Origins Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body

Average Customer Rating:
4.557 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
90 of 97(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: JessMcB
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Redness
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Department Store
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow
 Date: April 27, 2014
"Let me start by saying I am WHITE. As in ghost, underbelly of fish WHITE. Tanning is impossible for me. I've tried all sorts of creams to help with this issue but was never completely satisfied and typically gave up after about a week of use. That is until now. This Origins product actually works! I know I will never be a Brazilian tanned beauty -- but no longer being alabaster is lovely! It goes on smooth, smells like absolutely nothing, and works very quickly. I've been using it every morning (I shower at night) and it has been working out well. I do make sure I wait about 10 minutes before getting dressed though. The shimmer is very subtle. NO disco ball legs! I have been completely satisfied after about 2 weeks of use. In addition to being white, I also am extremely sensitive so I was concerned that I might have an allergic reaction. Again, so far, so good. I will continue to use and have already recommended this product to my fellow whities."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Spinsistah
Location: San Diego, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Oil Control
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing product!
 Date: July 30, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"I have a deep olive complexion, and my face and arms are pretty dark year round. But my legs get very little sun, which is why I started searching for a self tanner. But since most self tanners aren't made for my skin tone, my legs look a completely different color than the rest of my body.
I've been using Origins skin and hair care for years, but never even thought to look for a self tanner here until my friend recommended it. It's a little more than I've paid for any of the other tanners, but I thought I would give it a try.
It was back ordered for a while, but the Great Pretender was definitely worth the wait! From the first application my legs looked healthy and were glowing. And they were exactly the color they would have been if I would have laid out for a few hours!
The best part is that it doesn't "wash" off; it simply fades, just like a real tan. I've been applying it about twice a week, and I've been able to find a great color that's not too dark, not at all streaky, and my own natural color.
Thank you (again) Origins!"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Allison
Location: Long Island, NY
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Self Tanner--Hands Down.
 Date: October 4, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types, fair
"Being very fairly complected has always left me at the center of peoples jokes growing up. "Albino Allison" was my nickname to quite a few peers. One day I had enough of the ridicule, and I decided to turn to self-tanners for help. I tried every ST available in drugstores. I've even sprayed tanned. I was always streaky or orange. Then a few years ago, my Mother happened to randomly buy me The Great Pretender. I tried it and fell in love. I would never ever stray from this product. My skin looks luminous, delicate and soft. Not to mention sun-kissed! It doesn't streak in the slightest (unless, of course, you do not rub it in completely). If you're debating whether or not to click the "Add to Cart" button up top, just do it. You won't be disappointed. You have my word."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: gvht
Location: Texas
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than Most
 Date: July 11, 2014
"Like that it goes on without leaving that orangey look. Like the little shimmer it gives you. It is, however, too runny. Would love it if it was a little thicker. Just enough to still go on well, but not run everywhere so easily. It can make a mess if you aren't careful. Having said all this, it is still a great product compared to most out there. I'm very fair and have tried many of them!"
Review 5 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: landscapergirl
Location: Foothills Northern California
Skin Type: Oily
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The best sunless tanner I have ever used!!!
 Date: March 24, 2011
"I have tried many sunless tanners in my life time. This one is the best yet!
I have exceptionally dry skin once you get past the yolk area. So I have to get aggressive with the exfoliation. On my legs I use a pumice stone to remove the build up around my hair folicals, and general flakiness. When I first got the tanner I was excited to use it so applied and wait to see the results. They looked good from a distance but up close it was not a great thing. So the next time I did my normal shaving routine with the pumice stone and much better results. In one use I went from porcelian white to a bronzed goddess :). It is darker then when I get my gardeners tan (like a farmers tan, but with a tank top and shorts but front of shins stay white lol).
I love the smell, great minty fresh smell. Oh and that awful smell after you put on a sunless tanner,yeah you know the one. It is still there but a much milder version. I would have no problem going out in public, or even going to bed with this product. The other product are so limiting in time of when you can put it on because of that repulsive smell.
