Origins Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic

Moisture-nourishing Organic Shea and Cocoa Butters plant a great big kiss of softness and smoothness to make dry lips feel great.
Average Customer Rating:
3.978 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
35 of 45(78%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: sz123
Location: Boston, MA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
 Date: December 14, 2012
"About six months ago I started using Origins products and since then I have switched over all of my makeup and skin care. I love everything else Origins, but I am so disappointed in this product. The other reviewers are right, the product goes on rough and grainy and never really is dissolved into your lips. There is nothing soothing about this balm. love everything else by this company, but this product needs to go."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: quicksilver74
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Takes some getting used to, but works great
 Date: March 13, 2011
Tags: really chapped lips, overnight moisturizing
"I have a very hard time finding lip products that truly help my dry lips. Given my great success with Origins' skincare line, I figured this lip balm was worth a shot.
I was initially very disappointed with the consistency of the lip balm. It was very dry feeling in the tube; like trying to put wax on my lips. I found, however, that friction is a girl's best friend and that once it began to melt, that this was really one of the best lip balms I'd ever used.
The lip balm smells great, lightly sweet, and stays put for a long time. It doesn't feel waxy, even though my first impression was that it seemed like wax going on. It cured my worse case of chapped lips (as well as my husband's! He's also a convert!).
My trick now is to put the tube in my pants pocket for one or two minutes before I put it on. It will then go on smooth as silk.
I'd give this a 5 if it was easier to apply. Once on, this is a fantastic product."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: KittyKat
Location: Novi, MI
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Try the Dr. Weil instead
 Date: June 27, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"The organic lip balm is fine. Just fine. It isn't horrible. Certainly isn't great.
For $15 a tube I require more than FINE.
The texture goes...wonky. It just isn't smooth. Leaves a matte finish on your lips, though, if that's important to you it's a benefit that no other Origins lip balm has. (It's not a cosmetic thing, just the way the ingredients turn out on your skin.)
And, like the organic face wash and moisturzer, it just dosen't DO anything except be made of organic ingredients.
For the same price (or less if you can get it in a gift set) try to Dr. Weil lip treatment with tumeric. That does something for your skin, tumeric aids in digestion, and it's still cruelty-free bees wax (which means instead of gassing the bees at the end of their productive season the bee keepers knit them tiny little sweaters and let them live out their lives and make wax again the next year)."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: rrbiswas
Location: cambridge, ma
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
tricky to use
 Date: April 20, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"this is a very nice product - however, my opinion is that it is overpriced. if used as is after storing the balm in a cool place, it is prone to causing physical damage to the lips. to use it correctly, store it in a warm place (kinda tough) or gently blow warm air on it from your mouth. this will melt the top layer and if done correctly, you'll be able to glide it effortlessly over your lips covering them with a thin glossy layer of oil smelling strongly of almonds. when applied moderately and rubbed in gently using the lips, this keeps your lips in great shape. immediately after applying it avoid eating or drinking stuff. during regular use, the lips might undergo some sort of periodic exfoliation."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: PerfectPriss
Location: Idyllwild, Ca
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Puffy Perfect Pout
 Date: May 11, 2011
Tags: Moisturizing
"This is a flat out wonderful lip balm. At first, It's hard and waxy but once you warm it up with your puffers, It's Consistency is Heaven. I live in the mountains and its dry. Between the fireplace on ALL the time and the weather this balm got me through the winter. It's almost gone yet im using a lip brush to scoop out the last bit.......Not to be wasted, It's more then I like to pay but It does a fine job at moisturizing .."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: JenC
Location: MI
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
I wouldn't buy it again.
 Date: September 16, 2009
"Unfortunately this was a terrible product. The balm was hard and I couldn't even put it on. Then when I left it in the car it completely melted. I am not sure if a bad batch of product was made, but not a good experience."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: mjm2011
Location: Pa
Skin Type: Dry
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smoothing lip balm
 Date: July 12, 2009
Tags: Dry Skin
"Worrks as well as a lip balm can work, I think. Removes chaps and cracks in your lips , all with very little additives.
The only negative I have is the price. $15 for a single normal size lip balm is expensive."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: natz
Location: Chicago, IL
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
2nd Favorite Origins Lip Balm
 Date: May 23, 2009
"Very good lip balm. I must admit my favorite is still Dr. Weil's Conditioning Lip Balm with Turmeric."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: EarthIsOfTheGreatestWorth
Location: Michigan
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Another great origins product
 Date: February 9, 2013
"I really like that this is an organic balm. It feels a little grainy when you apply it. It feels slightly odd, but almost a bit exfoliating at the same time. Left my lips very soft. Definitely worth the price."
Review 10 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Embellash
Location: Dallas, TX
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow!
 Date: June 10, 2012
Tags: soothing
"This is absolutely the BEST lip balm ever! My lips are overly sensitive and prone to chapping. This lip balm soothes and moisturizers wonderfully. I'll never use another lip bam again."
