Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser

This extremely gentle, milky lotion cleanser quickly removes makeup, dirt, debris and impurities. Keeps even highly sensitive skin calm throughout the cleansing process. Tissue or rinse off formula.
Average Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(231 Reviews) 215
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (231 reviews)
5 stars
170
4 stars
28
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 star
8
205 of 231(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Redfacenomore
Location: Oklahoma
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best product to ever touch my skin!
 Date: September 1, 2011
Tags: Sensitive Skin, red-face, breakout prone skin, Oily Skin
"I've struggled with what I call "red face" and mild acne all of my teen and adult life (I'm 31). I'm cheap and don't like to spend money on products but have learned that's not how you get great skin. About 6 years ago I randomly walked into an Origin's store and said "help me". Nothing works for my skin except Origins, and I'm transitioning to all Dr. Weil products. The first Dr. Weil product I used was the mega-mushroom skin serum 6 years ago. Combined with other Origin's products I saw amazing results. Never in my life have I received compliments on my skin, until I started using these products.
Last week I finally opened my wallet and bought this cleanser. I'm not kidding when I say I used it that first night and instantly saw a change in my skin. I also used the Dr. Weil Megamushroom mask, serum, and moisturizer that night. My skin fealt great and not heavy or greasy. The next morning I used the cleanser again. My friends at work noticed the change in my skin. Now one week later all the little bumps on my face (not zits just bumps) are almost gone, my skin is soft, and I'm not suffering from embarassing "red face".
This is an awesome product and I will spend the money on it. I feel pretty and confident that I can leave the house without makeup. Love it!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: BeautyLover
Location: Califorina
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
HOLY GRAIL CLEANSER
 Date: November 22, 2013
Tags: sensitive, combination, dry, Breakouts, acne
"So I am 23 and use to have horrible acne, I took Accutane which cleared up my skin completely thank goodness. But now my skin is red and extremely dry and sensitive to everything! and! i'm still prone to breakouts so everything heavy and "hydrating" breaks me out all over again. This cleanser removes all my makeup (and as a makeup artist I have to wear a lot of makeup for work). It calms down my redness AND helps clear any break outs I have. Thank you Origins for this amazing product!!!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: Anonymous
Location: Hollywood, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Wished I loved it...
 Date: April 18, 2013
Tags: people that wear no make-up
"I've been using this cleanser for about 2 weeks now and I knew going into it, that is was a cream cleanser and wouldn't foam up. Honestly, if it foams a lot, it probably isn't very good for your face as it's most likely a sulfate making all those bubbles. Anyway, I've been pretty loyal to Origins Checks and Balances. It's the only cleanser I seem to be able to use with out breaking out. Every once in a while, though, I'll give a try to another just in case I can do better. This mega mushroom cleanser had great reviews on how people didn't break out, it calmed redness, it was awesome. Well so far I can say that I haven't broken out, but that's it. My cheeks are still pretty red and this stuff isn't "awesome". Granted, the frangrance is somewhat pleasant and your face feels just-applied-moisture-soft as soon as you rinse it off, but my face also doesn't feel clean. I find that I have to use a TON of it on each wash just to not feel like I'm rubbing plain old water on my face. I guess I expected a hardier consistency. In addition, after taking the majority of my eye make-up off with a remover, I attempted to use this cleanser to wash the rest of my face. Sadly after 2 attempts, I still had dark mascara circles around my eyes. I went over that washing with a wash with my trusty Checks and Balances and low and behold, not only did the mascara come off, but is seems the Mega Mushroom left behind the power make-up I wear as well. Not sure what the point of a face cleanser is, if it doesn't clean your face."
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Shiv
Location: Meriden, CT
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
amazing product
 Date: November 11, 2009
Tags: Combination Skin
"you will see me post this under a few products due to a facial I received and I am posting this under the products that were used. This is AMAZING. Came in to due massive reaction to a grocery store brand cleaner. I was looking for a mosturizer. Sales rep Sarah asked if I would like a facial. I came in with breakouts and severe dryness and redness. It looked like I had some facial burns. I can out with beautiful smooth skin. The severe burn like area had improved greatly. My skin feels vibrant and alive. I don't have a lot of money, but I am buying this collection in pieces, because I will never again buy a store brand product. I can't believe the improvement after just one use. Even my husband noticed the difference when I got home, so that will tell you something cause my guy never notices anything.LOL Hope my review helps someone."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Salam
Location: Kansas City
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Saviour
 Date: June 27, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types, Redness, roughn ess
"At 27, I have all my years struggled with post-acne scarring and generally damaged, blotchy skin that's rough, uneven, and well, just unappealing. For whatever reason, it got really bad in the past few months, to the point where I honestly could not even look in the mirror without feeling a bit depressed - I really did not know what was happening. I saw this, read the back, and said "hmm" to myself. It described pretty much everything that I was seeing on my face: redness, blotchiness, unevenness, sun damage, you name it. My acne scarring had become so obvious, too. No kidding: after just one use of this product - just one! - I saw a difference. I looked in the mirror and literarly almost cried. My skin felt calm, soothed. The redness I would say disappeared by 50% instantly, the roughness gone 100%, even the blotchiness and unevenness had become less noticable. Now after about 2 months of use in the AM and PM, to say that my skin is the best it has been is a major understatement. When I say this product saved my face, I mean it literarly. Since age of 19, my skin had never looked this even - ever. This product is worth every penny. Truly."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Algo
Location: San Juan, PR
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally a cure!
