Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup

Creates a poreless, polished, pretty-as-a-picture appearance that lasts and lasts. Won't cake. Won't clog pores.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(190 Reviews) 170
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (190 reviews)
5 stars
152
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
7
179 of 190(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: San Francisco, CA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? No
SOOO disappointed re: "Cloud" shade
 Date: October 30, 2012
" I'd like to add my concern and regret others have mentioned regarding the discontinuation of several shades including the favorite "Cloud". My sister and I have been happy loyal Origins fans, too, since the 90's when we tried the original starter sets. But we've noticed that products ARE disappearing without notice and without suitable replacements. Are the causes: Economics? Marketing? Random changes? Even the Origins "Gone-but-not-Forgotten" option seems to be just another beauty product website. Origins, please advise customers when serious changes/discontinuations are coming; we DON'T necessarily like the new or different. "
41 of 41 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Dallas, TX
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful powder, terrible shade choices!
 Date: February 5, 2013
" I am so torn on writing this review. I discovered Origins a little over a year ago in an attempt to eliminate all chemicals from my life. I went organic with my diet, household cleaners and detergents, and all beauty products. I fell in love with Origins through this powder. I am a very fair skinned lady and I originally used the now discontinued Cloud shade. The powder is feather-lite and goes on so smoothly. It appears to “melt” into the skin instead of sitting in a caked on looking layer on top of the face. Yet, it does not clog pores. I told all my friends and family about Silk Screen, saying I would never return to my old mineral make up. Unfortunately, the shade choices have been compromised and unless you are able to fit in the small selection of choices available, it will be hard to love this product (no matter how hard you try). I have tried almost every shade possible and nothing fits me. It makes me so sad I will have to switch back to my old messy and time consuming powder foundation. But what good is a flawless powder when instead of giving a healthy glow, the color gives a flushed red face look as if I’ve been out drinking all night? It’s not at all flattering. Origins please bring back Cloud to all your adoring fans! "
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Where are the colors!?!?!
 Date: March 1, 2013
" I have been a loyal silk screen user for years. My color or choice is/was warm honey. The shade matched my skin perfectly and provided the right amount of coverage for a natural yet finished look. Now Origins has decided to discontinue all of the old colors and offer very few alternatives, none of which match the color I used. There are also very few options in the brighter by nature line of pressed powder foundation, which is not for oily skin. I can't understand why Origins would decide to overhaul its entire line of colors in favor of a "one size fits all" selection. Most people don't fit into a light,/medium/deep spectrum. What about your loyal customers? I really hope that Origins will introduce new comparable colors in the variety that used to exist, or I will have to find another brand. Very disappointing. "
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: York, PA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best customer service ever!!
 Date: January 14, 2014
Tags: acne prone skin, Oily Skin
" I always order this powder online because it is the best powder out there for acne prone skin. I made an order and it was delivered quickly as usual. As soon as it arrived, I left it in the box on my dresser since I still had some powder left... A few days went by and around 2:30am, my house caught on fire. I rushed out of my house just before the floor collapsed. We lost everything including that unopened box from Origins. I decided to contact Origins through live chat and I spoke to Marina. I explained what had happened and was hoping to maybe receive a small discount on my next purchase even though I thought it would be impossible. They decided to send me a brand new powder along with a bunch of samples and they expedited the shipping at NO COST! I cant thank them enough! They touched my heart. I will be a Origins girl forever! "
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Texas
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Not enough color selections any more
 Date: March 6, 2013
" I love the weight and coverage of Silk Screen but Origins no longer carries the color I used in the past. I asked an Origins consultant who said there was no substitution for the color I used to have in Silk Screen and recommended a shade in Brighter By Nature. However, it is too heavy for me and I am not looking for a powder with SPF. The only other option is All or Nothing, the "one shade fits all" for which I am not one of the "all" it fits. I love Origins products, but now I have no option for a powder without SPF, with light but good coverage, in a shade that is anywhere near my skin tone (and it's not like I'm blue or something!). I've seen a lot of comments regarding the lack of color choices and having to go elsewhere. If I were Origins, I'd rethink narrowing the choices so significantly. You are losing loyal customers. If it was for cost savings, it may not have been worth it. "
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: south bay, CA
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT for large pore combo skin with breakout
 Date: March 15, 2010
" COLOR: I originally used Beige Beauty, but it was a bit too neutral and tiny weeny dark for my pale, yellow based olive skin (I am the pale complexion kind of Asian), so I switched to Vanilla Cream which is more yellow and slightly lighter and perfect for my skin tone.
