Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion

Gently removes sluggish cells, uneven patches and surface skin damage. Mops up free radicals. Refines, polishes and smoothes without the irritation. Best for all skin types
Average Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(232 Reviews) 222
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (232 reviews)
5 stars
185
4 stars
27
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
4
220 of 232(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Real results, if used a certain way
 Date: June 12, 2011
Tags: microdermabrasion-like results, brightening, spa-quality treatment, all skin types except very sensitive
"Ok, so here's the scoop: this product can give you microdermabrasion like results, if you use it properly. You don't need to use much--about three pea-sized drops, one for the chin area, one for the cheeks, and one for the forehead. Do this after cleansing, preferably out of the shower. Massage the exfoliant into the skin, distribute evenly over face and neck, then add a splash of hot water and really work it into a lather. The rice granules will exfoliate, but the true exfoliation comes from the lemon oil in the cream itself. Work to really massage the lather into the skin for about a minute or two, then rinse off with several splashes of warm water, continuing to work the lather. The texture of your skin will be vastly improved if you use the product in this way. Don't do it in the shower and don't use excess product. It is VERY concentrated. If used as described above, it is one of the best exfoliants on the market, guaranteed. You'll see brightening, a firmer, smoother skin surface, and the subsequent skincare products used will sink in like a dream."
27 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Stuff
 Date: April 25, 2011
Tags: pore cleanser
"I am an adult male who is particualrily hard on my face; it gets oily rather rapidly and I tend to rub sweat off it a lot with my hands throughout the day, so I used to have clogged, and quite large pores on my face. Once I started using Modern Friction, it was like someone literally sucked out all that gunk out of my pores and they started shrinking (it must be the dermabrasion stuff you can feel it taking off the dirt), and that was on the first day of usage. They recommend only using this stuff once or twice a week, but my face is not sensitive, so for the first week I used it everyday, again like I said hard on my face, and then I switched off to every other day and started to use their normal face soap (no dermabrasion) the days in between. It seems to work, but when it gets hotter out here in SO CAL, I may go back to everyday. My only regret is that before their store closed in the mall, I didn't order a vat of this stuff. But now online I can.
One tip for usage: For max results I used it before I got into the shower and rinsed it off. If I use any water with it prior to putting it on my face, I feel the dermabrasion gets broken down and it feels more like soap than scrub, but for more sensitive skin you may need to add a tad bit of water to it. I have used other products in the past, but this is truly the best.
"
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Phoenix AZ
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best scrub I've ever used!
 Date: July 11, 2013
Tags: anyone
"Over the years I've used many scrubs, but I've never used one as wonderful as Modern Friction. This scrub has actually gotten deeper than other scrubs and removed debris under my skin that had been there for years.
You have to be VERY careful to make sure not to get any in your eyes when rinsing it off. I do the dry portion for about 90 seconds, then jump in the shower, making sure my eyes are tightly closed and then rinse off. My face feels like silk afterwards. Then I immediately apply the Brighter by Nature serum. In the morning, my skin looks fresh and even-toned. The tube is large and I only use about a teaspoon's worth for each treatment, so I'm guessing the tube will last at least 6 months. VERY pleased with this product.
"
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: SF
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Product
 Date: April 10, 2013
Tags: smoothing, renwewing, refreshing, line minimizing
"This is a great product! I was skeptical at first because the cost is much greater than your standard scrub, but the difference in effectivenessis truly incredible. Typically, scrubs remove dead skin and soften the skin, but only temporarily. In the past I have noticed that my skin feels rough again as soon as a couple hours later. This product has lasting effects so you do not need to use it often. it does not irritate and really delivers. It helped soften the appearance of my forehead lines and acne chin scars. My boyfriend commented how my skin glowed! BUY THIS!"
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My New Exfoliater
 Date: November 21, 2014
"I've been trying to find effective products (an exfoliator and a mask) to add to my skin regimen that will work for my oily yet very sensitive skin. I'm always reluctant to try new products because I'm never sure how my skin will react to it. This product is very gentle and I saw a noticeable difference after the first use. I only use it once a week and will progressively increase usage (baby steps), but I'm pretty sure I've found my new exfoliator."
Review 6 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Want smooth, glowing, radiant skin?
 Date: October 21, 2014
"Yet another amazing Origins product! I received a sample of this from an Origins store at the mall. My skin is very sensitive and acne prone, so I was nervous about trying this product. But, one night before bed, my skin looked so dull and felt heavy so I thought, "Why not just try it?" I could not believe how amazing it felt!
This is the most gentle exfoliator I have ever used! It is just the perfect balance of exfoliation with smooth creaminess. I have started using it once/week (every Sunday night) and it makes my skin glow (literally glow!)
Just remember, you don't need too much! Just a little pea size does the trick. And don't scrub like you are washing away your face, just gently work it around your face and you will see instant results (and even better results when you wake up in the morning!) I recommend using this with Checks and Balancing Frothing Face Wash before and then Night-A-Mins moisturizer after.
If you have struggled with dull skin, your fight is over! Try Modern Friction."
Review 7 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: CA
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: November 6, 2014
"This product was recommend to me by the Origins experts.
They do know their product. I was pleased to find an immediate
improvement in my skin.
