Origins Ratings and Reviews

Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath

Creamy cleansers surround skin in a feel-good foam and fill your tub with skin-softening bubbles.
Average Customer Rating:
3.939 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
23 of 33(70%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: mary27
Location: Cleveland, TN
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
NOT What it Used to Be
 Date: May 17, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"I began using this product BEFORE it was discontinued and absolutely loved it! I find so many fragrances to be downright nauseating but this was so intoxicatingly wonderful and invigorating, I could not wait for my bath or shower. Using even a very small amount during a shower would completely fill the bathroom air with its wonderful scent, and that would linger in the air for a while after the bath. I had NEVER been so in love with a cleanser or body wash before. You can only imagine my disappointment when Origins discontinued the product! So, when it was re-introduced, I purchased a bottle from the Origins counter at my local department store that very week. I could hardly wait for that next bath. But, upon first using this re-introduced product, something was off. The scent wasn't the same luscious smell I remembered, nor did it fill the air as the original product had. (Others in the house noticed the missing scent after my bath, too). This product has the BITTER smell of the pith of the fruit...not just the citrus smell of the peel or flesh. I continued to use the product off and on until I finished the bottle, but it never gave me the same sense of pleasure as before. Everyone tries to tell me that this is the same as the original, but I don't believe it...my nose does not believe it. Again, those in my family have noticed a difference, too. I've talked to the Origins staff in the store; they don't know of any changes. I thought I had possibly gotten a bottle that had been exposed to heat and that had ruined the fragrance of the essential oils. But, I recently popped the top on the TRY ME bottle in the department store and gave it a sniff. I could smell the bitterness there, too. I don't know what you changed, Origins, but this product is now a HUGE disappointment to me. I want the ORIGINAL Gloomaway Body Wash back. I won't be buying this product again as it is."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: Quest4theBest
Location: Escondido, CA
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed In Sulfate Ingredient
 Date: April 5, 2011
"I have stopped using this product after two years of usage when I recently found out what sulfates were, and as they dry out skin and hair in various cleansing products, and come to find out this product has it too! I am disappointed to learn Origins would use such a harsh ingredient in any of their products, and as my skin was dry as a board and severely flaky from using it (thought I was just getting old and had bad skin), and had to use tons of lotion after each shower. Now that I have switched to a sulfate-free moisturizing body wash at the health food store, my skin is finally healing and recovering from about two years of abuse with this product. It is a shame because I enjoy the scent and clean texture of this wash, just wish they would reformulate it without the harsh sulfate, and same goes for all of their other products with sulfates. I give this product two stars for the scent at least though, and I will continue to use the Gloomaway souffle, and as it is nicely moisturizing (sulfate-free) and the light-lingering pleasant scent is phenomenal..."
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 0riginsAddict
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
A really satisfying bath product
 Date: May 28, 2009
Tags: Oily Skin, Combination Skin
"I was skeptical of this scent as the smell of grapefruit usually gives me headaches. When I finally decided to give it a sniff at the Origins store, I was pleasantly surprised. The smell is fruity, light, and fresh, but not overwhelmingly grapefruit. It is uplifting. I don't find that it makes my skin as soft as the other body washes, but the smell is great in the morning. Also, it does take more product to produce a decent amount of lather. I haven't tried it as a bubble bath yet, but overall this is a great product."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: sms384
Recommend to a friend? No
ehh...
 Date: September 27, 2010
"I bought this body wash because it appears that Origins has discontinued their Jump Start body wash. Its nice to use but to me it just doesn't smell like much of anything. I've never tried an Origins body wash I didn't like but I just wish they would stop discontinuing all the ones that I love."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: cilantrolime
Recommend to a friend? No
Not worth it
 Date: September 14, 2013
"Doesn't smell nice! I should have stuck with a drugstore brand."
Review 6 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 2GirlzMom
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
What is with the packaging?
 Date: March 27, 2013
"Clearly Origins wants me to go through my Gloomaway quicker so that I will purchase it more often. The old bottle (which I used a pump with), lasted a long time. I could "pump" out just enough drops on my shower pouf. It lathers nicely - a little goes a long way. This new packaging (in a tube) is terrible! You have to be oh so careful not to squeeze too much product out. What a waste! Bring back the old bottle!!!"
Review 7 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: jessiesp
Location: Aurora, CO
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Packaging is terrible
 Date: March 6, 2013
Tags: shaving, bubble bath
"The lid to this product sticks shut so badly that it ripped off in my hand and I have no way of getting it back on. I have to prop it upsidedown in the shower to keep it from spilling.
I do love the gel though. Very fruity and sunshiny!"
Review 8 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: EllenSt4
Location: Camden, ME
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My first, and still favorite, Origins product!
 Date: May 14, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"My daughter put a bottle of Gloom Away bubble bath into a welcome home basket for me, when I returned home from the hospital, having had cancer surgery. I was happy to see a bubble bath...after weeks of hopsital sponge baths, and then showers that smelled medicinal, I was ready for a change. But, I had no idea Gloom Away would become a part of my life, 6 years later. I truly love this product. I use it on evenings that I'm anxious...or just on nights in which I want to treat myself. I sink into a bubble bath with Gloom Away and my troubles simply melt away. It's a wonderful consistency, leaves your skin feeling smooth and clean, but more so, it uplifts your spirit. I don't know what I'd do without it."
