Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash

Cleverly cleanses faces with dry and oily places. Best for combination skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(1492 Reviews) 1357
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,492 reviews)
5 stars
1,272
4 stars
153
3 stars
39
2 stars
12
1 star
16
1,442 of 1,492(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: debntx59
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Checks & Balances Frothy Face Wash
 Date: April 4, 2012
Tags: great over all cleanser, great for both oily or dry skin.
"I began using Checks & Balances Frothy Face Wash I guess when it first came on the market! It is a wonderful product that cleanes off all make up and leaves my face feeling soft and thoroughly cleaned. A few months ago I failed to reorder this product when I ran out of it, so I bought a national brand cleanser from the drug store. It was awful! I quickly ordered a years supply of Checks & Balances Frothy face wash and will not go with out it! When I first began using this product I had very oily skin. And it was great at leaving my skin feeling very clean, not tight. Now that I'm in my 50's, and have combination dry skin, this fantastic product is still a great cleanser for my skin! I even use it in the morning before reapplying my skin toning and moistirizer products. I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs a good over all cleanser. I also have delicate skin, around the eye area This product has never irritated my eyes! Also, a tiny bit goes a long ways! Just a pearl size dab thoroughly cleanses my skin. A tube will last a very long while!"
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: kmbrown
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST CLEANSER EVER!!!
 Date: January 3, 2014
Tags: acne, enlarged pores
"I have tried every cleanser; over the counter, big name brands, EVERYTHING. I had gotten a sample of Checks and Balances and my skin has forever changed! I was constantly dealing with enlarged pores and acne on my chin (that had been there for years!). I am proud to say that my pores have shrunk drastically and that acne on my chin is long gone! I use mine every day and four months later, I am still using the same bottle! It lasts forever! Totally worth the money. I highly recommend! I have been using this product for 6-7 months and I'm never going back! Thank you, Origins!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Auntcookie
Location: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for summer
 Date: June 14, 2014
"I have since learned from you using Origins products that I like to alternate between the following products: For Fall Winter months my skin needs Make a Difference Cleansing Milk, for Spring / Summer months my skin needs this, Checks & Balances Frothy foam wash. This items feels like a luxury. It lathers up supremely well. I use it with my Clarsonic and love the amount of foam it whips up for me to wash with. The scent is heavenly and it leaves my skin feeling clean without feeling dry or stripped. At the end of a long summer day it feels good to remove the grime (makeup, sweat, whatever) and this product does that efficiently. It should be noted that I only need to use a pea size amount of this product to clean my face and neck, so its also a great value.I would highly recommend this product."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: SashaL
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My favorite
 Date: December 23, 2013
Tags: cleansing
"I have oily skin with dry patches. This stuff is amazing and gets all the greasy oil out of my face and leaves my skin perfect. When I need to exfoliate I mix it with a little modern friction and use the clarisonic. It's the best face wash out there!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: ladk
Location: Pacific Northwest
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product, funny smell?
 Date: September 17, 2013
"I have been using this face wash for several years and love it. But when I purchased a new tube over the summer I noticed it upon using it for the first time that it had an unusual and odd chemical like smell. It was quite strong and unpleasant. I used it a couple of more times just to make sure. So I returned it to my local origins store and of course they exchanged it right away. I love my local store - they are always very responsive and want to make sure I am happy with the products. I took home the replacement and unfortunately it also has the odd smell although not nearly as strong. Since I am so happy with the product otherwise, I kept it rather than make another trip to the store. I'm wondering.....has anyone else noticed this odd smell?"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: carolinatagalan11
Location: bay area, CA
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
A little goes a long way!
 Date: July 21, 2014
Tags: naturaly cleansing
"I had gotten the charcoal mask which I loved and I had to buy another as soon as I ran out, With my purchase I was given a couple samples of this product, and boy let me say a little goes a long way I practly use like less than a Teaspoon for my hole face, my favorite face cleanser yet. I love that my face looks cleannnn and It works well for washing off makeup too. It doesn't leave my face dry that's the #1thing I love about it. I deffenetly recommend this, it has good ingredients as well, no harsh chemicals, Love this product"
Review 7 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: VTOrigins
Location: Vermont
Age: 19-24
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Origins - Checks and Balances
 Date: July 15, 2014
Tags: cleansing, Oil Control
"This was my first Origins product that I used. I have been using it for about four to five months and have seen pretty good results. I love the fact that it is SLS Free as I have extremely sensitive skin. I have very oily skin and this product (along with Origins Clear Improvement Charcoal Mask) I have seen a difference in how oily my skin is. I use Checks & Balances each morning and night and it has never dried out my skin, which I have had issues with in the cold NE winter months.