 Date: February 24, 2013
Tags: Redness, sensitivity, protection
"I've always had perfect skin. I survived all of my teenage years without a single zit, or blemish at all. Three years ago I started developing a skin issue on my face. I thought it was bad acne but, it turns out it wasn't. I thought it was some sort of dermatitis or "hives". Nope. I tried every product out there to no avail.
After I went to the allergist I discovered by accident during the tests that what I have is just overly sensitive skin, which means, any scratch, small blackhead or anything of the sort - no matter how small, once scratched or tampered with will have a reaction making it get all bumpy and red.
I thought there was no cure for my condition. I got online and the rep recommended this product, along with the toning lotion, serum and soothing cream. In less than a week, my face has reverted to its original condition. I could not be happier. My skin feels protected. I complete my care regimen AM and PM, during midday, when I come home I just wash it with this cleanser and it protects my face for the remainder of the day.
The cleaner is not soapy, don't expect soap but, whatever it is, it's worth it. It removes makeup with ease which means I don't need to use harsh make up removers. I don't use mascara so I don't know how well it will remove mascara. I definitely recommend it to those who are desperate for a solution."
Review 7 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: StaceyPriscilla
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Kudos
 Date: July 2, 2013
Tags: reduce acne moisturize rehydrate redness
"Been an Origins user for over 6 years now, and this honestly is one of my go-to cleansers. I've used checks and balances, and yeah it makes you feel squeaky clean/foams up. However, my skin felt TOO tight after that cleanser and didn't do much for my combo/acne prone skin. Just wasn't for me. But THIS---absolutely felt/saw a difference. Granted, my very FIRST Origins cleanser was this---I eventually switched to checks and balances but then switched back to this---and honestly, this cleanser is one of the few that just controls all the craziness trying to happen on my face. Really reduced redness (IF I broke out, which hardly happened when I was using this religiously) and I absolutely LOVE the way it feels as it goes on your skin. You don't need a gallon of water to wash it off--CREAM cleanser, everybody. Even after you wash it, it'll feel like you still have something on BUT that's the MOISTURIZER part of the cleanser working into your face. It always left my face feeling so smooth and clean (this includes when I would remove gobs of makeup--granted, I used a little extra cleanser those times, but still cleaned it all off--FYI ladies, this isn't strong enough to remove 48 hour waterproof earthquake tornado proof mascara/eyeliner. I ALWAYS use something else for my eyes).
After about 45 days of continuous use, I noticed my skin feeling extra smooth, soft, huge reduction in red spots and even a slight reduction in my discolored areas, along with much of my acne/breakouts almost gone. No cleanser is EVER going to completely rid you of acne FOREVER (come on ladies, when our hormones are in their "monthly" stage--things happen to our face beforehand and during) but I have to say, this does what is promised. At least in my case, I definitely was beyond pleased. Highly recommend."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: HDBuckets
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins
 Date: July 6, 2012
"I have sensitive, acne-prone oily skin. After just two days of using this, my skin was softer and noticeably brighter. It also helps with shine. I haven't had any break-outs sense using this. Because it doesn't foam up, I go through a tube quickly. But this face wash is worth the price. I use it in the morning and at night by rubbing it over my face while dry, then adding warm water to my hands after a bit, then gently washing off with a washcloth."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: SDGal
Location: San Diego
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Too greasy, does not remove makeup
 Date: December 20, 2010
"I was looking for a gentle cleanser that would thoroughly and effectively cleanse my skin without stripping the moisture. Not only did this not strip the moisture, I think it added an additional layer of grease onto my skin.
It's extremely creamy and thick, and I don't enjoy that "damp" feeling left behind after you wash it off. It also didn't remove a single ounce of makeup that I had on. I think it would be perfect for those with really dry skin and/or that don't wear makeup, but otherwise it's just not effective enough.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: allamb
Location: PA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Not my favorite cleanser
 Date: October 22, 2010
"My skin was broken out, red, splotchy, and just plain awful. I am a regular Origins user but was using an organic product I had used in the past. I bought the Dr. Weil's cleanser, toner, serum, and lotion. I did not like this cleanser at all. It did not relieve any of the problems I had. I tried it for about a month and then exchanged it for my absolute favorite-Origins Organic face wash. My skin was clear in a week."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: soursop
Location: NJ
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Acne destroyer
 Date: February 19, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin, acne prone
"ok maybe the title is a little excessive, but this cleanser is a big part in reducing my adult acne like 95%. the no soap cleanser is the business. it doesnt have harsh chemicals surfacants like aluminum laureth sulfate that make my skin push out excessive oils. Just what my sensitive reactive skin needed. i know i sound like a commerical, but i've been searching for years how to gently manage my acne, this i it. Dr. Weil is great"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: runjen
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for dry and sensitive skin
 Date: August 15, 2009
Tags: Dry Skin, Sensitive Skin
"I did not like this cleanser originally. I felt that it did not get my face clean enough and remove all of my make-up. However, because I liked so much how my face felt after cleansing with it (never uncomfortable or tight), how smooth my face felt, and the glow it imparted, I continued to try it. I found that my make-up comes off when I use a wash cloth to rinse. Using the cotton ball/toner test after cleansing, this does the trick!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: OriginalSkin
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful Cleanser For Sensitive Types
 Date: April 23, 2014
"This cleanser is beautiful—it has a smooth, creamy consistency that spreads well with a little bit of water to glide effortlessly over the skin without any friction. It smells of mushrooms and is certainly more earthy than any of Origins' other offerings, but for anyone with sensitivities or even passing irritation, this is a must-have. I like to switch it up with my cleansers, using more deeply-purifying options on some days and gentler options on others; for those gentler days, this is a must-have in my skincare arsenal."
