Top Rated Product

Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash

Cleverly cleanses faces with dry and oily places. Best for combination skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.78 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(1540 Reviews) 1400
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,540 reviews)
5 stars
1,314
4 stars
158
3 stars
40
2 stars
12
1 star
16
1,489 of 1,540(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Checks & Balances Frothy Face Wash
 Date: April 4, 2012
Tags: great over all cleanser, great for both oily or dry skin.
" I began using Checks & Balances Frothy Face Wash I guess when it first came on the market! It is a wonderful product that cleanes off all make up and leaves my face feeling soft and thoroughly cleaned. A few months ago I failed to reorder this product when I ran out of it, so I bought a national brand cleanser from the drug store. It was awful! I quickly ordered a years supply of Checks & Balances Frothy face wash and will not go with out it! When I first began using this product I had very oily skin. And it was great at leaving my skin feeling very clean, not tight. Now that I'm in my 50's, and have combination dry skin, this fantastic product is still a great cleanser for my skin! I even use it in the morning before reapplying my skin toning and moistirizer products. I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs a good over all cleanser. I also have delicate skin, around the eye area This product has never irritated my eyes! Also, a tiny bit goes a long ways! Just a pearl size dab thoroughly cleanses my skin. A tube will last a very long while! "
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Tampa FL
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best face wash ever
 Date: February 4, 2015
Tags: cleansing
" This product was recommended to me by my daughter, it is this best face wash I have ever used. After using it once I was able to see a difference in softness of my skin. It doesn't dry out my skin like other products I have use. A little goes a long way, It is the only face wash I will use. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST CLEANSER EVER!!!
 Date: January 3, 2014
Tags: acne, enlarged pores
" I have tried every cleanser; over the counter, big name brands, EVERYTHING. I had gotten a sample of Checks and Balances and my skin has forever changed! I was constantly dealing with enlarged pores and acne on my chin (that had been there for years!). I am proud to say that my pores have shrunk drastically and that acne on my chin is long gone! I use mine every day and four months later, I am still using the same bottle! It lasts forever! Totally worth the money. I highly recommend! I have been using this product for 6-7 months and I'm never going back! Thank you, Origins! "
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash - LOVE
 Date: March 11, 2015
Tags: washing your face
" I received a sample of this with my initial purchase from Origins of the Active Charcoal mask. I love it! I love that a TINY amount goes a long, long ways! I maybe use a pea size amount on my finger tips and then get it wet and work it into a nice froth. I started the sample on 2/16/15 and then bought a bottle as soon as that was gone. I feel that it is very gentle, yet gets the job done! I like the smell of it too! It's a nice minty smell that smells refreshing and clean. I normally would have a few problem areas, mostly around my mouth and chin, especially leading up to and during that lovely time of the month, but so far so good! I will continue using this face wash! I like it a lot! And like I said, a little goes a long ways, so I am very happy with the size of the bottle that I purchased. "
Review 5 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: mn
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My Favorite!
 Date: February 17, 2015
" This is my favorite Origins product. I have tried other "highly recommended" face washes (that also cost less). I always return to Checks and Balances Frothy face wash. It does a WAY better job of removing makeup than others I've tried. And it DOES keep skin more balanced. I don't recall reading anywhere that this wash would be considered any sort of an exfoliating product, but it is amazing with sloughing off that top layer of dead skin. After using it and patting my face dry I can just very gently rub a flaky trouble spot with a finger-- flaky problem gone. I have very sensitive skin, which will not tolerate any number of chemicals (not even sunscreen). My face ADORES Origins products. No burning. No breakouts. I never have to read long lists of ingredients (written in a font of 5) to see which one might feel like burning acid upon application. "
Review 6 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Minot, ND
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Hands down, BEST cleanser I've EVER used!! :D
 Date: March 6, 2015
Tags: Combination Skin
" I have struggled to find a cleanser I can use AM/PM that didn't leave my face feeling stripped and dried out, especially one that doesn't contain harsh/horrible chemicals. This cleanser not only leaves my face feeling nourished and refreshed, it has absolutely balanced out the dry and oily areas without feeling too thin or thick when using it. I'm SO thankful to have found this product. EXCEEDED all expectations! THANK YOU!! :D "
Review 7 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: New Haven, CT
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Seriously Good Daily Cleanser
 Date: March 4, 2015
Tags: cleansing, (twice) daily use
" This is a frothy, refreshing daily cleanser, one that I use regularly with an Origins scrub brush. I leaves my mostly oily skin feeling even, smooth, and clean if slightly (very slightly) tight. As with any frothing cleanser, immediately apply moisturizer after use to keep the upper layers of skin from drying and flaking.
