Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids

Restore clarity and improve evenness of skin tone.
Average Customer Rating:
4.564 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (124 reviews)
5 stars
92
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
3
112 of 124(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: akl88
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Review from a guy...(my first review on here)
 Date: June 8, 2013
Tags: ingrown facial hairs, dark spots, acne scars, roughness, uneven texture, radiance issues
"I usually don't write reviews, but I must say this...please get this for your partner / significant other / boyfriend / girlfriend / and YOURSELF! Now I know why Men's Health Magazine loves this product, because it WORKS!
I have used this product specifically for about a 1.5 years with mainly issues of tiny red bumps on my face from shaving and while also trying to get rid of my acne scars from previous occasional breakouts. I use this immediately after cleansing my face (Never a Dull Moment cleanser), but never after a shave (it stings), so I use this on days when I'm not shaving my face. To this day, my face feels extremely smooth, my acne scars are almost gone, and I noticed my face has a nice glow to it. I noticed my facial hair has gotten easier to shave and I don't deal with any redness post shaving. Another bonus...I rarely have breakouts now. Use this in combination with Modern Friction for a great duo to fight acne scarring, and uneven texture.
If you are wondering about price, let me break it down to you...you are paying less than a $1 per use of a disc. You use this 2-3 times a week, so it will last 4-5 months! Yep...just get it already!"
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Salam
Location: Kansas City
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best Origins Product
 Date: July 27, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types, post-acne scaring, problematic skin
"I have used many Origins products, trying to finally take care of my skin that I normally neglected, being a guy and all. I wanted to accomplish few things with this, and had high hopes: smooth my skin texture, even the skin tone, and improve the overall clarity of my face. I have post-acne scaring, as well as some redness, and I consider myself acne prone. I'm also sensitive, but on the oily side. You can see why my skin is very demanding and, um, impossible. This product is absolutely effective. After cleaning, I use this as a "toner," and also as an exfoliant. It destroys flakes, absorbs oil, removes shine. It does leave the skin a bit more red, and also somewhat dry. The redness disappears in 30 minutes. I use a serum and a moisterizer afterwards, so I have no issue with the dryness. After 3 weeks of use (I used 7 pads in 3 weeks), my skin texture is smoother to the eye and to the touch. Evenness of skin tone significantly improved. Best of all - my acne-scaring, is, well...what acne scaring? This thing helped a lot to really reshape my face. A tip of advice, if your skin can handle it, rub the pad strongly on your face, focusing on the areas you want to treat, but rub it all over your face nonetheless. Don't just "wipe" your face. It doesn't do anything this way. I highly recommend this for someone with maybe more problematic skin, especially those in their teens and 20s-30s who really want to quickly but gently improve the overall clarity of their skin and shed away past skin damage. I know Origins has a lot of wonderful products, but if I have to pick one and only one, this will be it. I will not stop buying this. And it's amazing value at 40 pads - for what it has done, it's a steal! It's one of two essential pieces of my skin care that I will never stop using, ever."
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: HABAQueen
Location: Southern CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
What a difference
 Date: August 16, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin
"I started using this product about 6 weeks ago and what a difference! First off, I have been blessed with pretty nice skin, but I do a lot to keep it that way. Overall I have clear skin, but since my teens (too long ago for me to mention!) I've been battling blackheads on the side of my nose. I've used every product under the sun, but nothing would get those buggers loose until i started using this product. Twice a week I buffed away and like magic they are now almost all gone! I haven't seen a huge difference in pore size, which has been another one of my problem areas, but I'm willing to give it some time on that.
The skin around my mouth, nose and the outer corners of my eyes also look a lot more polished, so I think I'll be using this product for a long time.
Don't be scared away by the price. One container will last you 4 to 5 months."
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: designlover
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed...
 Date: March 16, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"I've been using this product for a few weeks now and haven't noticed...well, anything. I use it twice a week at night after I've washed my face.
I get no tingly sensation or redness to tell me if it's working. The pads are small and don't rub over the face nicely. They bunch up and drag.
I have yet to see a difference in skin tone, skin texture, or complexion. It's like I bought a dud or expired product, nothing has happened.
Maybe I need to use it for more than six weeks?
"
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Sparkplug
Location: TN
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Fading Fast
 Date: September 3, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"My dark spots are fading fast! After using about half of the pads in the jar, I'm seeing a more even skintone and honestly radiant skin. I have very sensitive skin and yet I've had no burning or dry skin as a result of using these pads. Honestly works better than a one hundred dollar prescription-only cream I purchased and better than a 180.00 spa facial. I would recommend this product without hesitation."
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: MarylandMom
Location: MD
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Good stuff.