Review 9 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Anonymous
Location: Miami, FL
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My Go To Bodywash For Years
 Date: June 27, 2011
Tags: everyday body wash
"Origins' Gloomaway Grapefruit scented body wash & bubble bath has been my Go To body wash for YEARS. You must try it. It has the best, most refreshing scent ever - perfect for feeling clean and smelling delish. PLUS it has a gender-neutral very natural scent so my fiance & I both use it -- and he is very picky about using things that are too "girly." Basically this body wash is the best hands down. Also excellent for putting a couple drops in the tub to make your life smell like heaven and melt away stress. I can't say enough good things about this product. A must have!"
Review 10 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Bets
Location: New Jersey
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Gloomaway made me gloomy!
 Date: August 7, 2009
Tags: making you gloomy!
"A friend had some Gloomaway mist and I loved the scent, so I purchased the bodywash. Well, I must have smelled some of the original fragrance Gloomaway, because what I just purchased doesn't smell the same at all. The original scent was very lightly "citrusy" and made you smile. This stuff that I just purchased: little to no scent, and what there is is not all that pleasant. This bodywash didn't have me smiling in the shower--I actually exited my shower stall disgusted that I had spent $21 for naught!"
Review 11 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: judyor
Location: Florida
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great body wash
 Date: February 8, 2012
Tags: clean skin
"I love this stuff! The scent is great & the foaming bubbles get you going when you use it. Probably not the best to use before bed, but great after a workout or in the morning."
Review 12 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: GloomawayFanatic
Recommend to a friend? No
Scented Water?
 Date: March 6, 2010
"I was disappointed with this product and returned it the first day I used it. It is very watery, does not lather much, and does not leave the scent on your skin. I am a big fan of Gloomaway and recommend the body scrub/cleanser instead. It smells wonderful, is a better texture, lightly scrubs away dead skin, and leaves the fresh scent on your skin after you step out of the shower."
Review 13 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: jharris
Location: West Texas
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Uplifting and comforting
 Date: May 21, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"Gloomaway is a great product! I use it when I've had a rough day or need a pick me up, this does it for me! It has a nice soft citrus smell, but not too overpowering.
I love all of Origins products, and hope that there will continue to be new products. I use more natural products, so Origins is great for that! Thanks for an uplifting scent that takes care of my skin too!"
Review 14 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: franny40
Location: McHenry IL
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome
 Date: May 5, 2009
Tags: Combination Skin
"I used to use this line and then it was taken off the market, luckily I had purched plently before that hapened. I was thrilled when this line was brought back! It has the fresh and clean scent that I just love and get complements on! You need just a small amount for great lather. I also use the lotion which is equally awesome! Love this product!"
Review 15 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: TNHockeyMom
Location: Tennessee
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
great gift
 Date: May 22, 2010
Tags: Sensitive Skin
"gave it to my Mom for Mother's Day. She loved it so much she gave me an entire Gloomaway set a few days later. We both love the smell and the way it makes our skin feel. Wakes you up in the morning and leaves you with a nice clean, fresh smell all day long on your soft, moisturized skin."
Review 16 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: baguama
Location: Mt. Horeb, WI
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The best bubble bath!
 Date: April 20, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"Gloom-away Body Wash/Bubble Bath is my absolute favorite bubble bath. I love the light, grapefruit fragrance which is energizing at the same time it is soothing and relaxing. I consider myself a bubble bath connoisseur and give Gloom-away a 10 out of 10 for the luscious and long-lasting bubbles."
Review 17 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: lakersgirl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Skin Type: Oily
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
One of the best body washes
 Date: July 20, 2009
Tags: Dry Skin, Oily Skin, Combination Skin
"Smells good and leaves your skin feeling soft. I haven't tried it yet as a bubble bath but I'm sure it would be just as heavenly! Afterwards I lotion up with the Gloomaway grapefruit souffle. Good combo."
Review 18 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: andre
Location: Long Beach, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
gloomy no more!
 Date: June 4, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"It will make you burst with emotion and joy! Your skin feels so clean after using it! I use it as a body wash and love how it feels all over my body. Very fresh, perfect for spring-summer!"
Review 19 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Valerie
Location: Hollywood, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it as a bubble bath!
 Date: May 25, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"I love the smell of this wash!! I use it as a bubble bath because I have sensitive skin and it doesn't irritate me. I find that you have to use a lot, but other than that a good product."
Review 20 for Gloomaway™ Grapefruit body wash/bubble bath
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Weaser
Location: Minnesota
Skin Type: Sensitive
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE, LOVE IT
 Date: August 27, 2010
"I could really notice my skin looked and felt softer after
just a few uses. Never mind it smells wonderful!
Too expensive, though a nice treat.
"
1 2 next>>