scrub is like wet breadcrumbs, breaking apart and crumbling as you try to apply it, leaving remnants all over the place. THIS IS WHAT HAS REDUCED MY RATING. Now, after the product is applied and I step into the shower to add water, massaging the product on my skin is wonderful. It has a great sloughing property and is much easier to rub into the skin once wet. The final result on my skin is fantastic. My skin feels smooth, soft and supple. I am very satisfied with its effectiveness but am reluctant to use because of all the hassle of applying and having to repurchase so frequently. If Origins can figure out how to make application easier and less messy, I would gladly repurchase over and over again. Until then, I'm hesitant to repurchase but recommend the product at your own risk of aggravation and clean-up."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: Majicbird
Location: Harbor Springs, MI
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Wanted to love this...
 Date: May 20, 2012
"I love Modern Friction for the face, so I purchased this as well. To apply as the label suggests, to dry skin, is messy and a lot of work! I like to use it over my entire body, and because this product doesn't spread very well, I might only get two uses out of the bottle! It dries up very quickly while applying, and feels like you are rubbing dry sand around on yourself It becomes soft and creamy with the addition of water though. My skin felt nice afterwards, but not as nice as my face feels after this product for your face!
If you use it only for knees and elbows, it's good. Otherwise, for the price, I would like to see double the amount of product!
"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Charmae
Location: Bozeman, MT.
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The only body exfoliator I will use!
 Date: November 10, 2013
Tags: deep exfoliating.
"Purchased in Portland, OR. I was in an Origins Retail Store to purchase Precipitation
Body Lotion. The staff members raved over Modern Friction for the Body.
It's amazing!! Just be in the shower to apply…and experience the difference throughout the day!!
"
Review 5 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: BeccaMaggie
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love love love.
 Date: August 12, 2013
"This is by far one of my favorite products. After using modern friction (for the face), I was really happy to see that they made one for the body. I have some issues with my arms (mainly just a lot of redness and bumps), and this guy here has made a difference. I rub it on before I get in the shower, and massage it onto my skin before I wash it off. Just the way my face feels with modern friction, my arms always feel so silky and smooth. Over time, I have noticed that the redness has gone down a little bit, which is really fabulous. Definitely use this product."
Review 6 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: EarthIsOfTheGreatestWorth
Location: Michigan
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Leave It
 Date: July 31, 2013
"I've now tried all four of the Origins exfoliaters/scrubs, this would be my least favorite. I think it's a pain to apply, kind of stinky, messy, all in all not a pleasant exfoliating product. I really felt like I grabbed some muddy clay out of the yard and some cornmeal and slapped it on. The other three exfoliating products for the body from Origins I really like. I would try one of those first."
Review 7 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Beanbean
Location: High Desert, Oregon
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: March 4, 2012
Tags: smoothing skin
"This stuff is really great! Got rid of all my bumps on my arms."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Curly04
Location: Vancouver, BC
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smooth skin
 Date: August 7, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"This product is great and the key is that you have to follow the instruction to get the best result. Having said that, I have quite sensitive skin, so I apply it on damp skin rather than dry, and it works perfectly. Just smooth skin, no dryness and itchiness afterward like some regular scrub.
I do not find it messy to use. I just apply it inside the bath and wait for the minute to pass inside the bath.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: SereneK
Location: Harrisonburg, VA
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best for Problem Skin!
 Date: June 1, 2010
Tags: balancing tone, acne prone
"I had frequent acne on my behind that would simply not go away regardless of what I scrubbed my body with.
Modern Friction helped me with not only the acne on my butt, but cleared the skin on my legs & has improved the look of my arms, shoulders & mid section.