I would recommend this product to anyone who has dealt with breakouts & oily skin. With that being said, everyone is different with how they react to products and this product has seemed to work for me!
Thank you Origins."
Review 8 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: pela
Location: New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Recommend to a friend? No
formula has changed!
 Date: July 5, 2014
"I was always able to use Checks and Balances to wash my whole face, including around the eyes, without irritation, but I noticed that's not the case any longer. Now it leaves my eye area irritated, just like soap does, and consequent eye creams burn and prolong the irritation!
I compared an old tube to the new one and noticed the formula has different cleansing agents now, instead of potassium myristate, potassium laurate etc...now has myristic acid, palmitic acid and potassium hydroxide - which is probably the culprit, as this is lye, it was not present in the previous formula!
"
Review 9 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Tami423
Location: New Jersey
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love love
 Date: July 8, 2014
Tags: cleaning and not drying smaller pores
"I stopped using the checks and balances for a year and used a premier brand....big mistake ! I forgot how amazing this fash wash is...after a week my face looks amazing! Clean, not dry and my pores have gotten smaller... never stop using this again!! LOVE!"
Review 10 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Veronica478
Location: Bay Area, California
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
WOW! Definitely Clean!
 Date: June 26, 2014
"I just received my face wash yesterday and used it for the first time today and WOW! I was impressed with how my face felt seriously so clean. I'm ordering more tubes today because I'm done buying store brand face washes. My hubby started using my store brand face washes and he'd leave nothing for me, but now I'll tell him to try Origins face wash. I know he'll love it. I know I'll start using it on my body too. My skin on my face felt very clean, so imagine my body! A definite stock up item!
I love this stuff!"
Review 11 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Julieb
Location: Kansas City
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Julie B
 Date: June 20, 2014
Tags: light moisturizer
"Love this face wash-clean feeling with a light moisturizer ."
Review 12 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: jellybear
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
checks and balances
 Date: June 14, 2014
Tags: a good clean feeling
"I have tried many products befoe finding Origins checks and balances over 10 years ago. I like the frothiness and the clean fresh feeling I get from it. It rinses off so well and never feels greasy. Love it!"
Review 13 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: SamaraKay
Location: Hatfield, Ma
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Saved me a trip to the dermatologist.
 Date: April 23, 2014
Tags: deep cleaning
"I absolutely love this product. I have a great completion but was battling some little bumps along my chin line. I tried a number of face washes and nothing worked. I even went to a salon for a facial hoping she would recommend a product. What she recommended was a dermatologist. In the mean time I had ordered Checks and Balances. Loved the feel of my face after using it the first time. And the smell is wonderful! Having a busy schedule I never made an appointment. Shortly after using this product I noticed a little difference along my chin. At that point it was a bigger improvement than any other product had given me. Have been using this product for about 8 months and my chin line has almost totally cleared.
Had to purchase my husband his own tube because when I travel mine goes with me. He loves it as much as I do. My son tried mine and is also hooked. He has sensitive skin and has to be careful what he uses. This does not irritate his skin at all.
It has become my favorite skin care product. It actually works and I have seen great results."
Review 14 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: etoilerouge
Location: Austin, TX
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Everyday Cleanser
 Date: January 29, 2013
Tags: Sensitive Skin, balancing, cleansing
"Checks & Balances is my staple. I have sensitive skin, so that stress, a rut in my diet, dehydration, or lack of sleep immediately shows on my face. Sometimes it is flaky, dry patches. Other times some spots pop up. I had no sense of regularity and mistook my skin's sensitivity for acne-prone/combination skin. I did research over the years and discovered that I'd been using products that were too harsh and stripping my skin -hence the irritation and inconsistencies.
