Origins Ratings and Reviews

Ginger Savory bath bar

Lather up and let the sensual warmth of Ginger surround your body top to toe.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
22 of 30(73%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: anthropologynerd
Location: West Lafayette, IN
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Why mess with a good thing?
 Date: August 4, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"I've been using Origins product for years & am terribly upset they not only reduced the size of the bar & kept the old price, but they seemed to have altered the scent. I do not understand why companies do this to already popular items. I will say that I will shop elsewhere for my soap until they decide to bring back the original scent & size of this product."
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: GingerSpice
Skin Type: Dry
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? No
Bring Back the Large Bar
 Date: January 7, 2010
Tags: everyday use
"I have been using Origins Ginger Bar for years and loved how long it lasted, the wonderful clean scent, and how great it made my skin feel. I loved the extra large size of the former bar, but now that the size has been reduced, I can no longer recommend using it.
The size is now just like every other bath bar out there, and since the price has gone up along with the size reduction I will be looking at other alternatives for my everyday bath/shower soap.
"
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Anon
Recommend to a friend? No
Bring back the bigger size!
 Date: November 24, 2010
"It was extremely disappointing to see that the bar is much smaller without a corresponding decrease in price. Please bring back the larger size!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: ASanders
Location: Florida
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? No
Bring back the old bar!
 Date: November 22, 2012
"I adore this soap - or at least I used to. Who can say that about soap? Really! I had used this soap for YEARS and absolutely loved it. It is what drew me to other Origins products. However they changed the formula (it is not as strongly scented), reduced the size of the bar thus greatly reducing the amount you received AND raised the price. MUCH less for my money and it was already expensive soap!
PLEASE bring back the old formula and old bar. I loved it and would pay $14 for it but I JUST. CAN'T. JUSTIFY. $14.50 for this tiny bar of soap."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: Mickeyo
Location: Arlington, TX
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Ginger bath bar
 Date: January 3, 2014
Tags: a special bath
"I remember when this bar was $8 and much larger in size. If some customers reported that they couldn't justify spending $14.50 for a smaller bar, why would you increase the price? I love the ginger scent but will use it sparingly because of expense. I never heard of charging $15 for a bar of soap. It's not made out of gold....very disappointed"
Review 6 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by: konneshoppe
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
smaller bar bigger price
 Date: September 25, 2011
"the only reason why i got it was the smell of ginger. now the bar is quite smaller and then you pay more?! the quality of it is not as great as previous. should just stick back with the original manufacturers..."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: RonH
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it - why the changes?
 Date: February 3, 2011
"I've been using this bar for years and have always loved it. I was OK with the change in size (though it should also then have a reduced price), but in the UK it's become largely unavailable. As someone else has noted here: why mess with a good thing? Very annoying."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: roary
Location: iowa
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: I'm a lifetime Origins fan (15+ years)
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Ginger Bar
 Date: January 8, 2011
"The old bar was the greatest! Loved its size. Now the bar is still the quality, but just not as fun to use. Please bring back the gold old big bar!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: sumr
Location: Minneapolis
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? No
newer is not better
 Date: December 12, 2009
"Absolutely loved the old bar --please bring it back! The new shape is uncomfortable to hold and it does not smell as good as the old formula..."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: stargzr59
Location: san diego
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
want the larger size bar back
 Date: February 20, 2011
Tags: moisturizing and scent
"I purchased online and at my local origins store for years. the ginger bath bar was the main reason for those purchases. i also tried other products on my trips to the local store to replenish my supply of the bath bar.
i couldn't get enough of the scent or the way it made my skin feel after a shower.
that is why i was so disappointed when the large bar went away. i would buy five to six bars at a time and not have to make the long drive to the local store quited so often. the larger bar worked well for me.
please bring it back, i really miss it.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Topquality2
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Origins Ginger Products
 Date: January 21, 2010
"I love their Ginger products. I use the soap, the shampoo, the bath products - everything. There is something about the fragrance that makes the hard day at work just disappear into the background while you luxuriate in the tub surrounded by the aroma of ginger. The soap lathers up great and the best part is that the ginger fragrance lasts until the very last bit of soap is left. I have had so many people complement me on my fragrance and I have to tell them it is my shampoo they smell. I love Origins!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Therese
Location: Wilmington, MA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Ginger Soap
 Date: January 4, 2010
Tags: everyday use
"This is the best soap ever. I've used it for years. Origins has reshaped it a bit so that it's not always flying out of your hands though. But it's the same wonderful, ginger smell with a great lather that's perfect for men or women. This soap makes a great gift. I've turned many people onto it and they keep coming back for more. Try it!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: berni
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Skin Type: Dry
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Good but Original Ginger Bar was Better
 Date: December 28, 2009
"This bar soap is comparable to the original oversized ginger bar. The scent is very mild though. Suds nicely and rinses clean.
PLEASE bring back the original ginger bar!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Sorendee
Location: Seattle
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Love It
 Date: July 13, 2010
Tags: Combination Skin
"I love this soap and all the ginger products although the size is now smaller and it costs just about the same."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: yellowdaisy
Location: moisturizing
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Fabulous soap
 Date: February 25, 2013
"This has been a wonder for my aging skin. I'm soft all over and the dry skin is fading. Love it and I'll never go back."
Review 16 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: EarthIsOfTheGreatestWorth
Location: Michigan
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Ginger = Love
 Date: February 9, 2013
"I love bar soaps and this is a great one. It lathers well and has an awesome scent. This leaves my skin feeling squeaky clean. And it really lasts a very long time, making the price not bad."
Review 17 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: stark71
Location: Atlanta
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? No
Great lathering soap
 Date: November 26, 2010
Tags: daily cleansing
"I used this for the first time this morning and I must admit that I was very pleased. The soap felt very moisturizing and lathered great. It works great in combination with the other ginger body products."
Review 18 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: melngib
Location: Manchester, MI
Skin Type: Combination
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Moisturizing and Long Last Soap
 Date: December 1, 2009
"I LOVE this soap! I have been using it for a few years. It lathers up great, and you use very little of it. It take forever to go through a bar! My only complaint is that I am not happy that they changed the size from 10.5oz to 7oz and only lowered the price $.50!"
Review 19 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Ally
Location: Ca
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
best bath bar
 Date: December 9, 2009
"this soap makes a great gift during the holidays. it creates very creamy suds but the scent is a little on the light side. it also leaves my skin silky and soft without drying out my skin.
oh and PLEASE bring back the larger size!"
Review 20 for Ginger Savory bath bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: galen
Location: Asheville NC
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Soap Bar
 Date: December 8, 2009
Tags: any skin type
"This soap bar is a great size for either the shower or the bath. It is very solid, and I am sure will last a long time. It has a very mild ginger scent and makes my skin very soft."
1 2 next>>