Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss

A barely-there formula colors lips just a touch and cooling Mint gives lips a tingly kiss
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
86 of 92(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: az
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Once Upon a shine
 Date: September 25, 2014
Tags: shimmer color and taste (it happens)
" The best lip gloss I have ever found!! heard they are discontinuing, really hope they change their minds! This is way better than the replacement product besides the packaging. Although I have always wish the once upon a shine was a squeeze tube "
Review 2 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Lipgloss by far!
 Date: September 15, 2009
" I bought this in Sheer Ruby. I've tried a lot of lipglosses and this is the best I've ever used. Despite how loud the color looks, it's actually very sheer with a hint of color. I am African-American with medium skin tone and it compliments my skin perfectly. Also, it's NOT sticky at all. It lasted over five hours. It might have lasted longer, but I took it off when I ate lunch. Excellent buy. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Syracuse, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Once Upon a Shine
 Date: May 19, 2014
" I LOVE this lipgloss and was sad to hear that it may be discontinued in order to make way for a new lip product. I own this in two shades: Bubblegum and Fruit Punch. Bubblegum is very sheer and shiny with a little bit of sparkle. Fruit Punch is a rosy pink and a little more pigmented than Bubblegum, but not overly so for a gloss. They are both slightly minty and really quite long lasting. I will definitely be buying more of these before they stop making them! "
Review 4 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: May 13, 2014
Tags: moisterizing, shine
" I love this lip gloss. It says on long and has a nice fresh scent.
Much better than other lip gloss I have tried.
"
Review 5 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Los angeles
Age: 19-24
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The best lip gloss ever!
 Date: April 4, 2014
" I have tried all of origins lip gloss and these are by far my favorite! They have a great color, they look great, and they really just give your lips a nice shimmer! I am definitely sticking with these!!! "
Review 6 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? No
I do not recommend
 Date: February 27, 2012
" I purchased the sheer fruit punch which turned out to be twice as dark as the thumbnail pictured. I found the color displeasing, as well as, the quality. I am a huge fan of lip gloss and have a wide variety of brands to compare this one. The color faded fast and the texture was sticky and unappealing. I am a fan of Origins, however, this is not a good quality lip gloss. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Just Perfect!
 Date: March 19, 2014
" This lip gloss goes on so smoothly and stays on for quite a long time. What I really like about it is that it blends right in with my lip color so that I don't appear to have put much on. I like that it is very natural feeling on my lips, unlike many other lip gloss products that Ive used before. I forget I'm wearing it! "
Review 8 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Wolfforth, TX
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, Specific Product
 Date: June 2, 2009
" I find this product best either as a stand-alone lip gloss or to slightly shift the shade of a lipstick you're not quite happy with. If you are just looking for shine, I would look somewhere else, because this can tint quite a bit. Also, the super shine wears off somewhat quickly, but it keeps the color and your lipstick (if you're wearing it underneath it) in place for a long, long time. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT, but....
 Date: October 18, 2009
" Well, my favorite color in this has always been sheer Fruit Punch, BUT, Origins discontinued it! It had very good pigment, & felt conditioning on my lips...seriously one of the best glosses I've ever used. But now the color selection is so extremely limited, I no longer purchase this product. So sad...PLEASE bring back the Fruit Punch, & expand your color selection! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: New Jersey
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this Lip Gloss
 Date: August 15, 2010
" First of I am Lip Gloss fanatic and I have try soo many...from high end to drug store lip gloss and I must say that Origins is my fav by far. It is not sticky, it does not feel thick, and a little goes a long way. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: IL
Skin Type: Sensitive
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
long lasting
 Date: June 12, 2009
" This lip gloss lasts for a long time. it goes on very smooth, and is not grainy or sticky. It has a nice herbal scent, slightly minty, and feels a little tingly. I love it. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Reynoldsburg, OH
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
One of My Favorites
 Date: April 22, 2013
" Great lip gloss! Favorite shade is Sheer Ruby. Looks a bit darker in the picture than it really is. A perfect shade that isn't too dark and looks great. Will order this item again. "
Review 13 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great lip gloss
 Date: February 18, 2013
" I'm really happy with the feel of this lip gloss. The color, Sheer Blossom, is pretty but a little light for me. The best thing is that this gloss is very moisturizing, a lot of glosses say they are, but this actually gets rid of chapped lips. It's got pretty good staying power. I'm going to order another one in a different color. "
Review 14 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Camden, ME
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The perfect lip gloss!
