Top Rated Product

Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash

Cleverly cleanses faces with dry and oily places. Best for combination skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.781 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(1550 Reviews) 1410
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,550 reviews)
5 stars
1,323
4 stars
159
3 stars
40
2 stars
12
1 star
16
1,499 of 1,550(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Checks & Balances Frothy Face Wash
 Date: April 4, 2012
Tags: great over all cleanser, great for both oily or dry skin.
" I began using Checks & Balances Frothy Face Wash I guess when it first came on the market! It is a wonderful product that cleanes off all make up and leaves my face feeling soft and thoroughly cleaned. A few months ago I failed to reorder this product when I ran out of it, so I bought a national brand cleanser from the drug store. It was awful! I quickly ordered a years supply of Checks & Balances Frothy face wash and will not go with out it! When I first began using this product I had very oily skin. And it was great at leaving my skin feeling very clean, not tight. Now that I'm in my 50's, and have combination dry skin, this fantastic product is still a great cleanser for my skin! I even use it in the morning before reapplying my skin toning and moistirizer products. I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs a good over all cleanser. I also have delicate skin, around the eye area This product has never irritated my eyes! Also, a tiny bit goes a long ways! Just a pearl size dab thoroughly cleanses my skin. A tube will last a very long while! "
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST CLEANSER EVER!!!
 Date: January 3, 2014
Tags: acne, enlarged pores
" I have tried every cleanser; over the counter, big name brands, EVERYTHING. I had gotten a sample of Checks and Balances and my skin has forever changed! I was constantly dealing with enlarged pores and acne on my chin (that had been there for years!). I am proud to say that my pores have shrunk drastically and that acne on my chin is long gone! I use mine every day and four months later, I am still using the same bottle! It lasts forever! Totally worth the money. I highly recommend! I have been using this product for 6-7 months and I'm never going back! Thank you, Origins! "
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Derby, KS
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Hands down, best cleanser ever!
 Date: May 2, 2015
Tags: dryness, cleansing, discoloration, dullness
" To begin with I should let you know I am from Pakistan (mentioning that since most of the girls from there are hesitant to try foreign products since they believe it's not made for their skin type) my main concerns for my skin were discoloration, dullness, large pores, and acne marks. I have been using this cleanser for a month now and my face is has brighten and is about 2 skin tones lighter. I love how my skin doesn't feel tight after I use this and I don't feel a need for moisturizer, I only use moisturizer on my nose since it is dryer than rest of my face. I really wish I could post before and after pictures here, I have gotten a lot of compliments on my skin lately and I have been raving about checks and balances, I got one for my mom and my friend also. I use this along with modern friction, make a difference moisturizer and Night a mins night cream and this combination is working wonders for my skin. "
Review 4 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Colorado
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best face wash
 Date: May 26, 2015
Tags: skin soft
" Checks and Balances is the best face wash I have found. It is frothy and a tiny bit goes a long way, so it takes a very long time to go through one container. This face wash leaves your skin soft, supple and glowing. I highly recommend it. "
Review 5 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: SC
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Yep!
 Date: May 26, 2015
" What can I say that hasn't already been said? This is one of the best face washes out there. It feels wonderful, cleans and doesn't strip your skin.
I'm fairly certain Heaven smells like Checks and Balances face wash.
:) "
Review 6 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Tampa FL
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best face wash ever
 Date: February 4, 2015
Tags: cleansing
" This product was recommended to me by my daughter, it is this best face wash I have ever used. After using it once I was able to see a difference in softness of my skin. It doesn't dry out my skin like other products I have use. A little goes a long way, It is the only face wash I will use. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: California
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
absolutely LOVE it!
 Date: May 18, 2015
" This is the ONLY face wash that doesn't break me out! Its soft and frothy, doesn't feel oily like some face washes and removes ALL of my makeup. I also like how my skin looks so even and so fresh. I've been buying this face wash for 5 years now! "
Review 8 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The Only Facial Wash that Works for Me!
 Date: April 30, 2015
" At the young age of 33, I have dealt with horrible ezcema and acne. I would have to wear pounds of makeup to attempt to cover discolorations, old chicken pox scars, acne scars and bumps and ezcema. I tried many brands that were marketed to those suffering with acne with no success. One day, I stumbled into a Origins store while on vacation. There are no physical stores in my city. That day, my life was forever changed! This facial wash along with toner and moisturizer had eliminated my acne, caused my ezcema and discoloration to dissapear, and softened my skin. The creamy texture feels good against my skin. It smells fresh. My skin feels refreshed after using it. I don't even have to wear makeup anymore. People often compliment me on how beautiful my skin is. Thank you Origins! "
Review 9 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Cleanses without drying
 Date: May 16, 2015
Tags: cleansing
" This face wash works great on my combination skin. Some cleansers leave my skin feeling too tight and dry, others don't seem to clean completely. So far this is the best one I've found! "
Review 10 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!!!
 Date: April 27, 2015
Tags: face wash
" Just a little bit of the product can make a lot of foam and clean the entire face. It's very smooth and smells like ginger and herbs which I like so much. It doesn't make you feel dry after you use it. "
Review 11 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love It
 Date: April 20, 2015
" I love this frothy and light cleanser.
It feels light, but cleans well.
MrsEDavis "
Review 12 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Pacific Northwest
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product, funny smell?
