Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Origins.

Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic

Bye-bye dullness, excess oil, impurities and surface shine. Pores feel tighter and clean clear through. Best for combination/oily skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.687 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(134 Reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (134 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
0
129 of 134(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Hollandra
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
No More Whiteheads and Flaky Skin!
 Date: July 10, 2011
Tags: Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin, reddness
"This tonic is wonderful. I have combination skin where my nose is constantly red and oily so every morning I have little white heads in the creases of my nose, but my skin is also flaky and peels away. The Purifying Tonic really evens out my problem areas and I don't wake up with dry and flaky/oily white heads anymore.
My only complaint is the packaging. I don't like using cotton and prefer to apply it directly like my Mega Mushroom Toner Lotion, but they each have different lids. The mushroom bottle has a smaller opening easy for pouring straight into your hands, but the purifying tonic does not. I used to spill and waste so much of it, but then I poured it into a mini travel spray bottle and it works great! I just spritz twice a day and I'm all set. I wish Origins sold the applicator lids/pumps that they use for testers in the stores."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: MickeysMom
Location: Central New York
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Product
 Date: February 4, 2012
"As a mature woman who has battled an oily complexion and large pores my whole life, I have found this toner to be a wonderful addition to my facial regimen. I use it once a day after washing my face with another one of your highly rated products, and find it to help fight break-outs. It leaves your face feeling super-clean and closes pores without that tight feeling. I highly recommend to anyone who has fought rosacea and acne."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: DogLover55
Location: Connecticut
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Toner
 Date: October 1, 2011
Tags: Combination Skin
"I was a little hesitant to try this toner because of comments about the fragrance since I am very particular about too much fragrance near my face (toners, moisturizers, make-up, hair sprays, etc.) But I am glad I tried it. It has a very natural fragrance when first applied but it definitely does not linger once the toner dries. I have combination skin that tends more toward oily. Purifying Tonic makes my face feel clean and not too tight. It also does not dry out those places on my face that are not as oily. Would highly recommend trying Purifying Tonic!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: marcell94
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Organic Purifying Tonic
 Date: September 23, 2009
Tags: Combination Skin
"This product works wonders on blemishes! I have issues with breakouts. When I use this toner the blemishes start to dry up overnight and are gone in 1-2 days! I rarely breakout anymore since using the enitre Organic line."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: MissMFire
Location: Reading, PA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
My favorite tonic ever.
 Date: July 27, 2011
Tags: Sensitive Skin, acne, large pores or blackheads
"It's difficult for someone like me to find a tonic without such harsh and overly astringent properties. And I was skeptical when I initially ordered this five months ago. Needless to say, I'm a happy customer.
Finding certified organic items (with the USDA seal) is frequently difficult in the cosmetic industry. Many products claiming to be organic do not have third party verification and/or contain few organic ingredients at all. Here, it's right on the bottle: 95%. Whether I'm eating or using topical skin products, what enters my body is very important to me.
The Purifying Tonic also works wonders. I'm 25 but am very pale with sensitive skin and what looks like budding rosacea. Super touchy skin. Yet I never see a bit of redness after sweeping this all over my face. My face feels clean without feeling tight or dry; my pores are smaller too (using a Clarisonic/skin brush or Modern Friction will improve your pore size in conjunction with this tonic).
I like the smell for a tonic but it also doesn't remind me of flowers, spring rain, dancing faeries, or any of the fragranced stuff you'd find in conventional products. A bit pungent and alcoholic.
A tip: don't completely soak your cotton ball or this stuff will disappear quickly. It's too expensive to use generously. Otherwise, it's highly recommended!"
Review 6 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: puppylove
Location: AZ
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
tingly purifying
 Date: November 5, 2010
"I received a sample of this a few days ago and I'm very happy with it. It was refreshing, tingly (in a good way) and my skin felt so clean and soft. I have some pink/red tones in my skin all over my face and it seemed to really tone down my redness as well and really evened out my skin tone (I noticed it almost immediately after one use!), and my complexion looked great! I was really impressed. I still can't believe that it toned down my redness in my complexion but I am so excited that it did! It's an added benefit for me to getting healthy beautiful skin! I gave it a 4 because I'm a bit concerned that it will be just a tad to drying for my 'dry' areas (trial and error- only time will tell... I'm oily especially in the t-zone but in the winter I get dry some dry areas- mostly in the cheeks), but if it doesn't work out for my skin in the 'winter' months, I will still definitely be using it for the warmer summer months!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Valentine
Location: Denver, Colorado
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The best!
 Date: April 4, 2011
Tags: acne-prone
"I have acne-prone, sensitive skin that can be dry one day and oily the next. My skin is ever-changing probably because I experiment with a lot of different products. I get tired of the same thing very quickly, but I know that with this product I won't find anything better.
It's wonderful! The Willow Bark keeps my acne in check and the smell of the toner is very natural-smelling, for lack of a better word. Unlike other toners I've used, it does not make my skin tight. It doesn't dry out my skin at all. My skin feels wonderfully clean.
I haven't tried Origins' Zero Oil toner, but I read that it could be too drying. If you're looking for an alternative, this toner should be it.
