Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash

Cleverly cleanses faces with dry and oily places. Best for combination skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.781 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(1472 Reviews) 1339
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,472 reviews)
5 stars
1,256
4 stars
152
3 stars
38
2 stars
10
1 star
16
1,425 of 1,472(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: kmbrown
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST CLEANSER EVER!!!
 Date: January 3, 2014
Tags: acne, enlarged pores
"I have tried every cleanser; over the counter, big name brands, EVERYTHING. I had gotten a sample of Checks and Balances and my skin has forever changed! I was constantly dealing with enlarged pores and acne on my chin (that had been there for years!). I am proud to say that my pores have shrunk drastically and that acne on my chin is long gone! I use mine every day and four months later, I am still using the same bottle! It lasts forever! Totally worth the money. I highly recommend! I have been using this product for 6-7 months and I'm never going back! Thank you, Origins!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: debntx59
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Checks & Balances Frothy Face Wash
 Date: April 4, 2012
Tags: great over all cleanser, great for both oily or dry skin.
"I began using Checks & Balances Frothy Face Wash I guess when it first came on the market! It is a wonderful product that cleanes off all make up and leaves my face feeling soft and thoroughly cleaned. A few months ago I failed to reorder this product when I ran out of it, so I bought a national brand cleanser from the drug store. It was awful! I quickly ordered a years supply of Checks & Balances Frothy face wash and will not go with out it! When I first began using this product I had very oily skin. And it was great at leaving my skin feeling very clean, not tight. Now that I'm in my 50's, and have combination dry skin, this fantastic product is still a great cleanser for my skin! I even use it in the morning before reapplying my skin toning and moistirizer products. I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs a good over all cleanser. I also have delicate skin, around the eye area This product has never irritated my eyes! Also, a tiny bit goes a long ways! Just a pearl size dab thoroughly cleanses my skin. A tube will last a very long while!"
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: SashaL
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My favorite
 Date: December 23, 2013
Tags: cleansing
"I have oily skin with dry patches. This stuff is amazing and gets all the greasy oil out of my face and leaves my skin perfect. When I need to exfoliate I mix it with a little modern friction and use the clarisonic. It's the best face wash out there!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: ladk
Location: Pacific Northwest
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product, funny smell?
 Date: September 17, 2013
"I have been using this face wash for several years and love it. But when I purchased a new tube over the summer I noticed it upon using it for the first time that it had an unusual and odd chemical like smell. It was quite strong and unpleasant. I used it a couple of more times just to make sure. So I returned it to my local origins store and of course they exchanged it right away. I love my local store - they are always very responsive and want to make sure I am happy with the products. I took home the replacement and unfortunately it also has the odd smell although not nearly as strong. Since I am so happy with the product otherwise, I kept it rather than make another trip to the store. I'm wondering.....has anyone else noticed this odd smell?"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: Cjones12
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? No
Made my face break out
 Date: April 9, 2014
"I heard good things about this cleanser and I live by Origins Modern Friction, so i decided to try it. I gave it two stars because I love the creamy texture, but its so heavy that I have been breaking out with whiteheads following each use. I stopped using this product and immediately my skin quit breaking out. I much rather stick with my cheap, drug store cleanser."
Review 6 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: laneybee
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
great way to wake up
 Date: April 9, 2014
Tags: every day
"This is perfect to promote smooth skin, and the light fragrance is so nice in the morning. The most refreshing face wash I have ever used."
Review 7 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: ChiroWife
Location: Chicagoland
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Clean and refreshing
 Date: April 9, 2014
Tags: Combination Skin
"I LOVE this face wash. Simply put: it leaves your face feeling clean and refreshed. The spearmint scent is a plus :-)"
Review 8 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Yourdarlin
Location: Valparaiso, Indiana
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Checks & Balances Face Wash
 Date: April 8, 2014
Tags: Dry Skin
"Love the light mint fragrance.
Love the smooth, creamy, lightly foamy textures.
Leaves my face/skin feeling clean but not tight and dry.
"
Review 9 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: AlexMG
Location: Chicago
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
It's an Ok Cleanser
 Date: March 26, 2014
Tags: Dry Skin
"I ordered this product because of its great reviews, however, i did not think this product was all that. I purchased this product in hopes that it would control my oily skin, but it didn't and it did not do much to prevent breakouts. The one thing it did do was brighten my skin a bit. This product is probably best suited for someone with dry-normal skin."
