Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum

Calms and soothes skin-aging irritation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (105 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
93 of 105(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Denton, TX
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic for Redness of the face
 Date: October 28, 2010
"I have a bazillion broken capilliaries on my face making me prone to constant redness. I was diagnosed as NOT having rosacea, but not given any suggestions or options to help. In addition, my skin is sensitive and tends to be very dry. I've used Origins other products for years and finally decided to give the Dr.Weil a try (the cost always held me back).
Well, I've been using it for about 3 weeks, and all I can say is WOW. MY complexion is not only much more moisturized and the skin is softer, but I can make it through most of the day with only the smallest amount of redness on my nose and cheeks and forehead. (I used to get a full red face, looked like I was embarassed and blushing about something ALL the time).
I'm using the cleanser, toning lotion, eye serum, facial serum and moisturizer. As soon as I run out of the remainder of my other origins stuff (I'm using it at night in addition to the Dr Weil) I will get the night cream.
I am choking at the thought of the cost of the product (especially the serums), but for how my complexion looks it's worth every penny.
I don't wear makeup by choice except for special occasions, so it's extra important to me that my skin looks good.
I recommend this for ANYONE. And remember, they have a 100% money back guarantee on all their products - this was the #1 reason I started using Origins in the first place!"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Kansas City
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Not sure
 Date: July 25, 2010
"Having used this for over 3 weeks - basically I was handed 2 sample tubes the very first day it was avaiable to the public - I'm not sure what to think. It absorbs quickly, it smells great, and it feels amazing. For the smell, be aware that it smells like all other Dr Weil products from Origins, except a bit more intense. This may put some people off. I love the Dr Weil line and have used many of the products. I'm not sure how necessary this product is, as it did very little-to nothing in terms of really making a visible change in my skin tone and texture. Yes, my skin may be more resilient, but how do I know that? It does offer amazing level of hydration and it is definitely a must have for highly reactive skins who desire natural and clinically proven ingredients that fight inflammation. It does without a doubt help fight redness, but only as long as you're using this product. The redness returns when you wash your face, even if you wash it with Dr Weil's line of cleanser and toner, which are equally as gentle as this serum. The claims attached to what the product can do in terms of aging and skin texture are things I have not been able to confirm. I truly believe that 3 weeks of use should show some result in terms of feel and texture of skin - all of the other Origins products did just that actually - this did nothing of the sort."
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Texas
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
More than meets the eye
 Date: July 6, 2011
Tags: undernourished skin, damaged skin, preventative measures, All Skin Types
"It is no surprise that Dr. Weil has incorporated reishi mushroom as well as other mushrooms and fungus into this serum. Reishi is sanctioned for use along with Western traditional treatments for cancer patients in Japan.
Reishi is one of the most valuable and effective herbs known to the modern world. Even if one does not see visible results immediately, I am confident that this serum is working to do the job for which it was intended and more. It appears that the serum works in layers of visible effectiveness meaning that certain ingredients will create visible changes sooner while others work invisibly to nourish and repair the skin over time.
Cordyceps is also highly prized in Chinese herbal medicine and a very important constituent in heart tonic formulas. In my opinion, Dr. Weil has combined ingredients that appear to have a powerful effect that should become apparent between 2 and 3 months of use in many people. In Chinese traditional medicine this is the common length of time for herbal formulas to exact a significant change. Often times the symptoms may appear worse right before the organ (skin) or organs return to health so, I believe, patience is key when using any herbal product. Incidentally, proper diet, exercise, hydration from within, medicines and hormonal balance also work synergistically to achieve healthy skin."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
You can really tell the difference!
 Date: July 20, 2010
Tags: Sensitive Skin, fine lines
"I have been using the Dr. Weil line for a few years now and have always loved how his serum has worked for me. When I recently visited an Oriigins store and the sales associate said they were replacing it with an advanced formula, I was surprised (and maybe a little skeptical) because I thought his original serum worked pretty well. Nevertheless, I was given a sample to try and could tell after a few days the difference in performance of this serum. I would wake up with less lines, and a more even toned complexion. My skin is much calmer and I feel like this serum actually heals when I have a pimple or imperfection on my face. I am definitely hooked!"