Review 14 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: KThom
Location: California
Skin Type: Combination
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love at first use!
 Date: September 14, 2011
"I love this cleanser!
It makes my skin feel so soft and doesn't leave it feeling tight, dry, oily or weird in general - which is fantastic.
I first tried it on a recent holiday to visit a friend and bought it when I got home.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: JanieMarie
Location: Georgia
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic Cleanser!
 Date: May 16, 2013
"I finally found something that works with my skin. I am 51 and my skin is still a bit oily and can breakout. I also have some discoloration and getting some tiny wrinkles. Lately my skin has been rough and dully. I have tried everything. I gave this product a try and I'm glad I did. I was afraid that the lotion like feel of this cleanser would make my face breakout but it hasn't so far. I have been using this for over a month now. My skin is softer, smoother and has a nice glow. It has changed the overall texture of my skin. I will never have perfect skin but this cleanser brings me a little closer to perfect."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: monkeys1124
Location: Los angeles
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smoothly
 Date: June 7, 2013
"Someone had mention that this product doesn't foam and that's why it was rated 2stars, if they had noticed they would have seen that it is not suppose too!!!! It goes on your skin like smooth lotion and basically you rub it around, at least that's what I do. It feels nice and smooth, and since I don't like the foaming thing, it is perfect. It feels like a nice lotion being applied to which you then lightly wash off and add which ever cream you use next. Keeps my skin looking healthy!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Laura22
Location: Durham, NC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Cleanser for Sensitive Skin
 Date: January 18, 2014
Tags: complete skin care, preventing breakouts
"My skin is both prone to breakouts (even at 38!) and also prone to dryness. This cleanser takes care of both problems. My skin will never be perfect, but with this it's at least mostly good!
For a while I was using the cleanser along with the toner, lotion, etc., which I'm sure works for some types of skin, but mine didn't show much improvement. Then I ran out of the other stuff and was just using the cleanser for a while out of laziness. Lo and behold, my skin started looking better. After reading some stuff online, I also stopped wearing mineral makeup, continued using the cleanser, and that was the best my skin ever got. Since then I will use this cleanser and ONLY this cleanser on my face, with organic extra-virgin olive oil first as an eye makeup remover at night.
This cleanser is more like a lotion - wonderful consistency. I apply the cleanser to a dry face and rinse off with warm water. Everyone's skin is different, but if yours is sensitive and prone to breakouts, it's at least worth a try."
Review 18 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: quicksilver74
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
A different, but good, face washing experience
 Date: March 13, 2011
Tags: Sensitive Skin, clearing up pimple-prone skin, evening out skin tone, deep cleaning
"I tried this cleanser as part of a Dr. Weil Mega-Mushroom starter set. Like the Clean Energy cleanser, this goes on without water. It feels like a cream and was very different from any cleanser I'd every tried before as it doesn't foam up when you add water to it.
At first, I wondered if this was getting my face clean at all. All of that was answered when I rinsed the washcloth off the first time... Tons of ick rinsed out of the washcloth!
Over the course of the first week, I noticed an incredible improvement in my skin. I've gotten all of two pimples in three weeks, which is amazing for me! (And those two pimples, which popped up this weekend, were tiny and most likely caused by the fact that I had LASIK on Thursday and couldn't have any kind of product on my face, nor could I wash my face the night of my surgery...)
Every time I wash my face with the Mega-Mushroom Face Cleanser, I'm truly floored by the amount of dirt that something so un-soap-like gets out of my skin.
This is a great, gentle cleanser. I'm a convert."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Heba
Location: Jordan
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent
 Date: March 15, 2014
"I've first since Nov 2013 twice a day, since then I felt the difference specially that I've very sensitive skin with redness and some acme."
Review 20 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Slimmy
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
No foam
 Date: February 24, 2013
Tags: face wash
"I would recommend this face wash however I wasn't expecting it to be completely devoid of foam. There are no suds, its purely a cream cleanser and your face feels smooth and not dry, not squeeky clean after but moisturized. Takes some getting used to but so far I'm happy with it. Feels like a cold cream cleanser more than a face wash if that makes sense. Nice scent."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>