Top Rated Product

Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion

Gently removes sluggish cells, uneven patches and surface skin damage. Mops up free radicals. Refines, polishes and smoothes without the irritation. Best for all skin types
Average Customer Rating:
4.656 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(241 Reviews) 231
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (241 reviews)
5 stars
194
4 stars
27
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
4
229 of 241(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Real results, if used a certain way
 Date: June 12, 2011
Tags: microdermabrasion-like results, brightening, spa-quality treatment, all skin types except very sensitive
" Ok, so here's the scoop: this product can give you microdermabrasion like results, if you use it properly. You don't need to use much--about three pea-sized drops, one for the chin area, one for the cheeks, and one for the forehead. Do this after cleansing, preferably out of the shower. Massage the exfoliant into the skin, distribute evenly over face and neck, then add a splash of hot water and really work it into a lather. The rice granules will exfoliate, but the true exfoliation comes from the lemon oil in the cream itself. Work to really massage the lather into the skin for about a minute or two, then rinse off with several splashes of warm water, continuing to work the lather. The texture of your skin will be vastly improved if you use the product in this way. Don't do it in the shower and don't use excess product. It is VERY concentrated. If used as described above, it is one of the best exfoliants on the market, guaranteed. You'll see brightening, a firmer, smoother skin surface, and the subsequent skincare products used will sink in like a dream. "
37 of 37 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Stuff
 Date: April 25, 2011
Tags: pore cleanser
" I am an adult male who is particualrily hard on my face; it gets oily rather rapidly and I tend to rub sweat off it a lot with my hands throughout the day, so I used to have clogged, and quite large pores on my face. Once I started using Modern Friction, it was like someone literally sucked out all that gunk out of my pores and they started shrinking (it must be the dermabrasion stuff you can feel it taking off the dirt), and that was on the first day of usage. They recommend only using this stuff once or twice a week, but my face is not sensitive, so for the first week I used it everyday, again like I said hard on my face, and then I switched off to every other day and started to use their normal face soap (no dermabrasion) the days in between. It seems to work, but when it gets hotter out here in SO CAL, I may go back to everyday. My only regret is that before their store closed in the mall, I didn't order a vat of this stuff. But now online I can.
One tip for usage: For max results I used it before I got into the shower and rinsed it off. If I use any water with it prior to putting it on my face, I feel the dermabrasion gets broken down and it feels more like soap than scrub, but for more sensitive skin you may need to add a tad bit of water to it. I have used other products in the past, but this is truly the best.
"
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: SF
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Product
 Date: April 10, 2013
Tags: smoothing, renwewing, refreshing, line minimizing
" This is a great product! I was skeptical at first because the cost is much greater than your standard scrub, but the difference in effectivenessis truly incredible. Typically, scrubs remove dead skin and soften the skin, but only temporarily. In the past I have noticed that my skin feels rough again as soon as a couple hours later. This product has lasting effects so you do not need to use it often. it does not irritate and really delivers. It helped soften the appearance of my forehead lines and acne chin scars. My boyfriend commented how my skin glowed! BUY THIS! "
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Phoenix AZ
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best scrub I've ever used!
 Date: July 11, 2013
Tags: anyone
" Over the years I've used many scrubs, but I've never used one as wonderful as Modern Friction. This scrub has actually gotten deeper than other scrubs and removed debris under my skin that had been there for years.
You have to be VERY careful to make sure not to get any in your eyes when rinsing it off. I do the dry portion for about 90 seconds, then jump in the shower, making sure my eyes are tightly closed and then rinse off. My face feels like silk afterwards. Then I immediately apply the Brighter by Nature serum. In the morning, my skin looks fresh and even-toned. The tube is large and I only use about a teaspoon's worth for each treatment, so I'm guessing the tube will last at least 6 months. VERY pleased with this product.
"
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: New York, NY
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The beginning of a beautirful relationship
 Date: February 10, 2015
" It's time for me to get back to taking care of me -- after a very difficult (health wise) year I looked like I've been chewed by a cow. I desperately needed to go back to taking care of myself that way I've always have. This product was the beginning of bringing back my beautiful skin. It is delish, and easy to use and just after one use you could see the difference immediately. I might be going on sixty but my skin looks thirty again! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smoother Skin
 Date: April 30, 2015
" I use this product once a week. It has considerably assisted in gently smoothing out my skin. "
Review 7 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: April 14, 2015
" I am new to this product. I have been looking for such type products for 5 years and now I found it finally! I just used twice so far. Not know the affects yet... "
Review 8 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Parma, Ohio
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Magic!
