Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion

Softens dry zones, de-shines and refines fine lines. Best for combination skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (108 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
3
96 of 108(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: luna
Location: Virginia
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
spring/summer for combo/oily or all year for oily
 Date: August 1, 2009
Tags: Oily Skin, Combination Skin
"age: 28; ethnicity: asian (filipino); skin type: combination - oily in summer/spring and dry in winter/fall; concerns: large pores around nose, oil control in tzone, redness around nose; mild acne (around that time of the month)
review: wow. i honestly wasn't expecting this to work. i say that because i tried the United State Toner and that really didn't do much for me. It was like I used no toner at all. Nothing happened.
When I first put this on, i honestly was a bit worried that I might have to return it because I thought it was a bit drying. But my skin was soft in a flannel sheets soft sort of way. (As opposed to a satin sheets soft - aka moisturized soft).
1/2 way through the day: I ran out around noon (hot and humid!) to do some errands and my skin was surprisingly not as oily as i expected. It was most oily in the nose, which doesn't surprise me. But my forehead and chin were under control.
After being inside (AC!) for a few hours, my skin is SOFT (much softer than when I first put it on) and still oil controlled. I didn't look dewy at all. Just a nice healthy moisturized look.
(Now mind you there's a difference between sweating and sitting inside and your skin producing oil. I expect my face to shine when I'm sweating. You can't be in 100+ heat and not sweat and not get oily. So i'm juding this based on sitting inside in a temperature controlled environment and busting out with oil.)
I honestly couldn't be more please and I just expect the results to keep improving the more i use this product.
I ONLY give this 4 stars because I can't use this all year round. In the winter I WILL have to use something more hydrating, but we'll cross that bridge when we get there."
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Biolumen
Location: North Carolina
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE THIS STUFF
 Date: December 16, 2012
Tags: acne prone, Sensitive Skin
"I never used to use moisturizers everyday due to my acne-prone skin, I virtually broke out to EVERY moisturizer I used up untill I bought this.
Not only did my acne suddenly stop (I don't know if it was because of this, or because I just started using origins products all over) but my skin got smoother every day I used it!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: 5plusa
Location: Washington
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Too heavy for my T-zone
 Date: June 26, 2014
"I had only used it for couple days because I felt like it is too much for my T-zone. My skin is combination with very dry cheeks and kind of oily T-zone. First of all, I don't like the scent of the lotion. Also, as soon as I rub a little bit on my hand, I can feel that is really rich and heavy. My t-zone become oily after I put that on."
Review 4 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: lawgirl
Location: San Antonio, TX
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally...A Moisturizer I can use!!
 Date: August 27, 2011
Tags: lightweight daytime moisturizing
"I have combination skin & I've tried TONS of daytime moisturizers over the years & was never able to use any of them without my skin becoming really greasy & shiny. I was SO relieved to find this product! It's very lightweight & gives me the moisturizing I need without overdoing it. Using this with Checks & Balances has really made a difference in my skin."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Anonymous
Location: East Coast
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Long Time Love
 Date: November 6, 2010
Tags: combination/oily/teens and 20's
"I've used this lotion on and off since high school and have always been pleased with it. My sensitive combination skin drank it in when first put on, and stayed smooth and soft without getting oily. I really think it's the ideal moisturizer for teens and twenty-somethings."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: skincareguru
Location: Northport, NY
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
 Date: September 1, 2009
Tags: Combination Skin, All Skin Types, shiny t-zone
"This is by the best Moisturizer ever!! I t really keeps my shiny forehead in check, I also use the perfect world moisturizer during the winter times. Go out and purchase this moisturizer!!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: chicabonita
Location: Downingtown, PA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
This is really helping my combination skin!
 Date: November 25, 2012
Tags: Combination Skin, Oily Skin, acne-prone skin, Moisturizing
"I am really happy I stumbled upon this product! I'm a huge origins fan and had been using up the Vitazing moisturizer in the a.m. prior to applying my makeup and the Starting Over at bedtime. However, especially with the change in seasons, I had noticed my skin was drying out but also I had become more acne-prone on my chin and forehead. This is just what the doctor ordered as far as moisturizing without oil or causing any breakouts. I noticed my blemishes are fading away now with one week of use! I will buy this again. As per some of the other reviews, I just wish this was in different packaging. (Side note: I am using this in combination with Night-a-mins oil free at night to combat dry winter skin and it's working out great!)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: DonnaMac
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Balanced Diet
 Date: March 9, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, providing a base for makeup
"I loved the Youthtopia moisturizing lotion so bought up as much as I could find when I was told y'all were discontinuing it. I've nearly run out of my stash so decided to search again for a nice, lightweight lotion for daytime use.
Balanced Diet is going to be my replacement! It's not quite as smooth as the Youthtopia lotion but it's close enough to satisfy. It doesn't cause break-outs and is very lightweight and not sticky. I like the fact that it's not pumped, but poured.
All in all, this is the replacement lotion I've been looking for!"
Review 9 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Lexie
Location: New York,NY
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My favorite moisturizer!