 Date: April 4, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Oily Skin, Dry Skin, dull skin
"I was really unimpressed with this stuff the first couple times I tried it, so I went back on the website and read some of the reviews, one of which stated that you really had to scrub. She wasn't kidding. If you just apply this stuff, it does nothing, but if you take your time, go in cirles as per the directions and give it a little elbow grease, you'll see and feel results instantly. My dead skin cells sloughed off and revealed glowing, fresh soft skin underneath. My skin is very dry and dull and I didn't find it to be too harsh. Not sure how sensitive skin would do with this product as it does have a bit of a tingle to it, but I think most people wouldn't find this product drying. I follow with Brighter by Nature serum and Make a Difference moisturizer."
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: bbsam
Location: San Clemente, CA
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for combination/oily skin!!!
 Date: December 28, 2013
"These pads are amazing. I noticed a difference after my very first use of the product. I've been using the pads for about a month and a half (4-5x a week only in the AM). I have extremely oily, acne prone skin with very visible pores and some scars/dark spots, these pads have worked wonders for me.
I also cut the pads in half. When I used to use a whole pad, it still felt completely saturated after I used it. I don't think it lessens the effectiveness if you just use half a pad. Plus, you save money!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: lovebird11
Location: Portland, OR
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
leaves my skin even, bright and silky soft
 Date: November 9, 2012
"I am very happy with the results of this product. I don't use it according to the directions though. When I was at the Origins counter they told me to use very light pressure & to only use it once a week. When I followed those instructions I wasn't too impressed with the results. For some reason, the Origins customer service ladies seem to think that my skin wouldn't be able to handle it. If I use it more like 3 or 4 times a week and use more pressure in a circular motion I see results that I am very pleased with. And, despite what the Origins customer service ladies say my skin handles it very well. I have an even, bright, glowing complexion & my skin is so silky soft. I use the Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Advanced Face Serum afterwards and it soothes & comforts my skin. It's a great combination. However, I would recommend that each person use these pads carefully until they figure out what their skin can healthily handle."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Ceallaigh
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Definitely worth the money!
 Date: May 2, 2011
"I've struggled with acne and acne scarring for much of the past decade and have been embarrassed by the pigmentation the acne leaves behind. This product really helped even out my skin tone -- 6 weeks later the pigmentation is 95% gone. I also used the serum with the pads and feel like it helped speed things along. Now I'm just using the moisturizer, which feels great on my skin and leaves it looking dewy and glowing. I like that it comes with SPF and that it doesn't make my sensitive skin break out.
Best of all, people now are asking ME what I use on my skin because it looks so radiant! Thank you Origins!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: myrdaka
Location: Plymouth, MN
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Product
 Date: July 5, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"I noticed a difference after using this product only once. I have a few acne scars that lately have seemed to take a while to disappear. After using the Brighter by Nature just once I noticed a significant change in my skin's appearence. It was more smooth and even and my acne scars were almost completely diminshed. I was amazed! And the product doesn't dry out my skin or make it irritated either, which is a huge plus as my skin can be sensetive with some products.
Thank you, Origins for making such a fantastic product! I will definitely be a repeat customer for a long time to come.
"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: OriginsWoman
Location: Cambridge, MA
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Gentle yet Effective
 Date: March 20, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin
"I have just started using this product, but I already notice a reduction in the appearance of my frown lines and spots, and without any negative effects. This product is also incredibly easy to use -- no fuss, no muss. I am thrilled. I should note that I am a religious user of modern friction, so my skin may have been primed for this peel. Also, I rubbed the pad fairly aggressively in circular motions on my problem areas. It is pricey, but it works for me. I hope that it works for you, too!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: sarahsoo
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
May take a while to see effect
 Date: June 4, 2010
Tags: uneven skin tone
"Brighter by Nature exfoliating pads made an immediate improvement in the texture of my skin. Right from the first use, my skin felt amazingly smooth. I am using it twice a week - I skipped one use because I was out of town, and definitely noticed that the unveven texture started to creep back in.
But I wasn't seeing any improvement in skin tone or hyperpigmentation. I have hyperpigmentation, acne scars, redness, you name it. I've been using it for 6 weeks now, and up until the 4 week mark I was ready to post a review saying that it didn't do anything for my skin tone. But I'm glad I didn't review it too early because, looking back, I realized that I'd quit using concealer on my darkest spots after 3 weeks or so. Then I quit using foundation on my forehead (I am now just using it on my cheeks/chin/nose). Then I found that I was suddenly liking my foundation better - thinking that it was going on smoother and giving me more even coverage. This week I found myself looking in the mirror thinking "you know, maybe my skin tone IS improving!" It took me a while to figure out what was happening - but I finally got there!
I did start using a bunch of different products at the same time, and in the last week I added Modern Friction along with Brighter by Nature once a week. So, it's hard to say if all my improvement is due to Brighter by Nature, but I feel that it's definitely playing a big part!"
Review 13 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Hermione
Location: MN
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
my acne scars are fading!
