Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb

Nature's caring cleansers gently wash away dirt and debris. Leaves locks silky-smooth and swinging with shine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.58 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
45 of 50(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Abbymomoffour
Location: CA
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best product after trying so many!
 Date: July 13, 2010
Tags: Thick Hair, Dry Hair, african american
"This product works great for my daughter thick curly African American hair. I have tried so many products this is the best one by a mile. I use both the shampoo and the rinse and her hair is a breeze to comb through. Her hair is left clean with no build up. We love the mild fragrance of it too ;)"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: wally
Location: Boston
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
33 oz
 Date: January 20, 2010
Tags: Thick Hair
"I am beside myself that Origins is no longer selling the large bottle of this shampoo with the pump. I have used this exclusively for several years and the small bottles are just too expensive.
I have very thick hair and this shampoo is great, but I'm now looking for an alternative."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: EAdams1581
Location: Boston MA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Does its job well, leaves a bit of a film
 Date: December 23, 2013
Tags: detangler and shine
"This shampoo definitely lives up to its name, my hair is significantly easier to comb through and snarles are at a minimum. The one thing that is going to take some getting used to is how the shampoo doesn't really lather up so you don't know if you put enough in or if its actually "cleaning" your hair. It comes out like conditioner which caused me to check the bottle multiple times to make sure I actually ordered shampoo. Smell is good, not strong, pleasant. It does seem to leave a bit of residue in my hair but doesn't make it greasy i can just feel something different when running my fingers through my hair. but perhaps thats a good thing because my hair is noticeably less oily and i can go a day between shampoos which i haven't been able to do in the past with other shampoos. I would recommend because it really does a great job of leaving hair silky and tangle free."
Review 4 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Julian
Location: san francisco
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for long, fine, naughty hair!
 Date: January 13, 2014
Tags: long fine hair
"I never review anything...ever. But after struggling to brush through my fine hair for..well, ALL OF MY LIFE--I had to get on here and tell the world how amazing this shampoo (and finishing rinse) are for out-of-control, impossible-to-brush-through hair. I cannot believe how soft and silky my hair is after using this line (I've never used one and not the other, so I cannot judge them as anything other than a dynamic duo).
Others who've complained that you don't get a lot(size-wise) for your $$$ are totally right--but, who cares, it's worth it. (and it smells lovely, too)
Save yourself the torture and get this shampoo and finishing rinse!!"
Review 5 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: broccolipumpkinpie
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Lovely Shampoo
 Date: December 27, 2012
"At first glance the shampoo is creamy with a lovely texture and when you use it it has a very simple clean scent that I really like.
I have thick curly hair and it helped me to comb through it easily."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: Onesnap
Location: Boston, MA
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? No
Made my curly hair frizzy
 Date: December 6, 2012
"If you have curly hair I would not suggest this product.
It made my hair really frizzy. I know for sure this is not "just me" because every once in a while I try a conditioner that does this. Sadly, even though I love the smell I will not be buying this again."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: sarahsoo
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful shampoo!
 Date: May 28, 2010
Tags: All Hair Types, curly hair
"I have only used this in combination with the knot free finishing rinse, so I can't comment on how nice it would leave my hair on its own. But really, my hair has never looked better! I love both this shampoo and the finishing rinse. You don't need to use much, and the shampoo has a lovely creamy consistency. It doesn't lather up to a headful of suds, but is more of a fine, creamy lather. It feels like it is smoothing my hair while it is cleaning, unlike most shampoos which feel like they are stripping the hair of moisture. It also has a fresh peach scent, which is stronger than that of the conditioner. Love it! I just wish it came in bigger bottles, though."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Yuliko
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Coming back for more
 Date: December 1, 2013
"I got this shampoo sometime ago, and it lasted me a few months. I have medium length, frizzy hair. This shampoo is very creamy, and does a wonderful job smoothing my hair. I use the conditioner as well, I think it's a must. It smells like peaches! It did attract bugs and bees during the summer!"
Review 9 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: DesertGrl
Location: Denver, CO
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect moisture, smells great
 Date: November 26, 2010
"Yeah, it's a bit pricey. But I'm trying to buy paraban-free, etc. I was surprised by how well this shampoo worked - my hair feels clean but not stripped. It feels more moisturized and balanced than when I was using fancy salon products.
I keep reading that people want the big bottles back, and while I can understand the convenience, maybe Origins can't package such big bottles without using icky preservatives like parabans."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: frankentrotter
Location: houston, tx
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
great shampoo need one last improvement
 Date: January 13, 2011
Tags: normal hair; wash every other day
"Theres no need to repeat in detail what's good about this product- wonderful smell, richly conditioned; my previously very tangled, normal-oily hair is very happy with the result. One last improvement it can make is to be silicone free. This is already the standard of many european organic/bio shampoo; origins, please don't fall behind."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: nikkiTX
Location: Dallas, TX
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful hair!
