Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint

Gently foaming cleanser with Saw Palmetto and Mint helps clear pores, eliminate excess oil and reduce shine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.575 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(146 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (146 reviews)
5 stars
116
4 stars
13
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
6
135 of 146(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Bethany79
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My skin is sighing in relief!
 Date: April 12, 2014
Tags: sensitive acne prone skin
"Sorry in advance for the long review folks.
I have been actively fighting acne for 12 years now. I have highly reactive skin, and every acne treatment has broken me out worse while the gentler products do nothing. For 12 YEARS I have dealt with having at least 3 cystic bumps on my face at all times that take at least 2 months to clear up. When you add in all of the hyper pigmentation that my face has collected over the years, you can only imaging how much of a mess my skin is. Makeup won't even cover it anymore.
Last week I held back tears as I overheard a customer at my work that was a police officer tell his wife that I was a meth head. He actually made eye contact with me so intensely that I think he was seeing if my pupils were dilated. A friend has been encouraging me to check out Origins for months, and I finally went after work that night. I'm test driving the whole zero oil line- which is shocking, because I've always been too nervous about breaking out to ever introduce more than one product per month to my skin routine.
Day one- I tried the cleanser- and it actually relieved the itchiness in my active cysts- I could actually FEEL my skin sighing.
Day two- I added the toner because my skin loved the cleanser so much, still no reactions!
Yesterday, I started using the samples I was given of the spot remover pads, moisturizer, and they also recommended that I try smarty plants CC cream as a day moisturizer/make up primer.
It's only day four now- but still no reactions. I have 1 cyst left, that is getting smaller every day. I have had a couple of tiny pin sized white heads that have popped up in the last couple days, but start to disappear the same day. My skin always purges with a new product, but that's such a minor purge that I'm not even concerned about it. The darker hyper pigmentation marks are still there, but the lighter ones are almost completely gone!
I took my teenage daughter to dinner last night, and she leaned over mid meal and whispered to me "that guy was just checking you out until he saw your wedding ring"! Woo hoo- I needed that! :)
Thank you Origins! You have helped someone that many doctors, dermatologists, and skin estheticians never could, and I will always be more grateful than you will ever know."
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: drsmiley22
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
EDTA
 Date: April 3, 2013
"If not for the EDTA ingredient I would recommend the product. I have used Origins products for many years and rave about them to family and friends, so the fact that EDTA was included in the formulation of this product is disappointing. I would however highly recommend the facial cleanser "Checks and Balances"- hands down the best cleanser on the market. Origins please consider reformulating this product."
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: verygerman
Location: Austin, TX
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE LOVE
 Date: September 14, 2010
Tags: acne-prone skin, blemishes, blackheads, sensitive, oily
"I love this cleanser! I have oily, sensitive, blemish prone skin and this truly removes all impurities without stripping my skin. I first was using the Checks and Balances cleanser because I was convinced that I was causing more harm to my skin using more "acne targeted" products, but I never felt like it really cleaned my skin, though it smells great! Ever since I've swtiched to Zero Oil, my skin has improved dramatically without that dramatic approach which usually leaves me red and irritated. I love how gentle yet effective this cleanser is, and thankfully it does not have that mediciney fragrance that you usually find with acne cleansers. I also want to mention how I appreciate the consideration of not putting the words "ACNE" on the front of your products. For me, this was a major plus. I am already embarrassed with my occassional skin breakouts that having it written on a product that others will view daily (ie: my boyfriend) was something that always bothered me. Thank you Origins for giving us who struggle with "adult acne" a cleanser that is good for both me and the world we live in."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Britt93
Location: California
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good!
 Date: July 22, 2014
Tags: Oily Skin, Combination Skin, acne-prone skin, makeup removal
"I am giving this 5 stars for good reasons but it is really more like 4.5 because it has helped in the long run, yay, but it took a while for my skin to take to it. Firstly, it does a great job removing makeup. Secondly, it smells nice and it feels good on the skin. It doesn't over dry but certainly your skin feels matte to the touch. It has helped, along with the toner, to make my skin less oily, but, it took a bit of time. Like a 3-4 weeks. A little definitely goes a long way which is great."