But this balanced cleanser is easy to recommend for almost any skin type. "
Review 8 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE LOVE LOVE
 Date: March 5, 2015
" Feels great to wash with it. Really does the job (except for mascara recently). Have been using this product for over 9 years. Love it! "
Review 9 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Ketchikan, AK
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Face Wash Ever!
 Date: February 26, 2015
" This face wash is the only one I have ever used that doesn't dry out my skin, burn my eyes, or make my face feel tight. It has a very rich lather that you can feel coat your face but it washes away clean. It doesn't take much so the bottle lasts a long time. This stuff is amazing. "
Review 10 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Pacific Northwest
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product, funny smell?
 Date: September 17, 2013
" I have been using this face wash for several years and love it. But when I purchased a new tube over the summer I noticed it upon using it for the first time that it had an unusual and odd chemical like smell. It was quite strong and unpleasant. I used it a couple of more times just to make sure. So I returned it to my local origins store and of course they exchanged it right away. I love my local store - they are always very responsive and want to make sure I am happy with the products. I took home the replacement and unfortunately it also has the odd smell although not nearly as strong. Since I am so happy with the product otherwise, I kept it rather than make another trip to the store. I'm wondering.....has anyone else noticed this odd smell? "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My favorite
 Date: December 23, 2013
Tags: cleansing
" I have oily skin with dry patches. This stuff is amazing and gets all the greasy oil out of my face and leaves my skin perfect. When I need to exfoliate I mix it with a little modern friction and use the clarisonic. It's the best face wash out there! "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Texas
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The best face wash bar none
 Date: February 11, 2015
Tags: Combination Skin
" I have been using Checks and Balances for years now and I am totally in love. It moisturizes the dry spots on my face while simultaneously absorbing the excess oil, it's a true multitasker. You only need a pea-sized amount on your fingers to have enough to wash your face and neck which means a tube of this stuff will easily last you at least six months. I easily forget how much time passes between trips to the store when I run out. For those of you that are price conscious, don't let the cost to entry turn you off. In the long run this costs much less that what you can get at the drug store. "
Review 13 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: D.C.
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Feels Great, Costs A Lot
 Date: February 18, 2015
" This face wash is nice: minimal scent, foams quickly, feels fresh and clean. A little goes a long way. My only issue is the price. The wash is a little expensive, given the amount received in the package. This is Origins, though. Great products, Big Price Tags! "
Review 14 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Obsessed
 Date: December 25, 2014
" I absolutely love this stuff. Love it! I am 25 and just recently got my adult onset acne under control and have been 'acne free' for a little over a year (occasional hormonal breakouts still). Most of my products were geared towards my old problem skin and I wanted to get a new regimine together so I scoured the internet for some recommendations. Its important to me to use products that I can feel good about putting on my skin so I thought I would give this a try...WOW.
Smells great, cleans all make up residue off, does not dry me out and is great for all seasons. I pair this with my clarisonic mia and LOVE how it froths up yet doesn't dry out. You literally only have to use a pea sized amount so it lasts forever. I also really think its helping fade my acne scars and have noticeable improvement in my skin texture too.
I am so obsessed that when they started offering the super sized bottle for $21 around the holidays I HAD to buy it before it sold out even though i was barely 1/2 through my other bottle.
