Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash

Cleverly cleanses faces with dry and oily places. Best for combination skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.781 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(1522 Reviews) 1384
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,522 reviews)
5 stars
1,299
4 stars
156
3 stars
39
2 stars
12
1 star
16
1,472 of 1,522(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Checks & Balances Frothy Face Wash
 Date: April 4, 2012
Tags: great over all cleanser, great for both oily or dry skin.
" I began using Checks & Balances Frothy Face Wash I guess when it first came on the market! It is a wonderful product that cleanes off all make up and leaves my face feeling soft and thoroughly cleaned. A few months ago I failed to reorder this product when I ran out of it, so I bought a national brand cleanser from the drug store. It was awful! I quickly ordered a years supply of Checks & Balances Frothy face wash and will not go with out it! When I first began using this product I had very oily skin. And it was great at leaving my skin feeling very clean, not tight. Now that I'm in my 50's, and have combination dry skin, this fantastic product is still a great cleanser for my skin! I even use it in the morning before reapplying my skin toning and moistirizer products. I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs a good over all cleanser. I also have delicate skin, around the eye area This product has never irritated my eyes! Also, a tiny bit goes a long ways! Just a pearl size dab thoroughly cleanses my skin. A tube will last a very long while! "
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST CLEANSER EVER!!!
 Date: January 3, 2014
Tags: acne, enlarged pores
" I have tried every cleanser; over the counter, big name brands, EVERYTHING. I had gotten a sample of Checks and Balances and my skin has forever changed! I was constantly dealing with enlarged pores and acne on my chin (that had been there for years!). I am proud to say that my pores have shrunk drastically and that acne on my chin is long gone! I use mine every day and four months later, I am still using the same bottle! It lasts forever! Totally worth the money. I highly recommend! I have been using this product for 6-7 months and I'm never going back! Thank you, Origins! "
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Salt Lake, UT
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love love love
 Date: December 6, 2014
" I love absolutely everything about this wash. The smell is so fresh and spa-like and you only need the tiniest amount to wash your entire face which makes it an excellent value. I use it with my clarisonic and love the clean feeling it gives my skin. It has drastically improved my complexion and gotten rid of most of my blackheads on my nose and chin. My only complaint is that it hasn't been able to get rid of the pimples I tend to get on my jawline around the time of my period but I still gave it 5 stars because I've been so happy with it otherwise. "
Review 4 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: December 15, 2014
" Best face wash that I've used so far. Not drying, it feels smooth on skin. So glad it comes in bigger size. "
Review 5 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My favorite
 Date: December 23, 2013
Tags: cleansing
" I have oily skin with dry patches. This stuff is amazing and gets all the greasy oil out of my face and leaves my skin perfect. When I need to exfoliate I mix it with a little modern friction and use the clarisonic. It's the best face wash out there! "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Anchorage, AK
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Already recommended it
 Date: December 5, 2014
Tags: cleaning
" I really like this product. It makes my face feel clean but not dried out. I live in Alaska so it gets very dry up here in the winter. I love the way this product feels and smells. It makes me look forward to washing my face everyday! Favorite part of my routine. "
Review 7 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Boone, NC
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Stuff
 Date: November 30, 2014
" After moving to the mountains, my skin freaked out. All the minerals in the water irritated my face and caused deep acne and my t zone was out of control.
I bought this after reading great reviews all over the internet. This stuff keeps my face clean all day and brings dirt to the surface for easy removal. I bought the trial size and asked for more as part of my Christmas.
This stuff is great! Takes little product for big effect.
"
Review 8 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Goose Creek, SC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love This Product
 Date: December 1, 2014
" I have always had combination skin that breaks out when I use a creamy cleanser and dries out terribly when I use a non-oily cleanser. This product works perfectly, I am neither too dry nor too oily. It takes a very small amount to create a good lather so lasts a very long time and is well worth the price. "
Review 9 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Pacific Northwest
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product, funny smell?
 Date: September 17, 2013
" I have been using this face wash for several years and love it. But when I purchased a new tube over the summer I noticed it upon using it for the first time that it had an unusual and odd chemical like smell. It was quite strong and unpleasant. I used it a couple of more times just to make sure. So I returned it to my local origins store and of course they exchanged it right away. I love my local store - they are always very responsive and want to make sure I am happy with the products. I took home the replacement and unfortunately it also has the odd smell although not nearly as strong. Since I am so happy with the product otherwise, I kept it rather than make another trip to the store. I'm wondering.....has anyone else noticed this odd smell? "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Acton, MA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE this Wash!!!!
 Date: December 1, 2014
Tags: everyone y 15 year old daughter loves it too!