 Date: June 13, 2009
Tags: Dry Hair
"I am allergic to almost every shampoo out there. Then I tried this Origins shampoo not only am I not allergic to it -it has made my hair silky and shiney. The all natural ingredients are great for people sensitive to harsh shampoos. I'm delighted with this product!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Jennifer08330
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Shampoo
 Date: December 29, 2009
Tags: Dry Hair, Thick Hair, curly hair
"I really like this shampoo, it smells great (though the scent is a little faint) and really detangles my thick, dry, curly hair."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: LEPorter
Location: New England
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
This is why I let my hair grow out!
 Date: March 29, 2013
Tags: untangling and softening
"For years I wanted to let me hair grow long again, but it was always so dry and frizzy that I would give up after a few months. A friend showed me that not all conditioners leave your hair oily. Now I'm returning the favor by showing her a conditioner that makes your hair soft and silky, as well as manageable. My hair has been growing for over two years and I love it. THANK YOU, Origins!"
Review 14 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: wahoo68
Location: Reynoldsburg, OH
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this shampoo
 Date: March 23, 2013
"This is the best shampoo ever!!! Tried so many different brands of shampoo and everytime keep coming back to Knot Free. Makes your hair smell great and also conditions. Please don't discontinue this product."
Review 15 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: Mugget
Location: Paris, Ontario
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
A for effort... but about the fragrance...
 Date: September 5, 2010
Tags: All Hair Types, long hair
"I was very pleased to see this new product and bought it first time I noticed it up for offer. My main concern with other shampoos and rinses from Origins is the tangles. This Knot Free Shampoo does what it says it does, and for that I am delighted. The shampoo lathers well, you do not need much for even long hair and I like the way my hair feels after it has dried - light, clean, and smooth.
But about the fragrance... funky, punky, almost triggers the gag reflex (no exaggeration): it is difficult to describe exactly what the smell is like, but for this user, it is unpleasant enough to make me dread using the product. OK, dread is a strong word, but I don't imagine that I will buy it again, nor would I recommend it.
I asked my husband to describe the fragrance - "it's not what I would call 'pretty'". He also thought it was more like a lilac scent mixed with a hint of peach. I would suggest the lilacs and peaches are past their prime and in need of pruning."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: sublimedisarray
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this Shampoo
 Date: April 8, 2012
"I have been searching for a few months now for a organic natural shampoo that leaves my hair feeling nice and soft without irritated scalp or limp/dead hair. This shampoo is the best that I have found! It smells great which is a must.
My hair type: thin, very fine, long hair, prone to breakage
I have read most of the complaints coming from the fact that the shampoo will not lather.
No, it does not lather, but sulfates in shampoos are the reason for lather. Since this is organic, it does not have sulfates and therefore does not create that foam that we are all most likely used to. It might take a little bit to get used to, but the benefits are worth it and the results are better.
I no-longer feel a residue left from when I used chemically enhanced shampoos.
Enjoy!!"
Review 17 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: pwdeegan
Location: Oregon
Skin Type: Sensitive
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
the only shampoo for me
 Date: October 11, 2010
Tags: hair wih crazy body, sensitive scalps
"i've tried so many shampoos, always looking for one that didn't leave my hair overly dried out, frizzed out, freaked out, and didn't smell like medicine. finally, i found Knot Free. it really is my favorite shampoo of all time. not only is it kind on my hair, it also soothes my scalp—that often neglected piece of skin covered by hair.
now i only use this shampoo. when in the odd moments of life i've been without it, it's always been a sadder, less-fun shower. i even sometimes imagine life without this shampoo, in those dark moments of deep pessimism. but after showering the cheerful scent dispels the gloom, and life is once again peachy.
hooray for Knot Free!!"
Review 18 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: liliana
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great shampoo!
 Date: July 17, 2012
Tags: Dry Hair
"Loved the scent and how my hair felt afterwards, smooth and silky. Now, I will try the conditioner as well to see if I get even better results."
Review 19 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: northcalprincess
Location: San Jose, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
2nd Generation Knot Free User
 Date: May 12, 2010
Tags: thick and curly
"I love, love, love this product. I have very thick, curly hair and it works wonders. Since I started using this product I no longer use chemicals on my hair. My hard to grow hair is now to the middle of my back. My daughter is three years old, has very, very thick hair and I use this product on her hair as well. It comes out soft and manageable. I also hope you reconsider pulling this product form the market. I went to three stores looking for it and finally purchased several bottles of the Knot Free Shampoo and Finishing Rinse online. This product has been a family favorite and I would hate to see it go away."
Review 20 for Knot Free® Shampoo If your hair acts hard to comb
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: Trupe
Location: Orlando, FL
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Just O.K.
 Date: April 21, 2011
"About the only positive thing I have to say about the Knot Free Shampoo, is that it smells nice. It cleanses your hair, but I still have tangles. Thank goodness I use the rinse too to help with the tangles. Which the rinse just works okay too. My hair seemed dry and brittle afterwards. It's a very small bottle for the price. I have used salon products for the same price that work much much better. I am a loyal Origins user, but this is the one set of products I've used of theirs that I don't like and would not by again."
1 2 3 next>>