Review 10 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: rockymom
Location: Huntington, WV
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
 Date: March 19, 2014
"I have been using this for only 2 weeks and I can tell a difference in my skin. Clean, smooth, soft - love it!"
Review 11 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Mabo
Location: Bronx, NY
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
 Date: March 19, 2014
"Big fan! has never let me down and compliments my skin nicely."
Review 12 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: johnny
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Is great after 8 years
 Date: March 13, 2014
"I've been using this for the last 8 years. I think my face looks fine if not great. As a male with normal skin (only problematic when not kept clean) I highly recommend this product as a once-a-day use. You use such a small amount and each regular size lasts for six months. I'm willing to spend less than fifty bucks a year to keep my face looking real fine! 5*"
Review 13 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: itsMarlaD
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Daily Facial Cleanser
 Date: March 13, 2014
"I love this face cleanser. I use it daily. It doesn't dry out my skin and does and excellent job at removing makeup. You don't need much either so one tube lasts a long time."
Review 14 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Gooma
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Just right
 Date: March 13, 2014
"Checks and balances is just right for my oil &dry skin at 50 something.
One of my daughters has the same type of skin. Yes we struggle with combination skin our entire life. She loves it too!
"
Review 15 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Thatmixedkid
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Very Thick and Dry
 Date: February 22, 2014
"I thought this product would be great for me since my skin is very oily and acne prone but from the first time I used it all it did was my skin excessively Dry and after a couple more times using it, it just got worst hopefully Orgins will come out with a better cleanser"
Review 16 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: morningangel513
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smart cleanser!
 Date: May 26, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Oily Skin
"I received the Origins Checks & Balances cleanser as a free gift for the Earth Day Promotion - a full size product, people!! I was intrigued by the claim that it would control oil in the shiny places, yet make the dry places softer. A smart cleanser? Really? Well, it was free and I try anything that's free - most of the time.
I am in love with this cleanser. It smells wonderful - kind of minty which is a great pick me up 1st thing in the morning. It goes on very easily and rinses completely clean. It does get frothy if you work it around in your hand first. If you like a bubbly facial cleanser, this one is for you!
When I get out of the shower, my face feels "squeaky" clean, literally. It also feels just a bit tight, but nothing a good moisturizer can't cure. The tightness also is only in the areas that I have found to be oily, so that must be the oil control part of this cleanser. I have no trouble with it at all.
Normally by lunchtime, my skin would look like I dunked myself in a vat of grease, or just ran 100 mile marathon. Not anymore with this cleanser!!!
Have I mentioned I'm in love with this one? And I got it for free?! I will definitely buy this one again, but I am far from running low. It just takes a little tiny bit, like a pea size (maybe a bit larger than that)
It's only 18.50, which seems to me like it would be a great deal for the time this product would last, and it works!"
Review 17 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: TheMakeupArtist
Location: CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Checks and Balances
 Date: February 18, 2014
Tags: cleaning your face
"This face wash is awesome! It completely cleans your face and removes all traces of makeup without leaving your face feeling too dry. It is perfect for combination skin all year long. You cannot go wrong with this cleanser."
Review 18 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: KalynS
Location: Texas
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
A daily delight
 Date: February 17, 2014
"Is it weird that I look forward to using this every day? It does not take very much product to get a satisfying lather going on! This stuff lathers like a dream and really makes my face feel squeaky clean, but NOT dry or tight. I am an official convert!"
Review 19 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: nikki4187
Location: new york
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent cleanser!!
 Date: February 12, 2014
"I really love this cleanser for daily use. It takes off all my makeup and you only need a dime size amount or less to get the job done. My only complaint is it can be a bit drying but that also has kept my acne at bay so not a real negative point you just might have to use more moisturizer."
Review 20 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: lizj
Location: denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The BEST ever
 Date: February 7, 2014
Tags: Combination Skin
"I have used practically all the "over the counter" face wash I could find. All the different brands available in the grocery store. Not one has even come close to the way my face feels and looks after using this cleanser. I saw BIG differences in just one week. My skin is softer and over all more even in dry vs oily. (I also use the mega bright serum)"
1 2 3 4 5 ... 67 next>>