Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream

Blades sail with no resistance for a smooth, friction-free shave. Best for all skin types
Average Customer Rating:
4.325 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (114 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
9
103 of 114(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: hippotek
Location: Toronto
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Blade Runner rules
 Date: August 21, 2011
Tags: shaving
"After having tried the charcoal mask for skin refinement, I was intrigued by the quality of origins products and company ethics, so I went to get a sample of Blade Runner.
My oh my, this shaving creme is outright AMAZING.
I do not understand the guys complaining about needing "the bigger jar", The yield of this creme, which just needs to applied as a super thin film for a clear shave, is about 10x that of traditional shaving gel or foam.
Impressive.
Even more impressive though is the quality of the shave. My facial hair grows fast, to the complete dismay of my girlfriend. I am an early riser, so I usually shave in the wee hours of the morning... by lunch time I have usually turned into an 80 grit sandpaper, which could shred the skin of your thighs...
Not with Blade Runner!
Using the exact same razor as every other day it allows for a much closer shave. Even 12 hours after shaving I am still smooth and the next morning, there is hardly enough hair to justify an encounter with my blade :)
I LOVE this product. It makes me happy, it makes the woman in my life happy, and puts less strain on the environment than conventional shaving products (smaller packaging, no propellant, higher yield) while beating them in the one thing that counts the most: the closeness of the shave :)"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: westbezerkeley
Location: Berkeley, CA
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Bring back the big jar!!
 Date: July 8, 2011
Tags: shaving cream
"This would get 5 stars, but I have a problem with the packaging. Let me start by saying that I only use this shaving cream, it's the best!. BUT...Origins used to sell it in the tube or in a much larger plastic tub/jar. Bring back the big jars!! We are men that need to lather up our faces with this several days of the week. It isn't a special night-time treatment that you are selling to the ladies."
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: MatthewM
Location: Longford, Ireland
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the cream
 Date: June 13, 2011
Tags: shaving
"I love the cream and it gives a wonderful shave. I have not bought it since the larger tubs are gone of the market, please bring them back. I always keep one of the small tubes in the travel bag, TSA compliant!, but the 5oz tube is wasteful for everyday use as you just cannot get so muck of the cream out of the packaging.
5 star product minus 1 star for taking the large tub off the market."
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Anonymous
Location: Vienna, VA
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Because of the package
 Date: May 10, 2011
"I'm being redundant here, but the packaging for this great product is terrible. The large tub was perfect for long-term use. Origins also used to carry a TSA-friendly size. But now they carry neither. This size leaves far too much cream in the tube, as other reviewers have noted. It's kind of like having a nice car, but the wheels are out of alignment , so it's no fun to drive."
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: mahoho
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Bring Back Travel Size
 Date: April 26, 2011
"Product - *****
Packaging for Travel - *
Company for Removing Travel Size - *
This is the best shave cream on the market, and their smaller travel size was TSA compliant. The large tube is all the offer now and it is not TSA approved.
Ask your clerks how often they're asked for this travel size.
Read the reviews on your own website and see what people are asking for.
Great men's product, poor packaging for travelers.
Signed,
40 Weeks Per Year on the Road
"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: JeSH
Location: Tempe, AZ
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Bring back the tub!
 Date: January 2, 2011
Tags: smooth shaving
"This is a great product: no more razor burn or cuts. My sole gripe is the packaging. The tub was much more convenient and user-friendly.(fewer trips to the mall, more product obtainable from container as tub compared to squeeze tube). Also, the squeeze tube exceeds the TSA's limits for carry-on luggage. The tub would too, of course, but its larger size would serve as a reminder that a smaller container is necessary.."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: raysduchess
Location: Minden, Nevada
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
MY SON-IN-LAW LOVES THIS!
 Date: December 11, 2013
Tags: anyone who shaves, non irritating
"I received a free trial size of this product while purchasing other Origin products last year and gave it to my son-in-law in his stocking for Christmas. Now mind you he is one of those guys that thinks products like this are "girly" and he never uses anything except soap or the drugstore type of shaving cream. Anyway, my daughter told me he didn't use it for the longest time but then decided to try it once. HE FELL IN LOVE WITH IT!!! Now that is all he uses. My daughter told me that is what he wants for Christmas this year. LOL Funny how men change their mind once they try something new. So, being the wise and loving mother-in-law, that will be one of his gifts, but this time I bought him the large size. The scent is nice and soft enough that it will not make the man smell perfumy. It makes his face feel really smooth and there is no irritation from the razor as there was with what he used before.