LOVE THIS TRY THIS YOU WILL BE HOOKED TOO "
Review 15 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Does what it claims!
 Date: February 2, 2015
Tags: balancing
" I love how luxurious this feels going on, but washes off clean and helps balance my oily areas without drying or over moisturizing. It truly does what it claims. "
Review 16 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smart cleanser!
 Date: May 26, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Oily Skin
" I received the Origins Checks & Balances cleanser as a free gift for the Earth Day Promotion - a full size product, people!! I was intrigued by the claim that it would control oil in the shiny places, yet make the dry places softer. A smart cleanser? Really? Well, it was free and I try anything that's free - most of the time.
I am in love with this cleanser. It smells wonderful - kind of minty which is a great pick me up 1st thing in the morning. It goes on very easily and rinses completely clean. It does get frothy if you work it around in your hand first. If you like a bubbly facial cleanser, this one is for you!
When I get out of the shower, my face feels "squeaky" clean, literally. It also feels just a bit tight, but nothing a good moisturizer can't cure. The tightness also is only in the areas that I have found to be oily, so that must be the oil control part of this cleanser. I have no trouble with it at all.
Normally by lunchtime, my skin would look like I dunked myself in a vat of grease, or just ran 100 mile marathon. Not anymore with this cleanser!!!
Have I mentioned I'm in love with this one? And I got it for free?! I will definitely buy this one again, but I am far from running low. It just takes a little tiny bit, like a pea size (maybe a bit larger than that)
It's only 18.50, which seems to me like it would be a great deal for the time this product would last, and it works! "
Review 17 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Austin, TX
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Everyday Cleanser
 Date: January 29, 2013
Tags: Sensitive Skin, balancing, cleansing
" Checks & Balances is my staple. I have sensitive skin, so that stress, a rut in my diet, dehydration, or lack of sleep immediately shows on my face. Sometimes it is flaky, dry patches. Other times some spots pop up. I had no sense of regularity and mistook my skin's sensitivity for acne-prone/combination skin. I did research over the years and discovered that I'd been using products that were too harsh and stripping my skin -hence the irritation and inconsistencies.
I started using Checks & Balances twice daily (in combination with my other Origins products), and I swear within two weeks, my skin was so clear, even, and healthy-looking that I didn't need or want to wear make up. It offers a deep clean without stripping my skin: my body doesn't produce more oil to make up for the dryness and cause breakouts, and it doesn't get irritated and flake. If I get lazy in my routine, i.e. not washing my face at night or in the morning, I can tell a difference in clarity, evenness, and texture.
This is something I will always have in my bag, and it's such a relief to have consistently healthy skin. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best face wash ever!
 Date: January 16, 2015
Tags: clean feel
" I've tried so many face washes...Everything from high end to drug store and this is the BEST face wash I've come across. It's so creamy and lathery. I will def buy again! "
Review 19 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: BC, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Good and Bad
 Date: January 10, 2015
" The Good: A little goes a long way. This stuff lathers up nicely and you get good coverage. You really don't need much. It also has a nice, light smell.
The Bad: It is very drying. This face wash must be used in combination with a good moisturizer. I cannot use this product every day because it dries out my face too much.
"
Review 20 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for summer
 Date: June 14, 2014
" I have since learned from you using Origins products that I like to alternate between the following products: For Fall Winter months my skin needs Make a Difference Cleansing Milk, for Spring / Summer months my skin needs this, Checks & Balances Frothy foam wash. This items feels like a luxury. It lathers up supremely well. I use it with my Clarsonic and love the amount of foam it whips up for me to wash with. The scent is heavenly and it leaves my skin feeling clean without feeling dry or stripped. At the end of a long summer day it feels good to remove the grime (makeup, sweat, whatever) and this product does that efficiently. It should be noted that I only need to use a pea size amount of this product to clean my face and neck, so its also a great value.I would highly recommend this product. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 71 next>>