Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash

Cleverly cleanses faces with dry and oily places. Best for combination skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.78 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(1508 Reviews) 1371
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,508 reviews)
5 stars
1,287
4 stars
154
3 stars
39
2 stars
12
1 star
16
1,458 of 1,508(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: debntx59
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Checks & Balances Frothy Face Wash
 Date: April 4, 2012
Tags: great over all cleanser, great for both oily or dry skin.
"I began using Checks & Balances Frothy Face Wash I guess when it first came on the market! It is a wonderful product that cleanes off all make up and leaves my face feeling soft and thoroughly cleaned. A few months ago I failed to reorder this product when I ran out of it, so I bought a national brand cleanser from the drug store. It was awful! I quickly ordered a years supply of Checks & Balances Frothy face wash and will not go with out it! When I first began using this product I had very oily skin. And it was great at leaving my skin feeling very clean, not tight. Now that I'm in my 50's, and have combination dry skin, this fantastic product is still a great cleanser for my skin! I even use it in the morning before reapplying my skin toning and moistirizer products. I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs a good over all cleanser. I also have delicate skin, around the eye area This product has never irritated my eyes! Also, a tiny bit goes a long ways! Just a pearl size dab thoroughly cleanses my skin. A tube will last a very long while!"
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: kmbrown
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST CLEANSER EVER!!!
 Date: January 3, 2014
Tags: acne, enlarged pores
"I have tried every cleanser; over the counter, big name brands, EVERYTHING. I had gotten a sample of Checks and Balances and my skin has forever changed! I was constantly dealing with enlarged pores and acne on my chin (that had been there for years!). I am proud to say that my pores have shrunk drastically and that acne on my chin is long gone! I use mine every day and four months later, I am still using the same bottle! It lasts forever! Totally worth the money. I highly recommend! I have been using this product for 6-7 months and I'm never going back! Thank you, Origins!"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: SashaL
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My favorite
 Date: December 23, 2013
Tags: cleansing
"I have oily skin with dry patches. This stuff is amazing and gets all the greasy oil out of my face and leaves my skin perfect. When I need to exfoliate I mix it with a little modern friction and use the clarisonic. It's the best face wash out there!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Auntcookie
Location: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for summer
 Date: June 14, 2014
"I have since learned from you using Origins products that I like to alternate between the following products: For Fall Winter months my skin needs Make a Difference Cleansing Milk, for Spring / Summer months my skin needs this, Checks & Balances Frothy foam wash. This items feels like a luxury. It lathers up supremely well. I use it with my Clarsonic and love the amount of foam it whips up for me to wash with. The scent is heavenly and it leaves my skin feeling clean without feeling dry or stripped. At the end of a long summer day it feels good to remove the grime (makeup, sweat, whatever) and this product does that efficiently. It should be noted that I only need to use a pea size amount of this product to clean my face and neck, so its also a great value.I would highly recommend this product."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: ladk
Location: Pacific Northwest
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product, funny smell?
 Date: September 17, 2013
"I have been using this face wash for several years and love it. But when I purchased a new tube over the summer I noticed it upon using it for the first time that it had an unusual and odd chemical like smell. It was quite strong and unpleasant. I used it a couple of more times just to make sure. So I returned it to my local origins store and of course they exchanged it right away. I love my local store - they are always very responsive and want to make sure I am happy with the products. I took home the replacement and unfortunately it also has the odd smell although not nearly as strong. Since I am so happy with the product otherwise, I kept it rather than make another trip to the store. I'm wondering.....has anyone else noticed this odd smell?"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: TeresaM
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty good but not my favorite.
 Date: October 11, 2014
"This is really good value. You only need a tiny amount of product and it is really cleansing. I took one star away because it is pretty drying- I have that tight rubbery feeling when I wash with it. I have some awful combination of sensitive acne prone combination skin though, so maybe that makes it worse for me. I liked the Anti Oxidant cleanser better."
Review 7 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: CheetahShitta
Location: Detroit, MI
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My favorite wash
 Date: October 13, 2014
"I love this product. I use it twice daily and it is just perfect. You only need a small portion to get lots of suds, which means a little goes a long way. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a nice face wash."
Review 8 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: ABBangla
Location: Dhaka Bangladesh
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great overall face wash.
 Date: October 12, 2014
"I'm pretty picky about face washes, but this one is simply perfect. I love the smell, the feel and the results are fantastic. I live in a harsh climate in the tropics and this face wash still holds up. Highly recommend this product."
Review 9 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: blondesleuth
Location: Port St. Lucie, FL
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Checks and Balances frothy face cleanser
 Date: October 12, 2014
Tags: cleansing
"I have used this cleanser for several years and just love it. It is very fresh smelling and leaves my face feeling clean and moisturized. It is gentle and never leaves my face feeling dry."
Review 10 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: wildflower727
Location: Clearwater, FL
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: October 8, 2014
"This stuff is just plain awesome. Washes away everything without drying my skin out."