Review 5 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: LydiaB
Location: Washington, DC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
 Date: July 15, 2014
"This product truly works IF you have very oily skin. If you have semi-oily skin it may display a chalky/ash look in the cup area; however, you can use the Zero Oil Toner for restoration. I have been an advocate for this product and it has exceeded my expectations. The best product ever and not harsh on your skin. Normally, I would have to wash my face 4-5 times a day. Since using this product (2 weeks) I am down to 1-2 times of day when wearing make-up. Without make-up, it's once a day. That's awesome!!!!!"
Review 6 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Smile4Sha
Location: Dallas
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing!
 Date: July 14, 2014
"I luv this product!!! it works instantly! My face started clearing up immediately."
Review 7 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Veronica478
Location: Bay Area, California
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
10+++++ STARS !!
 Date: July 3, 2014
"I just received my tube and this stuff is AWESOME! I saw a major difference right away. My pores were gone or disappeared.
This stuff is a must and with my Origins frothy Checks and Balances, even better! I will DEFINITELY stock up on this stuff. My face glowed then I followed it with my new Origins moisturizers fixes.
You have to try this SERIOUSLY! You will not be disappointed when you look in the mirror.
:)"
Review 8 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: MsSatisfied
Location: Texas
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally Satisfied
 Date: September 21, 2010
Tags: oily acne-prone
"I have adult acne with really oily skin. I have used several different skin care lines over the years and have not been satisfied at all.
I saw this line in a store and decided to try it and I am so glad I did. I have been using this line for close to 2 months and have not had any major breakouts like I usually do and my oil has decreased. I have also noticed that my skin looks healthier and more even-toned. I love that it doesn't have a medicated smell and it takes only a drop of cleanser to cleanse my face and take ALL of my makeup off at night. My face feels refreshed and has a really clean feeling. It doesn't feel dry or feel like it isn't clean enough.
I highly recommend this line along with the toner and moisturizer!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: KristaE
Location: St. John's, NL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Not for oily skin
 Date: July 2, 2014
"This cleanser did not work on my oily skin. Checks and balances works way better at removing the oil buildup on my skin."
Review 10 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: myrdaka
Location: Plymouth, MN
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Cleanser!
 Date: July 5, 2010
"I have acne prone skin and have literally tried almost every acne product out there on the market. The other products either work for a month or two or don't work at all. I honestly thought that living with acne was just something I would have to come to accept and learn to live with.
Then I went to a Origins store at a local mall and the lady there recommended the Zero Oil line to me. I bought the cleanser, toner, and moisturizer and have been using them now as directed for over a month. I can't even believe how much of a difference this product line has made in my skin care.
The Zero Oil Cleanser is extremely gentle yet very effective. My face isn't the least bit dry or irritated after using it. When I use the toner after cleaning my face with the Zero Oil cleanser, there is no leftover makeup residue on the cotton ball. I have never used a product that could do that! My face isn't shiny halfway throughout my day either and that in and of itself is a miracle.
Thank you Origins for such a great product that actually does what it is supposed to do. I would recommend the Zero Oil line to anyone!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: MG13
Location: Peoria, IL
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
caused MAJOR breakouts!
 Date: September 17, 2010
"I have combo/oily/sensitive skin and when this first came out I was really excited to try it. I bought the whole line, face wash, tonic and lotion. The face wash caused me major havoc as my skin started breaking out like crazy. I think it was to harsh for my skin. I switched back to Checks and Balances and continued to used the tonic and lotion and my skin went back to normal. My skin has never had ZERO OIL either from any of these Zero Oil products. They all have been a disappointment for me."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: nogginM
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Cleanser
 Date: June 24, 2010
Tags: daily cleansing, oil
"I thought the smell of it might be revolting but it isn't. It has a unique smell. As for reducing oil, it seems to a little. I like the cool, fresh feeling it gives you. I've used the Checks and Balances, Never a Dull Moment, and A Perfect World facial cleansers and Zero Oil is my favorite."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: susieqmakeupdiva
Location: Brick, NJ
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best new cleanser
 Date: June 8, 2010
Tags: Oily Skin
"I've been using this cleanser for a week and have seen a big difference in my skin. It looks brighter, feels cleaner and refreshed --not dry. It has cleared up some blemishes. My skin never looked better. Thanks origins for a great cleanser!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: angelswings
Location: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Zero Oil Face Wash
 Date: June 16, 2014
"This product was ok. Maybe its just not for me and my skin. My face can be very oily at times and it seemed to me this made my face oilier. I did receive a free sample of Checks and Balances and loved it so I ordered that. That product is great!"