TEXTURE: The texture is amazing, silky soft, soft matte, not old lady matte, and the silky finish lasts 4 hours which is a record to my oily, but not extremely oily skin, with dry cheeks. I blot it with some blotting film, and then I am good to go, the color is still there by end of day, but soft matte finish will be gone without reapplying.
GREAT FOR LARGE PORED LADY: I am one of those ladies who have large pores due to years of having pimples, still have some every now and then. A lot of make up just sit on it, make me look horrible and uneven finish because of those visible large pores, but not with Silk Screen, it visually minimizes them, and you can tell the part of skin with or without pores, it helps me achieve a total EVEN finish, and LOOKING PORELESS, and that's the "Screen" part of Silk Screen, like wearing a soft lens if you can imagine.
BEST FOR ACNE PORE SKIN: I am extremely sensitive to anything that will cause breakout and I've tried endless brands and products, Silk Screen does NOT cause any breakout to me and I've tried it for over 2 months with daily application.
ONLY DRAWBACK: If you apply with a heavy hand, it will look cakey and unnatural. If you apply with a light hand at first, not happy with the medium coverage, just go over wherever it needs more coverage, for me, it's the areas next to my nose where I have most pores and discoloration due to acne marks, apply an extra layer on those areas only for the 2nd time, and the color will last longer and it will not look cakey or unnatural at all. So, for me, the total application is 1.5 times (1 time whole face, 0.5 times with areas on the left and right of my nose)
"
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Ottawa, ON
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Needs more colours!
 Date: November 17, 2012
" I wanted to find an alternative to liquid and cream foundations because they only became a mess on my oily skin, so I decided to try this product. It's actually a great medium coverage, but itt goes on smooth, and it doesn't feel heavy. The only problem I have is with the colour selection. I have a very light complexion, and Light Spice was a little too dark for me (left my face looking fake tanned). I'm going to try Oatmeal next, because I think it'll have less of the orangey tint, but I really wish there was a lighter shade like Ivory or Linen. :c "
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great powder, alone or with make-up
 Date: December 15, 2014
" I had a facial at my local Origins store and this powder was used on me after make-up, it looked great. I really like the fact that it can be used alone too, which I often do on the weekend when I don't necessarily need to be all made up. It's enough to smooth out color imperfections, yet very light. I have oily T-zone, and this works great to eliminate the shine. I use it daily, either alone or with make-up when going to work. The amount in the compact lasts quite a long time, as many of Origins products do. I am going to check now to see if they offer replacement pads for use with the compact. The one that comes with it is very nice, and I'd like to replace it with the same, rather than going to one of those tight foam ones the drug stores offer in bulk. Origins, if you don't offer this, you should! "
Review 9 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Recommend to a friend? No
New shades no good
 Date: February 14, 2013
" I have used Origins for 10 years and loved their shades for fair skin. I am very disappointed to see all the shades I have used for foundation and powder be discontinued. Cloud was my shade and the remaining choices are too dark or off tone.
Same disappointment with the introduction of Plantscriptions foundation and the elimination of the Nude and Improved line. Plantscriptions is much heavier and even the "very light" shade is too dark for my skin.
PLEASE bring back the old shades and products! "
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Greensboro, NC
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Cloud is gone?!?
 Date: October 29, 2012
" NO! This shade was perfect for me! Yes, there ARE a lot of us with very fair skin and this was the perfect color for me! Please don't forget about us & bring it back! "
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: San Antonio, TX
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
CLOUD
 Date: October 27, 2012
Tags: Oily Skin, flaw coverage, matte
" I have been an Origins user since the early 90's.
First, you discontinued my lipstick, so it took me two years to find the right color. Then, you discontinued the Mint Wash. It took me three years to find something comparable. Not only that, but I spent a lot of money trying products that didn't work.
What was left for me to buy from you? Only this *one* product... in Cloud. I used to carry one in my purse and keep one in my vanity.
I am a fair-skinned redhead. I consulted with one of your reps, and ordered a different shade in a different powder. The coverage is minimal, it's not stopping the oiliness, and I look like I am one of those cheap women that wear too dark a base.
So, I went to the mall and tried out all the others you make. Still too dark.