Great product, it's 95% organic too!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: tobypuppy1
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Very quick results!
 Date: December 13, 2011
Tags: toning
"I haven't used toner in years, just started using the Purifying Toner about 2 weeks ago. My skin feels amazing - so soft. I see a difference in my pores and also in the radiance of my skin. It's great!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: coastiewife
Location: Wilminton, NC
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
FANTASTIC TONER!!
 Date: February 13, 2011
Tags: feeling clean
"I have used several other toners from Origins and this one is my favorite! I have combination skin with my cheeks being dry and easily irritated. This toner didn't irritate my skin and helps control my T-zone. Purifying Tonic is now my go to toner. It leaves my skin feeling clean, not dry or tight and smells fresh, not harsh or perfumey. I would definitely recommend this product to all skin types."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: KittyKat
Location: Novi, MI
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
I refuse to use any other tonic!
 Date: June 27, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"I've used almost all Origins Toners at some point, just to try them. I've particularly enjoyed United State in summer and A Perfect World in winter.
Then the Organic Tonic changed everything!
The other Origins tonics are great, especially if you need one as a specialist, but I love the organic tonic because it deep cleans and is gentle, leaves my skin super soft, and seems to aid the absorbtion of my serums and moisturizer better than the other toners."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: greengirl111
Location: Ontario Canada
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect Toner for Acne Prone Skin!
 Date: March 23, 2011
Tags: acne prone, Oily Skin
"I ran out of this toner and boy did my skin notice! I started to get some blemishes and I was so glad to get my order when it arrived. Helps to keep my skin clear, don't want to be without this one."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: nik
Location: Dallas, TX
Skin Type: Acne Prone
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
fantastic for clearing acne
 Date: September 17, 2009
Tags: Oily Skin, Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin, acne prone skin
"This is the only toner I've ever used that actually clears my skin instead of drying and making me break out. You can hold a cotton ball soaked with the tonic on a blemish for a few minutes at night, and by the morning the spot will be almost healed. It's really an incredible product."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Simplysandra
Location: Minnesota
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm 46 & my daughter is 19 and we both love this!
 Date: April 9, 2013
Tags: acne, Combination Skin, Sensitive Skin
"would have given it 5 stars if it weren't for the not so user friendly top. Please change it : )"
Review 14 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Slimmy
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
refreshing
 Date: February 24, 2013
Tags: unclogging
"I use this tonic in the morning as its refreshing and a sort of wake up, with a nice scent. I wouldn't use it at night though. Cleanses skin well without drying. I like it so far."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: diva20904
Location: Bethesda, Md
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love It! Very Pleased.
 Date: January 9, 2013
"Great product! I can definitely see the changes in my skin. It does not leave my face feeling tight at all. Have not been oily since using & it feels clean after I use it. Gotta try it! It's Great!"
Review 16 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: h87120
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this product!
 Date: January 5, 2013
"I have never used toner before until now. I love the refreshing feeling once product hits my skin. Has a very pleasant scent to it too. Will definately be purchasing more once it runs out."
Review 17 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Honeyball
Location: San Diego, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Works as Described
 Date: December 8, 2012
"I have been using this for about 3 weeks now. After a few applications, I felt that my skin became smoother and also breaks out occurs less frequently. It doesn't solve my pimples problem entirely but I am pretty happy with the improvement."
Review 18 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: DOBERMANBABIES
Location: MAINE
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
PERFECT COMBINATION
 Date: December 8, 2012
"I HAVE OLDER SKIN, BUT I STILL HAVE SOME EXCESS OIL. I HAVE FOUND THAT BY USING THE "PURIFYING TONIC" IN THE MORNINGS AND THEN AT NIGHT I USE ORIGINS "A PERFECT WORLD". THIS COMBINATION GIVES ME THE RIGHT BALANCE I NEED FOR MY SKIN."
Review 19 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: hyunie
Location: new york
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
extravagent
 Date: December 2, 2012
Tags: Combination Skin, deep pore cleansing
"This product is just wonderful! Smells nice. Deep cleans. Not harsh at all."
Review 20 for Purifying Tonic 95% Certified Organic
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: natalie98133
Location: Seattle, WA
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Shine No More
 Date: February 5, 2011
Tags: sensitive, combination
"As mentioned in my review of Modern Friction, I have sensitivities to gluten, soy, and avocado. Although this product contains corn, I felt safe trying it out (I am not a Celiac and have never reacted to corn). I've been using this toner for over a week, morning and night, and LOVE LOVE LOVE it. It is so gentle on my skin and doesn't dry me out - even with my occasional use of Retin A and daily Spironolactone intake. It has controlled my t-zone shine and makes my face feel so clean and fresh. I've always wanted to use a toner in my skincare routine but haven't found one that doesn't irritate (even in product lines formulated for sensitive skin). I am so happy with Purifying Tonic!
*If you have any concerns with ingredients I HIGHLY recommend emailing the company (box listed under "Contact Us"). After including the products I was interested in, and ingredients I can't use, I received a response within 48 hours. Best customer service I've experienced to-date."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>