Review 11 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: kimsarah
Location: milpitas, ca
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Goodbye chapped lips!
 Date: May 30, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"So I went to my local origins store to originally purchase a perfect world moisturizer, and since I am so addicted to origins, I decided to give this a try. I've been using this for only a couple of days, but I know it made a huge difference already. I've tried several other lip balms, lip moisturizers from other brands, but none of them could compare to this one! I personally like how it does not make my lip super shiny, and just gives it that natural glow. It also keeps my lips moisturized for a long time so there is no need to re-apply it every couple of hours or so. I love this product because it does not give my lips that "waxy" texture like other lip balms. Highly recommend this product!"
Review 12 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: NaturalGirl78
Location: New Jersey
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great results, but expensive and lumpy
 Date: October 19, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"This lip balm works great to get those lips smooth and well conditioned. It's organic, so you don't have to wonder what you're ingesting when you put it on. I'm not sure if this product performs significantly better than say Chapstick, although you do not have to re-apply as often as other lip balms, as this product sinks in well.
The texture of the balm is waxy and lumpy when it's first put to the lips, but glides on after being warmed up by the heat from your lips. This happens about 2 seconds after you put the balm to your lips.
I got this lip balm as a free sample. I'd have to think twice before paying $15 for it."
Review 13 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Kuru
Location: Northern California
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this
 Date: June 13, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"I've been using this for only a couple of days, but I know it made a huge difference already. I've tried several other lip balms, lip moisturizers from other brands, but none of them could compare to this one!
Pros:
-does not make my lip super shiny, and just gives it that natural glow
-keeps my lips moisturized for a long time so there is no need to re-apply it every couple of hours or so
-No "waxy" residue like other lip balms.
Highly recommend this product!"
Review 14 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: AshC
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Good night lip balm
 Date: April 11, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types, Dry Skin
"I'm a musician so I watch what products I use on my lips. No chemicals or petroleum jelly products because it ruins your lips over time killing the tiny blood vessels which in reverse ruins my career. This product is awesome though. Stays on overnight and doesn't make my lips feel weird or dying for it like some others. I agree w/ other posts, it is hard to put on BUT if you warm it in your hand for a little bit it's totally fine."
Review 15 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: ErinM
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't Survive Winter Without It
 Date: March 7, 2010
Tags: Dry Skin
"I work on a farm, which means hours outdoors in cold windy conditions on winter days. This is the only balm I've found that really prevents chapping and cracking and softens my lips. Also it tastes delicious - reminds me of cookies. Other reviewers have said that the balm is hard and impossible to put on - this does happen when the product is cold. I just stick it in my pocket for a few minutes and then it's ready to go."
Review 16 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Firefly
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than expected!
 Date: June 7, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"Yes, this lip balm is a bit pricey, but it’s also extra moisturizing. And organic too! It’s rich and a little glossy when I first apply it, but it also sinks in pretty fast, healing my dry lips and keeping them hydrated for longer than most lip balms. The flavor is subtle--sometimes, I don't taste anything, and sometimes I get a light, natural vanilla taste. I love to put this balm on at night, because my lips feel so soft when I wake up!"
Review 17 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: mellodrone
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My favorite lip balm!
 Date: November 18, 2009
Tags: Moisturizing
"I have been looking for a lip balm that will keep my lips moist all night. I have sleep apnea and use CPAP therapy. With that comes dry mouth/lips. I apply this lip balm liberally at bedtime, and when I wake up in the morning my lips are still moist! I cannot say that about any other lip balm... and I've tried MANY. Some customers have complained that it gets too hard. I have not had that problem."
Review 18 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: beau1892
Location: Seattle, WA
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Not a fave
 Date: August 30, 2010
"I use many of the Origins lines and thought I'd give this a try. As other reviewers mentioned, it seems to have a short shelf life in terms of freshness. After a couple of weeks my balm took on a bitter, chemical taste. It does not hold a candle to the excellent quality of the Weil Conditioning Lip Balm for the same price."
Review 19 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: SliceDiamond
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great all-purpose chapstick
 Date: May 20, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"Title says it all...goes on smoothly, a little thick but not too much so, provides just the right amount of moisture without interfering with lipstick or tint. Stays on for a long time and doesn't melt in your bag. Totally unscented and unflavored, and doesn't give you that yucky throat feeling if you swallow what's on your lips. Great price and a great product!"
Review 20 for Soothing Lip Balm 97% Certified Organic
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: westborn
Location: Niagara Falls, ON
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product but pricey
 Date: April 22, 2010
Tags: Sensitive Skin, Dry Skin
"This is the only lip balm that I have used that works. Balm is supposed to prevent your lips from drying and chapping and this does exactly that, and lasts - not like other balms that you have to reapply over and over only to have them dry lips out. Four stars only because it's pricey but works incredibly!"
1 2 3 next>>