Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup

Keeps combination complexions looking fabulously flawless. Moderate to full coverage. Best for combination skin.
Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(265 Reviews) 240
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (265 reviews)
5 stars
194
4 stars
45
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
9
246 of 265(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: cowpotamorse
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Neither noteworthy nor worthy of a second purchase
 Date: October 17, 2011
"The Stay Tuned foundation seemed to be a good catch: oil-free, and formulated without all of those pesky ingredients Origins always omits. After giving this product a good effort, I am back to searching for a new foundation.
The color seems to match well, but it does absolutely nothing as far as coverage (a good concealer is mandatory if you wish to wear this foundation), the wearability is poor (it seems to disappear as the day progresses - revealing patches of color - or it rubs and runs too easily), and it makes my skin looks shiny and greasy from the moment I apply it (even if I cut back on the serum or moisturizer after cleansing and toning - which defeats the purpose of the Origins Daily Ritual). I have to load up on the powder after applying the foundation, and even though I have combination skin, I have to touch up with powder almost every hour to avoid having a shiny forehead and chin.
I am not so sure what is so 'balancing' about this make-up, because it does nothing for 'oil-blotting' (as the product description claims) or 'balancing.' This product certainly does not create 'all-day' harmony. I'm lucky if I can get three minutes of ho-hum harmony before Stay Tuned leaves my face looking like a greasy, patchy, embarrassing mess."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: EmmyG
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't live without it
 Date: July 22, 2013
"Over the last year I have, in increments, replaced my drugstore face products with Origins. I started with this foundation and an Origins moisturizer (I'm now using Dr. Weil's mushroom moisturizer). There has been a significant improvement in my face. In particular, I am not breaking out nearly as often.
Last month I decided to skip ordering Stay Tuned foundation -- because I didn't have enough time to wait for it to ship and arrive. So I purchased my old drugstore foundation. What a mistake! After 2 weeks my skin was back to it's usual bad behavior. Long story short, Stay Tuned is the foundation of my face routine every morning (pun intended). Won't go without it ever again!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Jayelle
Location: New York
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
This has changed my skin!
 Date: July 18, 2012
"I had the most sensitive, acne prone, fairest, sun-sensitive, frustrating skin until I used this product.
I have tried nearly every brand of foundation ever made and none have worked for me as well as this. It not only looks amazing and covers well... it has healed my skin! I hardly even need to wear makeup anymore! I went from buying all kinds of expensive acne creams... and now I dont even need them. This product is a life-saver.
I recommend this to everyone!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: DisappointingFoundation
Location: Baltimore, MD
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Disappointing
 Date: July 11, 2012
"I love the Zero Oil cleansers\toners\charcoal mask, and I thought that the balancing foundation would be a nice match. I have REALLY oily skin (like enough for 5 people), and this "balancing" makeup felt really greasy and thin when it went on. Once set with powder, it only lasted about an hour before my face was shiny, and when I used those blotting sheets, the makeup came completely off. Plus, the lightest shade was about two shades too dark for me...I need porcelain. It just didn't work for me, and I will be returning it. I will continue to buy the Zero Oil line though...it's wonderful."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Bernadette
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best foundation ever
 Date: August 14, 2013
"This is truly the best foundation I've ever used. The color matches perfectly and even when looking in a magnifying mirror, it doesn't settle into the lines and pores as most of the foundations do. It looks and feels perfectly natural and stays on all day until I wash it off. It covers beautifully without being too heavy or too light. Would definitely recommend it to everyone I know!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: BethL
Recommend to a friend? No
Bring back Nude and Improved Foundation
 Date: August 28, 2012
"Why change a great thing? Both Stay Tuned and Plantscription foundation are far inferior to Nude and Improved. Origins just lost my business."
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: RioBanana
Location: Atlanta, GA
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Foundation of my choice for 10+ years!!!
 Date: July 30, 2014
Tags: combination
"This foundation is great because it makes me look very natural! With this foundation, I don't even need to use concealer! It covers just the right amount to look natural and I love that it won't get creased up in fine lines! I just shake the bottle a few times and use what's in the cap with my brush! Usually that's all I need to cover my face unless I'm going for a full coverage look! A little really goes a long way!
I have been using origins products for over 17 years and this is my favorite foundation! I did try other cosmetics both high end and drugstore brands but the products from origins are always so gentle they don't even come close!!!"
Review 8 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Icookumgood
Location: Oak Park, Il
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Hail to the origins line!
 Date: May 3, 2010
Tags: flawless coverage., pore coverage
"I have been purchasing Origin sets that are full of skin moisturizing goodies. In the past year I have tried several Origin products, and now I am addicted to using them daily. I am 46, but my skin says I am younger. My absolute favorite is Make a Difference, however the Youthtopia with Rhodiola and a Perfect World make me pretty happy. My most recent purchase was the Stay Tuned foundation. I have reddish cheeks and some larger pores, and it makes my skin appear flawless! It feels so great to take care of my skin, with moisturizers I know are made from quality ingredients."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: newenglandprep
Location: Washington, DC
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing foundation
 Date: August 23, 2010
Tags: everyday
"I have combination skin and this evens my skin tone perfectly! I use it with the all or nothing powder and it really makes my face look flawless. to get a great look you should really use it with their foundation brush and not sponges or your fingers."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: amhiguchi
Location: Syracuse, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great foundation for oily/combination skin
 Date: May 21, 2014
"I have this foundation in Natural and have been using it for about 3 years. It doesn't feel heavy, it doesn't get that caked on, flaky look (as long as you moisturize before putting it on) and it doesn't make me break out. It's long lasting (especially if I use a primer first) and it provides great medium coverage. Even the makeup artist for my wedding was impressed with this product...she said it gave my complexion a soft glow!"
