Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum

Helps create more even skin tone and zap the appearance of dark spots.
Average Customer Rating:
4.005 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(187 Reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (187 reviews)
5 stars
105
4 stars
31
3 stars
16
2 stars
17
1 star
18
142 of 187(76%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Sacramento, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Serum Ever!
 Date: July 26, 2009
Tags: sun damaged skin, enlarged pores, acne prevention, age prevention, combination/oily skin
" I've been using Brighter by Nature for two weeks, and I already see a dramatic improvement in my skin clarity and an astonishing brightening of the dark spots on my cheeks. I've had huge clusters of sun damage on my cheeks for over 5 years and nothing has worked this well or this fast. It's simply the best serum I've ever used! "
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product!
 Date: May 9, 2011
Tags: acne scars
" I have just finished my first bottle of Brighter by Nature in conjunction with the pads, and I have to say I have been receiving compliments on my skin! For someone who was troubled with acne from 12-27, this has been a Godsend. I am 33 now, and my skin has never looked better. The product has helped to give me an even skin tone, and the pads have practically erased my deep acne scar on the side of my cheek that was created from years of deep scarring and damaged tissues.
It takes time to see results - for me, it was 3 months. I recently noticed the scars being erased, but I almost immediately saw that the redness in my old scars were virtually erased. That part was very cool. Be forewarned that you will see some slight uneveness in your face as the product begins to work. For example, I saw some discoloration for the first 4-6 weeks in parts of my skin, but after that - it all evened out and now I look amazing. I am so happy. I will only be doing one more bottle and one more jar of pads as you really don't need to keep using this.
Amen to Origins for creating a product that proves to do what it says and to make it so that we don't have to keep going back for more - this really does the job! I highly recommend to all of you with old acne scars! "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Oceanside, CA
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Sun - Sun - Sun!
 Date: November 2, 2011
Tags: reduce the signs of aging and sun damage
" I have loved being outdoors ever since I was a littler girl. However ever since turning 30, I have slowly been starting to see the affects of those long, sunny California days. Since my mom used to cover herself in baby oil when she tanned at the beach, I guess she assumed my olive skin didn't need any protection. Now at 34, my once smooth, olive complected face has started to become blotchy, uneven and even showing signs of those daggon brown age spots. Ugggghhh!!!
I have always been skeptical of wonder products. However I love Origins natural approach to beauty & skincare, so I decided to give the Brighter by Nature product line a try. For two months now, I have been using the Correcting Serum and the Skin Tone Correcting Moisturizer twice daily. I am so excited with the results!!! My skin tone has become almost completely even and hardly any red blotchiness! An added bonus is that a little goes a long way...it smells amazing...goes on very light...and my skin feels completely moisturized without being greasy.
Based on the recommendation of the Origins Rep at my local store, I just purchased the High-Potency Brightening Peels Pads & Modern Friction Scrub to use twice a week to promote new cell growth and also the High-Potency Night-A-Mins to use in the evening. I am excited to see what happens to these brown age spots now! :)
PS - The Origins Rep suggested cutting the Peels Pads in 1/2 to last even longer. Or if you're really frugal (like me), you can cut them in 1/4. :) "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Skin Type: Oily
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Incredible!
 Date: August 1, 2009
Tags: dark spots on face
" I received a sample yesterday and decided to give it a try before I went to bed. My skin literally transformed overnight. A dark patch from acne lightened so significantly even my husband noticed right away. I will definitely recommend this to everyone... and will pick up a bottle the next time I'm in Origins! "
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Long Beach, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
off with Discolorations
 Date: July 24, 2009
Tags: anyone!
" I just started using it and learning about this product.
Why do I give it 5 stars? Because of all serums I've ever used, not one of them leaves my skin instantly soft & radiant, whether I scrub my skin before using it or not!
Knowing that this will get to the core of my dark spots, and will help my skin heal, look and feel better, was a selling point for me. I could not hesitate buying this product and adding it to my range of cosmetics I already use.
Once upon a time, when I was a little girl, I will fight with my mom to not protect my skin from UVAUBV rays... I never knew how bad it could be for my skin until I turned 16 and read all about UVA-UBV protection...
Bottom line is, I don't wish to get spots everywhere, and I want my skin even b/c even though I love to wear makeup, at times I go out without wearing any, and I want to feel extra confident that my skin, when naked, looks amazing.
Remember that the face is the first thing people see of you... so, take care of it, love it, and give it some origins. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Nashville, TN
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Results!!!
