Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses

This extremely light, hydrating lotion with Hypsizygus ulmarius, Cordyceps and Reishi mushrooms along with Ginger, Holy Basil and Turmeric quickly yet gently soothes and penetrates skin for hydration and a calmer complexion. Best for sensitive, combination/dry skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
12
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
2
117 of 126(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: maggiesvineyard
Location: Charlotte, NC
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
One of the BEST out of the Weil line!
 Date: April 20, 2009
Tags: Combination Skin, All Skin Types
"I admit that I am biased to the Weil Plantidote products because I just love the entire line, but the Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion is my favorite. I'd say it's best for combination skin, but would probably work for all skin types, depending on how you use it (with other products, or not with other products). Oftentimes I use it standalone, and sometimes underneath the Plantidote face cream (I have an olive complexion and used to have the oily t-zone complexion, but it seems as I get older, it's not so much oily anymore). I think because I'm in this in between stage (of not being oily and not being dry), I always seem to have a breakout somewhere on my face....once one heals, another breaks out. After about a month of using this daily, I could really see an improvement in not just my complexion, but my skin as a whole -- it just seemed healthier. A friend of mine asked me what I was doing or using to make my face look so good, which of course I told her! I'll be using this one as long as Weil keeps making it :)"
Review 2 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: Salam
Location: Kansas City
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
I don't get it
 Date: July 25, 2010
Tags: hydrating
"The product is very confusing, as one reviewer had pointed out, and honestly I got it as a "lotion," didn't realize it was a toner. Actually the Origin's lady recommended it as a lotion, too. This makes it even more confusing. This is a *toner* - it's watery, and it's clear, like a toner. It does temporarily hydrate, and it smells nice and fresh, a lot like the rest of the Dr. Weil line. I'm just not sure what this is supposed to do. In fact, I used it for several weeks, and then stopped using it altogether, I can't I say I see or feel any difference in my complexion. Now, I didn't used to be a toner person, but I do understand why toning is important. Typical toners are meant to finalize the "cleaning" step by removing access oils and soaps, tighten, refresh, balance, hydrate, and some even have antioxidants to protect. This product refreshes and maybe a bit hydrates and balances the skin. Not sure how effective it is at what it little it may do."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: moohol
Location: Vancouver, BC
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
More than a toner
 Date: November 9, 2010
"I have combo-oily skin, but I had originally bought this when my skin was drier and going through some red and sensitive patches. It doesn't really function as a toner in terms of tightening pores and clarifying /removing residue. It does one better in my book. For those with sensitive, red, dry patches, it actually works as moisturizer and calmer. It really is very good at that, especially if layered under the mega mushroom face serum. Leaves skin soft and fresh. To my very pleasant surprise, when my skin returned to it's combo/oily state, it worked great a a moisturizer alone. It really is a remarkable product in my opinion, as I have tried literally hundreds of products over the years, and this does not aggitate (cause me to break out, feel dry or tight, become red or flaky) at all."
Review 4 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: morningangel513
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Opposite effect than what it claims
 Date: May 26, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin
"I purchased this product; Dr. Weil Plantidote Mega Mushroom Treatment Lotion, after using most of the other Mega Mushroom products and having food results.
This is basically a toner, even though it's called lotion. After cleansing your skin, you squirt some of this on a cotton ball (or whatever you'd use) and swipe it around your face. It's supposed to help skin's defenses to protect itself, but all it did was make the redness in my cheeks increase - which I thought it was supposed to tone it down.
I tried it a couple times, but just found it to be too much for my skin. Maybe it was the action of swiping a cotton ball on my skin that caused it, but overall I just didn't see any beneft from this particular product, and have returned it.
The rest of the products are great though!"
Review 5 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Ameenah
Location: Seattle, WA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Unparalleled Hydration!
 Date: June 15, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin, Dry Skin
"I absolutely love this product. I'm not a fan of heavy lotions or creams and was very weary of them when I first tried Origins. I apply this lotion with my clean fingers and I couldn't ask for a better lotion. It has a very light scent, it doesn't dry up and leave any flim on your face. I'm a big fan of natural products and the fact that this product includes Holy Basil and Tumeric just proves that it's good for your skin! Eastern traditions have used these products for beautiful, healthy skin for centuries! My skin is instantly calmed and I can honestly say that my redness has been improved upon immensly! Three hundred cheers for Dr. Weil!"