Review 15 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: als43
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product for oily skin, poor packaging
 Date: May 23, 2014
Tags: Oil Control, Combination Skin
"I love this face wash! It is the only face wash that I have used that keeps my face from getting oily. Usually almost all day long! I love, love, love it. The smell is not overpowering and is refreshing and clean. My skin feels amazing, like it can breathe! I have very few breakouts now. On the other hand, I have broken every bottle that I have purchased. Yes, I am clumsy...but none of the other products in my bathroom are broken! I literally had the bottles for a day or two before I broke them. I have to store them upside down propped against the faucet. PLEASE change the packaging!"
Review 16 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: PoweredbyNature
Location: Arizona
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Combination skin***Stay away from this one
 Date: August 5, 2011
Tags: very oily skin
"I love the Origins line but the Zero Oil Deep pore cleanser has been a complete BUST for me! I have combination skin that tends to get very oily during the summer months. Typically I use my checks and balances (which I love) but i thought I would give this one a shot. The 1st day its was ok and the next day my skins started feeling very tight and by the end of the day i was extremely oily. To say the least, my face broke out like a teenager. Would not use this product again. Maybe it works for very oily skin stypes but for me it was too abrasive and I ended up with a much bigger problem. Have since gone back to my all time favorite checks and balances!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Megatron20
Location: Houston, Tx
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Savior for my skin!
 Date: March 18, 2011
Tags: oil control/acne, clearing pores
"This face cleanser, and all the other products on the Zero Oil line has been a lifesaver for my skin! Washing with this, my face feels squeaky clean, any blackheads are diminished, and my pores even seem smaller! As a teen I always struggled with acne and turned to harsh products like Proactiv to deal with my acne, thinking they would be the only solution. After years of using proactiv, my face looked and felt awful with no clear improvement in my acne. I decided to go out on a limb and try this product and I'm so glad i did! Not only did it help clear up my face and control my oily areas (even in humid Houston summers), my face has never looked healthier. Thanks Origins!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: Jenny18
Location: Chicago
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Not as Good as Get Down
 Date: January 5, 2011
Tags: Oily Skin
"I used Get Down for many years and LOVED it. When i found out they discontinued it I bought as many as I could through gone but not forgotten. They are now out as well. By suggestion of the origins consultant I tried ZeroOil. I found it to be no where as good as Get Down. I will say that it does keep the oil down but my pores are not as clean and my face does not feel as clean. The smell is also a deterrent.
I have also tried Checks and Balances with no luck.
The origins sales person suggested that i use it with an exfoliator but I never needed an exfoliator with Get Down. I'm sorry to say that unless they bring back get down I will have to find another brand."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: samwise
Location: Omaha, NE
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Zero Oil...really
 Date: September 22, 2010
Tags: oily to acne prone skin
"I tried this product after looking over all the reviews & talking to the Origins rep. I have really oily skin & always have to load up on powder to fight away the shine & excess oil during the day. This product worked amazing! I contiued to use all the same products however I didn't get that gross oily feeling after an hour or two. I would highly recommend if you have oily to acne prone skin. This product really works and doesn't dry you out, just remember to moisturize and you are good to go."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Zero Oil™ Deep pore cleanser with Saw Palmetto & Mint
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Amerith
Location: Lake Tapps, WA
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well
 Date: May 22, 2013
Tags: oily, acne prone
"My skin is oily, moisture dry, and sensitive. I tend to break out with deep zits that take weeks to heal. This product line is amazing. I have fewer breakouts and when I do break out the zits heal faster. It doesn't dry out my skin and it doesn't feel like residue is left over. A little bit goes a long way but it is clear and has a thin gel consistency so it is easy to squeeze out too much."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>