 Date: May 14, 2009
" We've all done it...we've purchased drug store lip gloss, only to get home and discover that it's too sticky, too tacky, too shimmery or simply too gloopy. It will taste like bubble gum or cotton candy. Our hair gets stuck in it, and our lips end up feeling like we've covered them in marshmallow. We immediately regret the drug store lip gloss purchase, and hand it over to our teenage daughter's delight. But, we're still stuck with the problem of not having a proper gloss. Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss is the answer. it goes feeling smooth and elegant, without the Middle School lip smacking sensation. The minty taste feels fresh and very grown up. Best of all, it doesn't smear and leaves lips feeling healthy, rather than sticky. This is my every day lip gloss, and works well over a matte lipstick or on its own. "
Review 15 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Connecticut
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Sheer Fig - Color Shown Not Accurate
 Date: March 18, 2012
Tags: any time
" I have this in Sheer Fig. Looks nothing like the swatch shown. The swatch shown looks more of a cool silvery taupe when in actuality it's a beautiful warm coppery brown shade. It goes on smooth and glossy with just a hint of sparkle. Light minty fragrance and just a touch of a cooling sensation. Color looks good with my medium pink lips, medium skin tone, brown eyes, and red brown hair. I'd like to try some of the other colors but am leery due to the inaccuracy of the color swatches and this is the reason I only gave it 4 stars. I'm a very frequent online buyer and colors have been dead-on accurate with other purchases, so not a monitor issue. "
Review 16 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Pleasantly Surprised
 Date: October 1, 2012
" I never really thought of Origins as a cosmetics company, but I received this gloss in Sheer Ruby color as a free sample in another order. I was very pleasantly surprised! There is not too much color, but it is not too sheer, either. The texture is shiny but not too sticky, and it's not too glittery, as it might appear in the tube. It also stays on a long time, and it blends well with my skin tone, too. I will definitely buy again. "
Review 17 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Aston, PA
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Lip Gloss
 Date: July 28, 2012
" I love this lip gloss. It has a great minty smell when it goes on and coats your lips but not so much that they feel like they have a lot of goop on them. It does stay on pretty well until you eat or drink but what gloss does stay on afterwards? I especially like that it's not sticky and my hair doesn't get stuck in it. I have the sheer passion color and it's a tad dark but looks great. Even though it looks like a squeeze tube, there's actually a wand for application which was a nice surprise. "
Review 18 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Central West Coast, FL
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
A Great Gloss!! My Absolute Favorite!!
 Date: September 4, 2009
Tags: breath freshning, Moisturizing, shine
" As my name implies, LucyLipgloss, I am a lip gloss fanatic. I cannot go anywhere without it, and I have purchased A LOT of different ones, but this one is my absolute favorite. It's refreshing, it lasts a heck of a lot longer than any other ones that I have tried, it's super moisturizing, and it is great for just about everything! From daytime to night-time, this is THE gloss. I too have suffered from lip reactions from other brands, so I'm always worried about trying new lip products, but this stuff is fantastic! I never leave home without it! And the fact that it has good-for-you ingredients just makes it all more the better. Thank you Origins for making such a great lip gloss!!! "
Review 19 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: 
Skin Type: Combination
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
 Date: June 10, 2012
" This lip gloss does what it's supposed to do. It provides a hint of color and seals in the lipstick that I have under it. The gloss doesn't have much staying power, and you have to reapply it after drinking or eating. It has a minty smell and makes your lips tingle for a minute. I received this as a sample, and then purchased one on my own. Fun to try and the right price. "
Review 20 for Once Upon A Shine™ Sheer lip gloss
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: 
Location: Arlington, VA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
tricky container
 Date: January 27, 2012
" I hate to say that this is the first and only Origins product I am really not happy with! The first time I bought it, the applicator broke off. Origins very nicely sent me a replacement. . . I have tried to like it, but it is very frustrating to get a good amount on the applicator, and it doesn't seem to last very long. . . Perhaps the idea of putting a wand into a tube isn't a good one??? I will continue to use all other Origins products, but this one is on my "don't buy again" list!! "
1 2 3 4 5 next>>