13 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Vermont
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
helped all of my problem areas
 Date: January 12, 2011
"I have suffered from rosacea for years and this has been by far the best product I have tried. I started using it in the summer and and really liked the texture, the fact that it was not oily at all but was skeptical of how it would work in the winter. Since I tend to get dry patches in the winter I figured I would have to switch to something else. It has worked amazing. Not one dry patch or flake. My skin has looked great and my rosacea has been under control."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: South Lyon, Michigan
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this product
 Date: September 8, 2011
Tags: rosacea
"I am 50 years old and have been trying to find a product that would help with my mild case of rosacea. This is my first experience with Origins products and have to admit the skin relief advanced face serum is wonderful and it works.. I will be exploring more skincare products."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Ft Polk, Louisiana
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
AMAZING PRODUCT. IN LOVE.
 Date: July 21, 2013
Tags: sensitivity, Redness, acne
"About a few months ago, I recently found that I was soy-intolerant and it caused my face to break out in cystic pimples. NOTHING that I bought helped with the breakouts. I bought acne washes from other more expensive brands and all they did was make the acne hurt even more. My confidence was shot and I didn't know where else to turn. I visited Origins because I love that all their products are natural. I decided on buying the Dr. Weil for Origins Mega-Mushroom Face Wash but I was skeptical about the Serum because of the price. My mother got it for me as a gift because she was convinced that it was going to help. After ONE application the redness and sensitivity was reduced significantly and the acne had decreased in size by at least half. I have been using it for about a week now (twice a day, a long with the Mega-Mushroom Face Wash, and GinZing moisturizer and my painful acne is almost completely gone! I will most definitely be continuing on buying all my skincare products along with makeup, absolutely love the SmartyPlants CC Cream) from Origins! PS the smell isn't that bad, and it disappears relatively quickly so don't judge the product based on that."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Urbana, IL
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing!
 Date: August 16, 2010
"I have rosacea and it flares up in response to almost every product for "sensitive skin." Not so with the Plantidote line. The serum is fantastic. It calms my skin, reduces redness and also makes my skin tone more even. Thanks for an awesome product!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Michigan
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great serum
 Date: February 23, 2012
"I had a day and night moisturizer that I liked, but I wanted something to help my sensitive/ reactive skin with very mild redness. So I added this for AM and PM. At first I didn't think it was doing much, but after a few months of using it I started to notice a major difference in my skin. It was much much less reactive. More calm and soft looking. And it did help with my mild redness. A little goes a long way. I do not mind the herbal smell, it fades away quickly. Glad I didn't give up on this product. I highly recommend the toner along with this!!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
After waxing...
 Date: May 9, 2011
Tags: post-eyebrow waxing
"So I am aware that a large portion of the Origins patrons purchase this for help with their Rosacea, however I use it for something totally different: eyebrow waxing.
Before you get threaded/waxed, put some of this on and then put it on again after the beautician is finished, and I can guarantee you - you will see little or no breakout.
I love it after I wax because it minimizes the redness and I tend to keep a calm skin - which leads to zero acne the day after : )
Something to think about...
Outside of that, I never did notice anything else that it did for my skin - will give it another try however."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Prefer the older formula to the new formula.
 Date: January 31, 2012
"I actually prefer the older formula of the serum, to the advanced serum. I was a bit surprised myself, but the feel of the advanced didn't feel as silky smooth as the original.. I was able to find and purchase a large size of the original serum, and am enjoying it. I actually also like the newest serum from Dr. Weil, the one that I was told was replacing Bright by Nature, I believe."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Midwest
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Redness GONE!
 Date: September 5, 2010
Tags: Redness
"I began suffering from rosacea a long time ago, and about three years ago, my neck began staying red for hours. Nothing worked, even prescriptions from the dermatologist. I finally began using the Dr. Weil products, beginning with the serum and lotion. Within two weeks, I realized I had not seen my neck turn red in a few days! I have started using the cream on my neck, and it's great as well. I also use the toner and eye serum now. I'm very happy with the product line!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: St. Cloud, FL
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Holy cow it works!