"
Review 8 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: 
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? No
Too rough
 Date: September 2, 2014
"The product was too strong and tough for my dry, smooth, yet heavy skin. As I used it in the shower with a wet face, it initially was fine, seemed to clean off the caked lotion and humidity residue as I wanted it to perform. Then a few hours later my skin was noticeably shiny and dewy; very fresh-faced. I got immediate compliments and responses. Unfortunately just 30 min later, three hours from initial use, my smooth skin was becoming intensely dry, painful, tight and had never-before-seen visible sunken lines. I noted the lines where the exfoliator was initially placed on my skin. Very frightful!
I was required to put hand lotion (ug!) on my cheeks and chin (which is never dry!) to sooth then followed with Drink Up Intensive when I got home to repair.
As a new Origins user, I was surprised this was suggested to me in the store. I knew right away when performed on the back of my hand it was too tough. I might need to find the right moisturizer and choose a simple scrub cleaner instead. Too rough!"
Review 9 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
lasting results
 Date: October 6, 2014
"i don't often find that when a product has instructions for use once a week that the results noticeably last more than a day, much less the full week. I can see and feel a difference in my skin for days after using Modern Friction. I have sensitive skin so combining this with the rest of my skin care routine (mega mushroom) is key. With that layering it's not too harsh and I don't have redness.
Love this and would highly recommend it."
Review 10 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Florida
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Modern Friction
 Date: October 11, 2014
Tags: good pore cleaning
"I have been using this Origins product for ??? YEARS!!! don't even remember how long.... absolutely love it, could not do without it!!"
Review 11 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Modern Friction
 Date: October 2, 2014
Tags: acne prone skin
"This cleanser leaves my face feeling clean and smooth."
Review 12 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Indiana
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
 Date: September 25, 2014
Tags: exfoliation
"Love this product and will continue to buy it."
Review 13 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Smooth, smooth, smooth
 Date: September 10, 2014
Tags: exfoliating
"I love how smooth & soft this scrub makes my skin, not to mention the glow it leaves. I use it 1-2 times a week and my skin has never been better--even my husband has noticed!
It does sting if you get it in your eyes & I can see it being too harsh for someone with sensitive skin, but for those of you with normal, oily, or combination skin--I highly recommend this product."
Review 14 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Louisville, KY
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice face wash!
 Date: September 2, 2014
"I have sensitive skin and mild rosacea. I have used this face wash for several weeks; it leaves my skin soft and smooth and does not irritate. Good stuff!"
Review 15 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: western mass
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
bring back tub
 Date: October 27, 2010
Tags: exfoliating
"this is a wonderful product...great for exfoliation but please bring back the tub....so hard to get all the product out of the tube"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Los Angeles
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Buy It!
 Date: April 8, 2011
Tags: Oily Skin, exfoliating
"Ok, so I originally got a 1 oz sample of this after buying some Origin products. After using the sample, I fell in LOVE and had to order more. I love Origin samples, I always find myself purchasing their products after trying their samples, but wish the samples were larger! LOL anyway back to the review.
This is a firm white creamy product with little granules in it. I believe the granules are made of rice, and this is used for the actual exfoliation. The product has a very pleasant citrus scent, lemony.
You apply the product to dry skin and massage. You can feel the little granules exfoliating. Then you wet your fingers and continue massaging. Once water is applied, the product actually lathers up with a slight foam. It then easily rinses off.
When using this product, I don't reccomend using a seperate face wash after. Honestly, once water is added and you lather, it becomes like a facial cleanser, getting rid of oil and dirt.
Personally, I have VERY OILY SKIN. I bet you never met anyone as oily as me! Even though this product isn't meant for shine control, it actually does control my shine! It is so strange in that it leaves my skin feeling soft and conditioned, yet at the same time reduces my oil for a while. I didn't expect this product to do that as it isn't advertised for this purpose, but I'm happy it does!
I also suffered from horrible acne in the past, and this product has not caused me to break out.
If you have super sensitive skin try a sample before purchasing, only becasue any type of exfoliation on sensitive skin can cause irritation regardless of the product.
My only complaint is that for 4.2oz, this product is expensive. It would get 5 stars if the tube was larger or less expensive.
My conclusion: Buy It!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Lovely scrub, once a week
 Date: August 12, 2014
Tags: gorgeous skin
"I am so glad that I jumped and bought this Modern Friction Nature's gentle dermabrasion. While there are so many scrubs in the market, this one is well-though out, rice starch is gentle yet effective. The creamy texture lathers beautifully. You only need a tiny little pea-size for it to work. It is for all skin types. You can use it once a week ~every other day. Its scent is subtle and neutral, you won't get tired of. Afterwards, skin feels great, clean, removed but not tight."
Review 18 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Bismarck, ND
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Effective Cleanser
 Date: August 8, 2014
Tags: cleaning, exfoliate
"The product is very easy to use and is very effective. I like to apply to dry skin and then pat on warm water. It foams up nicely and is not messy at all. I like the clean feel after using this product. It is a keeper!"
Review 19 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Bay Area, California
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Impressed!
 Date: July 17, 2014
"I got this little tube as a free sample and I was very impressed. Origins has me seriously hooked on their magic stuff.
I will definitely buy this although just a heads up be careful around the eyes, it stings a little. No biggie I really liked this magic stuff anyways.
I need to add this to my favorites list for sure - another keeper!"
Review 20 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Baltimore, MD
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Will never be without this!!!!
 Date: September 7, 2012
"My husband and I both are completely sold on this product. It thrawts my breakouts and polishes my skin to prepare for the next steps in my skin care regime. I refuse to ever be without this, I use it at least once a day and have no irritation whatsoever and even have used it to spot treat potential acne, eliminating or minimizing the breakout every time. Thank you Origins for this product!!!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>