 Date: April 2, 2015
Tags: combination/sensitive
" I've become an Origins' addict -:).
I receive a professional diamond peel every 8 weeks... I also have my own, in home, Diamond peel.... I'm so impressed with Origins, I decided to give this a try.... Magic happened! It felt so good and smelled so soothing I didn't want to rinse! No irritation. No redness! No bleeding! No $200 bill! My skin looks and feels amazing! Great for my combination skin... I will never be without this one!
"
Review 9 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Face feels so smooth and looks healthy.
 Date: April 3, 2015
" My esthetician suggested I get some sort of exfoliate and I love Origin products so I gave this a try. I was blown away by how smooth it made my skin. I use it twice a week (or so) to get rid of the dead cells without over-scrubbing/drying out my skin. "
Review 10 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: New Haven, CT
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Exfoliating Scrub
 Date: March 4, 2015
" Modern Friction is effective dermabrasion that leaves skin silky smooth. I use it three or four times a week. It's most effective if used on warmed skin to open pores, such as freshly out of the shower. Use the scrub on clean, dry skin, massaging small bits into key areas. Then wet hands with warm water and rub into a smooth lather. Then rinse. (Make sure to keep it out of your eyes, since this more than most Origins products truly stings.) Skin is smooth, refreshed and free of dirt and dead skin cells.
Freshly scrubbed skin is likely to be more sensitive to other products. In my experience, several of the acne treatment products (with salicylic acid) and most of the GinZing line may sting or irritate skin immediately after using Modern Friction, even though my skin isn't typically sensitive. Be discerning in your use and perhaps wait a short while to allow skin to settle before applying certain products. "
Review 11 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Colorado, United States
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Sauce!
 Date: February 7, 2015
" I've been using this (and other Origins products) for a couple years now. I have really dry skin, and it gets flaky often.
Now I use this a couple times a week on damp skin, it polishes away the flakes and I LOVE the lemony smell. I think it makes my skin bright and fresh looking.
Because I have dry skin, it's often dull and rough, I don't think I could use this on my face dry like some people do, but I splash my face with cool water, massage this is and give it a few seconds to "soak", rinse and follow with the Mega Bright SPF 30.
It's great! I'll be using this as long as they make it, and it lasts, I only need a pea sized amount for my face and neck. Well worth it.
"
Review 12 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Los Angeles
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Buy It!
 Date: April 8, 2011
Tags: Oily Skin, exfoliating
" Ok, so I originally got a 1 oz sample of this after buying some Origin products. After using the sample, I fell in LOVE and had to order more. I love Origin samples, I always find myself purchasing their products after trying their samples, but wish the samples were larger! LOL anyway back to the review.
This is a firm white creamy product with little granules in it. I believe the granules are made of rice, and this is used for the actual exfoliation. The product has a very pleasant citrus scent, lemony.
You apply the product to dry skin and massage. You can feel the little granules exfoliating. Then you wet your fingers and continue massaging. Once water is applied, the product actually lathers up with a slight foam. It then easily rinses off.
When using this product, I don't reccomend using a seperate face wash after. Honestly, once water is added and you lather, it becomes like a facial cleanser, getting rid of oil and dirt.
Personally, I have VERY OILY SKIN. I bet you never met anyone as oily as me! Even though this product isn't meant for shine control, it actually does control my shine! It is so strange in that it leaves my skin feeling soft and conditioned, yet at the same time reduces my oil for a while. I didn't expect this product to do that as it isn't advertised for this purpose, but I'm happy it does!
I also suffered from horrible acne in the past, and this product has not caused me to break out.
If you have super sensitive skin try a sample before purchasing, only becasue any type of exfoliation on sensitive skin can cause irritation regardless of the product.
My only complaint is that for 4.2oz, this product is expensive. It would get 5 stars if the tube was larger or less expensive.
