Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion

Gently removes sluggish cells, uneven patches and surface skin damage. Mops up free radicals. Refines, polishes and smoothes without the irritation. Best for all skin types
Average Customer Rating:
4.641 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(212 Reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (212 reviews)
5 stars
170
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
4
201 of 212(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Drewsky310
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Stuff
 Date: April 25, 2011
Tags: pore cleanser
"I am an adult male who is particualrily hard on my face; it gets oily rather rapidly and I tend to rub sweat off it a lot with my hands throughout the day, so I used to have clogged, and quite large pores on my face. Once I started using Modern Friction, it was like someone literally sucked out all that gunk out of my pores and they started shrinking (it must be the dermabrasion stuff you can feel it taking off the dirt), and that was on the first day of usage. They recommend only using this stuff once or twice a week, but my face is not sensitive, so for the first week I used it everyday, again like I said hard on my face, and then I switched off to every other day and started to use their normal face soap (no dermabrasion) the days in between. It seems to work, but when it gets hotter out here in SO CAL, I may go back to everyday. My only regret is that before their store closed in the mall, I didn't order a vat of this stuff. But now online I can.
One tip for usage: For max results I used it before I got into the shower and rinsed it off. If I use any water with it prior to putting it on my face, I feel the dermabrasion gets broken down and it feels more like soap than scrub, but for more sensitive skin you may need to add a tad bit of water to it. I have used other products in the past, but this is truly the best.
"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: OriginalSkin
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Real results, if used a certain way
 Date: June 12, 2011
Tags: microdermabrasion-like results, brightening, spa-quality treatment, all skin types except very sensitive
"Ok, so here's the scoop: this product can give you microdermabrasion like results, if you use it properly. You don't need to use much--about three pea-sized drops, one for the chin area, one for the cheeks, and one for the forehead. Do this after cleansing, preferably out of the shower. Massage the exfoliant into the skin, distribute evenly over face and neck, then add a splash of hot water and really work it into a lather. The rice granules will exfoliate, but the true exfoliation comes from the lemon oil in the cream itself. Work to really massage the lather into the skin for about a minute or two, then rinse off with several splashes of warm water, continuing to work the lather. The texture of your skin will be vastly improved if you use the product in this way. Don't do it in the shower and don't use excess product. It is VERY concentrated. If used as described above, it is one of the best exfoliants on the market, guaranteed. You'll see brightening, a firmer, smoother skin surface, and the subsequent skincare products used will sink in like a dream."
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Oversixtyandfeelingnifty
Location: Phoenix AZ
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best scrub I've ever used!
 Date: July 11, 2013
Tags: anyone
"Over the years I've used many scrubs, but I've never used one as wonderful as Modern Friction. This scrub has actually gotten deeper than other scrubs and removed debris under my skin that had been there for years.
You have to be VERY careful to make sure not to get any in your eyes when rinsing it off. I do the dry portion for about 90 seconds, then jump in the shower, making sure my eyes are tightly closed and then rinse off. My face feels like silk afterwards. Then I immediately apply the Brighter by Nature serum. In the morning, my skin looks fresh and even-toned. The tube is large and I only use about a teaspoon's worth for each treatment, so I'm guessing the tube will last at least 6 months. VERY pleased with this product.
"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: skintastic
Location: SF
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Product
 Date: April 10, 2013
Tags: smoothing, renwewing, refreshing, line minimizing
"This is a great product! I was skeptical at first because the cost is much greater than your standard scrub, but the difference in effectivenessis truly incredible. Typically, scrubs remove dead skin and soften the skin, but only temporarily. In the past I have noticed that my skin feels rough again as soon as a couple hours later. This product has lasting effects so you do not need to use it often. it does not irritate and really delivers. It helped soften the appearance of my forehead lines and acne chin scars. My boyfriend commented how my skin glowed! BUY THIS!"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Abercrombie
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My Favorite Origins Product!
 Date: March 31, 2014
Tags: smoothing, exfoliating
"When I bought my first skin care regimen through Origins, my prime concerns were hydration & smoothing my skin texture & keeping my rosacea at bay. Modern Friction is by far my favorite product out of the few I have been using! I have sensitive & dry skin which feels tight & almost painful at times during the winter. After exfoliating my skin is only slightly tight & feels SO incredibly soft. I was thrown at first by the small bottle- but it has lasted eight months and I'm still using it! You only need a dime size to cover your entire face. I use this followed by Make A Difference+ Treatment Lotion & then Moisturizer. In the morning my face is so soft, my makeup goes on even & has a smooth canvas to work on the rest of the day!"
Review 6 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Butters
Location: Palm Springs, Calif.
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin sooooooo smooth!
 Date: April 15, 2014
Tags: cleansing, polishing
"Skin feels soft as a baby's bottom after using this facial scrub and it smells sooooooooooo yummy!"
Review 7 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: CherL
Location: Dallas, Texas
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product!
 Date: March 31, 2014
Tags: brightening your skin.
"Modern Friction is a terrific product. My skin was looking really dull so I remembered that I used to use Modern Friction regularly, something I haven't done is years. I ordered some, and after the first use I noticed my skin looked brighter and younger. So, I'm using it every week now and my skin just keeps looking better."