I started using Checks & Balances twice daily (in combination with my other Origins products), and I swear within two weeks, my skin was so clear, even, and healthy-looking that I didn't need or want to wear make up. It offers a deep clean without stripping my skin: my body doesn't produce more oil to make up for the dryness and cause breakouts, and it doesn't get irritated and flake. If I get lazy in my routine, i.e. not washing my face at night or in the morning, I can tell a difference in clarity, evenness, and texture.
This is something I will always have in my bag, and it's such a relief to have consistently healthy skin."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: mwilsone
Location: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
If your face is just a face
 Date: May 31, 2014
"I'm not particularly oily or dry, just need to wash my face twice a day and this truly gets the job done. It does a little foaming action and when I wash it off there's no residual residue. I've bought this product for years and while it's not exactly the same product as it was, it still works for me."
Review 16 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: arik67
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Clean and Refreshed!
 Date: May 27, 2014
Tags: daily use
"I am a huge fan of Origins cleansers and this Checks and Balances is no exception! I have dry skin but this cleanser is so gentle that it cleans my face without leaving it feeling tight. I use it daily in the shower except for those days when I am using Modern Friction or Ginzing Refreshing Scrub Cleanser.
I definitely recommend this product!"
Review 17 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: profesionalproductjunkie
Location: Denver,CO
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
NOT for all skin types
 Date: April 22, 2014
"This product was sooo drying! My skin felt so tight and uncomfortable and I had major dry patches and flaking skin.I personally find that most cleansers that are labeled for "all skin types" don't do much for oily skin,acne,combo instead then generally lean towards people with no trouble skin or dryer skin. This product breaks the mold and seems pefect for people with super oily skin. I typically have normal skin with occasional breakouts but after moving from a humid climate to a dry climate my skin went a little crazy and I had to find new skincare. My skin was a tad oily with some acne and acne products had become super drying so I thought this would be perfect..WRONG.sure it got rid of my acne but also my soft skin! I tried to get a better moisturizer but then I was stuck with more acne and still crazy dry skin. Maybe its just the dry climate I live in but I have never used such a drying cleanser in my whole life."
Review 18 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: morningangel513
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smart cleanser!
 Date: May 26, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Oily Skin
"I received the Origins Checks & Balances cleanser as a free gift for the Earth Day Promotion - a full size product, people!! I was intrigued by the claim that it would control oil in the shiny places, yet make the dry places softer. A smart cleanser? Really? Well, it was free and I try anything that's free - most of the time.
I am in love with this cleanser. It smells wonderful - kind of minty which is a great pick me up 1st thing in the morning. It goes on very easily and rinses completely clean. It does get frothy if you work it around in your hand first. If you like a bubbly facial cleanser, this one is for you!
When I get out of the shower, my face feels "squeaky" clean, literally. It also feels just a bit tight, but nothing a good moisturizer can't cure. The tightness also is only in the areas that I have found to be oily, so that must be the oil control part of this cleanser. I have no trouble with it at all.
Normally by lunchtime, my skin would look like I dunked myself in a vat of grease, or just ran 100 mile marathon. Not anymore with this cleanser!!!
Have I mentioned I'm in love with this one? And I got it for free?! I will definitely buy this one again, but I am far from running low. It just takes a little tiny bit, like a pea size (maybe a bit larger than that)
It's only 18.50, which seems to me like it would be a great deal for the time this product would last, and it works!"
Review 19 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Kamalu
Location: Kauai, Hawaii
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome face wash
 Date: May 21, 2014
Tags: cleansing
"Checks and Balances lathers up quickly with just a small amount and makes your face feel really clean. It rinses off easily too. My whole family loves using this face wash!"
Review 20 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Quel
Location: Northern California
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Combination skin - I love checks and balances
 Date: May 5, 2014
Tags: Combination Skin
"My forehead and chin are more oily, and my cheeks are dryer. I also have sensitive skin. I have tried other products and they always made my face feel tight. Checks and balances does a great job of cleansing and there isn't any tightness. Also it takes a very small amount to wash my face. I also like the scent. Bonus, I have really oily eye lids, I didn't have any eye make-up remover on hand so I used a tiny amount of the face wash to help remove the make-up a couple of times. I noticed my eye lids are not nearly as oily after."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 68 next>>