Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body

Nature's most-reliable rainmakers deliver a steady stream of rich moisture to sustain skin throughout the day.
Average Customer Rating:
4.326 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
1
35 of 43(81%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: lotionlover86
Location: Wyoming
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Loved this non-greasy lotion
 Date: November 23, 2013
Tags: Dry Skin
"I purchased this lotion in hopes of finding a body lotion that wouldn't leave a greasy residue after applied - well I found it! This lotion gets sucked into my parched skin and leaves NO greasy feeling. It absorbs super well and I will purchase this again and again. I wish that they made a bigger bottle. I also love that it is a pump dispenser. I don't like the lotions that you have to dig your fingers into in order to get some out of the container.
Thank you Origins. Happy healthy skin that doesn't have a shine or oily feeling.
"
Review 2 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Jeannete
Location: Moses Lake
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: July 10, 2012
"This product is amazing!!! I have lines on my chest and after using the products for two weeks they are fading away. I use it all over and my skin feels and looks so much better!!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: goingnatural
Recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
 Date: May 23, 2010
"I was a bit disappointed by this product. I have had such good experiences with other Origins products (Checks and Balances, United State, Modern Friction, Modern Fusion, Out of Trouble, Peace of Mind, Ginger Souffle), and I was looking for a good every-day lotion that I could share with my fiance, who has very dry skin. Precipitation feels nice going on, but it doesn't last. The smell is a bit odd, too - it's nice that it's not as flowery/fruity since my fiance likes to use it, too, but the smell is a bit plastic-y. Not my favorite Origins product."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Sheltiemama
Location: Houston
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE this lotion!
 Date: June 20, 2013
"I've been using this lotion for about 10 years and LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it... I live in a VERY humid climate and hate a lotion that go on heavy, but I want it to last all day. This one goes on light, absorbs quickly and lasts all day long. I don't find the smell bad. But for those of you who do, try mixing a drop of any scent essential oil into a palmfull and see if that helps. I do this daily because I don't like the strong smell of perfume and get compliments all the time. Good thing, too, is you can change your scent daily if you like. :)"
Review 5 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: lakersgirl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Skin Type: Oily
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great moisturizer, not so great smell.
 Date: July 20, 2009
Tags: Dry Skin, Oily Skin, Combination Skin
"It's a great moisturizer but the scent of this lotion is what made me stop using it. I prefer something that smells a little more girly and flirty so this wasn't for me. But I did fall in love with the Gloomaway grapefruit souffle!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: hannaht123
Location: Boston, MA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Not as good as other Origins lotions
 Date: May 20, 2009
"I was very excited to get this lotion, and then was pretty disappointed. It doesn't moisturize as well as other Origins lotions - the consistency is thinner, and it doesn't smell great."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: rancherwife
Location: Colorado
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best moisturizer for dry skin!
 Date: April 25, 2013
"Precipitation is an excellent moisturizer for Colorado's dry climate. It has a very fresh and clean fragrance and while it take a little while to soak in, it leaves your skin soft, smooth and hydrated. This is the ONLY moisturizer I will use."
Review 8 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Shine
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: March 30, 2013
"Love this lotion. No smell, absorbs quickly and lasts all day. I have used it for several years."
Review 9 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: EarthIsOfTheGreatestWorth
Location: Michigan
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Just okay
 Date: February 9, 2013
"I have very dry skin on my legs and this left them very scaly. It was fine for the top half of my body, but not a great product if you have thirsty skin like me. It has a different smell, not bad but just different, but it doesn't stick around. Origins has many other great moisturizers, I'd reccomend skipping this one."
Review 10 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Mia123
Recommend to a friend? No
Works really well, but smells SO bad!
 Date: January 29, 2013
Tags: Moisturizing
"Love the way it moisturizes. Like most of the others, I really think it smells bad. I use it mainly on my legs. With so many people complaining about the smell, I wish they would come out with a special version to test out a new scent. I have to use other lotion to cover up the smell sometimes because I definitely do not want my boyfriend to think I smell like this lotion."
Review 11 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: FoxxyBrown
Location: Houston, Tx
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Relief at last
 Date: December 10, 2011
Tags: relief of severely dry skin, every day use, after bath of shower use
"Here goes...... I work in a hospital..... everytime I come in contact with a patient, use the Ladies Room, eat, or handle paperwork from outside my clinic I have to use hand sanitizer for safety reasons, this is mandatory.... This occurs at LEAST 30 times during an 8hr period. The hand sanitizer leaves my skin dry and they truly looked much older than my actual age. The lotion provided by the hospital offers no relief, neither does OTC lotions that I purchase on my own. I bought this product the day after Thanksgiving and OMG..... The difference was immediate, and noticed by my co workers. My hands are smooth, soft and NOT ashy at all. I use the lotion in the morning and after lunch, and even though I constantly use hand sanitizer or wash my hands the effects of this lotion is still present and my hands remain soft, smooth and NOT ashy. This the most effective lotion I have ever used in my life.... I will be ordering more of this product in the future and so will my co-workers......"