Review 8 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Dancer5
Location: Ridgewood, NJ
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Aromatherapy and Cleansing Skin Care
 Date: March 13, 2014
"This product smells so good - I feel as though I'm in a spa for a moment with it's relaxing and rejuvenating scent and effects. There is a gentle buffing ingredient that cleanses but does not dry the skin - I love the way it leaves my skin clean and refreshed after cleansing, ready for follow-up with my favorite facial moisturizer. My only complaint is that on-line it doesn't come up easily under "face cleansers", or "face scrubs", so I have to enter the exact name of the product."
Review 9 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Lillybug
Location: Florida
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: March 19, 2014
Tags: weekly scrub
"I have used this product for years and always makes my skin feel so soft and clean."
Review 10 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Jula
Location: Northern California coast
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Goodbye, dead skin cells
 Date: March 12, 2014
"Cannot do without a gentle dermabrasion to remove dead skin cells."
Review 11 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Carolyn13
Location: Bronxville
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Scrub!
 Date: February 22, 2014
Tags: body & face
"I first bought this scrub about 8 years ago after suffering from adult acne at 30 and paid the price with dark post acne spots. Combined with the Never a Dull Moment face wash and this scrub 2/3 times a week I am a new person. I know they say this is best for body but I actually use it on my face too! Even my teenage son and his friend love the facials with this scrub. I never go without it. A must try!"
Review 12 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: TheMakeupArtist
Location: CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Modern Friction
 Date: February 18, 2014
Tags: removing the yuck on your face
"Great product, not harsh on the skin, yet effective. Your skin looks and feels like you did get microdermabrasion."
Review 13 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: adry
Location: Seattle
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Gentle Exfoliator
 Date: February 16, 2014
Tags: exfoliating daily
"The product is gentle and effective. Not like any scrub I've used before where the product doesn't feel like it has sand in it. This is smooth and simple, and leaves my skin feeling polished but not stripped."
Review 14 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: JoMaGi
Location: Sedona, AZ
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Cleansing
 Date: February 11, 2014
"This product always makes my skin feel smooth and clean. I use it on dry skin and rub gently all over my face for about a minute then rinse. The surface of my skin feels new and revived."
Review 15 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Dest
Location: Tampa Bay area, FL
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Have always loved this!
 Date: January 11, 2014
Tags: gentle exfoliating, extra cleansing
"I've used Modern Friction on and off for a very long time. It's not too harsh and doesn't leave skin to abused or too dry. Yes, moisturizer after is a must but a good moisturizer won't undo the effects of Modern Friction.
It has a light, pleasant smell and leaves skin soft and very clean feeling. It isn't harsh, my face isn't red of flared up after I use it. It just feels extra clean.
Even though I tend to have dry skin, I live in Florida and the humidity and heat do tend to induce a lot of oil and sweat. I work in the yard a lot so that adds to it. Modern Friction is a must.
I had stopped using it for a few years but started again about a year ago. I saw a difference in my skin after just a few uses. It's definitely going to stay part of my skincare regime."
Review 16 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Kathln
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Magic!
 Date: January 20, 2014
Tags: exfoliating, smoothing
"This product really works! I was using the Clear Improvement mask for quite some time, and as much as I loved it there were some days that it would bring dirt to the surface of my skin. I was told to use Modern Friction afterward to be applied on dry skin to take away the remnants of dirt on my face. Holy heck did it make the difference! My skin has never felt softer or cleaner and I have this to thank! On top of that, the lemon that is used has been fading dark spots on my face! Best Origins product I have used so far. A little will take you a very long way."
Review 17 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: mayley
Location: Illinois
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect
 Date: January 25, 2014
Tags: dead skin
"This was good for my older dry skin. I just added the water like the instructions said. Easy to apply."
Review 18 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: dmvc
Location: western mass
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
bring back tub
 Date: October 27, 2010
Tags: exfoliating
"this is a wonderful product...great for exfoliation but please bring back the tub....so hard to get all the product out of the tube"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: BuyItOrNot
Location: Los Angeles
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Buy It!
 Date: April 8, 2011
Tags: Oily Skin, exfoliating
"Ok, so I originally got a 1 oz sample of this after buying some Origin products. After using the sample, I fell in LOVE and had to order more. I love Origin samples, I always find myself purchasing their products after trying their samples, but wish the samples were larger! LOL anyway back to the review.
This is a firm white creamy product with little granules in it. I believe the granules are made of rice, and this is used for the actual exfoliation. The product has a very pleasant citrus scent, lemony.
You apply the product to dry skin and massage. You can feel the little granules exfoliating. Then you wet your fingers and continue massaging. Once water is applied, the product actually lathers up with a slight foam. It then easily rinses off.
When using this product, I don't reccomend using a seperate face wash after. Honestly, once water is added and you lather, it becomes like a facial cleanser, getting rid of oil and dirt.
Personally, I have VERY OILY SKIN. I bet you never met anyone as oily as me! Even though this product isn't meant for shine control, it actually does control my shine! It is so strange in that it leaves my skin feeling soft and conditioned, yet at the same time reduces my oil for a while. I didn't expect this product to do that as it isn't advertised for this purpose, but I'm happy it does!
I also suffered from horrible acne in the past, and this product has not caused me to break out.
If you have super sensitive skin try a sample before purchasing, only becasue any type of exfoliation on sensitive skin can cause irritation regardless of the product.
My only complaint is that for 4.2oz, this product is expensive. It would get 5 stars if the tube was larger or less expensive.
My conclusion: Buy It!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Modern Friction™ Nature's gentle dermabrasion
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: JessVA
Location: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Very disappointing
 Date: January 6, 2014
"This product did absolutely nothing for my skin. It seemed slightly more harsh than similar products."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>