Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum

Helps create more even skin tone and zap the appearance of dark spots.
Average Customer Rating:
4.005 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(187 Reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (187 reviews)
5 stars
105
4 stars
31
3 stars
16
2 stars
17
1 star
18
142 of 187(76%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
It's gentle, but I think it works!
 Date: November 18, 2010
Tags: discolorations
" I have rarely got more excited about a skin tone correcting serum as time has gone on. Usually I buy them thinking that THIS one will finally make a difference, and then get disillusioned and give up. They are also usually more expensive than regular serums and/or full of noxious chemicals, which puts me off continuing with them if they are not making a noticeable difference.
BBN serum is different, though. First, it's the same price as a regular serum and doesn't contain nasty chemicals (as far as I can tell - but I trust Origins not to do that to me!). I started using it once a day in the mornings without really expecting results. I had been using the BBN exfoliating pads twice a week, but dropped back to once a week. To my surprise I caught myself staring at the discolored areas and thinking that maybe they had lightened more. So with my second bottle of BBN serum I have stepped up to using it twice a day, and I really think it's having an effect! Now, it's subtle. These discolored areas have been with me for years, and they are still there, don't get me wrong. But I feel happier about them. I think they are lighter - I am wearing less foundation, and have totally given up concealer.
More importantly, I feel like I can continue with BBN serum as my regular serum, and I feel hopeful that I will continue to see the disclored splotches continue to lighten over time. Finally I have found a product that makes me feel hopeful about my skin! I just ordered the BBN moisturizer, so I will add that to my routine and see if it increases the effect in combination with the serum and pads. "
Review 2 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Oceanside, CA
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Sun - Sun - Sun!
 Date: November 2, 2011
Tags: reduce the signs of aging and sun damage
" I have loved being outdoors ever since I was a littler girl. However ever since turning 30, I have slowly been starting to see the affects of those long, sunny California days. Since my mom used to cover herself in baby oil when she tanned at the beach, I guess she assumed my olive skin didn't need any protection. Now at 34, my once smooth, olive complected face has started to become blotchy, uneven and even showing signs of those daggon brown age spots. Ugggghhh!!!
I have always been skeptical of wonder products. However I love Origins natural approach to beauty & skincare, so I decided to give the Brighter by Nature product line a try. For two months now, I have been using the Correcting Serum and the Skin Tone Correcting Moisturizer twice daily. I am so excited with the results!!! My skin tone has become almost completely even and hardly any red blotchiness! An added bonus is that a little goes a long way...it smells amazing...goes on very light...and my skin feels completely moisturized without being greasy.
Based on the recommendation of the Origins Rep at my local store, I just purchased the High-Potency Brightening Peels Pads & Modern Friction Scrub to use twice a week to promote new cell growth and also the High-Potency Night-A-Mins to use in the evening. I am excited to see what happens to these brown age spots now! :)
PS - The Origins Rep suggested cutting the Peels Pads in 1/2 to last even longer. Or if you're really frugal (like me), you can cut them in 1/4. :) "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Central Virginia
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
What i was looking for!
 Date: September 26, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
" Before I purchased this product I was having issues with my moisturizer I was using. I’m not a everyday makeup user and my moisturizer wasn’t giving me the moister back in my skin that I was looking for…like a natural glow. If I used too little it would flake on me-literally, you know what I mean ladies…there would be little white flakes from me trying to distribute all over my face and neck. I would use more and my face would look greasy. I decided to try Brighter by Nature Skin tone correcting serum and it was exactly what I was looking for. Not only do I have to use just a dab on my cheeks and forehead for complete coverage, I solely use this product and no other moisturizer for my face…there’s no need! In just a couple of weeks of regular use…day and night I do see an improvement in my skin’s tone. Dark sun spots and old acne marks are fading away! Does it get any better?! I may never use make-up now! With the glow this moisturizer gives me…all I need is a little blush and mascara and I’m set! I love this product and will be a consumer for life! As the weather changes, for the fall and the winter I may need to add a primary moisturizer in addition to this serum but for now I’m more than satisfied and wish I could have given more than the 5 star limit! Try it! You won’t be disappointed! "
Review 4 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product!