I don't like that it does not hydrate my leg at all, so I have to lotion up after it has dried. I am also not fond of the glitter in it. It might look better if my legs were hydrated. But other then that I will use this whenever I need a blast of color that last for a while.
"
Review 6 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: JMJunge
Location: Vienna, VA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 11-15 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
"Honey, I love you, but you smell."
 Date: June 19, 2014
Tags: losing friends
"These are the words that no one wants to hear while on a romantic getaway with your loved one. I bought this last year and used it once without an issue, but maybe I left it in the container too long because I smelled like dirt when I put it on this time. Honestly, I love Origins and spend close to $1500 year in products, but this stuff is horrible. Who cares about the glow when you dont want to be around people because you stink?"
Review 7 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Gingerviolet
Location: Washington state
Age: 65+
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dehydration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
A beautiful natural looking tan!
 Date: June 17, 2014
"The great pretender is the best self tanner I have ever used. Immediately after you use it, you have that healthy glow as if you just came in from the sun. It really is amazing how great it works. Also it doesn't have that typical smell of a self tanner. I will be using this every season. The one for your face is really great too. This product is a winner!"
Review 8 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: cincygal
Location: Cincinnati
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
nice product
 Date: June 14, 2014
"I like this self-tanner compared to the many I have tried, but it still has a typical self tanner smell. I don't think it's quite as strong as many others on the market. I do like how easy it is to apply and it doesn't take much to get a nice color. This one does have the best color of all the ones I've tried, so I plan on using it all summer."
Review 9 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: kbaby
Location: Texas
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Best self-tanner I have found
 Date: June 6, 2012
Tags: natural looking tan
"Origins self-tanner is the best I have been able to find. It has a natural warm color (not orange), the typical self-tanner smell is significantly less than others I have tried, it lasts longer without leaving a scaley appearance as it fades, it's moisturizing and not sticky, and it's fairly easy to apply. I like that it is tinted so that when I apply it, I can see whether I have achieved good coverage. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it is pretty sparkly. Too much glitter for my taste, being in my early thirties and not a teenager! But I just apply it on the week-end so that I'm not sparkly at work. Once I shower, the glitter is no longer an issue. Helpful tips for applying self-tanners: (1) exfoliate well, (2) follow the blend, blend, blend advice, and (3) apply lightly to elbows, knees, and tops of feet/ankles. You can also take a slightly damp cotton ball and lightly dab any areas you want less coverage, such as elbows and knees."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: EnjoysSunsets
Location: southern California
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Really works!
 Date: July 15, 2013
Tags: when you need an instant natural looking tan
"With my career, I don't have the time to tan naturally. Orgins "The Great Pretender" is the next BEST thing! I was so pleased with the product I will continue to keep this product on hand all year round. I was sold on this product from the first time I used it. My husband came home with expensive spray product from the tanning salon and it left an uneveness in the coverage on him..laughable. One tip, I find washing my hands immediately after applying to legs, again after arms and again after the rest of me, kept from staining my palms,and wash well inbetween fingers too. This product dries fast, but will still rub off on under garments that washed out easily. No residue on sheets, gradually fades in about 3 days, no problem re applying over residual tan. Applied twice for a deeper tan, because I'm faired skinned...very happy with results."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Kobe
Location: Dallas,Texas
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Self Tanner!!
 Date: January 6, 2010
Tags: All Skin Types
"This tanner is so easy to use! The trick is to blend until its dry on your skin. The elbows and knees are always tricky, try bending them and spread tanner over those parts. Make sure to exfoliate first!! Modern Friction is wonderful to use!! Doing this also makes the self tanner stay on a lot longer!!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: alexgeorgia
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
love it
 Date: March 25, 2014
"This self tanner is probably the best i have ever used.. It looks natural and the color is great!
has a bit of shimmer in it but it doesn't last, the color however does last! I love it..
i went and purchased the facial tanner as well, have not tried it yet..
the only reason i did not give it 5 stars is because the packaging is not the best, would prefer a different type of bottle, this one is too messy
"
Review 13 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Summerry
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 6-10 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Self Tanner
 Date: March 19, 2014
Tags: being smelly!
