Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint

This lightweight lotion with Saw Palmetto and Mint instantly reduces shine and creates a smooth, matte finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.274 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
70 of 84(83%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Katerz
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Fabulous lotion
 Date: July 29, 2010
Tags: Moisturizing, managing oil
"I used Origins' Matte Scientist oil-controlling lotion until it was discontinued. Zero Oil was the recommendation given by the lady at the store in my local mall, so I bought some.
The mint and saw palmetto compliment each other very well, and it helps prevent oil buildup for several hours. I mostly use it for proper moisturizing in the morning and evening; it is perfect for when I don't feel like putting on makeup because I can simply apply the lotion after washing my face, and not worry about becoming oily just because I am not wearing oil-suppressants like foundation and powder. Also, with the insane heat of summers in Texas paired with the gradual oil buildup that can happen throughout the day, this product is a real ally when it comes to remaining presentable.
There are a lot of "all-natural" products that smell atrocious; thankfully, this is not one of them. The Matte Scientist lotion, despite its effectiveness, smelled "unusual" at best, and this new generation of anti-oil lotion has a more pleasing scent without being overpowering.
Though I don't seriously believe that buying each part of the Zero Oil line will really improve anything (it's clever marketing at best no matter how nice those products are), I have mentioned how much I love the lotion to my Mom and Dad so they can know it will be an excellent birthday present this August!
I wanted good lotion to suppress oil, and I got it. Five stars!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Salam
Location: Kansas City
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
 Date: July 24, 2010
Tags: Oily Skin, acne prone
"The product smells great, goes on smooth and absorbs quickly. It's very gentle and keeps the skin hydrated. Definitely a great product for oily and even combination skin, due to how light (yet effective) it is. The smell is absolutely amazing! Like everyone said many, many times, it does leave the skin with a soft matte finish, which is great. I don't give it 5 stars because: 1) the matte finish does not last beyond 4 hours or so. Depending on how oily your face is (mine can be rather oily some days), this will do the job, but do not expect it to keep you matte beyond few hours afterwards. 2) It has no SPF. Without SPF, you are forced to use another product on top, or below, which may add to the oily-ness, which defeats the whole point of using this. 3) Last but not least, antioxidants! Where are they? Modern moisterizers should have some form of antioxidant protection. I love and use Origins Perfect World (with SPF!), but I much rather pay more for Zero Oil (as it suits my skin type much better) if it had SPF and antioxident protection. Otherwise, this is "just" a good lotion - that's it. It does nothing more for your face beyond possibly clearing mild acne. Nevertheless, will consider buying again, but I cannot say that this is a "go to" product, as it needs additional supplements to make sure your skin is nice and protected."
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Duwey
Location: California, CA
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
feel great
 Date: October 3, 2014
Tags: moisrurizing
"Before, i had oily skin, but not any more. Less oil, and my face feels clean and soft. I can really see the different. The smell is not strong either. i really like this lotion."
Review 4 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: ReviewSue
Location: Coolidge AZ
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Zero Oil Moisture Lotion a Good Poduct
 Date: December 13, 2012
Tags: Oily Skin, acne prone skin, maturing skin, Combination Skin
"I have maturing skin which is also normally quite oily (so I don't usually use moisturizer) & can be moderately acne prone. But our winter climate gets extremely dry & so does my skin! Yet, the acne persists! Thus, I needed an oil-free moisturizer for my maturing & dry winter skin, which also combats acne. Origins Zero Oil Moisture Lotion sounded like it would fit the bill & since I have been pleased with other Origins facial care products & gave this a go. I have been using it for 2 weeks now & am satisfied with this product. It does moisturize & relieve my skin's dryness without adding any oily heaviness - it is very light. Plus, it is helping prevent & heal my moderate acne."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: bbc46
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Clean and smooth
 Date: January 10, 2013
Tags: Moisturizing, reducing shine
"One of the best moisturizers that controls oil that I've used. After a full day at work I had forgotten I used it, and I was surprised to see how well it minimizes shine. Works extremely well with the zero oil deep pore cleanser. I generally only use moisturizer in the winter, but this works so well I may use this all the time."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Aly107
Location: Kentucky
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Summer Moisturizer
 Date: July 28, 2014
"I have to have different moisturizers for summer and winter. This is the best one I have ever used in the summer. Usually half way through the day my face gets too oily. That doesn't happen with this moisturizer. My skin is still soft but doesn't get too oily. It also doesn't leave my skin too dry. It's just perfect!"
Review 7 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: stephdt04
Location: Krum, TX
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great lotion for breakout prone skin
 Date: June 9, 2014
"This is great stuff, along with the rest of the Zero Oil line. It does what it needs to, smells great and is the perfect balance. I've read other reviews, people complaining that all it is, is just a moisturizer, well yes it is and its a great one. No it does not have SPF or do any anti-aging benefits, but that is what the serums are for! I use my Spot Treatment gel, then Perfect World, then my Plantscription anti-aging serum, then one of the eye creams (I switch it up for more of a range of benefits) then I use this Zero Oil moisturizer AND then I use my Vitazing over all of it, it has SPF. And then the serums and eye creams handle the anti-aging part of my routine, so you get the best of everything. Origins is very easy to mix and match their different lines, not everyone just has one skin concen, it is usually a range. So this is a GREAT product no matter what!"
