Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel

Helps clear breakouts. Speeds healing. Reduces redness. Best for all skin types
Average Customer Rating:
4.547 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(269 Reviews) 245
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (269 reviews)
5 stars
194
4 stars
49
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
7
252 of 269(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Southern California
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best blemish treatment ever!!!
 Date: May 28, 2009
Tags: Combination Skin, All Skin Types
"My father is a Dermatologist so it is easy for me to obtain blemish products but I must say that he never had a product like Origins Spot Remover. Anytime I feel a blemish coming up or if I see one already, I put a little dab of the product on the spot with a Q-tip and over night, the spot is gone or has dramatically cleared up. I always keep an extra bottle of this handy as sometimes it is hard to find in the stores. Whatever is in this product works each and everytime. Love it!!!!"
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Banishes zits!
 Date: February 4, 2011
"I hate zits - I mean, I really hate them! Ever since I was a teen, I have had acne. I have huge pores and very oily skin and that equals acne. As I got older, my acne changed to the big red bump cystic acne. I do have prescription medication that I use, but it never cures it 100%. So, I bought this treatment gel to try out. I felt one of those huge underground cystic zits starting on my cheek. I applied the gel to the spot in the morning and evening. The thing went away! It never turned into anything that I could even see when looking into the mirror. Amazing! I am also the type to squeeze and pinch my face if I see any blemish. I can't help it! I found a couple of black heads on my chin and got them pretty much out. Normally when I do that, I don't get it all and it turns into a big zit. Once I squeezed the black head out, I applied the gel and kept applying it for a day or two. The red spot went away so quickly and never turned into anything! I'm only about a week into using this product, but I have already seen 2 miracles (yes, I think they are miracles!) Once again, Origins products came to the rescue. I love you Origins!!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Philadelphia
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The only medicine that ever works and smells great
 Date: December 3, 2009
Tags: Combination Skin
"I am a 34 year old adult and have struggled with acne my whole life. Using scrubs, washing religiously and drinking tons of water never really ever gets rid of all my whiteheads. They always pop up no matter what I use when I'm stressed, or cook something greasy, or when I am hormonal.
But I found this and it really does the trick for me. No more pimples and no severe drying (although it is very strong - a little goes far).
This has a 1% salicylic acid solution which is much more effective for my aging skin than those 2% ones for teenagers. My skin stays nice and hydrated but without the pimples.
I like to buy these periodically from origins and get special treats along with, or discounts and samples, so the small size is perfect and stays fresh. I keep one in the bathroom upstairs and one down, and keep one on hand.
It really works!!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Hawaii, HI
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great!
 Date: August 20, 2009
Tags: Oily Skin, Combination Skin
"I am not actively breaking out right now, but when I occasionally get a pimple it is the large cystic kind that never go away. The bump just lingers forever. I purchased this out of desperation. I got a cyst and I couldn't get rid of it. I got this in the mail and immediately applied it and it only took 2 days, but my cyst disappeared! I don't even feel that bump I usually do even after it has healed. The bump is gone as well! It is a tiny bottle, but I can already tell that I will have this for a very long time. It only takes a little dab. For spot treatment, there are many out there on the market, but you gotta try this!!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Long Beach, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Just for an instance
 Date: August 31, 2009
"I still don't understand what all the fuzz is about spot remover... It did absolutely nothing for me but stain and leave a bad mark behind on my skin... It took only one use for me to not want to use it ever again... It is not going to prevent acne, it just dries out the pimple... I believe that following a daily regimen w origins cleansers, toners and moisturizers work better to prevent pimples... Also with a twice a week scrub from origins and one of their masks once a week will give anyone the results they've been looking for..."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: mn
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
best for dark marks due to acne
 Date: January 22, 2010
Tags: Oily Skin, Combination Skin
"I had tried lots of costly products to get rid of my acne marks ,but nothing worked like this.I noticed my lighter marks gone in a week ,and 1 stubborn mark,which i was thinking of getting rid by laser etc,has become so light ,that it's barely noticeable. I really loved this product.It looks as if it's a very tiny bottle,but you don't have to use lot. So it goes a long way.I have used this for a month now,and my skin was not better than this for ages. Plus it has all natural ingredients.
So it's part of my daily routine now
I surely recommend this to anyone who has old acne marks. I wish now that Origins makes something for old acne scars too!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Brooklyn
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Why does it burn sooo much?
