Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil

Just a few drops of this lightweight, pre-shave lube softens follicles and creates a smooth path of no-resistance for a close, easy shave. Best for all skin types
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
35 of 40(88%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: jamaow
Location: Utah
Recommend to a friend? No
Love it, but disappointed
 Date: June 18, 2012
Tags: shaving
"I am a new user of Origins. While I really love the oil for shaving, I kept saying to myself everytime I used it, that the packaging of the product is wrong. I was told to use a few drops by the salesperson, but could not figure out how to do that with way the bottle is designed. Only after reading the comments by others that I found out that there used to be a dropper. Origins, please either bring back the dropper or change the design of the bottle so that we can use the product the way it is intended. If not, I can not see spending my money on a product that appears is being made in a way allows the consumer to waste the product in dispensing it, just in an effort for the company to make more money in repeat business."
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: TXJustin
Location: Dallas, TX
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Bad Bottle for product
 Date: October 1, 2011
"I'm quite conflicted on this review. The product itself is great . I put this on in the shower and let it "do its thing" while I soap and rinse by body. Then out of the shower I apply my shaving cream on top and get a really nice close shave. The shave is comfortable and it leaves my skin soft and smelling nice.
Here's the conflict -- the bottle that this comes in is not at all appropriate for this product. As the title indicates, this is a thin oil. Trying to get a few drops onto your finger tips becomes a chore. Tilt too much and it pours out way more than you'd like which spills out between your fingers. Tilt too little and it dribbles down the side of the bottle. This product screams for a pump bottle. The fun continues when you get to screw the cap back on -- with oily hands. Since you tilted it too little earlier and oil ran down the side, where you set it down leaves an oil ring.
A fantastic product that is difficult and frustrating to apply isn't much better than a poor product, so I'm forced to give this two stars. Other companies make similar products that are in a pump bottle, why not Origins? If Origins can put this into a nice pump bottle like other products, that's an instant five stars."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Originsuser1974
Location: Cambridge, MA
Skin Type: Dry
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed with a great product
 Date: June 3, 2012
"I started using this product a couple of years ago. Last year, Origins changed the packaging and removed the dropper insert. I recently threw out my dropper insert by accident with a completed bottle. I called National Customer Service and was told the product design no longer includes the dropper insert. How does one dispense 5 drops into their palm?
I am no longer going to purchase this product or the after shave. Sorry Origins..."
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Georg
Location: Cambridge MA
Recommend to a friend? Yes
another voice of disappointment
 Date: November 26, 2012
"I am also unhappy that the dropper insert no longer comes with the product, which I otherwise like. If I were cynical I would say that this has been done with the goal of increasing the rate of use of the product (and so sales) by reducing the cost of producing it."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: Timbo
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Bottle Design Takes Away From Product
 Date: March 5, 2012
"I have been using Origins products for years and decided to give this a shot after noticing several ingrown hairs on my face. I can't say the product has eliminated them completely, but I think it definitely reduces the amount of ingrown hair on my face after shaving.
The HUGE issue that everyone is complaining about and I found after using it the first time was the design of the bottle. There is absolutely no way to pour "just a few drops" out. Every time I pour some out I get a handful and it drips down the side of the bottle, covering the bottle in oil. Origins needs to seriously consider re-designing this bottle because that initial factor leaves a bad taste in my mouth before I even put the oil on my face."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: OriginalSkin
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The only shave oil I like
 Date: April 21, 2014
Tags: light, soothing
"This is truly the only shave oil I enjoy using. Most are excessively heavy and leave an undesirable residue on my skin; this one is feather-light and seems to soothe as it sits on my skin. My only gripe: I miss the stopper. Now, too much product comes out of the bottle too fast, and I seem to waste more."
Review 7 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: wyogal
Location: Central Valley California
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy Slider Pre-Shave Oil
 Date: April 2, 2012
"Five Stars for the Product....ONE Star for the bottle/delivery system changes - SEE BELOW
I love this product as does my husband. Excellent pre-shave product for BOTH men and women! There is only one thing I am NOT happy about with this product....recently Origins decided to no longer include the small plastic restrictor in the top of the bottle, which really helped with product delivery. NOW the oil can easily spill if you knock the bottle over in the shower or on the counter. I am VERY UNHAPPY with this corporate decision to no longer include the restrictor. Before just a drop or two would come out....now it flows out without any restriction...wasting product in the process. PLEASE bring back the bottle top restrictor!!!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: Walker
Location: Northeast
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great shave oil, however -
 Date: October 2, 2011
"I have tried several pre-shave products, including oils and creams. The Origins oil is very good - light and effective. Some time ago, the bottle had a cap with a small hole to limit the amount of oil dispensed. This was important, especially considering the very small size of the bottle and how little of the product is actually delivered for the price.