" I am 54 and the winter heat dries my face! I love the Cheeks and Balances because it leaves my face clean and fresh and SOFT not dry! "
Review 11 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: NJ
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Daily Cleanser on the Market
 Date: November 29, 2014
Tags: daily cleansing
" I have been using this stuff for years! It is amazing! Plus you do not need to use much of it! "
Review 12 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for summer
 Date: June 14, 2014
" I have since learned from you using Origins products that I like to alternate between the following products: For Fall Winter months my skin needs Make a Difference Cleansing Milk, for Spring / Summer months my skin needs this, Checks & Balances Frothy foam wash. This items feels like a luxury. It lathers up supremely well. I use it with my Clarsonic and love the amount of foam it whips up for me to wash with. The scent is heavenly and it leaves my skin feeling clean without feeling dry or stripped. At the end of a long summer day it feels good to remove the grime (makeup, sweat, whatever) and this product does that efficiently. It should be noted that I only need to use a pea size amount of this product to clean my face and neck, so its also a great value.I would highly recommend this product. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Greenville, SC
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Super cleanser
 Date: November 9, 2014
Tags: cleaning
" I have been using this product for the last 5 years. Gently removes all the makeup and impurities.This is the only cosmetic product I would never substitute ever! "
Review 14 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Memphis, TN
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful cleanser
 Date: November 4, 2014
" I absolutely love Checks and Balances. I have combination skin and it works to clean all areas of my face and does not leave one oily or dry. My husband has now even begun using it and uses nothing else. "
Review 15 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Bang for your Buck!
 Date: November 4, 2014
" Lovely product. Use just a tiny bit and it goes a long way. Leaves your Face & Neck felling clean and smooth. "
Review 16 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Checks & Balances
 Date: November 4, 2014
Tags: best!
" Best cleaners I have ever used, I will never switch, nothing compares! "
Review 17 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Detroit
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Cannot live without this face wash!
 Date: October 30, 2014
" One of Origins best products, a must have! It never makes my face feel stripped or dry. Love the smell and consistency. It's highly concentrated so it lasts for a long time. Highly recommend! I already have several of my friends switched on to it too! "
Review 18 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Maryland
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this product
 Date: October 24, 2014
Tags: Breakouts
" Best skincare product I have ever used. I have used countless products for my acne and my skin would still continue to break out. Checks and Balances is the only product that keeps my breakouts from happening, no matter my stress levels or any other factors. Love it! "
Review 19 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Austin, TX
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Everyday Cleanser
 Date: January 29, 2013
Tags: Sensitive Skin, balancing, cleansing
" Checks & Balances is my staple. I have sensitive skin, so that stress, a rut in my diet, dehydration, or lack of sleep immediately shows on my face. Sometimes it is flaky, dry patches. Other times some spots pop up. I had no sense of regularity and mistook my skin's sensitivity for acne-prone/combination skin. I did research over the years and discovered that I'd been using products that were too harsh and stripping my skin -hence the irritation and inconsistencies.
I started using Checks & Balances twice daily (in combination with my other Origins products), and I swear within two weeks, my skin was so clear, even, and healthy-looking that I didn't need or want to wear make up. It offers a deep clean without stripping my skin: my body doesn't produce more oil to make up for the dryness and cause breakouts, and it doesn't get irritated and flake. If I get lazy in my routine, i.e. not washing my face at night or in the morning, I can tell a difference in clarity, evenness, and texture.
This is something I will always have in my bag, and it's such a relief to have consistently healthy skin. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Checks and Balances™ Frothy face wash
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smart cleanser!
 Date: May 26, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Oily Skin
" I received the Origins Checks & Balances cleanser as a free gift for the Earth Day Promotion - a full size product, people!! I was intrigued by the claim that it would control oil in the shiny places, yet make the dry places softer. A smart cleanser? Really? Well, it was free and I try anything that's free - most of the time.
I am in love with this cleanser. It smells wonderful - kind of minty which is a great pick me up 1st thing in the morning. It goes on very easily and rinses completely clean. It does get frothy if you work it around in your hand first. If you like a bubbly facial cleanser, this one is for you!
When I get out of the shower, my face feels "squeaky" clean, literally. It also feels just a bit tight, but nothing a good moisturizer can't cure. The tightness also is only in the areas that I have found to be oily, so that must be the oil control part of this cleanser. I have no trouble with it at all.
Normally by lunchtime, my skin would look like I dunked myself in a vat of grease, or just ran 100 mile marathon. Not anymore with this cleanser!!!
Have I mentioned I'm in love with this one? And I got it for free?! I will definitely buy this one again, but I am far from running low. It just takes a little tiny bit, like a pea size (maybe a bit larger than that)
It's only 18.50, which seems to me like it would be a great deal for the time this product would last, and it works! "
1 2 3 4 5 ... 70 next>>