 Date: March 18, 2011
"This product is effective in reducing the size of those nasty red pimples but it BURNS! I LOVE origins and I was hoping this would be my miraculous solution to those stubborn breakouts I get every now and then. However, there are some days (especially when I exfoliate or use a mask prior,) it burns way too much. I'm not the type to complain about a little tingling or burning but this was just way too harsh. Maybe it's because pores are open and skin is a bit sensitive after deep cleansing... not so sure I'll continue using this product anymore."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Bangor, PA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Vanish Blemish's
 Date: June 8, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types, blemish prone skin
"My daughter suffers from the pre-teen occasional brake-outs. And I suffer from being over thirty! We both hit these skin milestones at the same time. With our changing skin we didn't know what to do. Every product on the market was useless.
If you are not covered in severe acne then you do not need to put acne control all over your face! I made a spontaneous purchase when saw this next to the checkout in Origins. WOW! We could not believe the results. No over drying or peeling!! This is now one of our Origins products that we can not live without! Brilliant product!!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Suburban LA
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Good stuff!
 Date: February 19, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"For a non-Rx blemish treatment, the Spot Remover is really good. After frying my face with expensive and caustic treatments, I was shocked at how gentle the Spot Remover is, how little is needed to get the job done, and how effective it is considering the other two factors! After 20 years of acne, Origins has given me a new face in about 2 months....and my combined regimen costs less than a single Rx treatment."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Burbank, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
This works !!
 Date: September 24, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"Spot Remover is the best product !! It does what it says , drys and eliminates redness at the exact spot you want to go away. I use it on my son as well ... My only complaint is that it doesn't come in a larger container !! I seem to use it up faster than any other product in my collection and with the hot weather , it's really going fast !! This works , end of story ..."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Nashville, TN
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My new go to product!
 Date: March 23, 2011
"I love this product! It gets the job done without drying my skin out. As an African-American with dry, sensitive skin that is prone to an occasional breakout, I've had a hard time with finding acne treatments that get rid of the acne without irritating my skin---this product strikes the perfect balance."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: LA, CA
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Something that really works
 Date: March 16, 2010
Tags: Oily Skin
"I've been suffering from acne since middle school and when I used this product I saw a difference on my blemishes in one day. I'm almost pimple free for the first time! I just have those black spots that appear after pimples but this spot remover is doing a good job removing those too! I use this with Origins Get Down deep pore cleanser."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Marlboro, NJ
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Product!!
 Date: August 16, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"This is true a miracle gel-- I use it and literally within minutes the redness and size is noticable less noticeable! If I use it at night the pimple is literlaly gone by the next morning-- and you don't even need to use a lot so don't let the size of the bottle scare you-- it lasts!! Definitely a must have!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Richmond, BC
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
No change
 Date: June 24, 2010
"I read many good reviews regarding this product, so I bought one and tried. (even though.. i think it is a little bit pricy). Unfortunately that it does not work on me. I apply it on my blemish/acne but it makes no difference. I use it frequently but I don't see any effect."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Boston, MA
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST EVER!!!!
 Date: November 21, 2010
"I have tried it all over the past 17 years- this is the best. A pea size does does BOTH my cheeks and jaw line. It really does go that far. DO NOT layer- it is light so you think it won't work but it really does. i like the clean smell too!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Washington DC
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
amazing product
 Date: August 23, 2009
Tags: Oily Skin
"i'm nearly 40 and am still getting cystic acne now and then. Tried millions of products that all left my skin red and feeling burned. tried origins spot remover on the cysts and they cleared up within days with no redness or burning... it's the only thing i use now!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Charleston, SC
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The best I've ever used!
 Date: February 20, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"I've used other spot treatment gels before, and unlike others, this one really works and DOES NOT flake! Both of these facts are so important when dealing with Acne--I can't express how this is a must have for anyone!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Birmingham, AL
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Be Careful Where You Put It
 Date: June 4, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"This is an excellent product for that occasional blemish, but be careful where you put it...only on the blemish and not surrounding skin or you may end up with a huge red spot on your face once the blemish is cleared up."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Marquette, MI
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well
 Date: September 9, 2009
Tags: Oily Skin, Combination Skin, acne prone
"It works very well for smaller blemishes but may take a while for the deeper, cystic ones that I tend to get. However I like that it doesn't make my skin flake as much as other spot treatments do."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spot Remover® Acne blemish treatment gel
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Bay Area, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great stuff!
 Date: April 20, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"As soon as I feel a pimple coming on, I use Spot Remover, and it has never let me down. I keep a few around for to make sure I have one at all times!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>