Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic

When it comes to softening and soothing, rough, dry faces, is there anything quite like Organic Shea Butter blended with Organic Cocoa Butter! Best for combination skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.234 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
13
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
4
62 of 77(81%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: loyalcustomer
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? No
poorly packaged
 Date: August 16, 2011
"I actually have no complaints about the product itself. I was thrilled when Origins introduced the organic line. I purchased it a few times, but finally stopped because it is so poorly packaged....the pump does not access all the lotion in the bottle, and try as I might, I could not find a way to open it to get to it! I am not sure why Origins made the decision not to use the traditional bottle that holds their other lotions (i.e. Have a Nice Day moisture lotion), other than to set the organics apart. I will gladly switch back, once they have addressed the packaging....."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: BoulderJen
Location: Boulder Colorado
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
disappointed
 Date: January 22, 2011
"I love the way this moisturizer feels, and I love the smell..... I'm just a bit disappointed 1 bottle doesn't last too long for the amount you pay. I think of Origins as a company that considers the environment, but the packaging on this product seems to be a bit excessive... and once the pump can't reach what product is left in the container, there's no way to open it to scoop out the rest. I feel like I'm wasting when I use this. As much as I like it, I'm not sure I'll spend the money on it again."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: FirstTimeUser
Location: Arizona
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Greasy and Alcohol Smell
 Date: June 8, 2013
Tags: i will be returning it
"I purchased this face lotion for two reasons: I have combination skin and I like that it is 95% organic. When I applied it to my face it felt greasy and looked like I put oil all over my face. My makeup ran within an hour of applying it.
The lotion has a strong alcohol smell, turns out alcohol is the 4th ingredient. My biggest complaint is I could not find a list of ingredients on Origins website. It was not until I paid $45 and the product box came in the mail, that I could read the list of ingredients."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: mariaca
Location: SF, CA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect Moisterizer for Me
 Date: November 25, 2012
Tags: Sensitive Skin, Combination Skin
"This is the Only facial moisterizer I've ever liked. It goes on lightweight, doesn't feel greasy, and is perfect for sensitve skin. I love it! As far as the other reveiwers who take issue with the packaging and say they can't get the last drop out- I've succeeded in busting open the jar when it stops pumping (like them thinking there was more left in there) and not a drop was left in there! Not one drop. The packaging does a perfect job of emptying the contents. My one complaint is that it is very expensive and the jar contains a very small amount of product. It was no small feat busting that jar open so I don't recommend anyone else try."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: hhoney
Location: California
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
needs a few more tweaks
 Date: August 28, 2009
Tags: Dry Skin, older customers
"I feel as if this lotion should be better than it is. It separates when it comes out and is rather greasy. I don't like the bottle it pumps funny, you cant get it open to get the last of the lotion which is important considering the bottle is much smaller than it should be for the price. BUT my friend who is in her late 20's uses all and only the organics and her skin has absolutely transformed from spotted, dry, and wrinkled to tight, youthful, and even. So I guess it just depends on the person."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: kaekee
Location: Arcata, CA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
A very fine lotion!!
 Date: November 16, 2009
Tags: Combination Skin, Moisturizing
"I really enjoy this lotion....I love the smell, the feel of it, the way it makes my skin feel. It's one of the loveliest face lotions I've ever used and I especially like that it's organic. However, I have two complaints: put it in a see-thru container so you can tell how much is left, Origins! And, it seems to run out quickly, faster than any others I've bought here, even though I use just a little bit every day. Give us a container that we can get to every last drop, Origins!! Please."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: meeow
Location: Los Angeles,CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Moistruizer Ever!!
 Date: March 12, 2011
"I have an oily T-zone and normal skin everywhere else. This is the ONLY moisturizer I will use now. It isn't greasy, it absorbs, it doesn't make my face oily (it will make my face oily if the product is too old) and it smells amazing! This is my favorite product from Origins.I use the whole organic line and absolutely love it! I got better results for my skin using the organic line, than I did going to the dermatologist."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: BlessedMom
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed...
 Date: November 30, 2010
"I hate to write such a negative review but I hate this moisturizer. It makes my face feel and look extremely greasy. It smells overpowering (love the smell of other Origins products) though it would not prevent me from purchasing this product if I loved it. The pump is funny and the texture is runny. Can't believe I have to go through the bottle as it's too expensive to throw out :("
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: lizh
Recommend to a friend? No
smells bad
 Date: November 11, 2009
"It really doesn't smell good to the point that I wouldn't want to use it regardless if it is good for the skin.
One day I applied it on my hands using the leftover after applying on face, moments later I happened to floss for my daughter without remembering washing my hands, yikes, she totally didn't like the smell.
As for the lotion itself, it appears to be fine and who doesn't like organic ingredients."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: sandycape
Location: Cape Cod
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Superb!!