Please bring back Cloud. There is nothing left for me to buy from you, and I have been faithful for years. "
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Dallas, TX
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
We miss Cloud
 Date: February 25, 2013
" Please bring back Cloud. I can not find anything to replace it. I am a loyal customer but very disappointed that this shade was discontinued. Love the product hate that Cloud is gone. "
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Glenmoore, PA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this product!
 Date: October 20, 2014
Tags: coverage
" I have been using this product for at least 10 years and highly recommend it. It has a smooth finish and great color and coverage. "
Review 14 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Arkansas
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Just the right amount of coverage!
 Date: October 30, 2012
Tags: a smooth even complexion
" I have used other expensive department store powders in the past but I've always ended up looking cakey or the powder exaggerated my pores or dried out my skin. Not this product! I initially purchased this powder to wear alone in a hot, humid climate because I hate to feel foundation melting off on a really hot August day. This powder helps maintain a shine free complexion and it has staying power~especially if I pair it with the Perfect World moisturizer. I use the foundation brush and the powder settles in nicely and evenly without drawing attention to my pores. If I need a touch up, I use the sponge on my t zone area and I'm good to go. I have sensitive skin and I do not experience break outs, even with the sponge application. I also don't like makeup or moisturizers that feel weighty and this is airy light but very effective in evening out my skin tone. It does not magnify my fine lines under my eyes which is a nice plus for this 46 yr old.
I wear the Caramel Mousse in the summer and Camel in the winter. I have blended these two colors during the transitional seasons for a perfect color match. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Fayetteville Ar
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Makes my skin look flawless
 Date: September 29, 2014
Tags: Oily Skin
" I LOVE this powder so much I HOPE it is never discontinued! I have been wearing it for almost 10 YEARS! I wear it over my foundation and it makes me look like I have smooth pretty skin. I get compliments on how beautiful my skin is and its because of this POWDER!
I work for a TOP makeup company and I cannot use my brand I sell because my face breaks out so badly. If you have acne or any skin problems you should try this powder. I have struggled with acne for several years and if wasn't for SILK SCREEN Powder I don't know how I could have covered without looking too heavy it is so smooth and natural but still covers! Please try you will not regret it! kinda pricey but its worth it
"
Review 16 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: New Jersey
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Natural Soft Focus Look
 Date: January 12, 2011
Tags: Sensitive Skin, providing flawless finish
" I'm 42 with combination skin. I use Silk Screen to top off Origins Nude and Improved tinted moisturizer, which it does beautifully. It is a very fine powder that does not settle in lines. It stays true to color (I use Cloud, and I am very fair). Looks great on the areas of my skin that tend to be dry and yet keeps my oily areas looking fresh. My skin is very sensitive, and this powder does not bother me at all... and I use it over my eyelids to provide a base for my Origins eye shadow. If you're looking for a great powder - this is it! "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: two rivers wi
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? No
just okay
 Date: June 14, 2009
Tags: good skin
" I tried this as a subsitiute for reflection perfection. Sorry to say it isn't close. You just can not match the coverage for oily skin that reflection perfection had. I really wish reflection perfection would be brought back or at least a true foundation for oily skin. An all skins formula just does not work for oily, acne prone skin. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Dickson, TN
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Face Powder
 Date: September 11, 2014
" Love this powder I have used it for years and it is by far the best powder for my skin. "
Review 19 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Skin Type: Combination
Recommend to a friend? Yes
So Sad
 Date: March 14, 2013
" Origins discontinued the color I use. I loved it, it's now gone. been using it for years. now I have to find another brand altogether. That saddens me. It was very good powder. Best I've found. Now, I got nothing. No more Honeyglow! What were they thinking?!!! If you ever bring it back, please, Origins, let me know. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Silk Screen™ Refining powder makeup
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Orange County, CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic and Convenient! Great Coverage!
 Date: August 3, 2014
" I use this with only Ginzing Moisturizer (love) under it and it goes on BEAUTIFULLY! I was using the biggest brand of mineral makeup for years, and always felt like I was settling in regards to color, pore size appearance and having to majorly touch up within minutes of a full application.
With Silk Screen those days are gone! The coverage is beautiful and SMOOTH! The color matches my skin perfectly, I don't see any pores, I have to touch up less and it's in a compact! Another important factor is that I use hardly any product and this foundation looks like my skin, not a made-up caked-up face, and I LOOK YOUNGER! Hooray! Keep up the good work Origins! "
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>