 Date: May 9, 2011
Tags: acne scars
" I have just finished my first bottle of Brighter by Nature in conjunction with the pads, and I have to say I have been receiving compliments on my skin! For someone who was troubled with acne from 12-27, this has been a Godsend. I am 33 now, and my skin has never looked better. The product has helped to give me an even skin tone, and the pads have practically erased my deep acne scar on the side of my cheek that was created from years of deep scarring and damaged tissues.
It takes time to see results - for me, it was 3 months. I recently noticed the scars being erased, but I almost immediately saw that the redness in my old scars were virtually erased. That part was very cool. Be forewarned that you will see some slight uneveness in your face as the product begins to work. For example, I saw some discoloration for the first 4-6 weeks in parts of my skin, but after that - it all evened out and now I look amazing. I am so happy. I will only be doing one more bottle and one more jar of pads as you really don't need to keep using this.
Amen to Origins for creating a product that proves to do what it says and to make it so that we don't have to keep going back for more - this really does the job! I highly recommend to all of you with old acne scars! "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: San Diego, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
This serum really works!
 Date: March 24, 2011
Tags: refining skin texture and tone
" I have what some people call congested skin... dry skin on top, oily in the tzone and so I have to exfoliate etc. It's so hard to find products that really do what they say. This serum makes my skin feel so smooth. Also, I have dark freckles and discoloration like the pregnancy "mask" and so I had just given up on ever having one color skin in certain areas, including a little V area at the base of my neck in the front, a place that shows with just about any kind of shirt but tneck. After using the serum for a week or so I noticed that little spot was much lighter and also the spotting on my forehead. The spots on the side of my neck (from tanning in a salon) were also looking better but I think they were deeper in the skin so they will take longer. Please remember if you are using this product do use a decent sunscreen with it or any discolorations will come right back. When I ran out and stopped using it briefly I after a week I noticed that my skin texture was rougher. LOVE IT.
Oh also just tried the peel pads in this line. very gentle and really really got rid of the dry patches I get as well. WOW!! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love It!
 Date: March 8, 2011
Tags: combo moisturizer/sunscreen, melasma lightening, overall skin tone
" I have dealt with Melasma for years. It doesn't help that I live in Phoenix, Valley of the Sun and get constant exposure, even with sunscreen. A few years ago I did extensive hydroquinone treatments 3 months on/3 months off as prescribed by a dermatologist. It helped but as soon as the treatment stopped it came right back.
On a whim, I tried the Brighter by Nature line. I sometimes forget and don't do the peel thing 2x per week but I've been using the serum twice a day followed by the moisturizer. My skin and in particular the areas with the worst melasma started looking better after about three weeks. A few weeks after that, my husband actually complimented me and he didn't know I was doing it.
I went back to the store and picked up nitamins and the eye cream and I love them even more.
I do think most of the success has to do with the sunscreen in the moisturizer and the fact that I've been more religious about that. It's alot easier to do that with serum/moisturizer/foundation than it used to be when I was using a heavy sunscreen and trying to top that with foundation.
I couldn't be happier! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Long Beach, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
off with Discolorations
 Date: July 24, 2009
Tags: anyone!
" I just started using it and learning about this product.
Why do I give it 5 stars? Because of all serums I've ever used, not one of them leaves my skin instantly soft & radiant, whether I scrub my skin before using it or not!
Knowing that this will get to the core of my dark spots, and will help my skin heal, look and feel better, was a selling point for me. I could not hesitate buying this product and adding it to my range of cosmetics I already use.
Once upon a time, when I was a little girl, I will fight with my mom to not protect my skin from UVAUBV rays... I never knew how bad it could be for my skin until I turned 16 and read all about UVA-UBV protection...
Bottom line is, I don't wish to get spots everywhere, and I want my skin even b/c even though I love to wear makeup, at times I go out without wearing any, and I want to feel extra confident that my skin, when naked, looks amazing.