 Date: October 24, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
" I've been using this product for about two weeks now. I've never used anything that has made my skin look this refreshed. I am African-American with medium/dark skin. I've had acne in the past and some of the products I used left my skin dry which caused it to be dull and discolored. I can't believe that in just two weeks, my skin is brighter and more even. I love it and I'll never stop using it. "
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Reno, NV
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Severe skin discoloration from Acne
 Date: September 15, 2009
Tags: dark large spots from acne
" I have serious blotches from acne scars. Its working!!!!! I just started using Brighter by Nature" about a week ago, and am noticing the dark blotch spots from acne probs are starting to blend in more with my skin tone. Now Im trying it on age spots on my hands to see if it helps there too! "
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Valencia, California
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Brighter is Better
 Date: March 17, 2010
Tags: lightening age spots
" I am an average everyday mom who works and goes to school and is very busy. So taking care of my skin wasn't always my #1 priority, until lately. I am a 36 year old Mexican American and Apache Indian so I have an olive skin tone. I started getting age spots (or freckles as I like to call them) within the last couple of years. My boyfriend mentioned how I've been getting more (how nice, right?!?) So I bought Brighter by Nature and have been using it for 3 months every morning before I put on my makeup. The spots on one side of my cheek are almost entirely gone and the ones on the other cheek which are darker have lightened to the point of them being unnoticeable. My boyfriend knew I bought the product and recently mentioned that they look like they've disappeared. I just ran out today and am going to make my 2nd purchase without hesitation. I'll never stop using it! Finally a product that does what it says! "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
 Date: October 7, 2009
Tags: Sensitive Skin, hyperpigmentation
" I NEVER leave reviews but I just HAD to on this serum! I recieved a sample of this and tried it on my majorly sun damaged (hyperpigmentation) skin and literally overnight I saw a change in the color of the sun spots. I have tried sooo many products out there and had to wait 6-8 weeks to even see if it would work...and it never did, but this worked immediately. It has been about 2 weeks of using it in the AM & PM and the sun spots are fading away more every day! I will definately be sticking with this product! Thanks Origins...you saved my skin!!! "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Houston, TX
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Works well but not quite as advertised
 Date: July 24, 2011
Tags: acne blemishes
" This product only works as a mid-range skin brightener. It works well (but over two weeks time) on blemishes caused by acne, but not at all on sun spots or age spots. I've been using this product daily for two months and have only noticed a lightening of the reddish spots left by acne. It has had no effect whatsoever on my sun spots or age spots which are brownish in tone. Overall, not worth the money. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Phoenix
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Did not deliver
 Date: June 6, 2010
" I did not see any change in the discoloration/dark patches on my face nor did I see improvements in overall clarity or tone. I stuck with it and used the whole bottle, but it just didn't do it for me. I'm seeing results after three applications of the Brighter by Nature peel though. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Sacramento, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Does not Perform as Advertised
 Date: April 22, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Dry Skin
" I brought this serum because I have those post blemish dark spots on my face and the sales lady recommended this for me. After using it religiously for the past year, I have not noticed any signs of improvement on my face. The dark spots are still there. My skin tone has not improved. And I hate how it feels really liquidity. I'm used to more of a creme/thicker based serums, but maybe some people like the texture. Honestly, it made my skin feel oily as well.
I felt bad for recommending this to my sister to reduce the appearance of her freckles after she told me that this product did not work nor was it worth the $40 she dished out for such a small amount with little to no results. She, too, said it made her skin feel oily. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Irvine, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, but not for everyone.
 Date: June 9, 2011
Tags: sun spots, sleep deprivation, mild discoloration
" I had some acne scars and sun spots that I wanted to get rid of, which I was able to do with this serum. However, I noticed that some of my "heavier" spots that have been on my face for a lot longer weren't able to be absolved. So there is truth behind both the positive and negative reviews. I would recommend this for people who have non-heavy discoloration due to sun exposure or sleep deprivation. This is a good valued serum but I'd recommend something stronger or more clinical-oriented for more stubborn discoloration. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
WONDER WORKER!
 Date: January 24, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin, All Skin Types, acne-prone
" I bought this end of November because I had recently started breaking out again and I was getting a lot of acne scars. And i really mean A LOT. The woman who worked at the counter recommended this for my scars. In about 3 weeks I noticed MOST of my scars were lighter. Its been about a month and a half and there is a dramatic difference in the scars and discolorations on my face. I even have to use less make up which is great! I would recommend this product to anyone with acne scars! "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Serum that Works!
 Date: October 12, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
" I used to think that serums were a ploy to get me to buy more skin care. I have tried a few and didn't notice a thing--just that I had another step to follow.
I tried a sample of Brighter by Nature and and noticed a difference the first time I used it. My complexion is brighter and my skin is smoother and softer.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Northport, NY
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
God Sent!
 Date: September 9, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
" I bought this serum last week. I have used it twice a day everyday since then. All I have to say is WOW!! I see such a difference in only one week! I have had stubborn acne scars since my college days and they are almost gone! Plus it's good for even the oiliest of skin. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Washington, DC
Skin Type: Sensitive
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked for me!
 Date: October 7, 2009
" I have light brown skin and just finished using my first bottle of Brighter by Nature and it works for me! I have a ton of freckles from years in the sun and, while they are not gone, they have faded significantly :-) "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Washington, DC
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Glowing skin
 Date: October 11, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
" I had no idea what adding a serum to my routine could do for my skin. My skin looks remarkable brighter and I receive compliments on my glow all the time. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Los Angeles
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Not so much
 Date: June 23, 2010
" I used an entire bottle of this and did notice any change for better or worse. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brighter By Nature™ Skin tone correcting serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: San Diego, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
This serum really works!
 Date: March 24, 2011
Tags: refining skin texture and tone
" I have what some people call congested skin... dry skin on top, oily in the tzone and so I have to exfoliate etc. It's so hard to find products that really do what they say. This serum makes my skin feel so smooth. Also, I have dark freckles and discoloration like the pregnancy "mask" and so I had just given up on ever having one color skin in certain areas, including a little V area at the base of my neck in the front, a place that shows with just about any kind of shirt but tneck. After using the serum for a week or so I noticed that little spot was much lighter and also the spotting on my forehead. The spots on the side of my neck (from tanning in a salon) were also looking better but I think they were deeper in the skin so they will take longer. Please remember if you are using this product do use a decent sunscreen with it or any discolorations will come right back. When I ran out and stopped using it briefly I after a week I noticed that my skin texture was rougher. LOVE IT.
Oh also just tried the peel pads in this line. very gentle and really really got rid of the dry patches I get as well. WOW!! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>