Review 8 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: KristaE
Location: St. John's, NL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Too thick
 Date: July 2, 2014
"This moisture lotion is too thick. It would be used up really fast. Needs to me much smoother and lighter for it to be worth the cost."
Review 9 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: TexasAggie
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST moisturizer for oily skin
 Date: January 13, 2013
"I have VERY oily skin and I first tried the Balanced Diet, which still left me very oily. After I exchanged for the Zero Oil I never had that problem anymore. This moisturizer is very refreshing and absorbs right into the skin without leaving any residue!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Bougs
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
It really works!
 Date: May 27, 2014
Tags: Oily Skin
"Used the Live Chat feature on the Origins website and it was suggested I try this Zero Oil moisturizer paired with the Perfect World serum because my concern was mostly oily skin. I'm 50 years old, and still have occasional breakouts. Because my skin is oily, I assume that's why I don't really have wrinkles. But, because I am 50, I still worry about looking older.
After washing my face, it gets very oily again after a few hours. After trying this pairing, I discovered that my face does not get oily as fast anymore. Have only been using it for a week and a half,... maybe my skin will become "normal" after this?
"
Review 11 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: kukiyot
Location: Israel
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love
 Date: September 21, 2012
"I live in a hot and humid environment and summers are horrible. Every moisturizer I've used just melts of my face and leaves it oily. Zero oil is amazing for this weather, it absorbs quickly, doesn't leave my skin oily and feels cool and tingly."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: CrystalSeed
Location: Wixom, MI
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product.....wish it was in a bigger tube
 Date: November 11, 2013
"I love this product. It's been working wonderfully on my face, my only downfall is I wish it was a bigger portion. For the price, I wish it was at least a 5 oz...other then that, it's great!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: lookn4smitty
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally!!
 Date: January 25, 2012
"This was a gift to my sister. She constantly complains about having oily skin. I keep telling her she needs to moisturize no matter how oily her skin is. I basically bought this to prove a point. She loves it! It's the only mattifying moisturizer she's tried that actually moisturizes while controling oily skin. Depending on the season or how her skin feels, she uses this all over or certain drier spots."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: elisabeth
Location: st paul, mn
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent trial
 Date: August 29, 2010
Tags: summer moisturizing, difficult skin.
"although this product is not recommended for my dry skin, I wanted to try it during the the last fer high-humidity, high-heat days. It's just right. The scent is refreshing, a dip in a cool pool with a cold glass of mint tea waiting. And the consistency is just right for mixing in a little foundation for light coverage.
it is the perfect lotion for hot, sticky weather.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: OriginalSkin
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
NOT a toner, as the website classifies it
 Date: April 21, 2014
Tags: greasy, non-absorbent
"This is clearly not a toner, although it appears in the toner category on the website. As far as moisturizers go, this one is just ok. I understand that individuals with oilier skin types don't like oil in their skincare, but this just feels like a load of non-absorbent silicone sliding around on my skin and not really absorbing or making my skin feel softer or smoother. Origins makes several superior products with lightweight textures, like the Night-A-Mins Oil-Free Cream."
Review 16 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: BuckeyeNurse
Location: Central Ohio
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Works like it says
 Date: April 8, 2014
"Bought this for my daughter who is 23 and still acne prone. She's tried other products with so-so results. Stopped by Origins counter for demo and sample and went back for more. So far is working quite well for her."
Review 17 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: cob22
Location: Keene, NH
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for oily skin!
 Date: March 10, 2014
Tags: moisturizing oily skin
"I tend to have oily to very oily skin, however this moisture lotion in conjunction with the zero oil toner and facial wash really have helped a lot! I always use this to get some moisture without a greasy sheen."
Review 18 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: KARIS
Location: Seven Fields, PA
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
OK
 Date: December 13, 2012
"I do think that this lotion is ok to use. The bottle is small for the price. I don't feel like it is very moisturizing and I have actually been breaking out more since I started using it. I have only been using it for about 2 weeks so I might give it a little more time. I am also using the checks and balances face wash now."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: debm
Location: Lake Charles, LA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Moisturizer
 Date: August 4, 2012
Tags: moisturizing for oily skin
"I have oily skin with huge pores, even though I'm over 50. I needed a moisturizer that would not add oil but that would also help my aging skin. This product is exactly what I needed. My foundation stays on, pores seem to be shrinking, and I don't need to use powder to get rid of the shine (which just adds to the wrinkles :) )"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Zero Oil™ Oil-free moisture lotion with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: MG13
Location: Peoria, IL
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice light lotion
 Date: May 20, 2010
Tags: Oily Skin, acne prone
"I have really oily, acne prone, sensitive skin and i tried this lotion by the recomendation of the Origins online chat. I like the way this product goes on so smooth and that you only need a little bit to cover your entire face. I'm only giving this 4 stars because my face doesn't stay completely oil free all day. After almost a week of using this my hard to get rid of bumps have been clearing up. I have noticed some clogged pores coming to a head on my face almost like the debris is working its way out of my skin. I hope after time of using this lotion my little bumps will vanish and my pores will shrink."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>