Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Matte Stick™ For velvety lips

It's the moist, matte lipstick and lip liner in one.
Average Customer Rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
52 of 59(88%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: NotTheSharpest
Location: NoVa
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
How to sharpen?!?!?
 Date: February 21, 2012
"Seriously, any of you who love this product and/or Origins staff: how are we supposed to sharpen this pencil? It is a proprietary size but you don't make a proprietary sharpener? I loved it for the first week--now, help!"
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: smcollins
Location: Winnemucca, NV
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing!
 Date: August 20, 2013
"I LOVE this matte stick....I just bought it in gingersnap. It is a beautiful color that looks natural but adds a nice pop to my pale complexion. It feels great and lasts all day....which is so hard for me to find in a lip color! Will buy again and again...Origins, NEVER get rid of this!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Smudge
Location: Sharon, CT
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? No
Sharpen
 Date: January 30, 2012
Tags: short term
"Be warned: the stick does not fit in the standard large sharpener. I loved the product until I hit wood."
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: beingL
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
staple for me
 Date: July 7, 2014
Tags: work casual outings
"I've been wearing this matte stick for years now and it wears longer than any other natural lip product I have with the level of moisture it provides."
Review 5 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Jane1211
Location: Overland Park, KS
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Fabulous, longlasting, gentle on your lips color!
 Date: July 7, 2012
Tags: everyone!, a nice long lasting color
"This lipstick is fantastic! Berry is a great neutral color which pops if you put a little gloss over it. The stick size is convenient and allows you to slip it in your pocket when you're going out or taking your baby on a stroll! I use the Covergirl "Makeup Masters 3 in 1" sharpener. Sharpens 3 sizes of pencil: jumbo, thick, and thin. Just remove the insert to accommodate larger pencils. It works wonderfully!
I buy Berry Matte Stick in bulk, as it seems they are always sold out when I run out. I am also allergic to many lip products and will break out in a rash while using them. This product never causes me any issues.
Great product Origins!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: BPENNY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Recommend to a friend? No
Origins does not sell the pencil sharpener!!
 Date: April 30, 2014
"and i have bought 2 "large" pencil sharpeners and neither of them work on this matte stick. i love the lipstick. LOVE IT. but come on, how am i supposed to use it.??
if you sold the sharpener, i would give this product FIVE STARS, no question.
"
Review 7 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: TNHockeyMom
Location: Smyrna, TN
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Berry Good
 Date: May 22, 2010
Tags: all-day wear
"The matte stick in Berry is my all-time favorite lipstick. I have been wearing it for years now and it goes with everything. I have had several different hair colors (blonde, brunette, brunette with highlights, red, red with highlights) and several different skin tones (used to be a tanning bed fanatic, now my skin matches the porcelain foundation), this color always looked great. It stays on all day, never bleeds, and looks great with or without a gloss. Unlike other matte lipsticks, it does not dry out my lips. LOVE THIS LIPSTICK!!!!!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: mof2b
Recommend to a friend? Yes
love this!
 Date: March 24, 2014
"I am not a huge lipstick person so this is great for me. I apply in the morning and it stays on most of the day. I love the Berry color and have gone through several. Not drying like others. If I want to add some moisture I've put a bit of gloss over this and it looks great.
It is thicker then a normal sharpener but I found a relatively cheap sharpener at the store with the red bulls eye logo. That sharpener is actually made for three different sizes so I got rid of the one I was using for smaller things.
"
Review 9 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: RebekahS
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best ever!
 Date: July 19, 2011
"I have been wearing the Matte Stick in Berry since the late 1990s. Over the years I've tried other products but I always come back to this. I love the look and feel of it and, best of all, it lasts for hours, even through eating and drinking, with getting gunky or cakey. Love it!!!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: CoolMom
Location: Menomonee Falls, WI
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Versatile Lip Product
 Date: April 18, 2010
"This was the first time I purchased the Matte Stick. It is great as a lip liner as well as lip color.
It is great with some gloss over it because it can be drying if used alone.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Doctor
Location: Mooresville Indiana
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic!
 Date: March 9, 2014
Tags: base, Moisturizing
"This last, is quite beautiful and is smooth on your lips!!"
Review 12 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: highlandwalker
Location: Alabama
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to apply & wear!
 Date: February 17, 2013
Tags: ease of application, long lasting color, beautiful colors, non-drying
"I have Light to Medium Neutral skin, Green/Blue eyes, Light Brown hair. I ordered Berry, Gingersnap & Malt. I loved all 3 shades! There wasn't much of a difference between Berry & Gingersnap on me, each would interchange well. Malt was a nice neutral cocoa color. The feel in not heavy or sticky. The color wears for a long time. I LOVE these!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Holly1774
Location: El Dorado Hills, CA,
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great liner
 Date: February 28, 2013
"love the smooth application and staying power. Use as my lip color and just add a gloss - perfect!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: YOUTH
Location: Pompano, Florida
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: December 30, 2012
Tags: moistuizing, color
"I love this product.it's easy to put on, and lasts a long time. The fact that it's matte is a definite plus, as it prevents lipsticks from running.n"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: artesa
Location: Long Island
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Makes your lips look fuller
 Date: December 3, 2011
Tags: natural look not drying
"I was reading the reviews and thought I'd try Berry and so glad I did. The texture is soft, creamy and the color can be layered with other lipsticks. You can apply this lightly for a more neutral look or heavier depending your taste. It can be used as a liner and it is easy to make your lips appear fuller.
I might try another shade, since I like this one so much. Great to travel with also. Would definitely recommend this to my friends. I received a compliment on the shade recently from a stranger!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: janliz
Location: central Connecticut
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
great product!
 Date: September 22, 2010
Tags: long lasting lip color
"So far, this is my all-time favorite lip product. I always loved the matte look, but with other brands it was usually too drying. The matte stick smooths on nicely, but is not drying; also works great as a lip liner. Stays on a long time, and you can add a little gloss to change the look. Favorite color is Malt, tied for second are Berry and Eggplant (better for fall & winter). Hope this is never discontinued (seems like when I find a makeup or skin care product that works for me, that happens!) Keep up the good work Origins! Only problem is I wish the stick itself lasted longer."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: originsforme
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great long lasting lip color
 Date: September 27, 2011
"Love this product for fall. Lasting color and the berry color is a perfect fall color that offers noticeable color for your lips but not overpowering."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: wahoo68
Location: Reynoldsburg, OH
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love, Love , Love
 Date: October 25, 2013
"Just received the Matte Stick in the Berry color and absolutely love it ! I have brown hair and blue eyes, and the berry color is the perfect shade. It really brightens up your face. It's also very long lasting. Read other reviews that the Berry and Gingersnap are similar, so just ordered the Gingersnap hoping it's just as pretty as the Berry. Hope this product never discontinues."
Review 19 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: happylade
Location: Seattle
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? No
too dry
 Date: September 19, 2013
"I was a little disappointed with this lipstick, I thought the color "Berry" would show up as a nice color but on my lips there is no color."
Review 20 for Matte Stick™ For velvety lips
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Trupe
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
More please!
 Date: June 20, 2013
"I love these Matte Stick lip pencils. Excellent feel, coverage, and staying power. I have three of them. I would really love it if Origins made them in more colors, please."
1 2 3 next>>