Review 11 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: suzin
Location: NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
love the foundation
 Date: May 13, 2014
"Natural, not shiny or pasty, all over foundation. Colors are available for every complexion."
Review 12 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Kdupree
Location: FORT WORTH
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great!
 Date: May 9, 2014
"HAVEN'T USED LIQUID FOUNDATION LONG BUT IT'S LIGHT WEIGHT"
Review 13 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: RCinDallas
Location: Dallas
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty good, not perfect
 Date: November 15, 2012
Tags: Oily Skin
"I like the consistency of the Stay Tuned Balancing face makeup better than the Plantscription SPF15 which I tried first because I'm over 50 and the Plantscription foundation is marketed as an anti-aging formula. I would like the Stay Tuned foundation better if it had sunscreen in it, like the foundation I used for over 10 years. I switched because I want a foundation that doesn't contain parabens and some of the other chemicals that are often found in cosmetics, which aren't good to have on my face all day. I would like this product much better if the bottle it was packaged in, had a smaller opening. Just a bit smaller so that I'm not shaking too much onto my finger and so that I'm not getting the makeup on my finger and then putting it back in the container due to excess, as that's not hygienic."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Deals
Age: 35-44
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
 Date: March 30, 2014
"I have been using this product for years and love it! It covers without looking like I even have makeup on. Its light and breathable, doesn't feel caked on like other products I've used before."
Review 15 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Mousey
Location: Portland, OR
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Gentle and soothing!
 Date: January 6, 2010
Tags: Sensitive Skin, Moisturizing, color choices
"I have VERY VERY sensitive, acne and exzema prone skin.
At first, as with all "natural" products, I was leery. Leery, but looking for ANYTHING that would work and willing to risk a rash! I have terrible allergies to just about anything that grows in the wild and often, natural ingredients just don't work for me. If it's a tree, a flower or an herb, chances are, I'm allergic.
I have been using this for over 2 weeks now and I am simply AMAZED! The ingredients are truely nurturing and gentle!
My exzema has vanished, the color is the most flattering I've found for my skin tone BY FAR (eggshell) and the clarity and texture of my skin has improved dramatically!
Long-wearing, truely adjusts to the condition of my skin (whether in need of moisture or oil-blotting) and holds other makeup (cream blush) well.
My new HG! I am looking forward to seeing how it wears in the sticky summer months. For a dry cold NW winter, it's AWESOME!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 7star
Age: 45-54
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Stay Tuned Balancing face makeup in Linen
 Date: March 26, 2014
Tags: light to medium coverage
"Use the shade Linen. Is a natural, not too light shade.
Excellent foundation, have used for years. Is a light to med. natural looking coverage. Does not clog pores or create a mask like effect, very natural, love it!
"
Review 17 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: HollywoodSmile
Location: Woodlands, Tx
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The Perfect Color!
 Date: August 22, 2012
Tags: perfect color
"This product has completely changed my opinion on liquid foundations! I have just about have the fairest skin any girl could get! I also have freckles that I try to hide with every foundation I use. The only problem is, my fair skin and the other foundations I would use, made my face look VERY orange and cakey(Yes, I used the lightest shade). After getting sick and tired of looking like an orange, I decided to try Origins. What else did I have to loose? The very first time I used it, I fell completely in love! The color matched perfectly, and I didn't look oily or anything! It was just perfect. Any who, my point is, this is an all around great product that I recommend to anyone and everyone!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: ELBarnes
Location: Cleveland, OH
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Coverage
 Date: October 23, 2012
Tags: combination/aging skin
"I loved the light coverage of Nude and Improved and was very disappointed when it was discontinued. The sales person recommended I try the tinted moisturizer, but that is one area where I don't multi-task. I don't want to be using color for moisturizer or doubling up on moisturizer. Considering my 46 year-old combination oily skin, I decided to try stay tuned. The coverage is good and the foundation does not feel heavy. The scent is a little strong and floral for me, but not as intense as some of the other department store brands. After about a month of use, I have come to like this foundation very much."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: tdalton0117
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
flawless complexion
 Date: January 14, 2013
Tags: Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin
"goes on silky smooth, evens out my complexion, and lasts all day. What more could a girl want? I have very sensitive skin and this foundation has not irritated it at all. I have used a number of high end cosmetic lines and Origins by far is the best."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stay Tuned™ Balancing face makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: RonnieC1
Location: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
 Date: March 17, 2014
"I've used this product for years, and it's fantastic! It looks like I'm not wearing any make-up."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>