 Date: October 7, 2010
Tags: Sensitive Skin
"Wow! I have sensitive skin that is prone to breakouts. It's hard to find a product that doesn't make things worse. I've only had a sample of this product, but I love it. In the 2 weeks that the sample lasted, it has made a huge difference in my skin. I used it with the Dr. Weil's cleanser. The only reason I didn't give this product 5 stars is the price. I really wish I could afford it! I'm saving my pennies."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Tennessee
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Feels so good on my skin
 Date: December 5, 2011
Tags: redness rosacea
"Love this product! Have tried so many lotions, soaps, vitamins, etc. This serum is so soothing and nourishing... and in combination with a healthy diet, is the only thing that has healed my rosacea."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: San Diego, CA
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
I liked the old formula better
 Date: March 8, 2013
"I bought this after being impressed with the original formula, Plantidote Mega-Mushroom Face Serum, and after having used it all up, I bought this as a replacement. However, after using it, I wasn't getting the same "wow" factor as I did with the original formula. Although, this wasn't giving me any bad side affects either, it just became part of my moisturizing routine. Now having finished the bottle and not noticing any improvement, I'm now looking for a new face serum and will not be buying this again. Having read other negative reviews with the same issue on how the formula was changed, I feel relieved that I wasn't crazy to notice this."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Miami, FL.
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
THE BOMB PRODUCT!!!
 Date: April 29, 2014
"This has to be the best, if not ONE of the best, PRODUCTS out in the market. I've tried different products throughout the years to try and save me a penny but NOTHING beats this serum. #hooked"
Review 17 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Ontario, Canada
Skin Type: Sensitive
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Sleep Trouble...
 Date: September 5, 2011
"So, oddly enough -- when I use this serum on my face before I go to bed, it prevents me from sleeping. I'm not sure what ingredient causes this for me, but I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced the same thing?
I narrowed it down to being the product, as I haven't changed anything in my diet, or normal life patterns, and when I stopped using - I was able to sleep again. The first night, I still woke up a few times, as I had still used it in the morning, but I wasn't left awoken from a short sleep, and unable to fall asleep again for hours as the 4 previous nights.
The smell is also not that pleasant. It smells exactly like.. well, mushrooms. I guess to be expected, but I didn't think that it would be AS pungent.
It also left my skin feeling less hydrated than other serums that I have tried from Origins.
Unfortunately, I'm not able to continue using it for any longer to see if the long term effects are worth the smell.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Chicago area
Skin Type: Sensitive
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally found a replacement for constant comforter
 Date: July 23, 2011
"I have been struggling to find an origins product to replace the constant comforter mosturizer, which I used for years before it was discontinued. It was a great mosturizer on my sensitive skin. I was told to try Youthtopia as a replacement but that didn't work for me and I recently tried Starting Over and that didn't work either. I resisted trying the Mega-Mushroom line given the cost but finally found a sample I received a while back and have to say that I'm thrilled I did. With the first application of the serum and mosturizer, my face instantly felt silky smooth and the redness disappeared. I'm amazed at how much it has softened my skin and also the fine lines around my eyes. This is an amazing product. Very pricey but from what I'm seeing, well worth the cost. And you don't have to overdo it with the amount of product either. A little goes a long way!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Singapore
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: November 21, 2010
Tags: skin-calming, Sensitive Skin, evening skintone
"I was contemplating between this and the Eye Serum from the same series, but the SA convinced me to buy this instead, as I could use it on both my face and eye area. I'm glad I tried this product!
Even though it is a little pricey, it does help to even out my skin tone. I have sensitive skin and I really feel that my skin seems to be less easily irritated after I started using this. The product doesn't work well alone though, and since it is a serum I wouldn't advise to leave home without a proper moisturizer. I find it useful for skin calming & relieving. It also has a nice smell! However, one bottle doesn't last me very long - only about 6 weeks - as I use 2 pumps (for the entire face including eye contours) twice daily (A.M. & P.M.).
Will probably repurchase this product only when my skin requires much soothing. Will be trying out other ORIGINS products in the mean time."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dr. Andrew Weil for Origins™ Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome product for redness
 Date: November 28, 2012
"I used this product after dealing with breakouts into my early 20s, and it totally healed my skin. It does have a different smell, but I personally love it. (people that say it smells rotten are being a little dramatic) Get a sample to make sure it's okay for you. I work in natural foods and to me it smells like a food co-op, which suits me well. Might not be for everyone.
I've since started using the perfect world line since I'm in the city and concerned about environmental damage. But Dr. Weil and his products are fantastic!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>