Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

United State™ Balancing tonic

Refreshes, refines and rebalances without stripping. Best for combination skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.726 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(179 Reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (179 reviews)
5 stars
142
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
2
173 of 179(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Helena, MT
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE
 Date: March 9, 2011
" I love this tonic. I mean, if I could marry it, I totally would. I have weird skin. It dries out after cleansing, no matter what kind of face wash I use. My skin even dries out from just getting it wet. So, I've never gotten along with a tonic before - they always seem to exacerbate the problem. The obnoxious thing, then, is that half way through the day, my skin becomes really oily - no matter how much or how little moisturizer I put on. But knowing Origins products, and after reading the description and reviews of this product, I decided to give it a try.
SO glad I did! This is now my FAVORITE Origins product. No joke. So, I wash my face, it starts to do its transformation into the Sahara, but then I sweep this stuff on (it smells fabulous!). Instantly, the tightness is gone. My skin is relaxed, soft, smooth, ready to absorb my serum and lotion. I never write reviews. I mean never (look how long this thing is already). But this stuff is so great, I decided Origins definitely needed kudos for it. Also, I'm hoping others with dry/combination skin weirdness will try it. You'll be glad you did. "
22 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great toner
 Date: September 4, 2014
" I switched from the perfect world toner to this united state toner. Within a week I see a difference. Pores shrunk and my hormonal acne is disappearing. Exactly what I needed. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Recommend to a friend? No
Made break out / smells like rubbing alcohol
 Date: December 5, 2014
" I was really excited about this toner based on the reviews. I used it for 4 days and so did my sister. The first day, I started breaking out - I got 4 pimples that were very red, deep and they hurt. I haven't had acne in years. My sister had the same thing happen. We decided to keep using it thinking maybe it would even out, but it only got worse. It also burns when applied and smells really strongly like rubbing alcohol to me - not the pleasant floral or clean smells I would expect form Origins. Would return it but I already tossed the box. Thankfully I am only out 20 some dollars instead of more. I will be wary of any other new products I try from here. "
Review 4 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
 Date: July 14, 2014
" I decided to try this toner just because of the great reviews I was reading. It definitely is everything everyone is saying. The smell is great, feels great, and doesn't dry my skin out. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Toner Ever!!!
 Date: November 4, 2014
" I love love this toner!! After I finish cleansing, my face has been drying and not feel comfortable. But after applying this toner, it works wonders!! Also, my acne has been clearing out ever since I used this toner and I don't break out. I highly recommend this toner. "
Review 6 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for Removing Makeup
 Date: September 26, 2014
" I use the product at night to help remove my makeup. It's strong enough to remove the excess makeup that just cleansing doesn't get, yet doesn't leave my skin feeling dry. I then apply my moisturizer. "
Review 7 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
United State Balancing tonic
 Date: September 11, 2014
" I love the fresh clean sent. It makes my face feel cool and smooth. Wonderful at bedtime. "
Review 8 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Yakutat, AK
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Does what it says...
