Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup

Keeps combination complexions looking fabulously flawless. Moderate to full coverage. Best for combination skin.
Average Customer Rating:
4.534 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(264 Reviews) 239
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (264 reviews)
5 stars
193
4 stars
45
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
9
245 of 264(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: EmmyG
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't live without it
 Date: July 22, 2013
"Over the last year I have, in increments, replaced my drugstore face products with Origins. I started with this foundation and an Origins moisturizer (I'm now using Dr. Weil's mushroom moisturizer). There has been a significant improvement in my face. In particular, I am not breaking out nearly as often.
Last month I decided to skip ordering Stay Tuned foundation -- because I didn't have enough time to wait for it to ship and arrive. So I purchased my old drugstore foundation. What a mistake! After 2 weeks my skin was back to it's usual bad behavior. Long story short, Stay Tuned is the foundation of my face routine every morning (pun intended). Won't go without it ever again!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: cowpotamorse
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Neither noteworthy nor worthy of a second purchase
 Date: October 17, 2011
"The Stay Tuned foundation seemed to be a good catch: oil-free, and formulated without all of those pesky ingredients Origins always omits. After giving this product a good effort, I am back to searching for a new foundation.
The color seems to match well, but it does absolutely nothing as far as coverage (a good concealer is mandatory if you wish to wear this foundation), the wearability is poor (it seems to disappear as the day progresses - revealing patches of color - or it rubs and runs too easily), and it makes my skin looks shiny and greasy from the moment I apply it (even if I cut back on the serum or moisturizer after cleansing and toning - which defeats the purpose of the Origins Daily Ritual). I have to load up on the powder after applying the foundation, and even though I have combination skin, I have to touch up with powder almost every hour to avoid having a shiny forehead and chin.
I am not so sure what is so 'balancing' about this make-up, because it does nothing for 'oil-blotting' (as the product description claims) or 'balancing.' This product certainly does not create 'all-day' harmony. I'm lucky if I can get three minutes of ho-hum harmony before Stay Tuned leaves my face looking like a greasy, patchy, embarrassing mess."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Jayelle
Location: New York
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
This has changed my skin!
 Date: July 18, 2012
"I had the most sensitive, acne prone, fairest, sun-sensitive, frustrating skin until I used this product.
I have tried nearly every brand of foundation ever made and none have worked for me as well as this. It not only looks amazing and covers well... it has healed my skin! I hardly even need to wear makeup anymore! I went from buying all kinds of expensive acne creams... and now I dont even need them. This product is a life-saver.
I recommend this to everyone!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: DisappointingFoundation
Location: Baltimore, MD
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Disappointing
 Date: July 11, 2012
"I love the Zero Oil cleansers\toners\charcoal mask, and I thought that the balancing foundation would be a nice match. I have REALLY oily skin (like enough for 5 people), and this "balancing" makeup felt really greasy and thin when it went on. Once set with powder, it only lasted about an hour before my face was shiny, and when I used those blotting sheets, the makeup came completely off. Plus, the lightest shade was about two shades too dark for me...I need porcelain. It just didn't work for me, and I will be returning it. I will continue to buy the Zero Oil line though...it's wonderful."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: amhiguchi
Location: Syracuse, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great foundation for oily/combination skin
 Date: May 21, 2014
"I have this foundation in Natural and have been using it for about 3 years. It doesn't feel heavy, it doesn't get that caked on, flaky look (as long as you moisturize before putting it on) and it doesn't make me break out. It's long lasting (especially if I use a primer first) and it provides great medium coverage. Even the makeup artist for my wedding was impressed with this product...she said it gave my complexion a soft glow!"
Review 6 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: BethL
Recommend to a friend? No
Bring back Nude and Improved Foundation
 Date: August 28, 2012
"Why change a great thing? Both Stay Tuned and Plantscription foundation are far inferior to Nude and Improved. Origins just lost my business."
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: suzin
Location: NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
love the foundation
 Date: May 13, 2014
"Natural, not shiny or pasty, all over foundation. Colors are available for every complexion."
Review 8 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Kdupree
Location: FORT WORTH
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great!
 Date: May 9, 2014
"HAVEN'T USED LIQUID FOUNDATION LONG BUT IT'S LIGHT WEIGHT"
Review 9 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Deals
Age: 35-44
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
 Date: March 30, 2014
"I have been using this product for years and love it! It covers without looking like I even have makeup on. Its light and breathable, doesn't feel caked on like other products I've used before."