Remember that the face is the first thing people see of you... so, take care of it, love it, and give it some origins. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Wichita, KS
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked overnight
 Date: June 5, 2011
Tags: redness acne marks
" I have been looking a long time for a product to help with my red, blotchy complexion. I just finished my bottle of Modern Fusion and was pleased with the results, it seemed to lessen the redness of acne marks and even out my skintone. I saw Brighter by Nature online and decided to make a run to the local Origins store and see for myself. I applyed it last night before going to bed and woke up this morning with noticably reduced redness on my cheeks and old acne marks were noticably faded- in just one night??? Hard to believe, but heck this stuff works! My pores seemed to be smaller too. I can't wait to see the full results after several weeks... I have loved Origins for years. My best friend introduced me to the line before my wedding almost a decade ago, and I keep coming back to their products again and again. Origins products never irritate my skin like other comparable brands have in the past. I love this product and the fact that it worked so fast for me. "
Review 9 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Valencia, California
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Brighter is Better
 Date: March 17, 2010
Tags: lightening age spots
" I am an average everyday mom who works and goes to school and is very busy. So taking care of my skin wasn't always my #1 priority, until lately. I am a 36 year old Mexican American and Apache Indian so I have an olive skin tone. I started getting age spots (or freckles as I like to call them) within the last couple of years. My boyfriend mentioned how I've been getting more (how nice, right?!?) So I bought Brighter by Nature and have been using it for 3 months every morning before I put on my makeup. The spots on one side of my cheek are almost entirely gone and the ones on the other cheek which are darker have lightened to the point of them being unnoticeable. My boyfriend knew I bought the product and recently mentioned that they look like they've disappeared. I just ran out today and am going to make my 2nd purchase without hesitation. I'll never stop using it! Finally a product that does what it says! "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Nothing yet...
 Date: July 20, 2011
" I had my first foray into Origins products about a month ago, when the salesgirl talked me into buying a mess of stuff, including this serum. I like most of what I got, but I have seen little to no progress on my discoloration from this product. I've battled cystic acne for 17 years, and while I'm now using prescription topicals that keep me from breaking out, I have 17 years of slight scarring and red marks that just won't go away. My friends keep telling me my skin looks really good, but I can't help but wonder if it's because of the Origins toner, mask, and peel pads - because I honestly haven't seen one thing on my face lighten or become smoother or more even after using this serum for a month. I'm not giving up yet, I still have a lot of the bottle left, but we'll see! "
Review 11 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: San Jose, CA
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
A little goes a long way...
 Date: February 11, 2011
" I started using a sample of this hoping that, in conjunction with my other BBN products, it would fade the few discolorations I had on my cheeks. Within a week I started to see results, so I purchased a kit that came with this, the BBN SPF, and a face wash (both of which I already used so I wanted them in travel sizes). I just love it. I have purchased a full-size bottle which will last me a long time. (The small sample lasted me almost a week and a half using it twice a day...but again, only on my cheeks.) I would gladly pay a little more for something that works, but this is a great value on top of actually being effective. I'll continue to use this religiously.
Pros:
Light, fresh scent
Absorbs quickly, non-greasy
A little goes a long way, great value
"
Review 12 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Sacramento, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Does not Perform as Advertised
 Date: April 22, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Dry Skin
" I brought this serum because I have those post blemish dark spots on my face and the sales lady recommended this for me. After using it religiously for the past year, I have not noticed any signs of improvement on my face. The dark spots are still there. My skin tone has not improved. And I hate how it feels really liquidity. I'm used to more of a creme/thicker based serums, but maybe some people like the texture. Honestly, it made my skin feel oily as well.
I felt bad for recommending this to my sister to reduce the appearance of her freckles after she told me that this product did not work nor was it worth the $40 she dished out for such a small amount with little to no results. She, too, said it made her skin feel oily. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Colorado Rockies
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
actually works!
 Date: March 13, 2011
" I started using this serum before the pads came out, and it really worked. I came home from a summer with the Forest Service with no sunburns, but with brown spots on my cheeks, and here was this great new Origins product just for that problem! I don't remember exactly how soon, but within a week or two they were significantly lighter and less visible.