And ofcourse, like all Origins products, it smells divine. I feel refreshed & soothed after using Modern Friction.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Joanna
Location: Arcadia, CA
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: December 16, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"i love the modern friction for face so i give the modern friction for body a try~
i was kidn of surprised of the different color and size of the grains of the scrub but then i think maybe it's for the body so the size can be a little bit larger~
my skin feels really smooth after using it and it has a really nice smell~
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: TaraSmiles
Location: Tempe, AZ
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Gets rids of scars
 Date: November 12, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types, acne
"I love the Modern Friction line! I use this product on dry elbows and knees, bumps on upper arms and body acne. A bit grainy, dry and rough at first but add a little water and it is easier to work into the skin. Has helped with scars. Leaves skin glowing!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: andre
Location: Long Beach, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
super-dermabrasion
 Date: June 5, 2009
"The scars really seem to fade from my body, discoloration, and all the dead cells. My elbows and knees seems to be renewed, so much so at times I feel I've just been born again!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: MyPita
Location: South Carolina
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
No more bumps
 Date: April 6, 2013
"I have Keratosis Pilaris on legs and upper arms. I have tried prescriptions, over the counter products, and spa treatments to reduce the bumps on my skin. Nothing has worked for me like Modern Friction for the body. After my shower, I use Precipitation-Extra moisturizer. The hair follicles are no longer bright red and my skin is so soft and smooth."
Review 14 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: MelTri16
Location: Philadelphia
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: April 1, 2013
"It's perfect. Not too rough, not too wimpy. I use it on my back/shoulders and lower legs. It leaves my back skin soft and black head free."
Review 15 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: tazette29
Location: Plainville, CT
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
 Date: November 29, 2012
"I have to completely disagree with the idea that this only lasts a short amount of time. If that is the case, you are not using it correctly. Go to the store and learn how to use it. You can use it with a small application. It forms little beads that pick up the yucky stuff from your skin. Mine lasted for months."
Review 16 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: jp11059
Location: Dunkerton, Iowa
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
 Date: June 23, 2012
"I read in one of the reviews that one tube lasted such a short time. I read on another microdermabrasion product that if your skin was sensitive to use it over wet skin. This is what I have been doing with Modern Friction and it is working. The red bumps on my thighs are nearly gone and my skin has more of a healthy look to it."
Review 17 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Lauren
Location: Columbia, MO
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great! A bit messy
 Date: June 12, 2009
Tags: Dry Skin, Combination Skin, acne/clogged pores
"If you're looking for a product that will truly slough away dead skin, you've found it! I can't believe the way my skin feels after using it. I will say that the instructions say to stand outside the shower/bath to apply, and then get in and wash it off. This will 1) make a huge mess, and 2) if you have sensitive skin, this will likely irritate it, as the product is more on the "rough" side than the "creamy" side. I would recommend getting in the shower with the hot water running, but try not to get wet. Stand to the side of the water stream while applying, and then step in to rinse off. The steam of the shower will not only help open your pores, but will soften the impact of the scrub on your dry skin! Also, if you have sensitive skin, I would use this product at night, as you will likely experience a bit of redness. The feel of your skin is worth it, tho!"
Review 18 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: babu
Location: Los Angeles
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product!
 Date: May 21, 2012
Tags: all skin type
"I've tried many different brands of body exfoliators and my skin never felt this smooth and soft until i tried this one."
Review 19 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: GramsC
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Shed the Dead
 Date: May 8, 2012
"I love this product for it's gentle exfoliation of the dead skin cells. It is gentle enough to use often. Great for polishing up your tan."
Review 20 for Modern Friction™ for the Body Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Lowther5
Location: Lincoln, Ca
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Helps with Stretch Marks!
 Date: March 28, 2011
"I was skeptical to use this because I don't like many of the Origins products. However I decided to give this a try. I am beyond happy that I found this. I have quite a bit of stretch marks from three pregnancies and have been using a stretch mark cream. I heard that if I used a good exfoliator that it would help the cream to absord deeper into the skin. This stuff is AMAZING!! I use it every other day. I DO USE IT on DRY SKIN like it suggests. It works much more effectively. It is not very comfortable but my skin feels like silk and my stretch marks are looking much much better. Do your self a favor and get this!!"
1 2 3 next>>