 Date: September 17, 2013
" I have been using this face wash for several years and love it. But when I purchased a new tube over the summer I noticed it upon using it for the first time that it had an unusual and odd chemical like smell. It was quite strong and unpleasant. I used it a couple of more times just to make sure. So I returned it to my local origins store and of course they exchanged it right away. I love my local store - they are always very responsive and want to make sure I am happy with the products. I took home the replacement and unfortunately it also has the odd smell although not nearly as strong. Since I am so happy with the product otherwise, I kept it rather than make another trip to the store. I'm wondering.....has anyone else noticed this odd smell? "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: ON
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best product i have ever used.
 Date: April 13, 2015
Tags: any type of skins.
" It's one of the best product i have ever used, and i addict to this brand already, it makes my skin feel natural and fresh everyday, i'll recommend to my friend to try this product out. "
Review 14 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Darnestown,MD
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Frothy and Foamy
 Date: April 8, 2015
Tags: cleansing
" Love this product. It is so creamy and light and just glides over your skin. The fun begins when you add water. It begins to foam up-a lot (a little goes a long way). After you rinse it off your skin feels so clean and silky. I never experienced that type of clean before with any other product. It does a very nice job of removing make up or whatever else is on your face. "
Review 15 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My favorite
 Date: December 23, 2013
Tags: cleansing
" I have oily skin with dry patches. This stuff is amazing and gets all the greasy oil out of my face and leaves my skin perfect. When I need to exfoliate I mix it with a little modern friction and use the clarisonic. It's the best face wash out there! "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash - LOVE
 Date: March 11, 2015
Tags: washing your face
" I received a sample of this with my initial purchase from Origins of the Active Charcoal mask. I love it! I love that a TINY amount goes a long, long ways! I maybe use a pea size amount on my finger tips and then get it wet and work it into a nice froth. I started the sample on 2/16/15 and then bought a bottle as soon as that was gone. I feel that it is very gentle, yet gets the job done! I like the smell of it too! It's a nice minty smell that smells refreshing and clean. I normally would have a few problem areas, mostly around my mouth and chin, especially leading up to and during that lovely time of the month, but so far so good! I will continue using this face wash! I like it a lot! And like I said, a little goes a long ways, so I am very happy with the size of the bottle that I purchased. "
Review 17 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smart cleanser!
 Date: May 26, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Oily Skin
" I received the Origins Checks & Balances cleanser as a free gift for the Earth Day Promotion - a full size product, people!! I was intrigued by the claim that it would control oil in the shiny places, yet make the dry places softer. A smart cleanser? Really? Well, it was free and I try anything that's free - most of the time.
I am in love with this cleanser. It smells wonderful - kind of minty which is a great pick me up 1st thing in the morning. It goes on very easily and rinses completely clean. It does get frothy if you work it around in your hand first. If you like a bubbly facial cleanser, this one is for you!
When I get out of the shower, my face feels "squeaky" clean, literally. It also feels just a bit tight, but nothing a good moisturizer can't cure. The tightness also is only in the areas that I have found to be oily, so that must be the oil control part of this cleanser. I have no trouble with it at all.
Normally by lunchtime, my skin would look like I dunked myself in a vat of grease, or just ran 100 mile marathon. Not anymore with this cleanser!!!
Have I mentioned I'm in love with this one? And I got it for free?! I will definitely buy this one again, but I am far from running low. It just takes a little tiny bit, like a pea size (maybe a bit larger than that)
It's only 18.50, which seems to me like it would be a great deal for the time this product would last, and it works! "
Review 18 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Austin, TX
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Everyday Cleanser
 Date: January 29, 2013
Tags: Sensitive Skin, balancing, cleansing
" Checks & Balances is my staple. I have sensitive skin, so that stress, a rut in my diet, dehydration, or lack of sleep immediately shows on my face. Sometimes it is flaky, dry patches. Other times some spots pop up. I had no sense of regularity and mistook my skin's sensitivity for acne-prone/combination skin. I did research over the years and discovered that I'd been using products that were too harsh and stripping my skin -hence the irritation and inconsistencies.
I started using Checks & Balances twice daily (in combination with my other Origins products), and I swear within two weeks, my skin was so clear, even, and healthy-looking that I didn't need or want to wear make up. It offers a deep clean without stripping my skin: my body doesn't produce more oil to make up for the dryness and cause breakouts, and it doesn't get irritated and flake. If I get lazy in my routine, i.e. not washing my face at night or in the morning, I can tell a difference in clarity, evenness, and texture.
This is something I will always have in my bag, and it's such a relief to have consistently healthy skin. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: mn
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My Favorite!
 Date: February 17, 2015
" This is my favorite Origins product. I have tried other "highly recommended" face washes (that also cost less). I always return to Checks and Balances Frothy face wash. It does a WAY better job of removing makeup than others I've tried. And it DOES keep skin more balanced. I don't recall reading anywhere that this wash would be considered any sort of an exfoliating product, but it is amazing with sloughing off that top layer of dead skin. After using it and patting my face dry I can just very gently rub a flaky trouble spot with a finger-- flaky problem gone. I have very sensitive skin, which will not tolerate any number of chemicals (not even sunscreen). My face ADORES Origins products. No burning. No breakouts. I never have to read long lists of ingredients (written in a font of 5) to see which one might feel like burning acid upon application. "
Review 20 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Minot, ND
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Hands down, BEST cleanser I've EVER used!! :D
 Date: March 6, 2015
Tags: Combination Skin
" I have struggled to find a cleanser I can use AM/PM that didn't leave my face feeling stripped and dried out, especially one that doesn't contain harsh/horrible chemicals. This cleanser not only leaves my face feeling nourished and refreshed, it has absolutely balanced out the dry and oily areas without feeling too thin or thick when using it. I'm SO thankful to have found this product. EXCEEDED all expectations! THANK YOU!! :D "
1 2 3 4 5 ... 71 next>>