Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8

Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
0
63 of 67(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Soultosqueeze
Location: Destin, Florida
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
 Date: February 6, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"I first started using this product in July of 2008 and have continuously used it since. I forgot to grab my lip balm before going to the beach, so I stopped at the mall along the way to pick one up. I normally think most lip balms are quite similar, but this one is far from the usual. Firstly, I like that it winds from the top instead of the bottom. It's easier to quickly bring more product up and the band is thicker making it easier to turn. Secondly, it has a wonderful minty smell. Not too overpowering, it gives the lips a refreshing tingling feeling, which feels great on hot summer days. It also contains SPF, which is important in preventing sunburnt lips. Onto the product itself, it goes on smooth and doesn't give a sticky or greasy feeling. It feels almost like there is nothing on your lips, they just feel smooth and soft. It makes your lips incredibly soft, especially if you put it on before you go to sleep. Beware though, when you use this lip balm it's difficult to go back to your cheap drugstore balm."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: LaveenAZ
Location: ARIZONA
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Lip Balm
 Date: August 21, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"This lip balm is soothing and moisturizing. It stays on all day. Better than the drug store brands. Its not waxy or sticky. It is FABULOUS."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Andy
Location: ROSEMEAD CA
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My Favorite
 Date: May 13, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"the is the best chapstick by far. its soft on the lip and it last long. i've tried other cheap and expensive brand but this one is my favorite."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Lexie
Location: New York,NY
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
I love it!
 Date: March 13, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"This product makes my lips feel great! It has a fresh feeling, and when I put it on it makes my lips feel clean, and refreshed!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: redjess
Location: CT
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
average
 Date: April 27, 2009
"It's just average chapstick-the only complaint I have is that it turns your lips white no matter how little you put on."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: MalePerspective
Location: Traverse City, MI
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best lip balm I've ever used
 Date: November 17, 2011
Tags: healthy lips
"Been using this stuff for years. From windburn to sunburn, this stuff returns my lips to health quick.
For those that require frequent applications, you're dehydrated; drink more water.
Cheers!"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: BigPores
Location: MA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent feel
 Date: May 7, 2012
"I just bought this about a week ago and am loving it. I ladore the minty tingle it has--feels freshening and love that it has SPF in it. Sad that I already lost it though. I brought it with me to a baseball game and must have dropped it from my purse. Will have to buy another one ASAP."
Review 8 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Winkerboo
Location: Denver, CO
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the minty flavor
 Date: April 24, 2012
Tags: dry chapped lips
"This lip balm really does do a great job on dry chapped lips. The flavor is great, nice and minty and fresh. My only complaint is that is is a bit hard, I wish it were just a bit softer."
Review 9 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: tookieclothespin
Location: Illinois
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? No
The best lip balm ever!
 Date: November 17, 2011
"This is the best lip balm I've ever found. It is not only soft and pleasant to put on your lips, it gives a little cooling sensation as well. It's not at all waxy and feels very light. It works well under lip color. It keeps my lips from getting dried or chapped in cold weather and has SPF 15 protection in all weather. What more could you want?"
Review 10 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: KrisC
Location: Northern VA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Very Light Lip Balm
 Date: May 11, 2011
"Most commercial lip balms leave my lips feeling really waxy and overdone; this lip balm is very light and it smells great - a vanilla mint scent that isn't overpowering. I couldn't give it five stars, though, because it does NOT last very long...I have to re-apply it at least twice as much as most other lip balms. My lips are dry but not cracked or drastically dry. At this price, I don't know that I'd buy it again for that reason."
Review 11 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: cymlover
Location: San Francisco
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
I really DO love it!
 Date: April 20, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types, chapped lips, dry lips
"I have been using this particular lip protector for years now. I love it because it ACTUALLY WORKS! I have tried other products for chapped lips and they cover the lips, but they don't really help with the actual chapping. This product really turns the problem around! I often buy more than one at a time and hand them out to friends, family, etc. I also appreciate that it doesn't have a bad taste, smell, or after taste. I highly recommend it. This sounds like a commercial, but it's REALLY TRUE!"
Review 12 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: BrightEyes
Location: Georgia
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing for lips
 Date: January 21, 2010
Tags: very dry lips
"This is an amazing lip balm. It softened up my severely chapped lips significantly within 48 hours of beginning use. My lips felt good for the first time in a long time. I have been looking for a product like this for 8 years -- since I haven't been able to find my former favorite all weather all purpose protectant. The only downside to this is that it softens up very easily when kept in a pocket and then gets a little goopy when you apply it.
p"
Review 13 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: farmersdaughter
Location: Lafayette, IN
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
great for the beach
 Date: July 19, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"though usually don't have burned lips after going to the beach, using this Lip protector made me feel a lot better. It goes on easy and stays on, and doesn't make my lips feel funny. it also doesn't leave a white residue like some sunblock lip protectors. I wish the SPF was higher, but it's better than the no SPF I was using prior to this. It's a little pricey, but I'm willing to pay, since i mostly use it in the summer, and a little goes a long way."
Review 14 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: ArmyLiz
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best lip protectant I've found!
 Date: April 20, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"This lip protectant is perfect for everyday use as well as use in harsh environments. The minty flavor gives a fresh feel. This product not only kept my lips from chapping but kept them smooth in the harsh, windy, dusty, days spent outside under the blazing sun while deployed in the desert. This is the only lip protectant that could keep my lips soft and healthy under such skin hazards."
Review 15 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: AshC
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing
 Date: April 11, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin, Oily Skin, Dry Skin, All Skin Types, soothing
"I'm a musician so I need to watch what I put on my lips. I'm very specific on what I use and what stays on there because if I use the wrong thing (i.e. products w/ petroleum jelly or other chemicals) will kill the blood vessels in my lips and in the long run ruin my playing. I approve of this product. Makes my lips feel great and the SPF is an added bonus"
Review 16 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: livingxoutxloud
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Chapstick Ever
 Date: August 1, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"Before I found this amazing product, my lips would become dry and cracked all winter and nothing would help. Now, I use this chapstick all the time, every morning. It darkens your lips and moisturizes them. Sometimes in the Winter I use it more often. But my lips rarely become cracked and dry unless I forget to use it. I would recommend this product to anyone."
Review 17 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Jasmine
Location: New Jersey
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Lip Balm
 Date: April 20, 2009
Tags: Combination Skin
"This lip balm is my HG. I have tried so many lip care products, and this is by far the best. It is very moisturizing and not giving you a shiny look. It has a cooling touch when you put in and you will feel your lip is saved from heat. I always recommend this to my friend. The price is good too. Tube is also eays to carry."
Review 18 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: WowPilates
Location: Dry Colorado
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for a Man
 Date: April 20, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"I buy this for my husband and he loves this lip protector. He says he puts it on 1 to 2 times a day, and it does a great job. Actually his exact word was "Amazing!".
Keeps his lips soft and kissable, so it works for me too!
Would warn against leaving in the sun or anywhere too warm, as it gets too "goopy" to use."
Review 19 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Silverandgold
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Daily Lip Protector
 Date: May 23, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"This is an amazing product. I've always had trouble with chapped and dry lips and after I started using this, my troubles went away! I highly recommend it. It's also the perfect amount of flavor - not strong but enough to feel refreshing."
Review 20 for Cover Your Mouth™ Lip protector with SPF 8
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Dotti
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Summer time solution
 Date: April 23, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"This is a great lip balm for anyone, especially for me because I spend a lot of time outdoors and this provides better protection than just a regular lip balm with only SPF protection. Its so hard to find lip balm with titanium dioxide and that acts as a moisturizer."
1 2 3 next>>