Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap

This hard working soap draws out grime and blockage to leave skin refreshed and clean.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
48 of 52(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Chris123
Location: California
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Soap/High Price
 Date: February 7, 2014
Tags: full body balancing skin moisture
"I read a lot of the reviews left by others before making the leap and spending $22 (soap plus shipping) on a new bar soap, but with so many pleased customers, I decided to give it a shot.
It does smell a bit strong initially, but shortly after I shower, it fades to a more subtle but still pleasing scent. Oddly enough, a few people have actually commented saying whatever I was wearing smelled great.
It feels good too. My skin has cleared up a little bit and generally feels smoother. With the dry air, I usually have to worry about dry skin, but this soap seems to be doing a solid job balancing moisture/cleaning.
My one complaint is that a few reviewers said "This bar of soap lasts forever!" and "I'm going on 3 months with my first bar." There's simply no way this bar will last me 3 months. If it did, I'd rate it 5 stars, no problem. But it's already (after a week or so) noticeably smaller. I imagine it'll last about 3 weeks as most bars of soap I use do. Perhaps I use an abnormal amount of lather?
All in all though, I'd say it's worth a shot (as it's an improvement over big name soaps) if you can afford it."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Lili24
Location: Los Angeles, ca.
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing bar soap!
 Date: August 18, 2014
"This bar soap works great. It's directed only to men but I'm a girl and I use it. It leaves my skin so soft and it really gets rid of breakouts! I like the smell of it, it's not overwhelming at all. It's really makes the skin glow! Everyone needs to have one of these!!!"
Review 3 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Amber123
Location: North Carolina
Age: 25-34
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing! Gets rid of body acne!
 Date: March 16, 2014
Tags: clearing up acne
"I was hesitant about spending $15 for soap, however, this past summer I was desperate for something to clear up the acne on my back. I work outside a lot and during the summer I have bad break-outs on my back. Honestly, I thought this was going to be a waste of money just like every other product I had tried, but boy was I wrong!
This soap did wonders for my skin. I had been trying to get ride of the acne on my back for 5 months and this soap cleared it up in just one week.
I also started using it on my face in place of my face wash and I have noticed a huge difference there as well. I only wish I could afford to stay stocked up on this soap all the time. It is definitely worth the money if you are having trouble with body acne.
And it smells wonderful!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Audley
Location: Washington State
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
This Soap is a Game Changer!!!
 Date: October 2, 2013
Tags: extremely sensitive skin, odd combination of oily but dry and sensitive
"I never review anything but felt compelled to spread the word!THIS SOAP IS GAME CHANGER!!! I have had acne and bad skin for 25 years. I don't want to be on antibiotics for the rest of my life. This soap is AMAZING. I also have REALLY sensitive skin. I can't use many products. I do my laundry with Cheer-free, avoid scents and chemical etc etc etc. I react to nearly EVERYTHING. I don't react to this.
Now that the seasons are changing from humid hot to dry cold, my skin still feels clean, and PURE 12+ hours out of the shower. I don't have to slather on layers of lotion. My skin doesn't feel dry itchy or tight! For the first time since early childhood I truly feel comfortable in my own skin.
THANK YOU ORIGINS!!!!!! THANK YOU to whomever created/came up with this soap. You should be nominated for sainthood."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Soph
Location: Houston
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
This soap is great
 Date: May 7, 2014
Tags: bacne/breakouts
"This soap is amazing. I have suffered from horrible horrible breakouts and acne on my arms and back. I am VERY self conscious of showing these parts of my body. This soap really works wonders. Like everything Ive ordered online i was very skeptical but please take my word for it. This soap is wonderful. Now im working on just getting rid of years worth of scars. Yes its a bit pricey but believe me it is absolutely worth it. When using find a good back scrubber believe that will just help even more! This stuff was probably made and sent from heaven!"
Review 6 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Superskier
Location: Washington State
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Changed my life!
 Date: March 24, 2012
Tags: acne
"I have cystic acne on my back and chest. It is painful and embarrassing. I've tried a lot of specialized acne cleaners with no success. I stopped in on a fluke at an Origins store and asked if they had anything specific for body breakouts. The saleswoman led me to the Skin Diver products. Even though it is marketed as a skincare product for men I thought I'd give it a try. (The saleswoman told me a lot of other women use the product.) My acne started clearing up right away. I haven't had a new breakout in the five weeks I've used it. I am excited that I will be able to wear tank tops again without being self-conscious about the acne. The bar of soap has lasted five weeks so far and both my husband and I use it daily. The scent isn't a "manly" smell, it just smells refreshing. It also doesn't dry my skin out like some acne cleansers I've used in the past. Thank you Origins!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: ProductsMaven
Location: Quincy, MA
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for All Types
 Date: June 3, 2010
Tags: oily-sensitive combination, deep-cleans without irritating
"Very few things really are great for all types, and this one doesn't even claim to be, as best I recall - but it is. It's wonderful for my slightly unusual combination of super-oily and super-sensitive, and I've given it to... I don't know how many people, dry, oily, all sorts, both sexes... and everyone loves it. It gets the skin really clean and fresh right down into the pores, without, somehow, causing any irritation at all, even soothing already-irritated areas. Absolutely amazing product for men and women. I agree it should be described as unisex!