Now the bottle has a wide open neck - and the oil pours out (if not very careful). So while I like this oil, I now more frequently use one of the many other similar products on the market. The Origins oil is still used, but as part of a rotation rather than daily as before. It seems clear that the newer bottle is designed to use more oil than needed. To bad - good product otherwise."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: ozarkike
Location: Greensboro, NC
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy Slider, the perfect preshave
 Date: May 14, 2009
Tags: total beard preparation
"I purchased Easy Slider after reading a review on a wet shaving forum website. This product has become a staple of my shaving system. Easy Slider comes in an attractive bottle that allows one drop at a time, which is all that is requred to set up my whiskers for a safe, close shave. The scent is a subtle almond flavor that enhances whatever soap or cream lather that is selected. I find that Easy Slider creates a foundation for an effortless shave. It has the right consistency to form a base for the razor blade to move smoothly and cut everly. I use one drop per shave which means that Easy Slider is an economical as well as an efficient shaving essential. This product has replaced all other preshaves in my shaving repitoire."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: chip
Location: Washington, DC
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Product
 Date: November 1, 2009
Tags: Sensitive Skin
"I have psoriasis, and whenever I shave, my skin breaks out in red patches and I get razor bumps. With this product, however, those are things of the past. Easy Slider softens my whiskers and makes it so much easier and more pleasant to shave. Shaving doesn't hurt anymore, and the result is healthier, happier skin!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: TaraSmiles
Location: Tempe, AZ
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Not just for men
 Date: November 12, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"I use this in my bikini area. Makes shaving easier and reduces ingrown hairs and irritation. Great to have on hand"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: BrendonSF
Location: SF, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Don't Waste Your Money
 Date: November 27, 2012
"I'm a huge fan of Origins products, but this one misses the mark. It is a very light and runny oil, which translates in to poor lubrication. If you're using a decent shave cream, this is not providing any additional lubrication. I have used many different brands of shave oil, and this is by far the worst. I threw away most of the bottle. It was that worthless."
Review 13 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: MrsK
Location: Illinois
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome
 Date: October 12, 2012
"I bought this for my husband. After being disappointed by another product he was hesitant to try it. He did and loved it. He gets bad ingrown hairs, and this has helped with that, its nice and smooth. He uses it on his head too."
Review 14 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Vickybean
Location: Houston, TX
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Shave Additive
 Date: June 5, 2012
"This is a perfect addition before shaving. He shaves both his beard and head, and I've never felt it so smooth. He says he hasn't felt razor burn in a couple of weeks and is gung-ho to try more origins products. The shave oil also enhances my shave experience."
Review 15 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: rabbit
Location: Michigan
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Awsome shave!
 Date: July 9, 2009
Tags: Sensitive Skin, rough beards
"I have a very rough beard over sensative skin that is a bear to shave each morning. I have tried all of the other shave creams and lotions that they sell at the markets, but none of them have produced a smooth shave for me. I always ended up with bumps, rashes, and cuts on my face that required me to wait a day or two between shaves--which drove me crazy because I do not like facial hair. Finally, a couple years ago, my mother gave me a bottle of Easy Slider as a Christmas present and I haven't looked back since. Easy Slider softens my whiskers and provides me with a smooth, non-irritating shave every single day. I love it and will never use anything different!"
Review 16 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: JM1216
Location: Middleboro, MA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally!
 Date: May 24, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types, Sensitive Skin
"I have been struggling with sensitive skin, razor bumps and ingrown hairs since I started growing facial hair and this product finally brought relief to all of the above. I have been searching and trying everything I saw and a few things helped but none really solved the problem. I had used blade runner before and out of all of the shaving creams that worked best but my skin is very sensitive. I saw this in my store and grabbed it being very skeptical. I just used it and plan on buying this product for the rest of my life! No creams while shaving or lotions afterward, just the oil and my skin feels great!"
Review 17 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: mrsOrtega
Location: San Diego, CA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Stop Singing The Shaving Blues Part 1
 Date: February 6, 2011
"I finally had had it with seeing my hubbs shave with soap and water so on one of my trips to my local Origins I picked him up a starter set that included this Pre-Shave Oil.
He commented in specific to this that he does feel the difference in using the oil and shaving cream versus just using the cream alone. He feels he gets a closer and smoother shave overall and it helped with him not needing to shave as often too! and I'm so loving his baby-soft cheeks!!
Definitely will be repurchasing for him :)"
Review 18 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: vbgirl
Location: Indiana
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Decreases Razor Burn
 Date: December 30, 2011
Tags: battling razor burn
"Since using the oil, my husband rarely has razor burn. It makes a smooth surface for his blade to shave!"
Review 19 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Trivs13
Location: Minneapoli, MN
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great
 Date: April 12, 2010
Tags: Sensitive Skin
"My husband doesn't have that course of facial hair, but he does have sensitive skin and has been getting a lot of razor burn/in-grown hairs after shaving. He has started using this and it is working amaziningly. His skin is super soft, razor burn & in-grown hair free and he said shaving is much easier and more comfortable. It is a good price for the size, as you really only need about 5 drops to make it work."
Review 20 for Easy Slider™ Pre-shave oil
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: BeautyProductAdventurer
Location: Connecticut
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My partner loves it!
 Date: August 27, 2010
Tags: making shaving more comfy
"My live-in "other half" is full Italian and has coarse facial hair, and A LOT of it! I purchased it for him along with "Fire Fighter" 3 years ago for Christmas, hoping to get him on the skin care band wagon! Well, he LOVED both products and has been using them ever since. After shaving, his skin feels silky smooth and smells SO good! Great products Origins!"
1 2 next>>