Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face

Cast an ethereal aura all over.
Average Customer Rating:
4.559 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
30 of 34(88%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: dmichael812
Location: Aston, PA
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Illuminates
 Date: July 28, 2012
Tags: illuminating
"A nice little product to give skin a natural glow without looking shiny. I use it on my cheek and borw bones and I really like how if illuminates with a natural glow. I bought the pink color which I wasn't sure about since I have yellow undertones I think it looks perfect."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Savana
Recommend to a friend? Yes
best highlighter ever
 Date: April 15, 2010
"I've been using this for years and it is still my go-to highlighter. Every once in a while I'll try something new that everyone is raving about, but am always disappointed and always come back to Halo. I use it daily on my cupids bow, cheek and brow bones, where ever the sun would hit. Its glows without sparkle or shimmer and is so natural looking. I feel naked without it. I'm sure they'll discontinue since I love it so much."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Gayle
Location: East Longmeadow, MA
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Time Machine
 Date: May 17, 2009
Tags: brightening
"This product is a must for aging skin. It returns a youthful luster with a completely believable finish. Never looks like make-up even when applied all over the face! I finally found something that trampled all over the dulling effect that time can have."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Deedlit
Location: Charleston, SC
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Highlighter for Eyes/Cheekbones
 Date: December 31, 2009
"I like this product because it is multi-functional. I can shake it up and use it as a highlighter for my brow over color or alone, and i use it to highlight the top of my cheekbones for a dewy look. Can be dabbed in the corner of eyes to give the look of bright, opened eyes, and mixed with eye color or moisturizer for a bit of shimmer. Ive had no problems with caking. Give it a shake and let the mica in it disperse for that shimmering quality. Ive had one bottle and use it almost daily in some way and it has lasted forever! Great purchase!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: DrFlo
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
One of my "must haves"
 Date: May 20, 2010
Tags: healthy shine
"I do not wear much make-up and when I do, I like it to look as natural as possible. I don't wear blush or any other cheek color. I began using Halo Effect several years ago and use it everytime I wear make-up. It gives a nice glow and people often comment on my skin looking healthy when I have it on. I use the pink color as I have very fair skin. I have recommended halo effect to many friends who use it regularly too."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: natz
Location: Chicago, IL
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Instant Illuminator
 Date: May 23, 2009
"I like to apply the Halo Effect in pink with the Pinch Your Cheeks in coralberry. Great combo and it looks like you were just in the sun."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Jessiface
Location: Austin, TX
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: April 25, 2013
"I love it. Looks like a healthy glow, and doesn't feel like make up."
Review 8 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: rtaylor
Location: Bay Area, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Natural Glow
 Date: August 28, 2012
"I really like this illuminator for the glow it gives off. Sometimes I will wear it with make-up but I like to wear it during the summer with out make-up. It gives off a healthy glow. There isn't a 'color' to it but it does give a hint of a shimmer for the Halo Effect."
Review 9 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: OhioGirl
Location: Ohio
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Insta-Glow
 Date: April 6, 2011
Tags: a wow effect
"This product is great. My bottle has lasted a long, long time (in fact, I should probably discard and buy a replacement - lol!) Applied sparingly and in the right places, I think this makes my face look young and fresh. I use a small brush and apply a small amount just below the arch of my brows, and a touch at the bow of my upper lip line. I think the brush makes all of the difference. I have small fingers, but even they don't apply with the precision of the brush. Finished with a small amount on the upper cheekbones, (I used my finger tips for this area) this product makes all of the difference.
Have fun!"
Review 10 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Coreyx
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Coreyx
 Date: February 4, 2012
Tags: every day, bone structure enhancing, fatigued skin
"Amazing product, but I did have a slight issue with the container. The portion is huge (which is awesome) but the opening is very wide, and it's rather easy to spill. Also, the glass is slightly fragile. I once dropped a bottle while freshening up in the bathroom at work and watched as glass and pink shimmer sprayed EVERYWHERE.
..I then bought another and had it overnighted to my apartment. Totally still worth buying."
Review 11 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: GreenRose
Location: Washington, DC
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Subtle glow, but a bit oily
 Date: March 13, 2012
"I have the pink potion and i found that this illuminator has a very subtle glow, and really blends well either directly on your skin, or after foundation. But I found it to be a bit oily, and i have had some issues with my eyeliners starting to smudge because of the oiliness. Overall a nice product, with a very natural finish and a nice glow!"
Review 12 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: TXDani
Location: Houston, TX
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE!
 Date: May 8, 2012
"This is seriously my new favorite product. I bought the new BB Cream from Origins (which I also love) and this is a great compliment to that. It gives a really pretty summer glow without being over the top."
Review 13 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Tuey
Location: Monterey,ca
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best glow
 Date: May 7, 2012
"Ive used other illuminators and this is the best natural looking glow you can get!! I love it , you can wear it during the day for a healthy glow or out at night to look positively radiant"
Review 14 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: lmneal
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Natural Radiance
 Date: January 24, 2012
Tags: a burst of radiance
"This is a great product. It looks natural and fresh on the skin. It feels weightless and it seems to last several hours (even without using a primer). I use the pink potion because I'm fair in the winter but even when I'm tan, the pink looks great! I'll certainly keep this product on my shelf!"
Review 15 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: alliesw
Location: Mississippi
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Healthy Halo Effect
 Date: January 29, 2012
Tags: radiance
"I recently purchased Halo Effect for the first time, and I must say that I never want to be without it!!! I am not a fan of foundation, so Halo Effect is the perfect balance for my skin. It's light-weight and translucent, and it makes me look radiant and dew-kissed all day!!!"
Review 16 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Rachshel
Location: Michigan
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: December 13, 2011
Tags: adding a glow
"The first day I used the illuminator i was complimented by a total stranger, " that I had beautiful skin". I used a small amount on my cheek bones."
Review 17 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: violetcat
Location: Milwaukee
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
love it!
 Date: January 9, 2012
"It really makes your face look dewy--I never used anything like it."
Review 18 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: Hillary
Location: Pennsylvania
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Just okay
 Date: August 23, 2009
"I didn't achieve the results that the other reviews claim to have achieved. If you apply it before powder, you cover up the shimmer. If you apply it after you apply powder, then it just makes your cheekbones look slightly cakey. I don't get much shimmer, and because of the caking effect, I am afraid to apply more than a little dab. I suspect it might be nice if you want to go sans powder. It smells nice."
Review 19 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: DesertRatCA
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great illuminator
 Date: May 2, 2011
Tags: highlighting, brightening face, younger look, fresh look
"I have been using this product for 3 years now. It is a must have in my make up collection. I love the way it brings out a hint of shine. I use the product on my cheeks and eyelids. It helps to bring out my deep set eyes."
Review 20 for Halo Effect™ Instant illuminator for face
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: kate24
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Favorite Origins Product BY FAR
 Date: May 15, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"When Half Effect was introduced to me, I HAD TO GET IT. I do not wear a lot of makeup... I always try to go for the natural look. This product is amazing for just that. It gives your face a glow without looking like you have anything on. I received many compliments from my girlfriends the first time I used it. Love, love, love, love it."
1 2 next>>