 Date: December 8, 2010
Tags: moisturizing during the day
"After reading the variety of reviews, it's clear that not all of us like the same thing. Guess that's why there are various products! For me, this is an absolutely superb moisturizer. The odor is refreshing and my skin feels alive when I use it. It absorbs quickly and creates a smooth base for foundation. My one wish? A travel size, please!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Firefly
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this face lotion!
 Date: May 15, 2009
Tags: Oily Skin, Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin
"This lotion works great and makes you feel pampered too! Sinks right in and has a subtle, earthy fragrance. It's light-feeling and perfect for summer. And the fact that it's organic is a nice bonus!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: CrystalLynn
Location: Houston, TX
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The best moisturizer ever!!!
 Date: March 25, 2013
Tags: Moisturizing
"This is the best moisturizer I've ever used. I live in a very hot and humid city so wearing a moisturizer is difficult. This product works so well. I get the moisture i need without the constant breakouts."
Review 13 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: CarmenC
Location: Eugene, OR
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Good for short-term only
 Date: January 27, 2013
"I have a bit sensitive skin with redness concern, but not too much. My skin type is sort of combination as well. Generally speaking, I liked this product at first. It did have the Shea and Cocoa smells. It was soothing for the first couple weeks. However, it became more and more oily on my face. I would say it got too rich on me even though each time I applied small amount of it. I used it from twice to once a day; but the problem was still there. So I had to stop using it."
Review 14 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: Alex412
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Heavy on my skin
 Date: December 10, 2012
"I'm using some topical medication for acne issues, and purchased this to keep my skin moisturized, but my skin ended up greasy so I'm going back to Have A Nice Day (which worked well, just was looking to try something different). Based on the other reviews, it sounds like this is good for combo skin, so my experience likely is due to the medicine + moisturizer."
Review 15 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: cmac
Location: Wilmington NC
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
very good moisturizer
 Date: September 17, 2012
"would love to continue to use it, but it's expensive. got it using a gift card. too bad it's the only "almost" organic product in the store. don't consider 80% organic acceptable.
but this one is good. would love to see some company with a storefront to have 100% organic products one day!"
Review 16 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: Gabriela01
Location: Phoenix
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Change the dispenser design
 Date: June 22, 2012
Tags: sensitive combination skin
"I love this product, but the way the dispenser is designed makes it really hard to get the last drop out :(
Please consider redesigning it... I've seen others comment on the same frustration with the packaging of the lotion. Other than that... I LOVE IT!!!
"
Review 17 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Bernadette
Location: Chicago, IL
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Moisturizer Ever
 Date: February 3, 2012
"I use all the organic line products and love them all. This moisturizer goes on light and absorbs beautifully. This is definitely the best moisturizer I've ever used. One reviewer said it only lasted a month, but I use it twice a day and I get 2-3 months out of it. You don't need very much product to do the job. I would definitely recommend this product."
Review 18 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: KittyKat
Location: Novi, MI
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
it just dosen't DO anything....
 Date: June 27, 2010
Tags: if you insist on organic
"If you want your face care to be organic and that is the BIGGEST thing that matters to you, Origins has you covered.
HOWEVER: Given the other wonderful moisturizers that Origins has to offer, this one seems like such a let down, especially at this price point! I mean, it hydrates your skin and has 95% USDA certified organic ingredients.....AND? For $45 that's IT???
My reccomendation: try Starting Over, Youthtopia, or A Perfect World moisturizers depending on your specific needs/concerns. They are the same price point or less and actually have a targeted benefit for your skin."
Review 19 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: MellyMel
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Not for me!
 Date: May 20, 2010
Tags: Dry Skin
"I love the Organics line, but this moisturizer did not work well for me. It caused my oily T-Zone to become too oily! And it made me smell like a "bag of herbs". I still use the Organics foaming face wash and toner, which are absolutely FABULOUS!!! I use Plantidote Mega Mushroom face cream and serum to moisterize my face. And even though Plantidote face cream feels heavier, it dissolves perfectly, and gives my skin a healthy even glow. I gave this lotion to my Godfather, who also uses the Organics line, and he loves it for his dry skin!!!"
Review 20 for Nourishing Face Lotion 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: glyphgirl
Location: Colorado Rockies
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
my favorite product
 Date: March 13, 2011
"This is the only moisturizer I have tried that doesn't irritate my cystic acne. I also happen to love both the smell and the fact that it is (almost!) organic. Like another reviewer, I live in a cold, dry climate, and this moisturizer works for me even though it feels nice and light going on. (My skin is only a little dry to begin with, though.) I do use it less than I'd like to, because of the expense, but I'm giving it 5 stars anyway, because I love it so much otherwise."
1 2 3 4 next>>