 Date: March 7, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Oily Skin
"I used to think I didn't need a moisturizer because I have oily skin, but a saleswoman at Origins told me that if my skin is not moisturized, it will produce more oils. Then she suggested Balanced Diet™, I thought she was just trying to sell me stuff, and I really didn't believe her at first. When I tried it out, I did notice my skin stayed matte looking for longer. My face also cleared up, and now my skin always looks like its glowing! Seeing the results I now regret not using a moisturizer before. I was so scared that it would just make my skin oilier, but it is light enough to use on my T-zone. I would definitely suggest this product to someone with oily skin!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: KittyKat
Location: Novi, MI
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Does what it promices
 Date: June 27, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"If you're over the age of 20 you might need somehting more targeted than this or to add a serum to meet specific needs like preventing premature aging (like A Perfect World serum), but let me tell you -- Balanced Diet works at balancing combo skin!
It's light weight, hydrates without weighing you down, and is great for evening oily & normal to dry patches.
I've recomended this a lot to parents looking for skin care for their teenagers. It's friendly to many skin types, EXCELLANT QUALITY & VALUE, easy to use, not perfume-y (so it's great for guys & gals), and it just works."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Pharmamom
Location: State College, PA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
I will be getting this again!
 Date: March 6, 2012
"Balanced diet does what it says...absorbs oil yet moisturizes where you need it. I will say that after hour 8 of a 10 hour work day my face becomes an oil slick...but I'm not sure what product would go strong 10 hours. It has a nice fresh scent and leaves my face nice and soft. Also...I haven't broken out since I started using it! Yay!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: PinkBride
Location: Orlando, Florida
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't get through a summer in Florida without it!
 Date: May 5, 2011
Tags: summer heat use under your light moisturizer
"In the winter, my skin is dry; in the summer (and I'm talking 100% humidity HOT Florida August), my skin is super oily...especially if I use the wrong products.
For winter I use creamier products, for summer I use "A Perfect World" guardian and then "Balanced Diet" moisturizer. My face is soft, my makeup goes on smooth, and I'm not oily!
I'm getting married in Jamaica in September on Labor Day, and you better believe I'll have this ready to go! :)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: MG13
Location: Peoria, IL
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for Combination skin
 Date: September 29, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"I was using zero oil lotion and my face was constantly breaking out and dripping with oil by the end of the day. I thought I would give Balanced Diet a try and am so HAPPY I did. This moisturizer is probably the best I have tried. It works exactly how the product label describes. Smells nice too. I still get oily during the day but not really bad. I put on another swipe of Origins Silk Screen and my skin looks fresh again. My Skin feels calmer as well and I have not been breaking out."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: jujubug
Location: El Dorado Hills, Ca
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great moisturization!
 Date: November 14, 2011
"I have oily skin and this is a great light moisturizer for it. I only just got it but so far i love it. It is not heavy and after i rub it in, my skin feels nicely moisturized without feeling or looking greasy/oily. I enjoy this."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: greengirl111
Location: Ontario Canada
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect Moisturizer
 Date: December 5, 2010
Tags: comination, sensitive, ance prone
"Really like this moisturizer. I have oily/combo/acne prone skin/sensitive skin. Mix in a little foundation into this mositurizer and thats what I use every morning. Not sticky or heavy feeling. Nice and light and doesn't cause my skin to breakout like other moisturizers I've used. I do have some dry spots on my skin and this works well to balance my skin."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: ccavan
Location: CT
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Surprise!
 Date: April 21, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin, summer skin
"This is a great lotion for my skin in the warmer months. I have combination/sensitive skin and this works perfectly! At first I thought it seems very sticky when I put in on my face........but then after a couple minutes it soaks right in, and I love the firming feel. My only concern is the packaging. The current bottle makes it difficult to pour out the right amount in my hand."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 123Review
Location: MD
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great moisture lotion
 Date: February 19, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin
"I like this lotion. It says what it does but it does go on a little bit sticky. Not in love with the bottle design though because the lotion is so lightweight when you try to pour the lotion into your hand, a little more then needed comes out. This product along with check and balance and united tonic do minimize breakout. Overall, good product. I do recommend it."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: SVRANDLE
Location: Houston, Texas
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
 Date: February 5, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin
"This product is wonderful especially for women of color. This item makes my skin feel soft like silk. It also provides the right kind of balance in different areas of my face. My daily routine consists of my Origin's cleanser, toner, perfect world serum and lastly my moisturizer.
Good job Origin's..
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Free
Location: New Jersey
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Very light-weight
 Date: May 10, 2011
Tags: Oily Skin
"I love this moisturizer but I rather go with A Perfect World. That is because this is for really oily skin and I have some dry patches on my cheeks but my t-zones are super oily."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Balanced Diet™ Lightweight moisture lotion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: GreenLeaf
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for Combination Skin
 Date: October 11, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin
"If you are looking for a light weight moisturizer for combination skin, then this is the way to go. Haven't had as many breakouts since using this, the Checks and Balance face wash, and the Modern Friction exfoliant."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>