It also seems to have a mild deodorizing effect, which I don't think it claims, either. But I notice if I get sweaty after using this soap, I stay fresher-smelling than I used to after using other soaps."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: OriginalSkin
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent and Lasting
 Date: April 21, 2014
Tags: lasting, non-drying
"This bar smells great and lasts forever. It's masculine but not synthetic; energizing but not excessively citrusy. Truly unique and actually effective at clearing body blemishes and perfecting "man skin", there's really nothing else like this on the market."
Review 9 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: gspeed
Location: phoenix,az
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
skin diver soap -great
 Date: June 3, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin
"I received one of these bars of soap during Christmas and have used it everyday since. I recently ran out, my wife has been swinging into Origins to get me a bar. I go through one about every 30-45 days. This time my wife was out of town so I had to run in and get a refill.
It is a little pricey for a bar of soap. I will say that.
When I ran out, it wasn't more than a day or two using another soap that I noticed break outs. So that motivated me to go to Origins on my own.
It does an awesome job of cleaning and has a great smell."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: TallGuy
Location: Virginia
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Soap
 Date: July 17, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"Love this soap!! Even after exercising I smell good. No sweaty body odor. The mix of ingredients makes even the bathroom smell good just sitting in the shower. Have purchased more. A bit on the expensive side for a bar of soap, but my wife thinks I'm worth it."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: Raypod
Location: Florida
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? No
Great scent. Horrible quality
 Date: March 10, 2014
"Bar was great when first used. But in a week it began to split apart. Big cracks down the length of the bar which separated. I really like the scent but this is a major defect."
Review 12 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: Carolyn13
Location: Bronxville
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Not what I hoped
 Date: February 22, 2014
Tags: men
"I bought this soap based on the reviews that it left a fresh clean feel combined with general curiosity. The scent is somewhat off. Not sure how to explain. I do feel clean but my skin was on the dry side. The bar is also very odd shaped and difficult to hold. I'm giving the soap to my teenage son to use but I wasn't impressed."
Review 13 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Adamstuart
Location: Palm springs
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Dry
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Skindiver products
 Date: January 30, 2014
Tags: cleansing
"There is nothing out there better for men than this soap and the body wash as well. It barely has a fragrance and what it does is very masculine natural smell. One of my favorite products at origins"
Review 14 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Reviewer1000
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Recommended highly
 Date: October 31, 2012
"Not only is this stuff a cool black color, smell great, lather abundantly, it has stopped my body acne. It's great stuff and the price is not terrible. The bar is huge and lasted me about 2 months. The scent is kind of earthy, herbal, spicy, something to look forward to. Everywhere you look bath washes and soaps are laden with moisture, and it's hard, so hard, to find something for oily skin. I have tried everything and this is the only thing that works. One tip. Soap leaves a hard-to-remove scum on the shower and bathtub, so I am going to try the body wash next."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Pathian
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't live without it
 Date: December 29, 2013
Tags: Breakouts, Dry Skin, keratosis pilaris
"This is my new favourite product!
I suffer from mild body breakouts and have had keratosis pilaris all my life. This soap has improved the quality of my skin and reduced/eliminated breakouts.
I also work at a very active job. This soap does a wonderful job of keeping me fresh and stopping odor.
Great all around product, wonderful scent, and I don't find it remotely messy like other reviews have mentioned."
Review 16 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Originsnewbie
Location: New York, NY
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Hooked
 Date: May 14, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"I've ben using the bar and the liquid soap for about a month now. I'm hooked. It has a great fresh smell (not too strong), rinses great and leaves you feeling clean. My skin is on the oily side and this soap does a great job cleansing it and keeping it under control..."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: NiceLady
Location: Cumming, GA
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Not just for men
 Date: June 16, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"I decided to try this one for myself for the skin-clearing benefits. It definitely helps keep my skin clear and smells great and the bar lasts for a very long time."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: EarthIsOfTheGreatestWorth
Location: Michigan
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Just okay
 Date: July 27, 2013
"I'm female but got this product because I like to try everything. It was okay, it had a great lather, but left an absolute mess in my shower everyday."
Review 19 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: everehall
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Soap Ever
 Date: June 18, 2013
Tags: cleaning, Moisturizing, uplifting scent
"Both my husband and I love this soap! It smells wonderful, lathers boutifully, and cleans and deordorizes superbly. My husband and I are both runners and this soap is refreshing after a long run! He even uses it on his face and it does not dry but cleans very well. No tight skin!"
Review 20 for Skin Diver® Active Charcoal body soap
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: PulkTriumf
Location: Seattle, WA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
I Love my Skin Diver Soap Bar! <3
 Date: July 14, 2012
"Wow, ladies and gentlemen -
This is hands down probably one of the most amazing bars of soap I've ever used. I started noticing that as the weather got warmer (and I was sun worshiping more often), my back started to break out. Not cool when I'm walking around most of the time in back-baring tube tops. I decided to try this bar on a whim, especially since Origin's Clear Improvement (active charcoal mask) is one of my favorite products. Well, I'm so glad I did! The bar is gentle enough for the rest of my body AND my back skin has been clearing up just within the first week of use. I lather the bar on my body scrub and make sure I'm getting a deep clean and clearing the pores of built up sebum, sweat, sunscreen and funk.
Btw, I didn't really care that it was marketed for men but the smell is very refreshing and light. Kind of reminds me of some of the nature-smelling candles I own.
Scrub away ~ rubba dub dub! :)"
1 2 3 next>>