My conclusion: Buy It! "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing
 Date: January 5, 2015
Tags: smoothness, moisture
" The most amazing product ever. If you want to get rid of dullness this is the right product for you. I use it about 2 times a week. the more I use it the clearer my face gets. I don't get acne as often & my spots are gone. I use this product plus all Plantscription line it has helped a lot. That now I only use the VitaZing™ SPF 15 Energy-boosting moisturizer. No need for make-up & I get a ton of compliments. I am 30 & have great skin, no wrinkles. "
Review 14 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Worcester, Ma.
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Modern Friction
 Date: January 4, 2015
Tags: removing dead skin cells
" I like to use Origins Modern Friction on my face at least twice a week. It is great for keeping my oily skin under control and it also makes my skin look healthier and radiant. "
Review 15 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Recommend to a friend? Yes
GOTTA HAVE IT!!!!
 Date: November 23, 2010
" I tried to use exfoliator before and it scratched my faces, left ugly mark for weeks. So I really affraid to try any kind of exfoliators, but one day i went to the mall and one of the sale rep introduced me to the modern fiction. I decided to give it a try. IT IS AMAZING. The bead are not harsh on the skin at all. I feel really so clean and extremely smooth after everytime i used it. I also tried on my bf's face. He loves it too. It work so well. I notices that 90% of his black head are gone. We are gonna continuos to use this produce. I have to say this is the best exfoliator on the market. Totally recomment to all of my friends and family members. You should give it a try too. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Want smooth, glowing, radiant skin?
 Date: October 21, 2014
" Yet another amazing Origins product! I received a sample of this from an Origins store at the mall. My skin is very sensitive and acne prone, so I was nervous about trying this product. But, one night before bed, my skin looked so dull and felt heavy so I thought, "Why not just try it?" I could not believe how amazing it felt!
This is the most gentle exfoliator I have ever used! It is just the perfect balance of exfoliation with smooth creaminess. I have started using it once/week (every Sunday night) and it makes my skin glow (literally glow!)
Just remember, you don't need too much! Just a little pea size does the trick. And don't scrub like you are washing away your face, just gently work it around your face and you will see instant results (and even better results when you wake up in the morning!) I recommend using this with Checks and Balancing Frothing Face Wash before and then Night-A-Mins moisturizer after.
If you have struggled with dull skin, your fight is over! Try Modern Friction. "
Review 17 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Baltimore, MD
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Will never be without this!!!!
 Date: September 7, 2012
" My husband and I both are completely sold on this product. It thrawts my breakouts and polishes my skin to prepare for the next steps in my skin care regime. I refuse to ever be without this, I use it at least once a day and have no irritation whatsoever and even have used it to spot treat potential acne, eliminating or minimizing the breakout every time. Thank you Origins for this product!!! "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
My face can't use this....
 Date: January 11, 2011
" I have sensitive skin and from other reviews I read I was optimistic this would be a product I could use for exfoliating and brightening my skin sans the harsh side effects. However, this product leaves my skin severely flaking and peeling for days, even if I use my Dr. Weil's moisturizer afterward. I tried it a few different times over the course of a couple of months, but it is simply too much for my skin. If you're fair complected and sensitive, you may find this isn't the best bet. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My New Exfoliater
 Date: November 21, 2014
" I've been trying to find effective products (an exfoliator and a mask) to add to my skin regimen that will work for my oily yet very sensitive skin. I'm always reluctant to try new products because I'm never sure how my skin will react to it. This product is very gentle and I saw a noticeable difference after the first use. I only use it once a week and will progressively increase usage (baby steps), but I'm pretty sure I've found my new exfoliator. "
Review 20 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? No
Too rough
 Date: September 2, 2014
" The product was too strong and tough for my dry, smooth, yet heavy skin. As I used it in the shower with a wet face, it initially was fine, seemed to clean off the caked lotion and humidity residue as I wanted it to perform. Then a few hours later my skin was noticeably shiny and dewy; very fresh-faced. I got immediate compliments and responses. Unfortunately just 30 min later, three hours from initial use, my smooth skin was becoming intensely dry, painful, tight and had never-before-seen visible sunken lines. I noted the lines where the exfoliator was initially placed on my skin. Very frightful!
I was required to put hand lotion (ug!) on my cheeks and chin (which is never dry!) to sooth then followed with Drink Up Intensive when I got home to repair.
As a new Origins user, I was surprised this was suggested to me in the store. I knew right away when performed on the back of my hand it was too tough. I might need to find the right moisturizer and choose a simple scrub cleaner instead. Too rough! "
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>