Review 6 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: cgirl
Location: Boston, MA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
a miracle
 Date: September 8, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"I'm in my 30s & have had regular breakouts around my time of the month for as long as I can remember. Plus, my skin was starting to look dull on my routine of checks & balances and clinique mosturizer. I stopped in to pick up checks & balances and the girl working there literally forced me to get the Weil skincare line and just try it- I could return it. New products generally cause severe breakouts so I was afraid. Right away I noticed a new glow to my skin. Now, a month later, my skin has never looked better. I did break out on my period, but it only lasted one day and I didn't put anything on it. It's a miracle!! So happy with this."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: FitFoodie
Location: Port Washington
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Toner, rather than Lotion
 Date: June 16, 2009
Tags: Dry Skin, Sensitive Skin
"First things first -- the word "lotion" for this product is a bit misleading. It is the consistency of water, and isn't a moisturizer, so I would call it a toner. That being said, I love this product. I use it every day as part of my skin regimem, right after using the Andrew Weil Cleanser. It helps keep my face moist and prepares it for the next step (the serum). Sometimes if my face is a little dry but I don't want a heavy moisturizer, I'll just splash a bit of this on to refresh and moisten my face. This one is a must have, along with the cleanser, serum and moisturizer."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Honeygirl
Location: San Francisco
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this!
 Date: January 15, 2010
Tags: Dry Skin, Combination Skin
"I am not a toner person and just viewed it as "another step" in my skin care. When the Origins counter lady introduced this to my dry and angry patches on my cheeks- I quickly had a change of heart. My face felt immediately soft and the dry patches gone. It feels very refreshing going on. I put a small amount on my palms and just pat my face and already I see a more vibrant me. My serum, and moisterizer that follow are all absorbed even more after using this product. It will last a long time. My husband has also been using it after he shaves and he likes it too!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Curly04
Location: Vancouver, BC
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Soothing Toner
 Date: August 19, 2009
Tags: Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin
"I have tried quite a few tonics of Origins and other brands and I love this Treatment Lotion. I have some breakout and redness on my face when I purchased it. The staff taught me to put the lotion on cotton pad and put it on pimples for 10 seconds before wiping all over the face. It really help calm the breakout and redness. Sometimes I am in a hurry (or lazy) and do not want to do a moisturizing mask, I just wet the cotton pad with this lotion and put it on areas I feel dry for a few minutes. It really is a great tonic for combination/sensitive skin."
Review 10 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Truly
Location: San Pablo, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Hydrator
 Date: July 6, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"I read reviews on this product before purchasing, and would have to agree the word lotion implies a thicker consistency, but it quickly hydrates my skin; more than any lotion has. So don't let this liquid potion get away from you. My preferred application is to put a few drops in the palm of my hand and pat it on versus using a cotton ball. The Plantidote Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion is great alone, but with it I found I now need only two drops of the Serum for my face and neck whereas before I needed at least 3-4 drops."
Review 11 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Firefly
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Soothing for dry, sensitive skin
 Date: June 4, 2009
Tags: Dry Skin, Sensitive Skin
"This treatment lotion does make my skin feel comfortable and a bit more moisturized. And it doesn’t make me break out, like some other products. However, it’s a little too moisturizing for me to use as a toner, but a little thin to use alone as a regular moisturizer. My skin is sensitive, but not really red, so I haven’t really noticed that it has too many benefits for me, other than feeling nice. But even though this doesn’t suit me, I’d definitely recommend it as the perfect tonic for someone with dry, sensitive skin!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: CJ56
Location: Edgewater, NJ
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product - Problem Cap
 Date: October 4, 2009
Tags: Sensitive Skin, All Skin Types
"This is the best lotion - and I've tried EVERYTHING for hyper-sensitive allergy skin, in the world. At 56 I'd pretty much given up on ever finding any skin products that wouldn't harm my skin, but I
ordered Plantitude lotion, along with the other complimentary products. What an amazing surprise! Mt skin is clear and no red dry patches around my eyes or anywhere else. Also no oily areas.