"Not my favorite product from Origins - smelly, runny and doesn't work all that well"
Review 14 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Sensative
Location: Minnesota
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
I Typically Buy selection on: Origins.com
Recommend to a friend? No
Unhappy
 Date: March 13, 2014
"Felt this self tanner was the same as others... Still had unpleasant odor."
Review 15 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: Jammers36
Location: Oregon
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Visible Pores
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Summer Essential
 Date: August 13, 2010
Tags: natural glow
"I have not tried a lot of tanning products (1-2), however this one is better than the others I have tried. It doesn't smell gross like the others. It does have a scent to it, but it's not terrible. It can provide a build-able tan, I usually apply it two days in a row and then let it wear off, the repeat. The tan it produces looks natural, not orange.
Things to know:
There is a bit of a shimmer to the tanner. It's not like huge chunks of glitter or anything, it's subtle...but it's there.
You don't need to use as much as you might think, if you use too much you might end up with a few streaks. Just make sure you rub it in good and you will be fine.
Also it need to soak in a few minutes before dressing, or it will rub off on clothes, so be careful.
I will purchase again. I don't think there is a self tanner out there that is perfect, but this will do."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Becki
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Skin Type: Dry
Skin Concern: Dullness/Discoloration
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Never been tan in my life!
 Date: July 21, 2011
Tags: skin care
"I recently purchased "The Great Pretender" after reading the reviews! I have tried many products that either turn me orange or that I get a rash from. As a freckling red head approaching 50, I was looking for something to hide my leg blemishes of spider veins and scaring (very active child!). I followed the directions and after exfoliating and showering applied the cream with the BLEND, BLEND, BLEND directions. The results are fantastic! I am nicely brown, not out of range of my natural tones, not wearing pantyhose in our heat wave, and even though if you look close, the spider veins and scars are still present, they are much less visible. Thank you Origins!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Cinder
Location: Oregon City, Or
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Firming/Lifting
Using Origins For: Less than 1 year
Recommend to a friend? Yes
The Great Pretender
 Date: May 18, 2012
"I was on vacation at Palm Springs Ca when a friend let me try this product. I was very happy that this self tanner had a pleasant odor of mint. The next morning the tan on my legs was very natural and not orange like other products I have used in the past. This tanner was easy to apply and did not streak. I will recomment this to my friends and buy it as gifts ."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: waterlily
Location: San Jose, CA
Skin Type: Combination
Skin Concern: Lines and Wrinkles
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
 Date: November 28, 2011
"I have pale legs compared to the rest of my body, so come summertime when I'm in skirts and shorts, I want to even out my skin color so my legs aren't glowing from the paleness. This works well. It's not streaky and not an obvious orange color. The color seemed natural to match the rest of my skin tone. When you slather it on, it has a nice minty scent, however, as time passes, you get the same exact smell as with all other self-tanners until you wash it off."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: slamhart
Location: NC
Skin Type: Sensitive
Skin Concern: Aging
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
best tanner ever
 Date: July 23, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types, fair skin too!
"I saw a friend and she was so beautifully tanned- and she is very fair...I asked her how she got so tan? She told me about the Great Pretender. I am a red head, and very pale so I was not sure how it would work, but I bought some, and it is amazing! It goes on so smooth, and with color right away, you can see where you are putting it for perfect results. It is not streaky,and gives a beautiful realistic tan. I have now been using it for at least 3 years! I never get a "real tan" anymore!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Great Pretender™ Shimmery self-tanner for body
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Pretty5
Location: California
Skin Type: Sensitive
Using Origins For: 1-5 years
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than the ones from my Dermo
 Date: May 14, 2009
Tags: All Skin Types
"I have a skin condition called Vitiligo, which means I'm loosing my pigment. My skin is very pale because I have no pigment. I can not suntan, so my only option to tan my skin is with sunless tanners. I've tried every tanner on the market over the past 10 years and this stuff is my favorite. I've even bought the expensive ones from my Dermo, and still this one is better. It applies well, no streaks, smells good and quickly gives skin a shade of color. Thank heaven for Origins!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>