Origins Ratings and Reviews

Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places

Blots excess shine without drying out skin. Best for oily skin
Average Customer Rating:
3.885 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
14
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
7
54 of 78(69%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: OriginalSkin
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Fairly Effective
 Date: April 21, 2014
Tags: effective, impractical
"This is essentially like an oil-blotting sheet in a bottle. Absorbent powder, suspended in alcohol, removes excess oil from the skin and makes it appear to be temporarily matte. The effect is longer-lasting than would be that of an actual oil blotter sheet, but this product is too much of an inconvenience to use during the day, especially over makeup."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: KristaE
Location: St. John's, NL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Did not work as described
 Date: July 2, 2014
"This product did not work as described. My skin was just as oily an hour and a half after using it."
Review 3 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: Peaches322
Location: Lorain, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
T-Zone Issues
 Date: June 21, 2014
"This is a ok product. I have very oily skin and I continue to have break through oil after a couple hours. I do not recommend for someone with very oil skin. I like what it does for my oily skin but only wished that it lasted a couple hours longer. I usually apply with my fingers, that seems to work the best. Thank You!"
Review 4 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: TXFIREGRL
Location: Texas
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Handy
 Date: June 15, 2011
Tags: oily spots
"I have used Origins products for years and used to be a slave to Matte Scientist during the warm Texas summers. I work in Public Safety, wear no foundation at work, but really like to stay clean and fresh looking. If made to choose, Matte Scientist was better foe the texture of my skin, but the Zero Oil Instant matte works longer, even if it doesnt leave my skin as smooth feeling. I do like the tiny size; I keep it in my pocket for a quick freshen-up between runs.
All in all a good product, but I miss my Matte Scientist! I still had some left over when I first got the Zero Oil, and actually used both-the Matte Scientist underneath and the Zero Oil on top and it was a PERFECT combination. Origins give us back our Matte Scientist please!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Priya216
Location: New York
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Think twice before purchase..
 Date: March 12, 2014
"I was under the impression that this was more like a moisturizer, which isn't the case at all. This is a a thin liquid like solution. To me, its just like a toner, yet much better than the actual zero oil toner. I have really oily, acne-prone skin, and I can already see the difference on my face. I use this a facial moisturizer over this product, because its really drying even on my oily face. It does have matte finish, but it doesn't long too long. So, I'd think twice before ordering it again, because I'm not completely satisfied."
Review 6 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: stark71
Location: Atlanta
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Shine still breaks through
 Date: July 12, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Oily Skin
"I purchased this product in search of a mattifier that would control the oil in the T-Zone. This product is okay, however, it doesn't control oil breakthrough in the T-zone as well as I would like. I will continue to use but I find it necessary to use blotting papers and/or powder throughout the day."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: cryptograms
Location: San Francisco, CA
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Product works but does not last long
 Date: February 8, 2014
Tags: Oily Skin, matifying
"I have been an avid Origins user for 1 1/2 years now and love their products (serums, face creams, eye creams, cleansers, masks). Unfortunately, I have a very oily t-zone area. The first time I applied Zero Oil, my face felt fresh and the shine+oil subsided. However, I noticed that the shine+oil came back within about 2 hours. I would recommend this product to somebody who does not have a problem with oily skin. For those like myself who do, please note that this product will require a applications throughout the day. Beats blotting sheets."
Review 8 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: nolabarbara
Location: New Orleans, LA
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE THIS PRODUCT
 Date: January 16, 2014
Tags: Oily Skin
"i just happened on this product while shopping online for my regular Origins favorites. I am 65, but still have a very oily T-zone. Before using this, I would have regular breakouts on my nose, large pores and numerous blackheads. That is all history now. Seriously. I cannot believe the difference this one product has made in my overall appearance. I have been using it for over a month now. I used to have to blot my face an hour after I put on my makeup. I rarely blot my face now. Maybe late in the day. Of course, I haven't hit the hot, humid New Orleans summer yet, but I am thrilled so far with this wonderful product. :) Thank you Origins."
Review 9 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Nikibits
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product!
 Date: February 19, 2013
Tags: combination/oily skin
"I typically do not write reviews but this product is amazing. I am 30yrs old and have horribly oily skin. This product takes all the shine away, so much so that people often think I wear makeup because my skin looks great.
If you have oily skin and have 15 bucks to spend, BUY THIS!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: SmartLady
Location: Washington
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for touch-ups but doesn't last
 Date: October 24, 2013
Tags: on the go shine control
"I use this for touch-ups during the day. I don't wear foundation or anything, so I can't speak to how it would sit over make-up. But for me, a couple of dots blended on my nose, chin, and forehead removes the shine and creates a matte finish without making my skin feel super tight. One weird thing is the texture of the product itself. Even when I give it a good shake (which you're supposed to do before using), it sometimes feels a little inconsistently gritty. It's not bad and doesn't interfere with how it works, it was just something that surprised me. You also have to pay attention to how well you blend in the product. If you just kind of dab it, without making sure it's smoothed on evenly, there can be white-ish marks. The shine control from this doesn't last forever (maybe a few hours). So be prepared to reapply or use an oil blotting sheet or something."