The ONLY problem is the cap, which isn't designed for this type of lotion. It needs a pump instead. I lose a little each time I use it.
"
Review 13 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: PlantationBoomer
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great alternative to basic toners
 Date: April 20, 2009
Tags: Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin
"I have used Origins Toners for years, and when they recently updated and renamed their products, I asked my skincare specialist which would be right for me. After describing my skin's sensitivity, my satisfaction with all of Dr Weil's line, and the fact that I find most moisturizers too heavy, she recommended that I build this treatment lotion into my skin care regimen. It's perfect for me! I use after cleansing, before applying my serum and lotion. My skin is cleaner, smoother and refreshed!"
Review 14 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Pamelah
Location: Sacramento, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Product
 Date: December 14, 2010
Tags: skin conditioning
"I received a full size bottle of this accidentally instead of my order. Customer service said to just keep it so I started using it and I have to say my skin feels softer than before. I am 51 years old and have the large pore syndrome. This has softened my pores dramatically. I had some noticeably dry patches of skin that are now gone! I apply it twice a day using a cotton pad and would expect this to last 3+ months or more.
I do recommend this and will probably buy more when I runs out.
"
Review 15 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: allamb
Location: PA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
great toner
 Date: December 28, 2010
"I bought the Dr. Weil's cleanser, toner, serum, and moisturizer. I took back the cleanser and moisturizer, I did not like them at all. I kept the toner and serum and use them together at night. The toner has wonderful ingredients and works well as does the serum. I combine products for my night time cleansing--Never a dull moment wash, Dr. Weil's toner and serum, followed by Night-a-mins eye and face. My Origin's sales lady recommended it and it works great."
Review 16 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: alita
Skin Type: Sensitive
Recommend to a friend? Yes
If you have eczema, this is definitely for you!
 Date: March 23, 2010
Tags: Sensitive Skin
"I use to have really severe eczema that spread to my face, and after it healed I was left with horrible inflammation problems from time to time. This stuff totally controlled the inflammation I suffered and toned my skin; it even helped tone down a few scars I had from my breakouts! It's great because I don't have to rely on prescription ointments as much anymore for my flare-ups. Definitely worth the purchase if you're looking for an eczema-friendly toner!"
Review 17 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Originsglutton
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: January 17, 2011
"I just bought this because the Origins sales associate thought it was the best product that Origins had. Everyone keeps calling it a toner, but it's a treatment lotion that you put on right after you wash your face and before you put your moisturizer on. She also suggested putting it in a spray bottle and spraying it on your face, because using a cotton ball wastes a lot of the product. I'm excited to add this to my Origins regimen!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: KeepinItGreen
Location: Oregon
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best tonic ever!
 Date: June 3, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"I've been using Plantidote Treatment Lotion ever since the product was launched and I love it so much! It soothes my skin, diminishes redness, and is very refreshing. It is pricier than other tonics/toners I've used, but the bottle lasts several months and is well worth the extra money. It is one of my favorite facial products and I've even used it on bug bites--a quick dab relieves itchiness and inflammation!"
Review 19 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: PaperGhost
Location: New York
Recommend to a friend? Yes
True Love
 Date: May 14, 2009
"This is my favorite Origins Product I've ever used and that's pretty hard considering I love every other product Andrew Weil has created. I put a small amount in my palm and pat on my face with my fingers. I used the cotton balls at first but they absorbed the product too much. It makes my face so smooth and calm feeling. It gives me a brighter and refreshed appearance. I'm so in love with this product!"
Review 20 for Mega-Mushroom Treatment Lotion To optimize skin's defenses
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: enlightened1
Location: New Jersey
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Exactly What I Needed
 Date: January 25, 2010
Tags: Dry Skin, Sensitive Skin
"I have been using the Weil serum, cream, cleanser & mask. This lotion is the perfect additon to these products. It is great after hair removal and anytime else to help calm skin and add hydration. I have been having sensitivity and redness due to the winter weather and stress and adding this lotion to my skin care routine has helped my skin be more comfortable and have less redness."
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>