Review 11 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: lexusrae
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Balanced
 Date: September 16, 2014
Tags: Dry Skin, Oily Skin
"This is the first time I have used Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash - I really enjoy how well my face feels after I use it, it doesn't feel tight or dry. On the back of the package it says "this gentle face wash cleanses both dry and oily places without cancelling each other out" and I can't be more excited to say that it really does that. My face has never felt more better once I started using this product. The texture is very smooth and apply's great. A small amount will go along ways when using this product. One thing though that it does not do is help with acne - I enjoyed this product for what it did to help my skin feel great but I will have to try something else to help with the acne. But I do highly recommend this product if you have both dry and oily skin. It will help you greatly!"
Review 12 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: mimzie
Location: Calif
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My must-have
 Date: October 2, 2014
"Checks and Balances is the best facial cleanser I have ever used! I have mature skin with mixed oily and dry areas. It leaves my face clean and smooth, but never dry and tight. I just love it!"
Review 13 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: ckpippin
Location: Ocala, Florida
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Checks and Balances Face Wash
 Date: September 11, 2014
Tags: total face rejuvenation
"This product is amazing!! I love all my Origins but, this face was is perfect. The fragrance is soothing and refreshing while it wake / heightens your senses. Combined with a warm damp cloth and followed with a cool cloth, its like your face is getting a relaxing and rejuvenation massage. Thanks!!"
Review 14 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: NAAK
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Cleanser ever!
 Date: August 27, 2014
Tags: Oily Skin, Combination Skin
"I've been using the Checks and Balances cleanser for a while now and I am very happy and satisfied with the results so far. I love the way my face isn't too dry (the previous cleanser was too harsh on my face so it striped out all the oils in my face and left it completely dry even though i have an oily face) it became the best part of my day."
Review 15 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: etoilerouge
Location: Austin, TX
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Everyday Cleanser
 Date: January 29, 2013
Tags: Sensitive Skin, balancing, cleansing
"Checks & Balances is my staple. I have sensitive skin, so that stress, a rut in my diet, dehydration, or lack of sleep immediately shows on my face. Sometimes it is flaky, dry patches. Other times some spots pop up. I had no sense of regularity and mistook my skin's sensitivity for acne-prone/combination skin. I did research over the years and discovered that I'd been using products that were too harsh and stripping my skin -hence the irritation and inconsistencies.
I started using Checks & Balances twice daily (in combination with my other Origins products), and I swear within two weeks, my skin was so clear, even, and healthy-looking that I didn't need or want to wear make up. It offers a deep clean without stripping my skin: my body doesn't produce more oil to make up for the dryness and cause breakouts, and it doesn't get irritated and flake. If I get lazy in my routine, i.e. not washing my face at night or in the morning, I can tell a difference in clarity, evenness, and texture.
This is something I will always have in my bag, and it's such a relief to have consistently healthy skin."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: yellowlablover
Location: Gambrills, MD
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The best
 Date: August 26, 2014
Tags: cleaning
"I have used this products for years.. it is the best for your face. Never had issues, my face feels refreshed and clean. Bar none.. the best"
Review 17 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: morningangel513
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smart cleanser!
 Date: May 26, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Oily Skin
"I received the Origins Checks & Balances cleanser as a free gift for the Earth Day Promotion - a full size product, people!! I was intrigued by the claim that it would control oil in the shiny places, yet make the dry places softer. A smart cleanser? Really? Well, it was free and I try anything that's free - most of the time.
I am in love with this cleanser. It smells wonderful - kind of minty which is a great pick me up 1st thing in the morning. It goes on very easily and rinses completely clean. It does get frothy if you work it around in your hand first. If you like a bubbly facial cleanser, this one is for you!
When I get out of the shower, my face feels "squeaky" clean, literally. It also feels just a bit tight, but nothing a good moisturizer can't cure. The tightness also is only in the areas that I have found to be oily, so that must be the oil control part of this cleanser. I have no trouble with it at all.
Normally by lunchtime, my skin would look like I dunked myself in a vat of grease, or just ran 100 mile marathon. Not anymore with this cleanser!!!
Have I mentioned I'm in love with this one? And I got it for free?! I will definitely buy this one again, but I am far from running low. It just takes a little tiny bit, like a pea size (maybe a bit larger than that)
It's only 18.50, which seems to me like it would be a great deal for the time this product would last, and it works!"
Review 18 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: KristaE
Location: St. John's, NL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Face Wash
 Date: August 13, 2014
Tags: cleansing, Oily Skin
"This is the perfect face wash for my extremely oily skin. A little goes a long way so it will last a very long time."
Review 19 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: kaylaszym
Location: On, Canada
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My skin is radiant!
 Date: August 4, 2014
"The day i started using this, i saw immediate results! my dry patches were significantly better while my t-zone was almost oil-free! I really am impressed by this amazing cleanser."
Review 20 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: VTOrigins
Location: Vermont
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Origins - Checks and Balances
 Date: July 15, 2014
Tags: cleansing, Oil Control
"This was my first Origins product that I used. I have been using it for about four to five months and have seen pretty good results. I love the fact that it is SLS Free as I have extremely sensitive skin. I have very oily skin and this product (along with Origins Clear Improvement Charcoal Mask) I have seen a difference in how oily my skin is. I use Checks & Balances each morning and night and it has never dried out my skin, which I have had issues with in the cold NE winter months.
I would recommend this product to anyone who has dealt with breakouts & oily skin. With that being said, everyone is different with how they react to products and this product has seemed to work for me!
Thank you Origins."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 69 next>>