Review 12 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: snyc
Location: New York, NY
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great moisturizer
 Date: October 23, 2012
"I love this moisturizer. It absorbs quickly, makes my skin super soft and smooth and glowing. The only down side is that it smells funny. Not so bad that I don't want to use it but I'm glad the smell doesn't linger either."
Review 13 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: JoannO
Location: Bellevue, WA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Good and Bad
 Date: August 7, 2012
Tags: Moisturizing
"This moisturizer makes your skin so silky and soft but boy they sure went wrong when they created the scent. If it didn't make my skin so soft, I would not use it. I really dislike the smell of it that much. I don't understand why they would make great scented face creams and a body cream that smells so terrible. Weird. I need to put body oil over the creme to mask the smell. Very medical smelling and just not my idea of soothing at all. Hope they reformulate the fragrance because it really is an amazing moisturizer."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Hobiemi
Location: Detroit MI
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
I love it
 Date: August 22, 2012
"I've been using this body lotion for over 10 years and love it. The smell is amazing and makes your skin look great. My sister and brother now use it. My only question is why is theres no 33.8 oz bottle on the website? Please don't tell me your going to discontinue it"
Review 15 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: AprilRain
Recommend to a friend? No
Not bad, but...
 Date: April 24, 2012
"... I am totally not getting the scent description of a "rainbow to surround you in joy and jubilation." All it smells like to me is those bubbles that kids dip into and blow with wands. I cannot get past that and returning my product . It's been a few years since I've used it and I don't recall my last bottle being like this, so I don't know if there was a change or I just got an unpleasant batch.
As far as moisturizing, it is fine. It sinks in well, and suits my skin's needs. I am normal-to-dry, so not terribly lizardy, and it is adequate."
Review 16 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: SeekFirstTheKingdom
Recommend to a friend? No
Not a scent I'd expect from Origins
 Date: April 26, 2012
"This is the first product I have ever gotten from Origins that I didn't think smelled amazing. It works well, but the scent is... odd. Other reviews mention it being plastic-y or like the bubbles you blow as a kid. I can definitely see those descriptions as good ways to describe it. My first thought was that it was medicine-y. Anyway, it's not a bad smell, per se, but I don't find it enjoyable. I'll use this bottle but probably won't be buying again. Maybe it's worth going to a store to give this one a sniff before purchasing."
Review 17 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: SliceDiamond
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, but deceptively thick
 Date: May 24, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"I originally bought this lotion because I use and LOVE the Precipitation Extra, and I thought this would be a good summer lotion (plus, to be honest, I prefer a pump bottle to a tub). Well, it's great for arms, etc., but it's not moisturizing enough to use on my legs after shaving - I still use the Extra for my legs and this for the rest of my body. It's fairly thick going on (not greasy, but maybe too thick to use as a hand lotion), but really isn't that moisturizing -- though it does last all day. I've never had to reapply it during the day. I like it well enough, but when I run out I'll probably try a different one (maybe the White Tea). The bottle is great, though! Perfect size for a bedside table, and the pump is nicely designed. I'd recommended it, but I'd make sure the person I recommend it to knows that it's a fairly light moisturizer!"
Review 18 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: sohappypatti
Location: The Dalles, OR
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Product!
 Date: June 11, 2012
Tags: Moisturizing
"I hate using lotions because they are often greasy, slimy, etc. I use this product after my shower and it absorbs very well and doesn't leave my skin feeling oily. It's a fabulous moisturizer for me and I have shared it with friends and family. They love it as well!"
Review 19 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: maggiethediva
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
OMG love it!
 Date: October 5, 2011
Tags: moisture, luxury, comfort!, after bath
"I just ordered this product and used it for the first time today. I LOVE IT. It feels so great after my shower. I HATE lotions that feel super greasy, and I HATE the cheap lotions that just stay on your skin all oily and don't do a thing. This one is magic! It soaks in, feels soft, and has a light clean scent. LOVE this product. I don't care how much it costs, I will always be buying this! I got the big bottle, it's worth it!"
Review 20 for Precipitation™ Continuous moisture recovery for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: hlq03
Recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE THIS LOTION
 Date: June 9, 2011
"I get extremely sensitive dry skin during the winter (think red, bumpy, flakey, itchy, burning skin). Most lotions- do not work or burned going on (like salt in a cut) and still didn't work...this lotion does NOT BURN! it's non-sticky, and my skin tolerates it! :) while my winter skin is still only at 90%, the flakes are gone. By summer, everything is back to normal. I love this lotion and did not mind spending $$ on the largest size. I will not be without this lotion. EVER."
1 2 3 next>>