Buy it, try it out, don't like it, send it back, that simple. But odds are you won't be sending it back."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: CanuckinUS
Location: Chicago
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Great Product, Terrible Packaging
 Date: December 18, 2010
"I've used the product for years - tubes are good when travelling (especially the travel size ones). But now the only size is the large tube (too large for carry-on), and sub-optimal for home use (not convenient for counter top, difficult to empty). I am currently searching for alternatives (but buying this while I try to find something else suitable in better packaging)."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Seth
Location: Chicago
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Bulk is Gone?!?!
 Date: December 7, 2010
"Love this - but there are two men in my house and we use it every day - without the tub this is NOT costeffective!!! So disappointed."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: charwood
Location: New York
Skin Type: Sensitive
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Bring back the tub
 Date: February 5, 2010
"I won't buy this unless it's in a tub. The tubes don't work. The product isn't as good. So why did you discontinue the tub? Listen to your customers. Isn't the customer always right?"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: steveinva
Location: Virginia
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic Product, TERRIBLE packaging!!!!!
 Date: November 14, 2010
"The 1-star rating is for the packaging, the product deserves a 5-star+ rating! I have used Blade Runner for years. Works great! Love it! However...... BRING BACK THE TUB!!!!! Current squeeze tube is worthless. Leaves a good bit of cream in the tube and can't squeeze out. Must resort to cutting the tube in half then scoop out what you can reach. Whoever is in charge of packaging & marketing should read some of these e-mails and realize you had a good thing going w/ the tub. Why was it discontinued? Nice size, easy to use, long lasting, no waste, and obviously well received. Why change??? Anyway, fantastic shaving cream! A true shaving cream. Not the same old foamy stuff. I have a heavy beard and shave daily. Face feels great, razor glides effortlessly, and great fragrance. I have one tub left. Please bring it back!!!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: CKdexter
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Divine for women
 Date: August 22, 2012
"I ordered this for my husband, tested it myself and love it. We both use it. I don't know why it doesn't come in larger sizes or why it isn't marketed for the girls. It works much better than any shaving product I have used for women in the past."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Nashers
Location: Chicago
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall a great shave
 Date: February 25, 2012
"I actually really do like this product. It works well and causes minor to no irratation. However, the tube that is comes in is horrible to use. You really waste lots of cream when you are down to the end of the tube. In addition, it is really hard to rinse out of your razor. I still use the product and like the feel and smell. However, I really wish Origins would repackage it."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: OriginalSkin
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Emollient Shave Cream
 Date: April 21, 2014
Tags: smooth skin, Sensitive Skin, dryness
"This product works exceptionally well in the winter, or on sensitive skin on the body; I wish that it had a bit more body to it when wetted down. I prefer gel shave creams. Still, this is a nice, luxe option for a friction-free shave."
Review 15 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Ashish
Recommend to a friend? No
I stopped buying once they took away the big jar
 Date: July 31, 2011
"These product inside the tube is not as good. With the jar, the cream gets really compact and is much better for shaving. I tried the tube -- it was a waste.
Would not buy it unless they bring back the jar."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: peter
Location: Boston, MA
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product - Poor Packaging
 Date: April 6, 2011
"Love the product, however since I travel often the too large (for TSA) tube is a big problem. The old tub allowed me to fill up smaller containers for travel. Either bring back the tub or introduce TSA sized travel containers."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: pean
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Blade runner tub
 Date: December 6, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"I have been a loyal customer for 9-10 years.....if the shaving cream tub is discontinued, for simply economic reasons, i will no longer buy anything in the store.Remember, that was the"loss leader" that always got me into the store to make other purchases"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: sweatpea
Location: Boston
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Discontinued?
 Date: November 25, 2009
"Hi - My husband LOVES this shave cream - LOVES it! We recently went in to purchase the tub of it again, but were told that the tub had been discontinued - we' were very disappointed by this news. It's a fantastic product!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Cory
Location: Dallas
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
HELP!
 Date: December 11, 2009
Tags: Sensitive Skin
"I cannot believe that they discontinued the tub! After years of "looking", and finally the perfect product and they discontinue it! Consistency is DEFINITELY different in the tub- PLEASE bring it back...."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Blade Runner® Energizing shave cream
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Gbau
Location: Vienna, VA
Skin Type: Dry
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Blade Runner
 Date: December 6, 2010
"Love this stuff, but bring back the tub, men want the tub!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>