Review 11 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: seagull9460
Location: Westport, MA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
GET RID OF THE SHINY FACE!!!
 Date: December 10, 2013
Tags: oily facial skin
"This product really works! I have very oily skin and my makeup would be floating on oil by 10 AM. This kept my makeup in place and looking great until mid-afternoon without blotting or touch ups! You've got to try it! Cannot wait to see how well it works for me this summer!"
Review 12 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: LorLu27
Location: Oviedo, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Zero Oil Instant Matte Finish
 Date: December 14, 2013
"Works great, haven't tried over make up but look forward to it"
Review 13 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: CosmoGirl
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Exploded 2 Times on Plane
 Date: July 16, 2010
Tags: Oily Skin
"I love this product. I have really oily skin and it works wonders. HOWEVER, twice now, I have traveled with this bottle and it has exploded in the airplane, mid-flight. Both times, this product was kept in a zip-lock baggy (thank god) with other small carry-on items and both times, it exploded. All of the contents of the bottle poured out into the baggy and created a gross mess. Also, several times when I try to open this bottle to use the product, the entire top comes off, not just the screw top. PLEASE FIND A DIFFERENT WAY TO PACKAGE THIS PRODUCT SO THE LID STAYS ON!
I highly recommend this product- just keep it on your bathroom counter and don't bother taking it anywhere and you'll probably be a happy camper. I like to take it with me everywhere I go and sadly, that doesn't always work out very well."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Joanna
Location: Arcadia, CA
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
good try
 Date: December 16, 2009
Tags: Oily Skin
"i am very concerned about my face getting the oily kind of shine at the end of the day so i tried this one because i really want my face to be shine free~
ths package of this product is pretty small but you don't really need that much when you're using it so 1 bottle will last a really long time. it says it can be used on top of or under the make up but i prefer to use it under the make up right after i put on my moisturizer~ i just feel that it works better that way~
after using the zero oil i have to shinning problem now~ ^ ^ i'm really happy with the result~
oh!!! remember to shake it well before using it~"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: GinaNuch0325
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
I cannot live without this product!
 Date: August 25, 2012
Tags: after applying you makeup
"I think that I was one of the original users of this product, and have not stopped using it since I first tried it. I don't know what I would do if they discontinued Zero Oil Instant matte finish. I actually stock up on Zero Oil so I will never run out of it. I can definitely see a difference in my skin when I do not use Zero Oil after I apply my makeup. Helpful hint for those that feel Zero Oil leaves a white chalky appearance on your face after it is applied. I shake the product very well and pour a small amount into the palm of my hand. I apply it to my face by just rubbing my hands together and dabbing Zero Oil to my entire face, concentrating on my most oily areas, like my nose, forehead and chin. When the product dries, I take a clean, dry paper towel and work it lightly over the white areas and they instantly disappear, blending right into your skin. The look of my makeup is like night and day if I do not use it. Without Zero Oil Instant matte finish, my oily skin is uncontrolable. Works very well with Matte Scientist oil free face lotion. Please bring back Matte Scientist. Biggest mistake that Origins made when they discontinued this product. Please don't ever discontinue Zero Oil. I would be devastated!"
Review 16 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: lovegoodskin
Location: Coastal Maine
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
A 'must' in my makeup bag!!
 Date: July 9, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Oily Skin
"I have a VERY oily nose/forehead, and the rest of my skin is normal. Using toners meant for oily skin would sometimes help my nose by dry out everything else...and putting tons of powder on throughout the day is a hassle and clogs my pores. I put this product on after my moisturizer and before my makeup, and it works wonderfully! At most I need to re-apply is once throughout the day, but it stays on and helps control my oil. It dries on clear, and dries invisible when I don't wear any makeup.
LOVE IT!!!!!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Cheyenne1
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
BRING BACK MATTE SCIENTIST
 Date: January 20, 2012
"Why did you take away matte scientist? It was perfect. This product dries out the skin entirely too much. Please bring back the product we love."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Prinny
Location: Home, PA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Not real impressed
 Date: May 17, 2010
Tags: Oily Skin
"I usually love products like this. I've bought a bunch of different brands, but this origins is the most disappointing of them all. It dosen't make my skin matte like it says. It takes the shine away alittle but not even close to all. Plus, when you go to get some out it pours out all over the place; wasting alot everytime. It's very watery. I wish I hadn't purchased it. I'M VERY DISAPPOINTED."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: yiiisays
Location: houston
Skin Type: Combination
Recommend to a friend? No
matte scientist is better
 Date: November 26, 2011
"matte scientist is way better, can we have it back please"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Zero Oil® Instant matte finish for shiny places
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Sunsparks
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
A must have for oily skin!
 Date: May 14, 2009
Tags: Oily Skin, Combination Skin
"I have battled with oily skin my whole life. I carry oil blotting papers with me at all times. This product really helps slow the accumulation of oil on my skin every day. Normally my skin would be super oily/shiny by 10:30 in the morning, but when I wear zero oil I don't get shiny until lunch time and even then it is less shiny than without. Anyone with oily skin should use this product."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>