 Date: May 5, 2011
Tags: discoloration
"First, I am going to give you some background about my skin because I like it when other reviewers do that. I am 17 and have had acne since middle school and it got really bad my freshman year (I'm a junior). I got my skin under control sophomore year with a ton of perscription meds and the redness went away, but then I went overseas for 6 months and ran out of everthing. My skin flipped out and then I had a ton of red scars, AGAIN.
I started using brighter by nature (moisturizer and pads) about three weeks ago, and my skin already looks so much better! The scars are fading quickly and I am very hopeful that they will be completely gone by my senior year (and senior pictures :) ).
Another great thing is that I haven't really broken out since I started using BbN. I have had a couple of small ones, but they have gone away really quickly, so not only are the old scars fading, I am not getting any new ones!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: kica
Location: Los Angeles
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Brighter by WOW!
 Date: June 23, 2010
Tags: Sensitive Skin, Dry Skin, exfoliating
"As a medium dark skin African-American woman,I love this product! It is NOT a skin lightener nor is it meant to be. I was introduced to it at a mini-facial event at Origins and noticed a big difference a couple of days later. So I then purchased this product to use along with my other fave Modern Friction on alternate use days with a break on the weekend. Because I have sensitive skin I only apply a little more pressure when using these pads and I make sure to use a heavier moisturizer afterwards. My skin looks so great I can't believe it. A guy actually wanted to know who my dermatologist was becuause my skin looks "flawless". HA! I haven't been to a dermatologist since I've started using Origins. In my humble opinion these pads work waaaaay better than the BBN serum. Dare I say my skin actually looks radiant? I dare!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: LittleSquirrel
Location: Michigan
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Cystic Acne Helper
 Date: April 19, 2010
Tags: combo w/ cystic acne
"Ok for anyone trying to help cystic acne (not pimples) and uneven skin this can be tricky to find. This one is making a difference in the appearance of the cystic acne and lightening my sun spots (just have a handfull). My cystic acne is from endometriosis. Use it vigorously and twice weekly. I do it Monday and Thursday only. This one blows away modern friction and the mango scrub too - for this cystic acne. It is shrinking and lightening the acne spots. It doesn't cure them, but very nice effect if you have a date or event the next morning/day. Nice perk to stumble upon! Thanks."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: tofuXFirm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Mini facial in a jar!
 Date: August 21, 2011
Tags: uneven skin tone, mini facial
"I always look forward to Saturday nights, the day I arbitrarily chose to use this twice-weekly skin peel. Through experience (with the high-potency night-a-mins night cream), I knew Origins doesn't fool around when they say high-potency, and I was correct to believe so upon using this peel for the first time. When they say peel, though, they actually mean textured pads that you wipe over your face. To give you an idea of how potent these babies are, I have to hold my breath and close my eyes every time I wipe over my face with one. The smell of fruit and plant alcohols is so strong that I almost feel intoxicated, and my eyes get a little bloodshot when I apply too close to my eyes. But alas, after a good exfoliation, and cleansing, my skin gets the best perk-up when I follow with this peel and continue with the Brighter by Nature skin tone correcting serum. You can stop here or you can add an extra dose of moisturizer (which I usually do), and in the end, I always end up with beautifully radiant, and smooth skin. It's the best facial you could give yourself, and it's so easy!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: Shanno
Location: San Diego, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
didn't notice a change
 Date: September 23, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"I had high hopes for this product after reading several of the reviews. I have one more pad left so I have given it a fair chance, but I have not really noticed any difference in the darker areas/spots on my face. I also used a bottle of the brigher by nature serum, then a bottle of the modern fusion serum, and with all of these products, no real difference. I would say that there has not been any progression in the discoloration of my face, which is good, but I had hoped for a more dramatic result."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: pri23
Location: Lincoln CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
In Love
 Date: January 21, 2011
"After having my three children my skin has been unpredictable the last 6 years. Unfortunately i have some acne scars and my skin has been looking dull. I read about this product and thought to give it a try. Its AMAZING! I have seen a huge difference in the appearance of my scars, my skin glows, and my pores look so much better with every application. I would highly recommend this to people."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: GeorgiaLady
Location: Warner Robins GA
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
My 2nd fave product
 Date: June 8, 2010
Tags: old
"I am really scared to see this product out and no delivery date-- I depend on it.
If you are following my reviews-- I'm 56 -- aging (yuck) and would rather put my $$ into retirement vs skin care like peels and injections. This product is 2nd only to my Modern Friction- and I use it on alternating days. My skin glows. It's truly made a difference. And I wish I could show you my 56 YO face."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brighter By Nature™ High-potency brightening peel with fruit acids
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Lisa7
Skin Type: Combination
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Natural Peel
 Date: March 21, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"So far I like this product. You need to use it in conjunction with other products, like Modern Friction. I use these pads twice a week, and on opposite days twice a week I use Modern Friction. My skin has definately become softer and more even toned. These peel pads seems to sink in and lift the dead skin and the Modern Friction scrubs it away."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>