Review 10 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 7star
Age: 45-54
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Stay Tuned Balancing face makeup in Linen
 Date: March 26, 2014
Tags: light to medium coverage
"Use the shade Linen. Is a natural, not too light shade.
Excellent foundation, have used for years. Is a light to med. natural looking coverage. Does not clog pores or create a mask like effect, very natural, love it!
"
Review 11 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Bernadette
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best foundation ever
 Date: August 14, 2013
"This is truly the best foundation I've ever used. The color matches perfectly and even when looking in a magnifying mirror, it doesn't settle into the lines and pores as most of the foundations do. It looks and feels perfectly natural and stays on all day until I wash it off. It covers beautifully without being too heavy or too light. Would definitely recommend it to everyone I know!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: RonnieC1
Location: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
 Date: March 17, 2014
"I've used this product for years, and it's fantastic! It looks like I'm not wearing any make-up."
Review 13 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: tired
Location: Salem, MA
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: March 11, 2014
"Goes on easily. Tends to look too dry during winter months. Color pretty good."
Review 14 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: newenglandprep
Location: Washington, DC
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing foundation
 Date: August 23, 2010
Tags: everyday
"I have combination skin and this evens my skin tone perfectly! I use it with the all or nothing powder and it really makes my face look flawless. to get a great look you should really use it with their foundation brush and not sponges or your fingers."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: KrystynaO
Location: La Mesa, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My favorite face makeup
 Date: January 28, 2014
"About 2 years ago I started getting hyperpigmentation along my upper lip and cheeks. After several people told me I had something on my face and tried wiping it away (like it was food or makeup smudged) I decided I needed to start wearing face makeup to cover it. I started with Stay Tuned and have never tried a new product because it is so effective. When I went to the dermatologist, she told me that whatever makeup I am using is doing an excellent job of masking my melasma. I found that finishing with a lightweight mineral powder really enhances Stay Tuned."
Review 16 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Kitkatpatches
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Foundation
 Date: January 21, 2014
"I've tried many foundations over the years (both high-end and drugstore brands) and this is the best foundation I've found. I continue to buy it because the consistency is just right (not too thick, not too thin), the color (warm beige) matches my olive skin tone perfectly, it wears evenly, and it's formulated without parabens (awful preservatives that mimic estrogen in the human body...eeek) It feels great on and really does seem to balance out my complexion (I have a few blemish scars) and spots of dryness and oiliness as well."
Review 17 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: CosmicBlossom
Location: Benicia, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love love love it!
 Date: December 14, 2013
Tags: Combination Skin, acne prone, covers most of my dark spots
"This is a great foundation. A lil goes a long way. Looks like I have no make up on. Even my BFF couldn't tell I had makeup on she thought I had blush on only. Oh how I wish that we're true ! But if it weren't for this great foundation my skin would not look as good as it does today.it even covers my dark spots away without needing a concealer. I used to wear other big named brands and they made my skin breakout bad or I would have allergic reactions and I thought it was just my hormones making my skin break out. But to find out that those other big brand names had really harsh chemicals. This stuff is so gentle on my skin. I hope they never stop making this. Because it's my best friend. All of Origins products are great. Oh and Forgot to mention I only get really oily in the summertime and this stuff doesn't make my skin look so greasy around those times which is a even bigger plus."
Review 18 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: RCinDallas
Location: Dallas
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty good, not perfect
 Date: November 15, 2012
Tags: Oily Skin
"I like the consistency of the Stay Tuned Balancing face makeup better than the Plantscription SPF15 which I tried first because I'm over 50 and the Plantscription foundation is marketed as an anti-aging formula. I would like the Stay Tuned foundation better if it had sunscreen in it, like the foundation I used for over 10 years. I switched because I want a foundation that doesn't contain parabens and some of the other chemicals that are often found in cosmetics, which aren't good to have on my face all day. I would like this product much better if the bottle it was packaged in, had a smaller opening. Just a bit smaller so that I'm not shaking too much onto my finger and so that I'm not getting the makeup on my finger and then putting it back in the container due to excess, as that's not hygienic."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: rejohle
Location: Burkeville, YX
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: January 23, 2014
Tags: light coverage
"This is wonderful foundation if you want a light coverage. Lots of shades to choose from. The only thing I dislike about it is product is the bottle it comes in. It is a liquid foundation so it's easy to spill. It would be better if it came in a tube."
Review 20 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: robyn130
Location: Maine
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
great product
 Date: January 15, 2014
Tags: great for under makeup or by itself
"Love this foundation! Great even coverage with just the right shade for my skin tone as well as the great balance like it says, doesn't make my skin feel oily, absolutely love it!"
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>