 Date: December 19, 2013
Tags: Combination Skin, acne, oily
" I use it all the time, I have acne and combination dry/oily skin - I know BAD! This really balances it out and gets it clear, I have been getting soo many compliments that my skin is getting clear, they always ask how and I always say ORIGINS! With how bad my skin is I have tried everything, from prescription to pro-active and even the cheap stuff off the shelf, nothing has worked like this Balancing Tonic and the other products I used. I have been using this product for about 4 months. <3 "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: North Carolina
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
United State
 Date: September 17, 2013
Tags: Combination Skin
" I really like this toner. I have combination skin that tends to be on the more oily side, I also have eczema. I have found that this product does help to keep the shine down without drying me out or aggravating my eczema. It does help to keep my pores clean. I would recommend this product if you want an everyday toner for mulitple purposes. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: CT
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than i thought
 Date: September 23, 2013
" After reading reviews I decided to try. I am soo glad I did. This stuff is great! It does exactly what it says it does. I noticed the first time I used it. My skin doesn't get oily and feels light and clean. Where has this been all my life. I am in love. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Recommend to a friend? Yes
great product
 Date: May 13, 2014
" always apply it day and night before moisturizer. smells light and pretty. hope it offers smaller size so i can carry to board a plane. "
Review 12 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Texas
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best toner I've used
 Date: March 5, 2011
" I bought this a few days after I bought the checks and balances face wash and this combined with the wash has done wonders for my skin. I have/had a very oily t-zone and my cheeks are normal. They do tend to get dry if I use something too aggresive that's geared towards oily skin all over. I was hesitant at first to buy this toner because of all the oils in it, however, they are essential oils that balance out the skin and replenish what's been stripped from the skin. My pores are looking smaller, oil production is going down, and acne scars are starting to fade.This has bergamont in it and I read on a dermatology website that bergamont can slowly fade scars. I'm new to origins but with results like this I'm defenitely looking forward to trying more products. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Ohio
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Favorite toner
 Date: April 6, 2014
Tags: Combination Skin
" Although I had to switch to the Make A Difference toner during part of the winter, this is my absolute favorite. It doesn't take a lot of extra moisturizer to make my face break out and this always keeps it clear. "
Review 14 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: San Antonio, TX
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
A toner that won't dry out your skin!
 Date: August 27, 2011
Tags: after cleansing
" I LOVE this toner! I use it in combination with Checks & Balances at night and it has made such a great difference in my skin. I used to be acne-prone, but after using these 2 products together, it completely changed my skin. Toners I used to use were really harsh or would dry out my skin & make it flaky, but the exact opposite is true of United State. These 2 products inspired me to try other Origins products & they're all I use now. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
I really like it....
 Date: September 3, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin
" I've always been on the fence about using toners...I'm not sure if I really need one. Many articles say it's a waste of money and you don't need it unless your skin is very oily or it's an optional step. I don't use toner regularly as part of my skincare routine and only purchase once in a while. I decided to try this and I must say I feel my skin looks and feels softer after using it twice daily. I would definitely recommend this to someone looking for a toner. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Bay area, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product!
 Date: February 26, 2014
" This product, overall, is really worth it. I have certain spots that are dry and others oily. This product does honestly help even them out together. I noticed a difference immediately and I love the smell. If you aren't used to more natural products then you might not like the way it smells but i feel extremely refreshed and my face feels the difference. I wash my face at night using Checks&Balances, use my eye cream and nitamins. I use THIS product in the morning as a "wake me up" and then my daily lotion under my mineral make up.
This is SO worth it and your skin will thank you for it. "
Review 17 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Peoria, IL
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
not sure it is needed
 Date: June 15, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin
" With other face wash regimens I have used, I have needed a toner to remove residual make-up or oil from the cleanser. What I have found with checks and balances is that my face is clean, there is not any residue left to remove. I have found this toner to be gentle, non-drying and non-stinging on dry skin, but I don't feel that it is playing an integral role in my skin care regimen. I will finish out the bottle this summer, but likley will not repurchase. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Recommend
 Date: November 23, 2011
Tags: Moisturizing
" I never have a favorite toner, but this one is my favorite. I only used it at night, and it make my face felt so clean, moisturize, and doesn't break me out. Also it help with my acne. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: OH
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Too harsh
 Date: May 26, 2010
Tags: Oily Skin
" This toner smelled like alcohol, which can be drying. It burns my skin a little bit and made the skin around my nostrils dry and irritated. I did not see a difference in my skin or pore size. I can't recommend this product. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for United State™ Balancing tonic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: milpitas, ca
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally found you
 Date: May 25, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin
" Oh my dear toner, I've tried several other ones but none of them can compare to you. You are just right for my sensitive skin and does not feel harsh like the others. Thank god I've finally found you, my dear perfect toner. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>