I must use it consistently, twice a day (which I can't keep up for long), or the spots come back, but if I'm disciplined, it's effective. I don't notice any 'brightness' (even in combination with the pads), so I think the name is a misnomer. And the smell and feel aren't quite as pleasant as the Modern Fusion serum. but it still rates 5 stars for effectiveness.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Southern California
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Product
 Date: October 28, 2009
Tags: Dry Skin, Sensitive Skin, dark spots, freckles
" When I first tried this product, I was amazed. I didn't think it work. I do have freckles (did), but now they are very faded and can barely tell they are there when not in sunlight. I gave it only 4 stars because before, I have been using it every night, until the other night when I forgot to. The next morning my face was completely renewed with what I had before. Of course, this product works and it made them lighter, but when you don't put it on one night, it completely backfires. Although, this product is an incredible product, and I would reccommend it to anybody who has dark spots, dry skin, sensitive skin, or anything that they would want to fade, to try this. You will benefit for sure!! "
Review 15 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product, poor packaging
 Date: December 2, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
" I have used Brighter by Nature for three months now, and have noticed lightening of the darker spots on my face. I am fair skinned, and have freckles and some redness- a result of growing up at the beach prior to the widespread use of sunscreen. The only problem is the bottle. The pump stops dispensing long before the product is anywhere near gone. So, you have to work it out the best you can. This is not convenient or efficient, especially given the price. Similar problem with Youthtopia serum. I bought this product in an Origins store, and was assured by the salesperson that the containers had been redesigned so that the product would dispense properly, but it still does not work well. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Chicago, IL
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic!
 Date: January 1, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
" I am very happy with this product! The dark shadow above my lip needed attention. I did some research on how/why this happens and looked into many options to try to "cure" this problem. I decided to go with the Origins product and 3 months later,the shadow above the lip is gone! I also apply the serum around my eyes. And, my eyes are much brighter. I use a small dopple directly on these areas each night and morning. I use it in combination with Night a Mins or Have a Nice Day moisturizers.
If you are looking for "instant" results, this is probably not the product, but if you want to correct your skin problems this is a great product to include in your personal skin care program.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Montreal
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
It works!
 Date: June 18, 2011
" This stuff is absolutely amazing!! After suffering with adult acne since my early twenties, I have been left with a dull complexion plagued with discolourations that nothing has seemed to be able to get rid of. After reading many positive reviews I decided to try the Brighter by Nature serum, and am I ever happy that I did. My skin tone has begun to even out beautifully (within 2 weeks of use!), additionally I have had fewer breakouts, which is a welcome surprise! It is moisturizing, without being sticky and absorbs nicely.
If you suffer with acne and the scares it leaves behind, and/or your skin is dull and uneven due to prescription treatments, you have to try this!
"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Tampa
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product!
 Date: February 2, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
" I had never really considered my freckles as sun damage (silly, I know) because I have had them since childhood. I've used two bottles of this product and most of my freckles are faded, if not gone!! I'm shocked! They were just sprinkled across my nose and forehead, and now there are only a few left.
One thing I will say is that I have a few larger, darker freckles, which showed up after a severe sunburn and they blended in with all the others before, but now they appear more substantial because they are the only ones left. I'm going to keep using this product and hope they will eventually fade as well. "
Review 19 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Honolulu, Haaii
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: June 13, 2011
" I love this product and the only draw back on this is the container. Orgins need to find a better container for this product.
It dispenses in a terrible way. It shoots out from the push cap. Also, at the end of the bottle use when the push button no longer works...you will find a goodly amount of serum left...you have to remove the push cap and turn the bottle to get the remaining serum.
This product has done what is promised. My dark spots are toned down but it did not disappear. But it does help to curb any more dark spots or coloring on my face. I am 70 years old...I need all the help I can get. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Boston, MA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I was looking for!
 Date: May 6, 2010
Tags: Sensitive Skin, post blemish scars
" This product is great! I have already seen improvement in clarity and tone without upsetting my sensitive skin. I have fair skin that scars easilly and can be very sensitive so I have to be very careful what I put on it. I am not acne prone, but do tend to get a couple small blemishes that leave pink scars for months afterwards. This is perfect for fading those and it smells so nice and feels nice on my skin as well. I use it with A Perfect World spf 25 in the morning and my skin never feels greasy, just protected. At night I use it alone and always wake up looking better than when I went to sleep! "
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>